Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / EOS Cameras Reviews / EOS Digital Cameras Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop EOS Digital Cameras or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for EOS Digital Rebel XTi EF-S 18-55 Kit

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

EOS Digital Rebel XTi EF-S 18-55 Kit

Average Customer Rating:
4.773 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(97 Reviews) 97
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (97 reviews)
5 stars
79
4 stars
16
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
94 out of 97(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for EOS Digital Rebel XTi EF-S 18-55 Kit
Review 1 for EOS Digital Rebel XTi EF-S 18-55 Kit
Nickname: Frank
Location: Suffolk, VA
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Nice featues, but flash delay disappoints

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 26, 2009
Pros: excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, easy to use, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life
Cons: flash "busy" delay
Have been a Canon customer for several years. Upgraded from the G2 to the G5 and now to the XTI.  Everything about the XTI is great, but the flash delay gotten after more than a few shots.  The primary reason we upgraded from the G5 (still works great) was my desire to focus faster and take repeated shots.  The speed is great as long as I am not needing the internal flash.  Unfortunately, most of my pictures are taken inside of my kids playing and the flash is necessary most of the time.  This is where I am sorely disappointed as after taking a few pictures the camera the "BUSY" message is displayed while the flash recharges or cools or something unknown is going on.  The compact flash card is a faster read / write than normal (I spent the extra money for a FAST card) so I don't think it is the problem (I use the fast card with the G5 also with no issue).  Also, if I close the flash while the "BUSY" message is displayed it will take another picture with flash, but then does the "BUSY" thing again.  I know an external flash would compensate for this issue, but it would also add some unwanted bulk and cost.  The XTI without external flash is just the right size for me and my wife to keep handy for great kid pictures, but we find ourselves reaching for the G5 (lower resolution, but no flash "BUSY" issue) rather than missing any sweet picture moments of our kids.
32 of 47 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for EOS Digital Rebel XTi EF-S 18-55 Kit
Nickname: Bill
Location: Greensboro, NC
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

camera and Lens Great Soft ware poor

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:February 16, 2009
Pros: Superior build quality, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, quiet, Quick Start-up time, Solid Operation, easy to use, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life
Cons: eos solutions software
I purchased an XTI and with the 18 55 lens plus a 70 200 zoom . I love all three pieces. The Software that comes on the Digital Solution disc is a night mare when working with Vista . I have had to uninstall and reinstall a number of times to get it working right . Recently I checkd the upgrades and downloaded and installed the latest . Now the Canon Camera window does not recognise my camera . I use Windows to get the job done . It is very frustrating to have the performance of a good piece(s) of hardware hurt by poor software
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for EOS Digital Rebel XTi EF-S 18-55 Kit
Nickname: jbsinco
Location: Denver, CO
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

Okay

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:July 16, 2010
Pros: add a pro
Cons: add a con
A okay camera for the money. Personally my best pictures are still from the Rebel G film camera, that cost a lot less. It is really good at close ups and macro shots, but for distance beyond 15 feet I get much better clarity from the Rebel G.
1 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for EOS Digital Rebel XTi EF-S 18-55 Kit
Nickname: Bob Magic
Location: San Diego, CA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

No Manual in PDF format

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 14, 2010
This camera is exceptional. The problem is support. Canon does not offer the manual for this model in PDF format so it can be easily read. The print in the included manual is small and hard to read. Other Canon cameras include a manual in PDF format and at this site!
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for EOS Digital Rebel XTi EF-S 18-55 Kit
Nickname: Renee
Location: Chesapeake, VA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

Great Little Camera

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 17, 2009
Pros: Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, easy to use
This is a great camera for anyone starting out with digital SLR photography. It's easy to use, light and durable. Not to mention since newer models have come out you can get it for a great price from most retailers!
The only thing I would improve has already been done in newer Rebel cameras, and that is make the flash a little more sturdy. Mine has behaved wonderfully, but it sounds a little fragile compared to the flash on newer cameras. But you can take care of that worry by using an external flash.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for EOS Digital Rebel XTi EF-S 18-55 Kit
Nickname: Vick
Location: Mamelle, Ar
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Great Camera for Learning Digital

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 20, 2009
Pros: Superior build quality, Bright LCD, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, quiet, Solid Operation, easy to use, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life
Cons: Slow Start-up time, no live view in lcd
I purchased this camera to learn digital photography methods and it has been just a thrill. Mine was refurb so I saved hundreds of dollars and it works just like a new one. Very nice and you will not regret the purchase!!!
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for EOS Digital Rebel XTi EF-S 18-55 Kit
Nickname: Pushkar

Satisfied

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 22, 2009
Pros: Superior build quality, excellent image quality, Quick Start-up time, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life
This is my first DSLR and I am quite satisfied with it. I discarded the 18-55 kit lens and bought the 17-85 IS - this lens is much better than the kit lens and gives a lot of versatility to everyday photography.
The menus layout could be better. Automatic ISO absent in creative modes.
13 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for EOS Digital Rebel XTi EF-S 18-55 Kit
Nickname: RawDogg
Location: San Fracisco Bay Area
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Great little DSLR

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 22, 2009
Pros: Simple controls/menu, Quick Start-up time, Solid Operation, easy to use, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life
Cons: Missing features/settings, noisy
This was a great little dslr. Number of useful features light weight, easy to carry good image quality.
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for EOS Digital Rebel XTi EF-S 18-55 Kit
Nickname: silverspoon
Location: Portland Oregon
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Entry Level D-SLR Packs a Punch

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 14, 2009
Pros: Superior build quality, Nice features/settings, quiet, Quick Start-up time, Solid Operation, easy to use, Lightweight/Portable, inexpensive
Cons: Short battery life, old image processor
Purchased a Canon Rebel Xti as a jump into the DSLR world. Great for entry level enthusiasts who want more than a point and shoot. For the price and comparative performance nothing beats the value. Wether you are into portraiture, landscape, or event photography, there is nothing that the Xti can't accomplish within it's design features,
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for EOS Digital Rebel XTi EF-S 18-55 Kit
Nickname: Photo Gramps
Location: Ridgeland, MS
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

First Digital SLR

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 18, 2009
Pros: Superior build quality, excellent image quality, Solid Operation, good battery life
Cons: Missing features/settings, small physical size
I bought this camera kit to replace my old G2 camera. The only real issues with the camera were the flip up flash and the lense that is included with the kit. The flip up flash is good for a fill flash and the original lense was actually out of focus. I replaced the original lense with the 18-55 IS EF-S lense and the focus issues ceased. The flash issue was fixed by replacing the flash with the EZ430 speedlite. Out of the box this kit is a good camera but with the two changes that were made it has become an excellent camera.
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for EOS Digital Rebel XTi EF-S 18-55 Kit
Nickname: outdoor gal
Location: Presque Isle county, Mi
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: No

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 15, 2009
Pros: excellent image quality, quiet, Quick Start-up time, easy to use, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, uses same lenses as my elan 7, seems to work well in cold weather
Cons: Dim LCD, could use some built in memory, lens that comes with kit seems very "cheap"
I got my first camera over 40 years ago, and have been taking photos ever since. I got this camera about a year ago, finally trying digital. I had looked at several brands and ended up choosing the Rebel beacuse I could use the same Canon IS zoom lenses that I use on my Elan 7. This is good because the lens that came with the kits seems very "loose" and I seldom use it. That said, using my other llenses, It takes great photos, from telephoto to marco. One feature I'm not sure I care for is the night mode. For night shots, I perfer my film cameras. (Maybe if I used my tripod?) Overall, I have been very happy with this camera.and would recommend it.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for EOS Digital Rebel XTi EF-S 18-55 Kit
Nickname: Graybeard763
Location: Hudson Valley, New York
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Great entry level DSLR

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 15, 2009
Pros: Superior build quality, excellent image quality, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, Solid Operation, easy to use, good battery life
Cons: Heavy/Bulky, built in flash very short range
The EOS Rebel Xti is a great entry level DSLR. Provides excellent quality with good value and if you're used to using any Canon EOS Rebel film SLR then the transition is almost seamless.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for EOS Digital Rebel XTi EF-S 18-55 Kit
Nickname: EchoHawk
Location: FL
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Excellent Buy

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 13, 2009
Cons: lenses still too expensive
It's a great camera if you've experienced other digital products of lesser quality. Basically operation is the same as the film version with results being boosted ten fold.
I still believe Canon can and should come down on their lens prices or your going to be stuck with the 18-55. It's not the greatest for good clean close shots, it cuts far too much of the area out.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for EOS Digital Rebel XTi EF-S 18-55 Kit
Nickname: Guido1000
Location: Woburn, MA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Great starter SLR

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 13, 2009
Pros: Superior build quality, Nice features/settings, Solid Operation, good battery life
Cons: Heavy/Bulky
Great SLR for next step up from point-n-shoot. Upgraded from a Pro1. Pictures are crisp, but contrast is a little low and exposure always seems dark and needs to be compensated for. Have always had Canon cameras and never disappointed. Toughest part is deciding on a good pair of lenses.
Review 15 for EOS Digital Rebel XTi EF-S 18-55 Kit
Nickname: bek
Location: Boston, MA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Great for the $

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 13, 2009
Pros: Superior build quality, Bright LCD, Simple controls/menu, quiet, Quick Start-up time, Solid Operation, easy to use, good battery life
Excellent entry level SLR. Solid, great features. The one thing I miss going to an SLR is the flip out viewfinder. It's a nice feature that is missing from SLRs.
Review 16 for EOS Digital Rebel XTi EF-S 18-55 Kit
Nickname: Marc M
Location: San Diego, CA
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Perfect for beginner.

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 18, 2009
Pros: Superior build quality, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, Solid Operation, good battery life, excellent price/value
Cons: Complicated controls/menu, Missing features/settings
I purchased this just before the XSi came out. And honestly I'm glad I did, because I would probably have gone with the XSi and I know I would have been unhappy with it due to the SD card alone. CF is much faster and hardier, and for me I have more resources with fellow photographers than with an SD. Anyways, by the time this review was written the XTi is pretty much out the window with Canon. So moot point for a review anymore, but I just wanted to voice my opinion that this is a great camera for me (an aspiring amateur photog.). Someday I'll upgrade to the new 5D, but until then, I'm happy.
14 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for EOS Digital Rebel XTi EF-S 18-55 Kit
Nickname: Cowgirl
Location: Central Valley, CA
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Good Beginner DSLR

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 26, 2008
Pros: excellent image quality, quiet, Quick Start-up time, Solid Operation, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life
This is my first DSLR. I was late coming to the world of digital, being a purist and enjoying developing my own film in a lab. I am still getting used to the camera, as I have only had it a few months, but have truly enjoyed it nonetheless.
My photography skills improve at a more rapid pace because I can instantly see the results of my work.
Overall this camera is a good introduction to DSLR, but I sometimes find it difficult to go "completely manual" in my settings. I especially like taking b/w photos and would like it if the option were available with your auto settings.
I am pleased with the camera on the whole, and especially like the speed, too.
Good buy for the beginner!
13 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for EOS Digital Rebel XTi EF-S 18-55 Kit
Nickname: motormom
Location: Roswell, GA
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

great camera for the money

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 13, 2008
Pros: excellent image quality, Nice features/settings, quiet, Quick Start-up time, Solid Operation, easy to use, good battery life
Cons: Complicated controls/menu
This camera is, for the most part, easy and fun to use. The light weight is a real plus. Pictures are sharp and easy to download. We really enjoyed the remote shooting function this morning, taking the Santa Claus pictures at a charity breakfast.
The only real disappointment is that it's not fully compatible with the big Speedlite I purchased for use with my EOS 35 mm -- I can only use it in manual mode. The little pop flash is really inadequate for most shooting.
16 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for EOS Digital Rebel XTi EF-S 18-55 Kit
Nickname: Sarah
Location: Florence, AL
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Great deal- wonderful purchase

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 30, 2010
I bought this camera a few years ago with the 18-55mm kit, and it has served me VERY well. I now have multiple lenses and filters, and feel like this camera has helped me evolve as a photographer. This was my first DSLR and it was really easy to learn all the elements because the interface was so user-friendly. Now even as a somewhat experienced photographer, the XTi gives me great flexibility in the different projects I do. I would highly recommend this camera to anyone who's just starting out, and those who are looking to move up from a point and shoot to a DSLR. I honestly didn't experience any cons from this camera. Some have mentioned it's light-weight, but that's been a pro for me. It's durable and has survived a fair share of bumps and knocks, such as falling down a flight of stairs, and swinging into rocks at various parks. Overall, this camera continues to serve me well and proves itself to last in the hands of a clumsy teenager.
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for EOS Digital Rebel XTi EF-S 18-55 Kit
Nickname: Jav
Location: Greenville, NC
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Wonderful Camera!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 8, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: noisy, Heavy/Bulky, uses cf cards most cameras use sd
I love this camera! I use this camera for taking family pictures and portraits of my daughter. When ever I use my smaller, cheaper camera I can definitely tell the difference! This camera has been so great to have over the years.
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site