Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / PowerShot Cameras Reviews / PowerShot A Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PowerShot A Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PowerShot A610

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

PowerShot A610

Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
16 out of 17(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PowerShot A610
Review 1 for PowerShot A610
Nickname: Winnie
Location: Central, Va
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: No

Love it!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 18, 2010
Never really looked at a digital camera but decided to get one with some bonus credits through work and this was the one available. We used to fight over who got to use it! We have had it 5+ years and it still works great. I was on here trying to figure out what is the biggest memory card it can accept and if it can accept the Eye-fi card. Still haven't figured it out. I am happy with it but I would love to get an updated version because I have to record a presentation for my college class and the video time with a 1 GB card isn't very long.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PowerShot A610
Nickname: clg
Location: All over Florida and North Carolina
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

This camera is nearly perfect

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 3, 2010
Has it really been 5 years. Yes its a little scratched up. Few cameras today seem to have my favorite features. I love an optical viewfinder, saves a lot of battery life. I love the flexible LCD, good info, bright, shoot odd positions, protected. I love the grip that also holds 4 AA batteries, easy to hold, shoot, change settings, get hundreds of pictures on a charge. Also, excellent picture managing software. Steve's Digicams guided me to this purchase and its a great buyer site today.
Sadly, nothing Canon makes today seems to match and mine is finally showing damage in the zoom lens mechanism.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PowerShot A610
Nickname: san
Location: LA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

The best

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 7, 2010
Pros: great picture quality, excellent features, many shooting modes, ease to use
Cons: not good pictures at night, requires 4 aa batteries
Am using this camera since 4 years and it is one of the best cameras, except for night time.
Review 4 for PowerShot A610
Nickname: caliman1959
Location: J.C TN
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast

GREAT!!!!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 18, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, easy to use
Cons: none from me!!
This camera is awesome! It was given to me for Christmas 7 years ago and it still works great. movie camera function works great in all light.and to this day ,still figuring out all the function!! Great camera Canon!!
1 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PowerShot A610
Nickname: Sndygrl
Location: Omaha, NE
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

Great Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 24, 2009
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Simple controls/menu, easy to use, lots of features i keep my manual handy
I was hesitant to get a digital camera because I thought they were complicated. It wasn't as complicated as I thought it would be. I compared cameras online before I bought one. I specifically bought this one because it has good low light capability. Everyone who uses it, likes it. I wasn't disappointed. This camera is awesome.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PowerShot A610
Nickname: Thaiti
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

I love my Power Shot A610

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 21, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable
I got this camera as a Christmas gift from my husband 4 years ago and it's all I use!! This is my go to camera every where I go,it's dependable, reliable and always deliver perfect pictures! I don't know what I was thinking for not upgrading sooner!!!! This camera is one of the best if you are just started out to take pictures, it's for beginners to expert photographers. I have a friend who is an advance photographer and he loves this camera so much that he wants to purchase the same model!! All I can say is that this is definitely worth the money to buy this camera!!!
Review 7 for PowerShot A610
Nickname: Cam Girl
Location: Chicago IL
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Fantastic camara!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 14, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, good battery life, durable
I've had this camara for years and I love it. Up until about a year ago I really looked into all of the features it has and it amazed me and people who viewed my photos. A lot of people have asked me, "What kind of camara do you have?" I'm the type of person that carries my camara in my purse incase a "good photo op" comes my way :) I tend to drop things...cell phone included and I have dropped my camara countless times and it still works! It's been to Africa, Europe, Israel, Mexico and all over the US with it and I have amazing photos of my journeys!
For the price and for someone that is beginning photography it is an excellent choice because It has a lot of manual controls that allow you to experiment with lighting and contrast etc. It also has a "color swap" and "Color contrast" option that can be very fun. It can make things that are blue turn orange and also for color contrast it picks up 1 color of your choice and makes everything else black and white. I recently traveled to Teton Valley ID and I took photos at Jenny Lake making the water blue and everything else black and white. They were breathtaking photos. I could write a lot more but this will have to do!
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PowerShot A610
Nickname: Barbie
Location: Kansas City
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

Love love love this Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 12, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, good battery life, pull out screen
Cons: Heavy/Bulky
I will be devastated if anything happens to this camera. I don't know that you can find them anymore to purchase. This camera was a Christmas gift from my b/f four years ago. It's been from home to clubs to California where we lived a while to a vacation in England/France. I dropped it once recently, but it was fine. I'll try to never let that happen again.
It's the only camera that I know of the has the pull out screen feature. People always say how neat that is and it's great when taking a picture of yourself and friend when no one else is around. It is bigger and bulkier than the newer cameras, but it's an amazing camera.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PowerShot A610
Nickname: Anonymous

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 21, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, durable
Cons: Heavy/Bulky
Best digital camera I have ever owned. I bought it on 9/08/06, the day my daughter was born. She has dropped it so many times in the 2 3/4 years and it has been fine. I dropped it in the lake (for a millisecond) over the weekend and it's done. I am so sad and searching, searching, searching for a new one. Absolute great camera. Even strangers can take great pictures when you say "Can you take a picture of my family?" You don't have to sit there and explain to them how to work it.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PowerShot A610
Nickname: LJ
Location: Iowa
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Great Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 14, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, good battery life, durable
I love the Canon PowerShot A610 camera. It does everything you could want a camera to do.
Review 11 for PowerShot A610
Nickname: johnjam
Location: Reading, PA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

sad

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 12, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable, luv the flip screen
Cons: can only drop 3 or 4 times
Had this camera for over 4 years.
Thousands of pictures.
Dropped it one last time.
Feel like I lost a friend.
Hope to find a new one soon.
sad.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PowerShot A610
Nickname: Arce
Location: Normon,OK
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

Awsome Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 4, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable
Cons: nothing on this camera seems to have a con
I love this camera I have had it for 4 years it is the best camera I have ever had its easy to use & it has more functions than u need although you have to be careful with the screen because it will break apart after a while of having the camera.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PowerShot A610
Nickname: elysegirl
Location: Maryland
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

Best Camera Ever

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 2, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, good battery life, durable, the screen!!, easy to grip
Cons: Heavy/Bulky
I think my favorite part is the screen, makes it super easy to take photos. Plus, the screen stays nice because it flips closed. I haven't been able to find another camera with a screen like that. I like that its a bit bulky because I am a little rough on my gadgets, and it makes it easier to hold.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PowerShot A610
Nickname: SAILOR2357
Location: LOWELL, MA.
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

DEPENDABLE AND EASY

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 17, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable, great all around
Cons: only 1 con red eye is tricky but practice
THIS IS ONE CAMERA I HOPE THEY DON'T STOP MAKING. THIS IS THE FIRST DIGITAL CAMERA I LIKED ENOUGH TO BUY. NOW THAT MY WIFE LEARNED HOW TO USE IT I NEVER SEE IT.(GOTTA GET MY OWN AGAIN)
I WOULDN'T HESITATE TO BUY ANOTHER ONE. LOADED WITH ALL THE FEATURES THAT I NEED AND MORE. LIKE I TELL PEOPLE THAT ASK ME ABOUT WHAT CAMERA TO BUY. I ASK THEM WHAT DO YOU WANT IT TO DO AND WHAT DO YOU REQUIRE IT TO DO. THIS LIL PACKAGEHAS WHAT I NEED AND MORE. I KEEP 2 SETS OF BATTERIES CHARGED AND READY 1 IN THE CAMERA AND ONE SPARE, BUT THIS CAMERA GETS GREAT MILAGE ON BATERIES. AND YES I WOULD BUY ANOTHER ONE. THANK YOU FOR LETTING ME SHARE THIS.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PowerShot A610
Nickname: D & M
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

Great Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 25, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, good battery life, vari-angle screen!
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance, Heavy/Bulky
We have taken over 40,000 pictures over the last 4 years with this camera. It takes great pictures when compared to other friends and familys pictures taken by digital cameras. The vari-angle screen is probably the best feature of this camera. We use it all the time taking candid pictures of us and our family enjoying life. It is pricesless when it comes to making sure you are acutally taking a picture of what you want when taking self portraits with the kids, spouse, or friends. We print many pictures and the color seems to be accurate. It has recently had problems focusing and taking photos in rapid succession and we will be replacing it immedately. 60% of the photos taken now are unfocused. We are hardly upset about it as this camera has provided us with so many priceless pictures.
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PowerShot A610
Nickname: Joshua

Amazing!!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 19, 2008
I've had this camera for 3 years and never had a problem!!
I think the best feature is the flip screen!!!!
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PowerShot A610
Nickname: BG

Love it

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 4, 2008
I love this camera, especially the feature to flip the screen around for taking self shots, you can see what you are taking and make sure everyone is in the shot!!!
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site