Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / EOS Cameras Reviews / EOS Digital Cameras Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop EOS Digital Cameras or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Digital Rebel XTi

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

Digital Rebel XTi

Average Customer Rating:
4.231 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(52 Reviews) 52
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (52 reviews)
5 stars
29
4 stars
13
3 stars
4
2 stars
5
1 star
1
41 out of 52(79%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Digital Rebel XTi
Review 1 for Digital Rebel XTi
Nickname: Disappointed
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

4 year life span

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:December 17, 2010
This is the third canon product, and first digital slr. Takes great quality photos. My digital camera stopped working after only 4 years of home use. For the price I thought the camera would have the same life span as canons other non digital slrs
20 of 34 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Digital Rebel XTi
Nickname: globaby100
Location: extensive travel in US and outside US
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Great all around camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 7, 2010
Have owned this camera for almost 2 years. Have a telephoto and have used extensively for travel. Great camera.
11 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Digital Rebel XTi
Nickname: mickey
Location: grand prairie,texas
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

my baby

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 12, 2010
i love this XTi,my first camera and the best thing i ever bought
i take pics of my kids and family and on road trips its the best and the EF lens's are the best thing on earth even if i upgrade my XTi the lens can be switched to another body (i got my eye on the T2i)
8 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Digital Rebel XTi
Nickname: proCanon
Location: Cloquet, MN
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Great starter SLR for anyone.

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 30, 2010
I have had this camera for a couple of years so I guess it is about time that I wrote a review on it. I got the body and lens ( standard 18-55) from a local establishment. Upon first experience with it I thought it was comfortable and was really easy to use. It took me a just a week or so to master the control settings and get extremely familiar with the menu options. I have heard a lot of people saying that they have had "busy" issues and board issues. I would have to say just about any product aimed at a middle class consumer your going to run into one or two bad apples in the bushel. I have nothing but great things to say about this unit. If your just stepping up from a point and shoot it will do everything you want and more. There is almost nothing on this camera you cant manipulate to make the photos look great.
48 of 49 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Digital Rebel XTi
Nickname: 15,000 shots
Location: NC
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

15,000 shots review.. good and bad

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 24, 2010
Pros: great pictures
Cons: busy singal, occasional delay for this and that
15,000 shots under my belt in the 2+ years I have had this camera. We have taken some great shots together, but we have lost a few opportunities due to some of its flaws.
First off, it really has potential, decent size shots, able to customize it, etc.. The shots can be amazing from it, and for any aspiring photographer, this is a great camera to test the water with.
If you are seasoned though, you will find that the constant "Busy" signal, the delays for this reason, its lack of being able to set certain features on certain settings can get in the way.
It feels solid, and well built. My camera fell of the tripod and killed a perfectly innocent telephoto lens one day, and the camera still worked perfectly. I did have to send it to the shop because the shutter spring flew off of it though, totally unrelated.. the spring came off about a year BEFORE it took its 5 foot plummet to the ground.
I wish some of the settings had a bit quicker access, quick keys so to speak, and I also wish the auto focus points could be set in all of the settings.
Of all the pictures I have taken with it, I have had the camera lock up on me 2 times to where I had to pull the battery out. Thats not bad, and I wont fault the camera for that, its sure is a heck of a lot better than the point and shoot I had before it.
I wish it had 5 numbers in the name instead of 4.
All in all, I would recommend this camera to people, its great, I still love it, but I am getting ready to upgrade and take it a step farther.
I only wish that canon would have fixed the "busy" signal due to the flash, would have put 5 stars down the board if that was the case.
I am going on another shooting spree today, and I will proudly whip out my now veteran camera,
I hope this helps, any of you, the good and the bad..
PS... for those of you speaking of softness, vignetting etc, that is NOT the camera's fault, that is the lens.. Good glass can make the biggest piece of junk make great pictures, so bad glass can being the best right on down as well..
34 of 36 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Digital Rebel XTi
Nickname: jazz
Location: Houston, TX
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Excellent camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 7, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
I bought this camera and a high end point and shoot just a few months apart. I wish I had not spent the money on the point and shoot. The Rebel is easier to use and produces far superior photos. I am completely satisfied with the camera. If I eventually become a professional, I will upgrade to another Canon.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Digital Rebel XTi
Nickname: Richard8971
Location: Tucson, AZ
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Awesome camera!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 23, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
This is one awesome camera. I have been using my XTi for almost 2 years now and I love it. It has a nice "heavy" well-built feel to it, even though it is easy to carry and handle. I also have the T1i and I always seem to go back to my XTi for wildlife photos. My only wish is that it took a few more FPS than 3, but for the quality of the photos I get, I can live with the one or two small setbacks this camera has vs. some of the newer Canon's out there.
I would recommend shooting in RAW format with this camera as it allows you to customize your shots so much better than letting the camera make it's own Jpegs. Also, don't be afraid to give this camera some really good glass. It really makes a difference in the final image quality. This thing takes very sharp photos. I also recommend getting the BG-E3 battery grip. Well worth the money and makes your camera even that much more versatile. Also the additional grip area makes the nice to hold esp., when you have on larger zoom lenses like the 70-300 IS USM.
I can spend the day taking upwards of 400-700 shots without worrying about battery life. If you are using the on-board flash, I recommend one of the Speedlite flashes. Lots of on-board flash use can kill any digital camera's batteries.
If you have one of these, keep it. If you ever get the change to grab on up at a sweet price, buy it! You won't regret adding this camera to your arsenal. It is built like a tank and consistantly produce awesome photos!
15 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Digital Rebel XTi
Nickname: Nature shooter
Location: Saint Louis, MO
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Oh Man

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 5, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Solid Operation, Lightweight/Portable
This is my first Digital SLR. I had been using my reliable Canon AE-Program I have had since my tour in Korea in
1983. I bought this camera instead of the sx20is Canon.
I am so glad I did. The only thing this camera is missing is
video capablity. That is OK because my cell (Sprint EVO)
has 720p video. This camera makes me get up early and
go to bed late, due to the posiblities available both day and night. I have a 24-70 lens and a 55-250. This kit with my polorizer is a catch all for me. I will spend quite some time with this one.
14 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Digital Rebel XTi
Nickname: Dave L.
Location: Columbus, OH
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

You'll like it

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 2, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: noisy
First things first... The camera doesn't make the photographer. The camera is a tool and it's up to the person using it to have the knowledge to use the tool to its fullest ability.
That being said, the Canon xti is an excellent camera. The kit lenses that are often coupled with this camera are equally capable. With proper knowledge in photography this camera has the ability to capture amazing vivid and sharp shots.
One thing that this camera struggles with is high iso speeds (greater than 400). Noise becomes an issue however, with post processing even high iso images are easily attainable.
I've had this camera for three years and it has always provided excellent shots for me.
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Digital Rebel XTi
Nickname: keystone
Location: Spokane, Washington
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Disappointed

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:May 19, 2010
Pros: good battery life, quiet, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, Superior build quality, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable
Cons: Poor image quality, Complicated controls/menu
I've had the camera for over a year. Functions and choices are good. Operations is good. Built in flash is average. Disappointed in the softness of the photos. I've made Adjustments internally in the camera to improve this problem, but to no avail.
7 of 21 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Digital Rebel XTi
Nickname: Michelle
Location: Atlanta
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Love this Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 22, 2010
Pros: good battery life, quiet, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
I absolutely love this upgrade! I've really enjoyed all that I've done with this camera so far, which is vacation shots, whale watch shots, NHL game shots, family shots, lots of video. Just a fantastic product. I've used nothing but Canons for years, and this is the best one yet!
12 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Digital Rebel XTi
Nickname: Anonymous
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast

Buyer remorse

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 19, 2010
I really had buyers remorse after I purchased this. Nothing fit, the flash is weak, the lens is weak. Now the thing broke for no apparent reason and I cannot find any repair shops.
7 of 72 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Digital Rebel XTi
Nickname: Luke68
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Excelent Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 25, 2010
Pros: good battery life, quiet, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use
Cons: Complicated controls/menu
Great Camera! Ive had the Xti for three years and Ive never had a problem with it! I photograph sports and car shows and it hasnt failed me yet! I would reccomend this camera to anyone who asks!
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Digital Rebel XTi
Nickname: nlady
Location: Portland, OR
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months

Flash flash flash.

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 13, 2010
Pros: good battery life, excellent image quality, easy to use
Cons: noisy, Complicated controls/menu
The flash is beyond annoying! I took this guy to a friend's show the other evening, and I eventually gave up taking shots because the flash was starting to annoy the performers with the flickers between "busy" signals. I tried switching to MF but that is impossible in dark dungeon settings, and the AF without the flash refused to work. In other settings this camera does some amazing work though. The quality and clearness of the images are superb, and the RAW is a blast. But you have to get used to the most obnoxious flash ever made by man, and of course flash's best buddy "busy."
10 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Digital Rebel XTi
Nickname: abbigshmail
Location: Tacoma, WA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

good starter

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 8, 2010
Pros: Nice features/settings, Solid Operation, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: noisy, Slow Start-up time, Short battery life
I got this camera for christmas when I was in high school working on my high school newspaper, and I've had it for 5 years now. I can say that it's always been trusty, never really given me any grief, and I never really have problems with "busy" because I rarely shoot in automatic, unless there's a lot of light. The problem I have with my Rebel is how noisy it is. Only being able to reach 1600 ISO, I don't have a lot of control with lowlight. I've been shooting concerts since 2009, and I always have to do a bunch of processing if the lighting is really low. I don't even shoot in RAW because the noise in RAW is even worse than in JPEG.
7 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Digital Rebel XTi
Nickname: Jnich63
Location: Nashville, TN
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Zero complaints/issues!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 8, 2010
Pros: good battery life, quiet, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
I have had the XT1 for more than two years and have had ZERO problems. Never once have I experienced the 'busy' message that some other users have. I seldom shoot in any other mode other than 'Priority' (P)and Manual (M), this may be why. This was my first DSLR and I have now upgraded to the T1i, mainly for the HD video function. The XT1 is a perfect camera for the amateur who wants to take things to the next level from the limited point and shoot cams.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Digital Rebel XTi
Nickname: Becca
Location: McKinney, TX
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

It's a Great First DSLR Camera! Love It!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 22, 2010
Pros: good battery life, quiet, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: goes "busy" during shooting sometimes.
I have used point and shooters for years and always wanted a real digital that had AF and Manual. I took a class to better understand all the terms of photography and how to use my camera. I had used it in AF alot and loved the photos that came out. I always wanted to do Macro shots and you will not believe the macros I got in AF on this camera. Absolutely fantastic! I wish I could put some on here for you to see! Then, my second love is action shots. I went through all my notes and put the camera in total manual mode and headed for the rodeo (Both of these experiences were using the standard lens that came with my XTi, the 18-55mm) Some of my action shots were blurry, but some were actually awesome, depending how far away my subject was. I was so excited with both outcomes, I just ordered the 70-100mm L USM lens today to use for action, and am going to order the 100mm L IS for macro. I am totally happy and excited with the performance of my XTi. If I had a "con" issue, it would be that it does go "busy" while shooting consecutive shots and I have to wait for it to clear, sometimes missing a really good opportunity. But for my first "real" DSLR camera, it is wonderful and I am really happy with it!
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Digital Rebel XTi
Nickname: bill
Location: auburn ny
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

unreliable!

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 18, 2010
Pros: good battery life, quiet, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: lost power
I shot 6 photos and then the camera locked up. I turned it off and the green light stayed on. I removed the battery, put it back in and it worked for another few shots. It is not a battery issue, it's a faulty board. When the camera works, it produce's a fine result, in any mode and light situation.
1 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Digital Rebel XTi
Nickname: Smallzy
Location: CT
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

The Few Problems are easily resolved

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 17, 2010
Pros: good battery life, quiet, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use, works great for all use
Cons: Slow Start-up time
The picture quality and everything is perfect... The few problems that the original camera has is the lens and flash quality.
The reason being is because that can keep the price down and depending on your interest for the camera or if you already have some lenses or other flash devices you can use those.
That is why i stick with canon, they let you build what you would like for a fraction of the cost, best bet is to check eBay and you can find some pretty great products for cheap
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Digital Rebel XTi
Nickname: rbirdie
Location: Stratford, CT
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Some Issues

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:December 30, 2009
Pros: good battery life, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use
Cons: Slow Start-up time, has issues adjusting to light-, flash does not work well
I wanted to read the reviews to be sure that the issues I was having were not limited to just my camera, but other users of this model are in fact experiencing the same issues. The shutter sticks, sometimes for up to 30 sec. This leaves a blurry pic. The camera is constantly saying busy, especially when you try and use the flash. It seems that it just an not handle it. I am not sure why. There are some really great clear pics that I get out of this camera, but like another user stated, there are many that are missed due to the camera issues. So, I do like the camera, I would, however not recommend it to someone. Perhaps Cannon can resolve these issues so this can be an awesome camera. Until then-
43 of 46 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site