Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Printers & Multifunction Reviews / PIXMA iP Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PIXMA iP Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PIXMA iP4500

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

PIXMA iP4500

Average Customer Rating:
4.32 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (25 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
3
22 out of 25(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PIXMA iP4500
Review 1 for PIXMA iP4500
Nickname: PJMAC
Location: Rockingham Cty, VA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Very Good Purchase

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 4, 2012
Prints very good pictures and is easy to use. Happy with it,.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PIXMA iP4500
Nickname: Ninjazz
Location: Oregon
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Decent, but not for Pro-Photo

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 25, 2010
Pros: inexpensive ink, works reliably, pretty fast
Cons: dull photos, inconsistant color results
I have had this printer for a couple of years now, and for every day normal printing, it works great. It's fast, and I've never had any mechanical troubles.
It goes through ink a little bit faster than I'd like, but the tanks are small so it's understandable. They are also fairly cheap to replace compared to a lot of the competition.
My main problem with this printer is that it's proven almost useless for photography. I have been working more and more with printing my own photographic works and almost every time I go to use this printer for them, I come away frustrated and disappointed. The colors are nearly impossible to replicate accurately, and most photos print out with much duller colors, and low contrast. Blacks are not very black, etc. As far as the clarity and resolution of the photos, it's excellent. If only it could manage good color.
All in all, if you want a decent all around printer for a fairly low price, this is a great find. If you're looking for something mainly to print photos though, head somewhere else.
8 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PIXMA iP4500
Nickname: HeyYou
Location: Mooresville
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Workhorse

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 14, 2010
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, durable, Low Ink Consumption, Sharp Tones & Colors, fast print speed, easy to use
This review will be short but to the point. I have had this printer about two years. I have had such remarkable results with it that I bought two more on Craigslist. Problem is, the old one never breaks. Sorry Canon, but I put a CISS on it about a year and a half ago, and the cost of ink is now negligible. I purchase the ink from MIS Associates, and just keep the reservoirs filled and forget it. My wife is a teacher and they have to print their on materials. I cannot begin to tell you how many packs of paper she has gone through. To top it off, it has the original print head. The only problem I have had was with the CISS. One of the small tubes partially pulled out of one of the ink tanks and let in air and broke the seal, and this has only happened twice. Nothing has been caused by the printer. In conclusion..this printer just keeps on printing, and with excellent quality I ight add. Also, prints beautiful pictures.
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PIXMA iP4500
Nickname: Chaz
Location: Detroit, Michigan
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Canon is AMAZING now for 10 years!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 5, 2010
Pros: reliable, Compact Design, Easy Setup, durable, Low Ink Consumption, Lightweight/Portable, Sharp Tones & Colors, fast print speed, easy to use, professional photo quality, professional laser-like text quality
Cons: no blu-tooth or wi-fi option built into this unit
As always Canon is amazing. This IP4500 is just perfect. At the time of purchase there wasn't a machine in this lineup that included the wireless feature, but that's fine; most of their AIO's now are wireless and I'll probably be getting the new MX870. However the IP4500 is just perfect for both regular document printing and I would say even PROFESSIONAL photo printing needs; meaning that using the DSLR Canon Camera that I have and the stunning pictures that the IP4500 produces and other than just for the enjoyment as a hobby, I occasionally will take pictures for people and sell my work. As for regular printing, this machine makes my resume look as if I had it professionally printed. I use Canon's HR101, high resolution paper; which is coated on one side, my resume looks stunning, like getting a brochure from a company - that quality! The graphics on the high resolution paper is also amazing; it's actually photo-like. I use this paper when I'm doing test printing for my photos and or making a thumb-nail sheet for my customers to use and actually have something in their hand so they can get an idea of what the print will look like for real. You can adjust the size of the thumbnails. Sometimes I do only four pictures on a page but in other cases I have up to 16 on a page which still gives the quality, detail and amazing color expectations of what their actual prints will looks like after they make their choices, plus many times I let them keep the thumbnail sheet and many times I make one for myself of the pictures I take for fun and put this page as page one in a photo album. It's kinda of like an index of what pictures are in that particular album so now that I have many albums, finding one particular picture is a lot easier.
Canon makes and this printer will not only do double-sided paper printing, but also double-sided photo paper printing. Canon's ability to strive for perfection with their printers are what has made their name well known in the industry when people think about cameras; consumer based and or professional. Even if you don't have a Canon digital camera you can still be assured that your photo prints will be true to what your camera took when shot the picture. Of course software can be used to make corrections and or add/delete features.
The last thing that had made Canon number one in the last several years and ahead of the rest is that they have kept true to two major things that are most important to the consumer; cost of ink and quality. With this machine and Canon's patented technology for their print head, it produces ink droplets that are one pico-litre in size. This perfectly shaped round dot on the paper is one billionth of a liter. You add this plus a resolution of 9600x2400 dpi, NO other brand has this combination of technologies. This is why when you compare Canon to other brands you cannot see the pixels on the pictures coming out of the Canon printer but often you can on the others. One perfect example to test this is when you look at a section of a photo you've printed and study a solid colored section. Look to see if you can see the dots or not, then check out another brand if you're able and you'll notice it. This is also especially true on photos of people, especially when you have pictures that close up on a person's face. Looking at the subtle changes in a lady's skin tone, for example, coupled with beautifully done make up in her face is great for comparison. Look at where, in a lady's face her skin tone changes either lighter or darker. Also, look in shadowed areas; you just will NOT see the pixels/dots from this Canon IP4500!!! Also, my regular text printing is amazing. When I show someone my resume, I always get the compliment from a friend and or even a potential employer that it looks like brochure-quality. If you were to see my resume in a stack of other people's, you can pick out mine just by the paper that I've chose. Of course you may have guessed that I had used the HR101; yes again the high resolution paper. This paper is usually pretty inexpensive, especially when you get the quality that I've talked about. Also, when I'm doing regular printing from the internet, or lets say research work that I'll eventually end up throwing away what I've printed, I use the fastest print setting and the double sided option. This of course doesn't give me brochure quality output or laser quality text but since I'm just making notes for myself (calling this digital notes), then I'm really saving money on what ends up getting thrown away anyway. I believe Canon was also the first company to offer the double sided option on their printers and they also had the first pict-bridge enabled printers. This is a feature where using the cable that your digital camera comes with, you can use it to plug directly into the printer and bypass using the computer all together. You'll get a print menu, something you've probably never seen before along with some features that'll let you make amazing prints to hand over to a friend that's in a hurry or even sell at even where there isn't much time to have to load the photos into a computer and make all the print settings. This can all be done through the connection made from plugging the camera into my IP4500. Don't worry too if you don't have a Canon digital camera, Pict-bridge was made to be a universal technology and almost any brand of camera has it and of course the cable that comes with your digital camera will have the same sized plug on the end that'll go into the front of this IP4500 printer.
Lastly Canon has stood ahead of the pack not just in quality output, but when it comes to cost of ink, Canon started to push the envelope on that as well, starting years ago.
I can recall Canon being the first brand of printers that used individual ink tanks. Separately from this, looking at one of Canon's individual ink tanks, there is a section where the cartridge is clear, meaning that you can see the ink in the tank. This is how you KNOW when not just the printer is letting you know that you're either low on a particular color or actually out, but seeing is believing!! I know that since Canon started doing this to save the consumer money on the ink cost, other brands started to do it as well, but no one else in my opinion offers an individual cartridge where I can see the level of ink in the tank as well as having a HUGE quantity of ink in the tank for the price. When I've compared the amount of ink in my Canon black tank, for example; the one in my IP4500 that's used for text, I believe it's around 26ml give or take and the price is maybe up to only about $18 as per Canon's online store. Basically, I've only made ONE comparison, but if you take the time and compare the quantity of ink in Canon's tanks and the relative price, then compare this to other brands, there is NO choice to make other than going w/the Canon.
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PIXMA iP4500
Nickname: dsdock
Location: Durand, IL
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Excellent printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 18, 2010
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, Sharp Tones & Colors, fast print speed, easy to use
Cons: Large Footprint
Great printer. I love the cartridge tray so I can keep my photo paper always loaded. I have had this printer for a couple of years and have had no problems at all.
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PIXMA iP4500
Nickname: Print crazy
Location: Mass
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Great Photo Quality

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 10, 2010
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, durable, Low Ink Consumption, Sharp Tones & Colors, fast print speed, easy to use
The print quality is superior to any other printer in its class. the 5 separate ink tanks save on money.
Review 7 for PIXMA iP4500
Nickname: SouthernSr
Location: Jackson, Mississippi
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Great!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 20, 2010
Pros: reliable, Compact Design, Easy Setup, durable, Lightweight/Portable, Sharp Tones & Colors, fast print speed, easy to use, always works
Haave had my 4500 for 3+ years and the performance overall is perfect.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PIXMA iP4500
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: aberdeenwash.
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: No

piece of junk

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 5, 2009
Cons: High Ink Consumption, unreliable, Dull Tones & Colors
paid way to much,prints documents fine but they all do. color printing a joke, color never right from beginning, then deteriorated downhill,now all I get is heavy green tint. don't waist your time and money.
8 of 24 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PIXMA iP4500
Nickname: nakedian
Location: Santa Cruz, CA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Best Printer for the $$$

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 7, 2009
Pros: fast print speed, Low Ink Consumption, reliable, Sharp Tones & Colors, prints both sides of paper, has two bays for paper
Cons: Difficult Setup
I have owned this printer for over a year now and I can't imagine there is a better printer out there at this price. Two of my favorite things... this printer prints both sides of the paper, AND there are two bays for paper, so I can keep my photo paper in one and my regular paper in the other. Photo quality is EXCELLENT on photo paper and it doesn't seem to fade like my old printer.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PIXMA iP4500
Nickname: Munch
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: No

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:August 31, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, easy to use, fast print speed, reliable
Cons: Heavy/Bulky, dosn't work with linux
It was a good printer. Before i went to Linux. Now i need to use a diffretn computer to print.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PIXMA iP4500
Nickname: Pete
Location: Pittsburgh Pa
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Great on use of ink - great quality

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 7, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, durable, Easy Setup, easy to use, Low Ink Consumption, reliable, Sharp Tones & Colors, two paper trays, nice display of ink status
Easy to use. Very good, easy to follow documentation. Quick enough for me with nice features and low operating (ink) cost. Small footprint and attarctive looking.
Have had this printer for 5 months and am very pleased. When this one dies, I'll be looking for another Canon.
Review 12 for PIXMA iP4500
Nickname: Divine
Location: midtown new york. Street Photographer
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

BEst printer ever made

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 22, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, Lightweight/Portable, durable, Easy Setup, easy to use, fast print speed, reliable, Sharp Tones & Colors, super fast
Cons: High Ink Consumption
I use my mt printer for buisness and i need speed. the 4500 is just as fast as a dyeset printer. the individul ink tanks can be pushed to bone dry. the color surpurb if you are using photoshop. i had two and i used them 5days a week for about ten hours a day. it can take high output, cause i print photos fast. I been looking for this printer for weeks no store have them anymore so i have to go online. the 4600 is fast but i do not like the ink it use, me i need my 4500..... i also have the 9000 but it is slow..
13 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PIXMA iP4500
Nickname: Kozi
Location: Fairhope, AL
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

Effortless printing

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 23, 2009
Pros: Easy Setup, easy to use, fast print speed, reliable
This is my fourth Canon printer and the best ever. It is quiet and fast and the paper feeds smoothly. Separate ink tanks prevent waste. The included Photo Print software makes photo printing a breeze
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PIXMA iP4500
Nickname: ATRAIN
Location: Pikeville,TN
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

Brilliant Photos made easy

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 16, 2009
Pros: durable, Easy Setup, easy to use, reliable, Sharp Tones & Colors
Cons: Large Footprint
When this printer arrived I didn't think it looked like much. That is until I opened it up, then I couldn't believe it! It's not only an engineering marvel, it also serves the purpose of printing some of the best photos I have ever seen. Thats no joke. It's unbelievable how it prints for the price.
As far as reliability, I've done nothing but change ink cartridges and I've had it more than a year now. Bravo!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PIXMA iP4500
Nickname: Dewster
Location: Colorado
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast

Only I'm the Disappointment

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 15, 2009
Pros: durable, Easy Setup, easy to use, fast print speed, Low Ink Consumption, reliable, Sharp Tones & Colors
Cons: Large Footprint, Heavy/Bulky
I bought this product nine months ago to use to print out my astronomy photographs and more. So far, I have no complaints except for the fact that I can't find any pictures to print! If I was able to find more to print, I would be loving the fast print speed and the fact that I could print my whole photo album with a minimum amount of ink cartridges. However, it was said that the print speed was roughly 21 seconds but they obviously didn't include the time it takes for the printer to warm up.
Other than that, I'm glad I bought this product and I hope to use it more.
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PIXMA iP4500
Nickname: nehamauet
Location: Long Beach, CA
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Excellent Photo Printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 15, 2009
Pros: durable, Easy Setup, easy to use, fast print speed, Low Ink Consumption, reliable, Sharp Tones & Colors
This photo printer was a breeze to set up. The quick start guide easy to follow. I was amazed at the quality of the first photo I printed. All the other photos have come out just as good. The color is sharp and accurate. The ink has lasted quite a bit longer than I had expected. Replacing the ink cartridges is easy and quick.
An overall great printer.
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PIXMA iP4500
Nickname: Klancey
Location: Loma Linda
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

ip4500 Printer

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 13, 2009
Pros: durable, Easy Setup, easy to use, fast print speed, reliable
2/13/09
Great printer. Quiet, efficient with great features and a dream to use.
Review 18 for PIXMA iP4500
Nickname: zookeeper
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Outstanding Pictures

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 13, 2009
Pros: Lightweight/Portable, durable, Easy Setup, easy to use, fast print speed, Low Ink Consumption, reliable, Sharp Tones & Colors
Cons: Large Footprint
Text printing, with duplexing built right in, perfect, laser quality. Color printing to the edge is incredible. having two feed trays just makes it that much easier to go from document printing to your favorite 4x6, paper changing not needed. Ink tanks THAT WILL RUN DRY before you have to change them. you'll see no ink in the "tank" when you change one. it wont let you print if ink is out, you will not waste paper in this printer ! I didn't want an ALL IN ONE, I wanted a PRINTER and I found one. Highly recomended !!!
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PIXMA iP4500
Nickname: Cat
Location: Florida
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Frustrating

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 3, 2009
A new ink cartridge and the same old problem. I am unable to print because "the ink cartridge is not recognized"
3 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PIXMA iP4500
Nickname: stef
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 28, 2008
Pros: Easy Setup, easy to use
Cons: High Ink Consumption, unreliable, printhead does not last
Printhead is no good. It lasts about 6 months but when not used frequently ink dries in printhead and can not be cleaned.
26 of 31 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site