Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / EOS Cameras Reviews / Lenses Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop Lenses or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 IS USM

EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 IS USM

Image Stabilizer technology provides up to 3 stops of shake correction The "Mode 2" option stabilizes images while panning with a moving subject Faster autofocus than the Canon EF 75-300mm IS Zoom lock button keeps lens secure when not in use
Average Customer Rating:
4.446 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(56 Reviews) 56
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (56 reviews)
5 stars
36
4 stars
14
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
2
50 out of 56(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 IS USM
Review 1 for EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 IS USM
Nickname: todzilla
Location: aurora,illinois
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

great mid grade lens!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 2, 2010
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Super-sharp images, compact and light weight
love the focal range,my most used lens! takes good indoor pics with low light and hand held.took some pics of seagulls flying and fishing at local pond and got some tack sharp images at all focal lengths! even 300mm looks sharp with 100% crops! works great with my 7d! great all around lens! only negative is focus ring a little loose but decided to go with image quality and not build quality.not L class build quality but image quality looks L class for a fraction of the cost.compact and light weight brings me out to 480mm with my 1.6 crop on my 7d. love it!
244 of 253 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 IS USM
Nickname: Fotosdenada
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great lens and price

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 29, 2014
Pros: Superior build quality, Super-sharp images, image stabilized
Cons: Slow auto-focus
When I purchased my 7D, I also picked this lens up for some wildlife and nature photography. With the cropped sensor, 300mm is close enough for animals that don't want to eat you...
I'm impressed. Images are pretty sharp and colorful. The image stabilization works well, for the most part, and focus is usually spot on.
The build quality is very nice, for a non-L. It's plastic, but it's solid plastic. The zoom ring feels nice and is just the right resistance. I was worried about lens creep, but I haven't experienced any with my lens.
It's not perfect, of course... The focus is a tad slow for flying birds and the manual focus ring is somewhat loose and small. Over all, though, this is a lens I would have no problem recommending to most people.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 IS USM
Nickname: tm3308
Location: Des Moines, IA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Sports
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Solid

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 13, 2014
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Super-sharp images, versatility
Cons: Poor build quality, shifting aperture
I'm a photographer with a sports magazine. We cover high school sports, which means I run into a lot of less-than-ideal lighting. For state tournaments that are held in well-lit arenas, this lens performs just fine, and I've had a lot of success at outdoor events except when there is very little natural light (I shoot with a 7D).
No complaints about the sharpness. I tend to get a little too much noise for my taste, but that's also a product of having a body that isn't as strong at higher ISO's as other bodies.
Being on a tight budget and owning just one body, the biggest strength of this lens is its versatility. Shooting sports, I often don't have time to switch lenses, so being able to go from 300 to 70 mm on a turnover, etc., is a huge asset.
I plan on getting better glass within a year (70-200), but this lens has delivered pretty solid bang for the buck. I'd recommend it to anyone who's looking to get started in sports photography.
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 IS USM
Nickname: emxgarcia
Location: Cooper City, FL
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Sharp. Great outdoor sports lens!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 20, 2014
Pros: light, economical, fast focusing, very sharp
Cons: no tripod ring space, prefers well lit scenes
After initially considering 70-200 f4 non-IS, decided to give this bargain a shot. Look around and you can get this lens very very economically.
This lens will perform extremely well on sunny outdoor scenes: kids playing soccer, windsurf, surf.
Sharp under 210 and very sharp when stopped down to f/8 and up.
You can't go wrong with this lens if shooting outdoors.
This is performance-wise, along with the 50mm f1.8, the closest thing to an L lens on a budget.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 IS USM
Nickname: Davikes
Location: Westchester ny
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 18, 2014
I have used this lense as the photographer for my sons football team and the results have been nothing short of stunning
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 IS USM
Nickname: petechman
Location: Miamisburg, OH
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Decent upgrade from the 75-300mm

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 15, 2013
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality
Cons: Semi-sharp images
I purchased this to upgrade from the 75-300mm budget lens. I love the features with two modes of IS and the USM, it's also built very well. The IS is a bit noisy but not bad enough to bother wildlife if thats what you like to shoot. The USM is also not as quiet as other shorter lenses but this is to be expected. I do consider it an upgrade from the other zoom especially if you can find it for a good price. Chromatic abrasion is still a bit of an issue if you do a lot of cropping but it doesn't seem to be as noticeable as the other lens. Overall a very good upgrade for the IS modes if nothing else, the only other option is the 100-400 L which is a huge step up in price. Used with a T3i.
17 of 18 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 IS USM
Nickname: happy
Location: Connecticut
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Exceptional lens

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 13, 2013
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images
I'm using the Canon Rebel T4I and am loving my experience so far with this lens. I've read some negative things about this lens after I ordered it. They were saying that the picture were clear and crisp at 200mm but not at 300mm and they were also complaining that the lens is very noisy. I will say neither is the case. These must be people that don't know what they are doing. Even at 300mm I have a extremely clear and crisp pictures. I am amazed at the quality of this lens. I wish there was a way to upload my pictures to show you what the quality of this lens really is. well worth the money. Definitely buy one. you wont regret it.
22 of 22 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 IS USM
Nickname: Patrick
Location: Baltimore, MD
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

MAKES my Canon Camera come alive!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 20, 2013
Pros: Super-sharp images
Easy to operate . . . lightweight, exquisite quality results . . . makes the camera 10X more valuable than with standard lens.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 IS USM
Nickname: eddythepixer
Location: Houston TX
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Sports
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:March 24, 2013
Pros: Superior build quality
Cons: Slow auto-focus
Good quality pictures, But the focus is slow
Nice Stabilizer options...
2 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 IS USM
Nickname: HPSF Design
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

Very satisfied

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 24, 2013
Pros: Super-sharp images
I am a professional photographer with a passion for street photography in my spare time. I own many L lenses but feel they are not necessarily the right tool for every shooting situation.
When I combine the superb stabilization of the 70-300 mm f/4-5.6 IS USM with the amazing lowlight capabilities of my 6D body, I am able to produce tack sharp images in all shooting situations. The autofocus is fast and reliable and the lens while not exactly light, is not a burden to carry for long days of shooting. I am extremely pleased with this lens. Buy one!
49 of 49 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 IS USM
Nickname: Tomt
Location: Bradenton FL
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Not sharp

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:March 16, 2013
Pros: Superior build quality
Cons: Semi-sharp images
This lens works well for shots that are close. Zoomed all the way out nothing is sharp. It's not much good for long distance bird shots. I also think it is a bit slow on the auto focus which I could live with if the pictures were sharp. Mostly a costly disappointment.
16 of 29 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 IS USM
Nickname: Jackson
Location: Atlanta
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Not Bad at all

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 15, 2013
Pros: light weight, inexpensive
Cons: Semi-sharp images
Bought this lens for two reasons: one, for the reach; second for the weight. Use 1D and 5D (gripped) and those two with L lenses get awfully heavy..sometime need to simply lighten the load without sacrificing too much IQ. This lens in not L, but not bad. A little slow in low light, but overall, a very usable lens for IQ and as a sub for the heavy big glass situations.
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 IS USM
Nickname: wv_kid
Location: West Virginia
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Very unsatisfied

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 9, 2013
Cons: Semi-sharp images
This lense will not focus when zoomed at 300mm. Most pictures are blurry. I have an efs 55mm to 250 mm that blows the socks off of this one and costed half as much. I expected more from Canon than what i got.
6 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 IS USM
Nickname: LB
Location: Buffalo, NY
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Great Lens for my Safari

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 19, 2012
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Super-sharp images
I am brand-new to dSLR photography and purchased this lens to go with my T3i for my African safari. I could not be any happier with the photos I got and it is all due to this lens. I found that it focused quickly, has a nice background blur when fully zoomed in and the the details on the photos are so sharp - I can see individual feathers on the birds I photographed and the sand in the mane of the male lion. The focal length was perfect and as an amateur, this lens was a very good value and very portable. Two other amateur photographers that I met on my safari also owned this lens and both had great things to say about it. I would highly recommend this lens and I cannot wait to continue my wildlife photography locally.
12 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 IS USM
Nickname: kenrow1
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

Excellent Outdoors Travel Lens

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 19, 2012
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Super-sharp images
Cons: weight
Used this lens and my 40D on 2 week trip to NYC and northern VT mountains. Took 600+ pictures over two weeks. I really like the quality of the pictures but have to say that the camera and lens combination got heavy while walking around NYC. I would recommend this lens be used in multipurpose settings such as in the city and then in the mountains. Good value that generated excellent results.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 IS USM
Nickname: Emma Mae
Location: Rochester NY
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Portraits
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

A Perfect Add-On

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 26, 2012
Pros: Superior build quality
I had been borrowing my father's Canon 70 - 300 DO f/4-5.6 IS USM lens. My main problem was that shooting handheld portraits with it was very difficult because of the lens weight.
This lens is easier for me to handle because it is much lighter. I have been very happy with the results I have been getting.
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 IS USM
Nickname: rehjr
Location: Missouri
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great lens

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 5, 2012
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Super-sharp images
Cons: heavy
Have been using this lens for several months now, it is a big improvement over the entry level zoom lens. Have had great luck photographing eagles and other wildlife, as well as sporting events. The lens is much heavier than its cheaper sibling.
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 IS USM
Nickname: Susan
Location: Valrico, FL
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

Best lens I have

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 28, 2012
Pros: Superior build quality, Super-sharp images
Cons: Slow auto-focus
I purchased this lens 5 years ago and it is still the best lens I have. It is clear, clean, and crisp. The IS on this one works like a champ. It's heavy, but it's worth it. Not as fast on the initial focus as some of my other lenses, but once it has it, I can shoot 15 images of a fast moving object on high-speed continuous and every picture is clean.
19 of 21 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 IS USM
Nickname: Snaps
Location: USA
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Great Bank for the Buck

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 22, 2012
Pros: sharp images, image stablization, great value
Cons: loud image stablization
Smartest lens by far in the price range. Delivers very sharp images. Find myself shooting with this more than any other lens. About the only gripe is the noisy IS - you basically have unusable audio when shooting video unless you use an external mic.
6 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 IS USM
Nickname: Gram
Location: Spokane, WA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Sports
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Nice mid-level tele-zoom

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 20, 2011
Pros: Superior build quality
Cons: Slow auto-focus
My wife bought me this lens as a gift and it is nicely assembled and very easy to carry around. My challenge with the lens was I started surfing the net and reviewing reviews and determined it would be too slow for my goals of shooting low-light cathedrals in Europe. I didn't have the heart to take it back and I am glad I didn't, my wife uses it for her daughter's soccer pics on my back-up body (60D). I am ridiculously spoiled with a 70-200 F2.8...
13 of 17 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site