Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Refurbished Products Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop Refurbished Products or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PIXMA MP780

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

PIXMA MP780

Print. Copy. Scan. Fax. Fast. The feature-rich Canon PIXMA™ MP780 Photo All-In-One delivers the ultimate combination of speed and quality to your home-office projects. It can print or copy up to 25 ppm in black and up to 17 ppm in color, 1 and a 4" x 6" borderless print takes about 36 seconds. 1 You'll achieve up to Super G3 fax speed in color and B&W, 2 and the USB 2.0 Hi-Speed interface 3 enables the fastest image transfers and scanning speeds possible today. To further increase productivity, the integrated 35 page auto document feeder helps you speed through larger copy and fax jobs; dual paper path allows you to keep a second type of paper ready for printing; and built-in 2 sided printing saves time and paper. Plus, electronic sorting automatically collates your copies, so you don't have to.
Average Customer Rating:
4.038 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (26 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
4
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
1
18 out of 26(69%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PIXMA MP780
Review 1 for PIXMA MP780
Nickname: E!

Great product

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 1, 2010
I have loved this unit (780) since we bought it 4 years ago. Have always been able to fix it, the manual is very helpfu, instructions easyl. Did have to replace the print heads 2 times but it is so easy to do yourself. For those of you who think you have to replace the empty ink cartridge before you can continue to print, here is a tip -- just pull out the empty and close it back up and continue printing. Be sure to set your printing on greyscale until you get your replacement ink cartridge.
17 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PIXMA MP780
Nickname: kiekismom
Location: Ohio
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Awesome multifunciton printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 7, 2010
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, durable, Low Ink Consumption, Sharp Tones & Colors, fast print speed, easy to use
Cons: Large Footprint
I bought my Canon PIXMA MP780 Multifunction Printer several years ago. I did a search online for reviews and it had the best of the best. I love it. It prints photos like professional, and like the Eveready bunny it just keeps on. I like have my colors separate so I only have to buy what I use the most. I have recommended this printer to many people. It's large but I have a huge desk so I don't mind.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PIXMA MP780
Nickname: doc
Location: CA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 1, 2010
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, durable, Sharp Tones & Colors
Cons: Large Footprint
I have had two of these printer/fax machines and they are great. I like this better than the fax machine at my office. Scan and print quality are very good and the ink cartridges are pretty cheap. What else could you ask for?
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PIXMA MP780
Nickname: EMCCW
Location: Oviedo, FL
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Great buy!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 24, 2010
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, durable, fast print speed, easy to use
Very durable, good quality photos, easy set up. I've used it for more than 3 years. Canon produces very reliable products!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PIXMA MP780
Nickname: MG
Location: New York
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

Great troubleshooting site.

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 18, 2010
Easy to follow instructions for fixing a problem with printer. Best part- it worked!
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PIXMA MP780
Nickname: Mac

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:March 9, 2010
Cons: Difficult to use, Slow Print Speed, Heavy/Bulky, High Ink Consumption, unreliable, Flimsy Construction
Had this machine for over 3 years! I do not like the fact that if one ink cartridge is empty, you cannot print. That is a huge problem to me.
Thank you
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PIXMA MP780
Nickname: CanonUser

Love the Multifunctionality but sluggish....

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:March 4, 2010
Pros: durable, Sharp Tones & Colors, design
Cons: Heavy/Bulky, lazy
I have a home office and I do everything from faxing to scanning and printing. This machine is sluggish. It warms up every single time I have to use it and will ask to check the printer even after I serviced it. It's very useful but the speed in which it does things can be boost up.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PIXMA MP780
Nickname: KP
Used this product for: more than 1 year

I love this printer!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 26, 2010
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, durable, easy to use
I have had this printer for almost 4 years and it is completely reliable! I just logged onto this site for the first time since I've owned the printer to figure out how to clean the print heads. I don't disagree that it uses a lot of ink but I'm not convinced it is excessive in comparison to other inkjet printers in this price range. All of the other features, fax, scanner and copier have all worked consistently great. I highly recommend this Canon product to anyone researching.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PIXMA MP780
Nickname: wood
Location: Washington, DC
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Pixma MP780 not as good as older Canon

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:January 22, 2010
Pros: Compact Design
Cons: Difficult to use, unreliable, High Ink Consumption, lousy paper holder
Unit won’t print when only 1 ink cartridge is out, forcing you to stop what your doing & secure more ink! Unit won’t print just using Black 3e cartridge.Lousy Paper holder, Paper falls over in the bin and dust can accumulate on your paper, the older Canon MFS printers had a complete cover & support for paper that was taller then 8 by 11.
Unit does NOT receive faxes & user can’t find memory in which faxes can be stored to print later. Past users of Canon MFS printers are very disappointed and I am a repeat customer ; but I won’t be a third time.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PIXMA MP780
Nickname: Officeguy
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Frustrating Machine

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:December 14, 2009
I've had the Pixma mp780 for 2 to 3 years now and has always given me headaches. Reasons: Cannot print colors accurately, Easy to mess up faxing when using flatbed, goes through ink like nobodies business, won't print at all if one of the FIVE cartridges is empty. Lots of other inexpensive all-n-ones on the market that are better than this one.
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PIXMA MP780
Nickname: Frammie
Location: Upstate NY
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Please Canon, improve the rear paper feed!

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 28, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, Lightweight/Portable, durable, Easy Setup, easy to use, Low Ink Consumption, reliable, Sharp Tones & Colors
Cons: poor design rear paper feed., cannot see where document placement is correct, not easy to abort large print job
I've had this printer now for about 4 years and overall I am very satisfied with it's print quality, ease of use and overall reliability with a couple exceptions.
I think the rear paper feed is poorly designed to hold paper correctly and whenever I am about to print something, no matter if the paper is full or not many sheets letft, the paper feed often moves the paper out of alignment thereby causing a crooked print job. I feel that the paper guides do not adequately hold the paper and oftentimes I have to reprint to get my document straight. No other printer I have used has this silly paper feed causing a crookedly printed job!
A second complaint is that I cannot see the markings for placement of document on platen. What is the point of having markings of any type if they are going to be black on black bumps with seemingly no numbers. This is a most difficult to figure out when you can't see it!
Last, I had an experience when wanting to print a single copy of a large distribution email from Outlook. Instead of printing 1 copy as I must not have had the knowledge necessary to accomplish this, it started printing each of the 50 emails and I could not cancel the print job no matter what I did. Not from the computer screen, not from the stop/reset button - NOTHING was allowing me to abort the print job and delete it from the memory! Somehow, I don't remember how, but I managed to stop it after about 17 copies! There must be an easier way to delete the memory quickly without having an unstoppable machine!
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PIXMA MP780
Nickname: sjps
Location: San Rafael, CA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

outstanding

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 19, 2009
Pros: durable, easy to use, reliable, Sharp Tones & Colors
I've owned this printer for many years now (5 or 6 I'd say). It is still running strong, and has totally met my expectations as an all-around performer in printing, copying, scanning, and faxing. Even photos look great when you use the best quality Canon papers. For the price, I don't think you can beat it. Of course there are more specialized or higher-priced models out there that may outperform it, but for someone who needs all the multi-functions, it's a great machine.
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PIXMA MP780
Nickname: kg
Location: Portland, OR
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

No scanning, photo printing

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 30, 2009
Cons: Heavy/Bulky, Flimsy Construction, Difficult Setup, Difficult to use
I have owned this printer for 3 years and still can't get the scan feature or photo-quality printing to work. It is basically an oversized printer and fax machine. My warranty is up so I have to pay for customer service.
10 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PIXMA MP780
Nickname: Bill
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

I'll always go for Canon

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 14, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, Lightweight/Portable, durable, Easy Setup, easy to use, fast print speed, Low Ink Consumption, reliable, Sharp Tones & Colors, cheap ink tanks
this is my third Canon printer. You can buy cheaper, but the upkeep is outrageous. They should GIVE you some of the printers for all the expensive supplies you need. Inks are inexpensive, paper handling is perfect--up to 100 # stock. Great for all my needs (I'm cheap, but want good stuff. If this ever wears out, I get another Canon. Many of the stores stock H-P but not Canon. that should say something.
5 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PIXMA MP780
Nickname: Anonymous
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Satisfactery

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:January 27, 2009
Pros: easy to use, fast print speed
Cons: High Ink Consumption, too many errors
We bought this printer over two years ago, and never had any issues until recently. We had bought this printer to replace a previous printer that had stopped working.
Now this printer has an error message that is not fixable and is out of warranty.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PIXMA MP780
Nickname: printerguy
Location: california
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Great machine but loses power

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 8, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, Easy Setup, easy to use, fast print speed, Sharp Tones & Colors
Cons: unreliable
I absolutely love this machine but with light to moderate use over 2 years it now does not power on. Seems to be a power supply issue or main board issue with the parts from the postings on the internet. If the machine would have worked for a bit longer without suddenly breaking I wouldn't hesitate to buy it. Buy it but not without an extended warranty-if not look elsewhere. Wish canon had upgrade reccommendations on the website.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PIXMA MP780
Nickname: Waltie in Ma.
Location: Mass.
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

One of the Best in the Market

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 24, 2008
Pros: Easy Setup, easy to use, fast print speed, Low Ink Consumption, reliable, Sharp Tones & Colors
If you can find one of these around, buy it. This unit was a replacement for my F 50, which I loved but it was just worn out. This unit the 780, is great. I have had no issues with it at all in the years that I have used it for thousands of pages of color printing. The only reason I gave it a 4 star on quality, is the paper feeder in the back is wierd, but it feeds and prints correctly. At times, it looks like the paper is going down sideways.
Canon, Great Job on this unit. Soon, I will be upgrading to the 850 and I hope that I get as good service from that, as I did from this one.
Review 18 for PIXMA MP780
Nickname: Monk
Location: La Luz, NM
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

Cannot List Cons

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 22, 2008
Pros: Lightweight/Portable, durable, Easy Setup, easy to use, fast print speed, Low Ink Consumption, reliable, Sharp Tones & Colors
I came to Canon today to see if the drivers had been updated and I noticed some pretty negative reviews - which piqued me to add my own experience with the MP780.
I have used the MP780 for more than two years and have never had any problems with it whatsoever - other than my allowing the ink to dry out in the printer head after a period of non use. That problem was easily diagnosed, indeed, rather obvious, and the removal and cleaning/flushing of the printer head was a snap.
I do not find the ink use excessive - unless you want to compare an inkjet to a laser printer - and the fact that you have five individual tanks rather than an all-in-one tank renders refilling or replacing the individual tanks more economical. (I refill the tanks with bulk ink)
Setup is easy; print quality is good; and software, including Omni and Scansoft work well and seamlessly integrate with Word.
Finally, I just do not apprehend the negatives regarding the manufacturing details regarding construction, bulky, etc. Regardless of its size, how often does one move the unit? Large footprint? It's 12 X 18 inches - 4 inches wider than a sheet of legal paper: how small should a flatbed scanner be? Perhaps people are looking for a scanner with an ADF that can feed books!
I find the MP780 a well designed, economical, quality printer that just keeps chugging away and would highly recommend it.
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PIXMA MP780
Nickname: Planet-38
Location: Arizona
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

Simply The Best

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 22, 2008
Pros: Easy Setup, easy to use, fast print speed, reliable, Sharp Tones & Colors
Cons: not network capable
We have been using this now for almost 2 years in our small business office. Did a lot of research before buying and determined that this was the best for our needs. We have yet to be disappointed. Proposals, orders, email, fliers, advertising brochures, photos, and 100+ page documents all print in fine quality, whether in full color or B&W.
The only con we can think of is it is not network capable.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PIXMA MP780
Nickname: Disappointed
Location: Chicago, IL
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Breakable

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:December 9, 2008
Pros: Easy Setup, easy to use
Cons: Flimsy Construction, unreliable
Good features, printed well enough, ink cartridges not as expensive as some of the 7 cartridge models now. However within half a year I started having trouble with the ink monitor. Under warranty they paid to have it fixed. Within a month it started doing the same thing, now out of warranty. They were kind enough to send me a brand new one. However, now, 14 months later, it suddenly quit powering up, completely useless. So on average, through two machines, the average life span was less than a year, and I am stuck with all the ink cartridges I had stocked up on. Good features, good performance until it breaks, which is around a year of mild to moderate use.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site