Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / EOS Cameras Reviews / EOS Digital Cameras Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop EOS Digital Cameras or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
4.588 out of 5
4.739 out of 5
4.447 out of 5

Customer Reviews for EOS Rebel XSi EF-S 18-55IS Kit

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

EOS Rebel XSi EF-S 18-55IS Kit

Average Customer Rating:
4.808 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(292 Reviews) 290
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (292 reviews)
5 stars
243
4 stars
44
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
0
279 out of 292(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for EOS Rebel XSi EF-S 18-55IS Kit
Review 1 for EOS Rebel XSi EF-S 18-55IS Kit
Nickname: Canoneer
Location: Colorado Springs
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great intermediate camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 24, 2011
Pros: good battery life, quiet, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use, excellent range of lenses
Cons: iso settings noisy above 400
A great intermediate camera. Capable of producing pro shots, on a beginners budget. Easy to use in the field and has excellent battery life in conjunction with the battery grip. I highly recommend getting the battery grip as well as the EF-S 18-55mm IS lens and the EF-S 55-250mm IS lens. You won't regret it.
Review 2 for EOS Rebel XSi EF-S 18-55IS Kit
Nickname: Ash
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Love it.

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 14, 2011
Pros: good battery life, quiet, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use
This is a great camera for anyone from beginners to advanced photographers looking for something a little more compact. I do a lot of photography of everything from kids to horses to landscape to portraits, and I can do everything with this camera. You would think I was a professional by the quality of the photos. Could not have chosen a better product! As I learn more about photography, this camera is growing with me.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for EOS Rebel XSi EF-S 18-55IS Kit
Nickname: Brianoh
Location: Hilliard Ohio
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

What a camera!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 4, 2011
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use
Recently have purchased a well-taken-care-of XSi at a great price and have been loving every minute of it. The image quality of this camera is wonderful and even though ISO is limited compared to newer cameras, I have been able to get some incredible low light shots.
I am impressed also with ease of use, well thought out controls, battery life, and well beyond entry-level features. I even convinced my wife it was a great purchase!
Review 4 for EOS Rebel XSi EF-S 18-55IS Kit
Nickname: Anonymous

rebel XSI

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 15, 2011
Pros: Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Simple controls/menu
First DSLR. Had it for almost 2 years, shot many many pictures with it. It was an excellent introduction into the world of photography. Love this camera.
I use the past tense due to a recent upgrade to the 7D.
but I'll probably be keeping the trusty rebel as well!
my only real complaint would be the iso limitations. I just needed more...
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for EOS Rebel XSi EF-S 18-55IS Kit
Nickname: Chet1974
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Sports
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Huge step-up in quality of photography

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 14, 2011
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Purchased the xsi body used along with a 100-300mm 4.5-5.6 USM lens from a local dealer last year in order to shoot better high school sports pictures of my son and his friends. Since last August I've shot over 4000 pictures of Football, Baseball and Track and the camera is a real trooper. All of the varsity football and track photos included in last year's school yearbook were mine shot with this camera which thrilled an amature like me to no end.
This camera has all the features I'll ever probably need. It allows me to capture a greater range of action, especially with the continuous shooting mode and shutter priority setting. Once I find the $$ to up the ante to a 2.8 lens all my stadium lighting issues will be pretty much history. The battery is sturdy and the camera doesn't really get too heavy carrying it around the field for 3 hours, although you'll want to get a mono-pod for stability and convenience if you plan on doing similar photography. This camera allowed me to step way up in quality of my photography without costing me a fortune.
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for EOS Rebel XSi EF-S 18-55IS Kit
Nickname: Prophoto
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

No regretes

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 28, 2011
Pros: good battery life, quiet, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
I"ve used this camera for six months, over the six months it has been droped kicked used in rain snow and other bad weather and works like new.
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for EOS Rebel XSi EF-S 18-55IS Kit
Nickname: AJ Odecut
Location: Orlando, Fl.
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Far Better Than I Expected

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 8, 2011
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
I bought the XSI as an economical backup camera. This camera does a great job when you put good glass on it. While not the main camera for my business I am very confident that as a backup this camera is a great choice. I did not give the highest rating simply because Canon has many other superior cameras in it's line up. If you want a solid entry level DSLR that can be used in a professional situation in a pinch this is it!
26 of 26 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for EOS Rebel XSi EF-S 18-55IS Kit
Nickname: Anthony C
Location: Doylestown, PA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Portraits
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 28, 2011
Pros: good battery life, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Solid Operation, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: max iso 1600
I have had this camera for over a year and like most camera equipment, it gets better with age. I use this camera for concerts and musicals, along with nature and birds. The camera has NEVER failed on me and continues to produce beautiful images. Even after using my friend's T2i, i still prefer the Xsi any day.
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for EOS Rebel XSi EF-S 18-55IS Kit
Nickname: ken2011
Location: Knoxville, TN
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Sports
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Excellent Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 15, 2011
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Easy to use, excellent pictures. I use this during ballgames to photograph the action.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for EOS Rebel XSi EF-S 18-55IS Kit
Nickname: buddy
Location: hammond indiana
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

great camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 4, 2011
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
I have had the camera for 2 weeks and have taken over 400 pictures with it. It is very easy to use from the automatic settings to the manual settings. I am ammazed at the ease of use, I talked to a profesional photographer who told me this is one of the best cameras in it's class.
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for EOS Rebel XSi EF-S 18-55IS Kit
Nickname: Walt
Location: Wisconsin
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 4, 2011
Pros: quiet, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Great camera. Ability to use my current lenses a plus. Easy to learn after owing a Canon Rebel before.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for EOS Rebel XSi EF-S 18-55IS Kit
Nickname: kearha1
Location: New Orleans
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Portraits
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great camera if you don't rely on Auto modes

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 28, 2011
Pros: good battery life, quiet, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, Simple controls/menu
Cons: poor built in flash
Great camera but there are a few drawbacks and even more if you rely on Auto modes. I wish it did a little better in low light so its not great for indoor photos especially of children. If you don't want to wash out the image with the built in flash, capturing non-still life can be a balance between a shallow depth of field and noise from cranking up the iso.
The other main problem is also usually with the built in flash, is that after you take so many pictures with the flash in a short period of time, you get a busy message and you have to wait what seems like forever before you can shoot again. Its very frustrating when you miss a shot especially when you have a large group waiting and you just have to tell them your high-tech DSLR camera isn't working and they need to wait a few minutes. It has also given me the busy signal when its not the flash, but this might be when i use my slower SD cards. A good external bounce flash may solve this problem but I wish the built in capacitor could keep up.
Other than these two problems which could be solved with a high end flash (note only specific flashes will be able to use the features of the camera), It really is a great camera. There is nothing it won't do when not in the automatic modes. Everything except for the problems mentioned is top of the line.
This is not however a camera for someone who is used to a point and shoot and just wants better images. If you rely on the auto modes it has alot more downfalls. The average point n shoot photographer will never notice them though. The auto modes are great for when my wife or others use the camera or when you want to get a shot off quick with out setting up the shot. Auto modes will give you a great shot in most settings.
This camera's flaws in auto mode are that you can't take images in RAW so post production effects like lens correction, noise filtering, WB, and style changes are not possible later. So your gona have to go manual if you want to blow up images and correct them. When working in manual mode with raw images all I have to get right outside of composition is shutter speed + aperture. I can change everything else later on my pc with exactly the same results as if I had set them before taking the pic.(WB, Style [type of color or black +white], and lens correction and noise algorithms)
Another drawback of the Auto modes is that you can not use live view which out side of typical point and shot style shooting is very useful for tripod and low to the ground shooting.
Also in auto mode, you can't hold down the flash like on other DSLRs, it won't auto adjust and take it with out the flash and has to be restarted.
Another minor drawback is that it crashes sometimes when using the cable to transfer images. Most people use a SD card reader anyway as its alot easier and faster. The remote control of the camera using the pc is cool though for studio tripod uses.
Keep in mind that it doesn't do video. This isn't a concern of mine as I'd much rather high speed photos of an action that I can frame over a video file that probable will never be watched again later. Those looking for a video filming camera will be looking at the more expensive Cannon's anyway but basic users may be drawn towards Cannon's competitors by this.
13 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for EOS Rebel XSi EF-S 18-55IS Kit
Nickname: cables
Location: Los Angeles
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

excellent camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 9, 2011
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
I don’t know of any other DSLR that offers the same image quality at the same price. The 18-55 IS kit lens is a good match for this camera. It provides impressive image sharpness, great color and contrast. This camera has an very good image up to 800 ISO and good at 1600. However using this camera with a 70-200 F4 L lens at 100 to 200 ISO is a whole new ball game. The image quality with a Canon L lens is outstanding. I highly recommend shooting raw and using the Canon software to process the images.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for EOS Rebel XSi EF-S 18-55IS Kit
Nickname: Coffeemanbob
Location: San Clemente,California
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Camera is so great I want the newer model with HD

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 27, 2011
Pros: good battery life, quiet, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: lcd doesn't work with auto mode
This is my 3rd Digital and this one has all the features I wanted and than some! I have bought some additional lenses (a 50-250 and the 10-22) which are wonderful additions to this camera. I will buy the newer model with HD probably next year.
I only wish the 3.5 LCD could be used with the Auto mode rather than viewfinder only.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for EOS Rebel XSi EF-S 18-55IS Kit
Nickname: njramit
Location: Eastampton, NJ
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Simple usage and quality photos

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 7, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Solid Operation, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
I purchased my Canon EOS Rebel XSi back in February of 2010 for my trip to Florida. My main use for the D-SLR was to capture a sporting event located in Daytona. The lens I used was the Canon Zoom EF 75-300mm 1:4-5.6 III. The lens captured the image in impecable clarity and sharpness. The Rebel Xsi did not miss a beat. During daylight and at dusk, the photos are sharp. The battery has lasted the entire venue and kept the charge through out the weekend. Operation was simple and in manual mode, after playing with the aperature and shutter speed to find the right levels, the images were sensational. A very solid camera for a beginner or photo enthusiast.
24 of 24 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for EOS Rebel XSi EF-S 18-55IS Kit
Nickname: JB
Location: Columbus, Oh
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:December 1, 2010
Pros: decient construction though a bit light weight, battery grip extends life nicely
Cons: kit lens feels cheap, focus screen hard to use manually, needs a split image focus screen, overpriced point and shoot camera
Having owned 3 Canon A series film cameras, I thought this would be a good start to digital. Having used this for the last year and a half, and never having used the kit lens, due it it's feeling cheap, I purchased a different EF lens, and battery grip too. After all this time, I have found that I'm no fan of auto-focus. The camera will focus on an object close by, even though I'm only using the center focus point. I have had times where the camera wouldn't focus, nor take the photo I had framed. Nothing like pressing the shutter button and nothing happening. It doesn't happen often, but enough to annoy me.
I think I'll be sticking with film when I go out shoot something I feel is important.
Overall it's not a bad camera, but I wouldn't suggest it.
2 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for EOS Rebel XSi EF-S 18-55IS Kit
Nickname: LadyRose
Location: Virginia
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

Good Quality Camera for Beginner

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 25, 2010
Pros: good quality photographs, tough
Cons: wish it had full sized cmos
It may not be the best on the market, but sure is close. Has fell out of my camera bag and rolled across the parking lot and not a scratch! Takes excellent photos and a good camera to begin with and progress with. It will grow with you. Would recommend to someone just learning photography. If you have problems, read the book. :)
10 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for EOS Rebel XSi EF-S 18-55IS Kit
Nickname: LL
Location: Ponte Vedra, FL
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur

Unbreakable!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 8, 2010
This is an excellent camera for a wide use of applications - hobby / work / documentation. The camera and Canon 18-135 zoom were dropped 3 times in a matter of 6 months due to a poor quality tripod. Dusted camera and lens off and continues to work in excellent condition - unbelievable and unbreakable! Thank goodness. The 18-135 lens is a perfect match for close up, landscape and macro and it does not weigh you down.
14 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for EOS Rebel XSi EF-S 18-55IS Kit
Nickname: Akoo
Location: Hillside, NJ
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

Love this camera

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 27, 2010
Pros: versatile, light
Cons: long exposures may take a while to process, a bit noisy when shooting
I love my Rebel XSI. And it'll be very hard to part from it when I upgrade. But for now the live view is very helpful and the speed is just right! And its tough (I accidentally dropped it twice). Yea that hurts! Overall, its a good entry level camera.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for EOS Rebel XSi EF-S 18-55IS Kit
Nickname: Hector
Location: Mazatlan, Mexico
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

Great Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 26, 2010
Pros: price, user friendly, outstanding image quality
Cons: lack of vide
I am fairly new to digital photography. I used to have a Canon powershot. I gave the camera to my niece and thought it was time for me to get a better camera, so I bought the Canon Eos Rebel xsi. It's my first DSLR. I am very very happy with it. I am still learning how to use it, but so far I am very pleased with the pictures I have taken. Once I know how to use all the functions and know more about picture-taking I will buy the Canon Eos 7D and give this Xsi to my niece. The one thing I miss about the Canon Powershot is the video. I thought about buying another one to carry in my bag, but I am probably better off just waiting for when I upgrade to the 7D. I love my XSi.
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 15 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site