Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Printers & Multifunction Reviews / imageCLASS Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop imageCLASS Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for imageCLASS MF3240

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

imageCLASS MF3240

Average Customer Rating:
3.679 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (28 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
7
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 star
3
19 out of 28(68%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for imageCLASS MF3240
Review 1 for imageCLASS MF3240
Nickname: Ted V
Location: roswell, Ga.
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

best Home/office printer for the $

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 11, 2014
Pros: reliable, durable, easy to use
I've had this printer going on six years. I print out training documents and manuals. The most reliable printer, I have ever had. I do not have to do anything, to the printer except buy the X25 refurb cartridge, once or twice a year.
I recently had my laptop upgraded to Win 7 64 bit. I use the windows default scan software . it works fine except when putting multiple pages in a PDF document.
Only feature it is lacking is the automatic paper feed.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for imageCLASS MF3240
Nickname: Andji
Location: Salem, OR
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

not good for OS X

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:December 8, 2013
All time have a problems to connect this printer to my Mac.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for imageCLASS MF3240
Nickname: kit
Location: philadelphia

scaner doesn't work with the toolbox in win7 64bit

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:August 13, 2013
Cons: Difficult to use
scaner doesn't work with the toolbox in win7 64bit
a big company can't let the toolbox solfware for win7 64bit...disapoint it..
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for imageCLASS MF3240
Nickname: ankitp4t3l
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Excellent Printer/Scanner/Faxer!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 2, 2012
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, durable, Small Footprint, High Quality Output, fast print speed, easy to use
All the functions of this MFP work flawlessly.
Many of the other reviewers have stated that the print does not work with 64bit and or Windows 7 as a whole. This is incorrect. To get this printer working on Windows 7, as I have done, you need to download the appropriate driver from this page. Once you have the .exe file. Run it and there will be a a new folder in the same directory as the .exe. Now click start and type device manager. Look for other devices and or imaging devices. Right click all the MF3240s you see and click update drivers. Then click the second option, manually update and select the folder that you created after ruinning the .exe. Repeat this for all the MF3240s that appear in device manager and you will be set.
14 of 25 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for imageCLASS MF3240
Nickname: adamy88
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

No Win 7 64 bit support

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:November 9, 2012
Pros: fast print speed
Cons: Difficult Setup, unreliable, Flimsy Construction
It worked fine under Windows XP but when I upgraded to Windows 7 64-bit, only the printer worked.
No scanning ability. Looks like others are finding out the hard way, too. I'm hoping they come out with driver/software support for the entire system but since the printer is now discontinued, I doubt it. Canon probably wants you to buy a newer model.
13 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for imageCLASS MF3240
Nickname: Comfycat
Location: CA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Worse than some....better than most

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:August 20, 2012
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, durable, High Quality Output, fast print speed, no ink to dry up or jets to clog, clean crisp printing
Cons: Difficult to use, gets really hot after 20+ pages, not compatible with x64
This MF is great for people who don't use it frequently or for more than 20 pages at once because there is no ink to dry up but gets hot when printing multiple documents. I don't find the control panel very easy to use. It should be idiot proof and simple to program and use. I haven't been able to find out how to use it with my 64x laptop as there are no drivers to support it so I can only use it on my desktop, which is now sick, so I can't print anything. It's generally reliable and hasn't given me any problems. I would not recommend this for an office or high use areas. The software I find to be inferior to others I have used and is generally not helpful. Would I buy this again knowing what I know now? I've owned several computers and printers and used many in offices and would have to say the brand is good but no I wouldn't buy this particular model again.
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for imageCLASS MF3240
Nickname: Victor
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Best Purchase Ever

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 6, 2012
------------------------------------------------------------------
Print quliy is so good.
No hesitation, no jams.
------------------------------------------------------------------
I printed (4 monts} / cartridge, on other laser printers,.
I printed (2 years) / cartridge on this printer.
THIS printer PRINTED 6 TIMES MORE PAGES than usual.
-------------------------------------------------------------------
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for imageCLASS MF3240
Nickname: Ms Cue.
Location: Ohio
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

imageCLASS MF3240

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 11, 2012
Cons: it doesn't like to print on cardstock-often jams, doesn't print on larger size paper
This is a great printer for the price and if it came in color, it would be outstanding. I used it while taking classes to print information. I have gone through about 5 boxes of paper and it's still running perfectly. The ink is so economical -- lasts for over 2300 copies-- you can't beat it.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for imageCLASS MF3240
Nickname: Zomp
Location: Raleigh, NC
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

no feeder

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 1, 2011
Cons: no paper feeder for fax or copy
There are things which shouldn't be purchased online and this is one of them. The ad reads, prints and copies up to 21 pages a minute - sounds good and I only assumed there was a feeder in order to copy up to 21 pages a minute. Nope - 21 pages a minute is if you copy only one page and print 21.
We intended to use it mostly as a fax and copier - not a printer. Well, it was for my dad and it was about 60 days later that he opened it and used it so that it can't be returned.
It's a good machine for receiving faxes and printing - just not for sending a fax with multiple pages or copying multiple pages.
Review 10 for imageCLASS MF3240
Nickname: sandy125
Location: connecticut
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

unhappy purchaser

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 4, 2011
Pros: Easy Setup
I have purchased this item on Jan 2011. Since then the paper feeder does not work well. At first, one paper jam when I print. After 5 months, ten paper jam every time I make a print. That is terrible. I won't recommend this item. Please be aware when other wrote their review. Some time people just wrote their review too early. The product takes time to find out if it is good or not.
2 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for imageCLASS MF3240
Nickname: Hank
Location: Mo. Val., CA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

OK to buy

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 24, 2011
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, durable, High Quality Output, fast print speed, easy to use
I like very much. I bought 2. one for business and one for home.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for imageCLASS MF3240
Nickname: ml

Excellent for home use

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 9, 2011
Accomplishes all fundamental basic tasks at an excellent level, small problems with jamming, but never any big issues.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for imageCLASS MF3240
Nickname: netrocket
Location: Rochester, NY
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office

A Great Product and A Great Value!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 9, 2011
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, High Quality Output, fast print speed, easy to use, very good value
Cons: can't think of one.
It is one of the easiest multifunction laser printer I have ever used. The simplicity of use, the intuitive and useful features and overall quality make it a class leader. This is the first Canon printer I purchased, and now I am wondering why I did not buy them before.
I have been using a Multifunction laser printer made by a competitor, and it did not have the simple feature of retaining the date and time in memory, although I paid almost 3 times the price of Canon MF3240! When I contacted their tech support and suggested that they could do a simple software update to do it, and they declined to even consider it.
It is going to be a Canon printer in my house from now on.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for imageCLASS MF3240
Nickname: Leo
Location: Los Angeles
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

Good basic MFD

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 23, 2010
Have this unit for a year and a half with no problems once I have learned NOT to slam the paper tray but to gently push it in-->lift it up a little--> seat it down gently. No paper jamming ever since with regular Office Depot paper. My only two complaints are that to make default fax RECEIVE resolution "fine" you need to set default TRANSMIT resolution fine.
Indeed it is a big unit, but the trade-off is that the paper is fully enclosed / protected from the elements if you will not forget to install the back cap. The second complaint is that there is no support whatsoever on a manual paper feeder and THERE it is very easy to feed the sheet skewed a little and then it will jam. Never had it with the envelopes, but did occur with regular paper. Some folding shelf would be much appreciated.
Being regularly on sale for much less than MSRP makes it a good home office unit if you do not need duplex printing capability.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for imageCLASS MF3240
Nickname: DM
Location: Rhode Island
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Constantly jamming

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 3, 2010
Cons: add a con
This printer constantly jams. When it does, you have to take toner cartridge out and try again. Doesn't matter if it's 1 or multiple copies. Tried different cartridges and paper. Very unhappy with this printer.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for imageCLASS MF3240
Nickname: AG
Location: Palm Beach Gardens, FL
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Horrible copy/print

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 29, 2010
Pros: easy to use
Cons: Slow Print Speed, Low Quality Output, unreliable
Machine is used at a medical office and we have had many problems with it. Mainly, we use this as our main copier at the front desk and the paper keeps jamming. We make multiple copies and after 3 of 10 copies the paper is jammed and the machine has to be opened and the toner removed to get the paper jam out. We have had 3 different replacement machines and still have the same problem.
11 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for imageCLASS MF3240
Nickname: mcie2
Location: Oak Lawn, IL
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Great Printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 20, 2010
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, durable, High Quality Output, fast print speed, easy to use, long toner life
Cons: large for my home desk
I've had this printer for over 2 years. I finally need to replace the toner. I do a lot of printing and scanning. I've used the fax feature several times and it's easy to switch from manual to auto fax.
Great home office printer for the price.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for imageCLASS MF3240
Nickname: padgman
Location: Huntsville, AL
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

No Regrets

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 9, 2010
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, durable, Small Footprint, High Quality Output, easy to use
Cons: Slow Print Speed
I love this machine. I have had it for over two years. My office purchased it and found out that Corporate would not allow them to use it. I bought it from them and have not had any issues at all with it. Would highly recommend.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for imageCLASS MF3240
Nickname: FKlee
Location: Boston, MA
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Good Value

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 5, 2010
Pros: reliable, durable, High Quality Output, fast print speed
Cons: Large Footprint
Most of my printing is B&W and the cost of ink just goes against my grain. Canon has always meant quality to me so when the 3250 was available I scooped it up. I'm also a fan of multifunction. And when it includes FAX it's a sure buy. Print speed and quality are v. good. My only concerns are: lack of an on/off switch and it's a bit larger than I'd hoped.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for imageCLASS MF3240
Nickname: Steve
Location: Springfield, SD
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Great All-In-One Copier

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 9, 2010
Pros: reliable, durable, High Quality Output, fast print speed, easy to use
Cons: Difficult Setup
Purchased this item a week ago. We are having problems setting up two lines for the fax. No other major problems except the slow setup operation. We have deleted half of the junk that came on the disks. It is used in a gas station and does great for printing invoices, selling hunting and fishing licenses and general copies. We have no need for the scanner. The choice of a place to feed individual paper works great for the licenses since they are envelope size. This is a A+ for us. Great looking and fast printing. Overall, I didn't want the scanner button, but when I went to the web-site we did download the drop down tool bar if needed.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site