Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / PowerShot Cameras Reviews / PowerShot A Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PowerShot A Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PowerShot A590 IS

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

PowerShot A590 IS

Average Customer Rating:
4.509 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(159 Reviews) 158
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (159 reviews)
5 stars
114
4 stars
26
3 stars
10
2 stars
4
1 star
5
138 out of 159(87%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PowerShot A590 IS
Review 1 for PowerShot A590 IS
Nickname: SheilaD
Location: Oklahoma
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Best camera ever

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 27, 2014
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
I just want to tell you just how very happy I am with both of my Power Shot cameras. I just love taking pictures of our pups. I won both of these cameras from GSN Live when they used to have their contests live on their show. I couldn't afford a digital camera at the time when I won them and I just didn't know how much I was missing out on until I received them. Now I can't live without them. Thank you so much for making such a great product.
Review 2 for PowerShot A590 IS
Nickname: Bamiegirl
Location: Huntsville, AL
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

Great Buy

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 5, 2010
I bought this camera for my husband for Christmas 2 years ago....he is not a stand & wait for the picture to process kind of guy so the Heart mode has been a great option for him. I saw where people were having problems with batteries but as one reviewer stated the Energizer Ultimate Lithium is the way to go. I took the camera to Hawaii took almost 400 pictures with the same set of batteries...which included video as well. I do wish it had a continous option but for the price I paid I am more than satisfied with what it has! To me this has been one of the best point & shoot cameras I have used!
28 of 28 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PowerShot A590 IS
Nickname: Nerd
Location: Rhode Island
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: No

Great Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 27, 2010
Pros: stabilizer, 4x optical zoom, portable
It has a great stabilizer, and it's just plain terrific!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PowerShot A590 IS
Nickname: Horsebitz!
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Short Battery Life - Good Features

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 13, 2010
Pros: good small compatible features, easy to use, good macro lenses, good zoom, not easily damaged
Cons: battery life is somewhat short, doesn't always shoot well in bad lighting, slow and unresponsive sometimes
Could be better, but especially for price, this camera is a great all-around.
This is a great camera and the zoom and macro lenses work well. It is "rugged" and does't damage easily. It shoots great in good lighting, but in the dark, the camera flash, even with different adjustments, is lacking some. All around good camera - served me well since 2007 with no breaks or mishaps and has gone everywhere from parks to mountians.
Has less megapixels than the Rebell II, but has similar features in a smaller size. Easy to figure out and very easy to use.
The battery life is often somewhat lacking even with Enerzinger Max batteries. If the camera is low on batteries, the picture quality is reduced by 50% or more.
All around, good camera.
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PowerShot A590 IS
Nickname: lakevshow

Good looking pics, but...

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:October 2, 2010
Have had this camera for two years and all the photos I've taken look great but battery life is worthless especially rechargables. Energizer Ultimate Lithiums work best. Wont run out of juice in one week of use much less a day.
7 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PowerShot A590 IS
Nickname: Really
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

Great Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 22, 2010
Pros: good picture quality, good battery life
Cons: 4x zoom at least it's optical though
I purchased a pair of these cameras, one to give and one to keep. I've owned several digital cameras since the vga resolution days and this has been the best one yet. The details are great and the colors vivid. I get several months use out of lithium batteries with it, probably 1500+ pix, mostly without flash but with the display and AF light turned on. There are some advanced settings available and the basic settings are pretty reliably good. The video is good for basic internet sharing but not spectacular as is expected. The only thing I'd like different would be to have a separate self timer button and a tackier surface for the grip, but that's nit-picking.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PowerShot A590 IS
Nickname: Bruce
Location: Oklahoma City
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:July 17, 2010
Cons: bad on batteries
The pictures look great
Easy to use
Is very bad on batteries though.
Rechargables are good for maybe 24 pics if lucky
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PowerShot A590 IS
Nickname: booherwife
Location: Pennsylvania
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Love My Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 5, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
This camera is easy to use, takes beautiful clear pictures and is not so small that you can't find it when you want to take a picture. It's been a great camera for family photos, my son's first 2 years of life and any other occasions that have come up. I would definitely consider another canon after this one is gone!
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PowerShot A590 IS
Nickname: Freightdog
Location: New York
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

Low battery icon

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 13, 2010
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Short battery life
I love this camera, but after about 4 flash pictures the low battery icon shows. I replaced batteries and charger and it does the same. Friends are telling me that I have to buy a new camera.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PowerShot A590 IS
Nickname: Maggie
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: No

Great Pictures

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 3, 2010
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use, easy to hold, easy to see the buttons
Cons: Short battery life
This is my first digital camera. I am not a camera pro by any means (what's an aperture?) yet this little camera has allowed me to photograph tiny flowers less then 1/4 inch in beautiful detail. I was also able to go outside on New Years and get a wonderful picture of the moon, stars and a near by planet. I did have to bring the camera in and warm it up several times. And I got a picture of my horses sliding to a stop in the snow with steam and snow flying! These pictures look like something from N.G. Mag. and I can't believe I took them. It is simple to load them on to my computer and share. I've had it for a year and I love it. My only complaint is having to wait so long before I can take another shot but there might be a setting for that.
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PowerShot A590 IS
Nickname: ScottS
Location: Sacramento, CA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Up and Died

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 28, 2010
Pros: excellent image quality, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: don't last
I've owned many Canon products and have been satisfied. However, this is the second Canon digital to fail.
The first lasted a year or so. When I turned it on, the pictures on the memory card would show up, but the LCD screen was blank when I tried to take pictures.
I bought another, thinking that I just had a lemon.
Same thing with this one. It just stopped working. Thankfully, I have all the shots on a memory card, but I'll have to use the card in another camera.
I'm re-thinking my favorable opinion of Canon after two bad experiences.
3 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PowerShot A590 IS
Nickname: gemini5683
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Best Digital Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 25, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use
Cons: Complicated controls/menu
This is the best digital camera i've ever owned. I wanted a camera that would take great pictures and be relatively simple to use. I'm definitely an amateur photographer, but this camera takes excellent pictures and is pretty much point and click. I haven't had any battery problems with it at all. I brought it for Christmas in 2008, took lots of pictures, and didn't have to change the batteries until sometime in March -- that's great battery life as far as I'm concerned. I only use Energizer Ultimate Lithium batteries. If you are an amateur looking for more, the controls can be a little complicated. Overall, an excellent camera for the money.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PowerShot A590 IS
Nickname: old hand
Location: Philadelphia
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

battery issues

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:April 5, 2010
Pros: Nice features/settings, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Short battery life, video mode lost focus after a year
The camera offers a lot for the money, particularly by having many manual features available, ie, all the basics, and readily accessed. The video mode works quite well, the main downside is that there is no zoom function - you have to set the lens and then shoot. As with most cameras with built-in mikes, you need to place some foam over the mike when there's any breeze. A rubber band works as a retainer.
The first camera worked well for a year, then the video mode lost focus capability. I managed to find another at a good price, as it is now a discontinued model.
Both cameras now have a serious problem regarding batteries. Apparently the voltage sensor drifts with age, and even the alkaline's higher voltage will not give much use before you are required to change batteries. Batteries removed always measure well charged on a tester. Canon needs to modify the firmware so that the low battery feature can be turned off.
Both the problems I have had seem to be quality issues, and have put me off buying anything Canon again.
13 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PowerShot A590 IS
Nickname: 3fan4eva
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Good quality camera

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 30, 2010
Pros: Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, easy to use
Cons: Missing features/settings, Poor Low-Light Performance
This is a very good camera for someone who is either a beginer or someone who is a little more seasoned with a camera. Worked very well for me at the drag races and the quality of the shot is very good. The video mode left a little to be desired as it can be a little blury and if you dont dial in on the object the video will be blury. But what the video mode lacks the quality of pictures makes up for it.
Very durable to as Ive accidently dropped it a few times and it holds up very nicely
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PowerShot A590 IS
Nickname: Big Bill
Location: Saint Louis MO
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Poor battery life

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 27, 2010
Pros: excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use, auto rotate of pictures, nice movies
Cons: Short battery life, poor battery sensing
Very poor battery life with A590is Tells you to replace batteries, when you put ing new batteries. if you power back on right away it might work, and give normal battery indication or it might say replace batteries again. after a second or third try, you can take pictures and it has normal battery indication, This is the same problem I had with canon A560. It stopped working all together with replace batteries. Does canon have a problem with sensing battery life? Would a software update be needed? The camera takes great pictures and has great features.
12 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PowerShot A590 IS
Nickname: Sherlock26
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Great camera!!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 20, 2010
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
I have used this camera for a year now and just LOVE this thing!! Have always used Canon cameras but this is my first venture into the world of digital. I had a small learning curve on how to operate my views but I have gotten the best pics that I ever had, even with a manual SLR. I can take this anywhere and everywhere!! Note: Use high capacity rechargable batteries for longer life. You probably all know that ... but I didn't!!! LOL!! This is a great camera and eventually it will become the backup camera when I move on to a Rebel for professional pics.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PowerShot A590 IS
Nickname: chiefgeek
Location: Delray Beach, FL
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Awesome Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 2, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
This is the BEST camera I have ever owned! It's simply perfect for all of my needs and things I didn't realize I would need!
If you can get this camera, BUY IT!!!
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PowerShot A590 IS
Nickname: Crystal
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Great Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 19, 2010
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Short battery life
I love this camera, its simple to use, it has tons of features, i don't have a manual so i'm still learning everything on it, batteries to die too fast though, a great camera for someone who knows alitttle about camera features, beginners who just use the auto button work too. . .
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PowerShot A590 IS
Nickname: ken
Location: new jersey
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

great camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 9, 2010
Pros: excellent image quality, Bright LCD, easy to use
Had mine for a year now, great picture quality. You cannot go wrong with this camera. Tons of settings including a simple point and shoot setting. Its really a super deal and camera and takes excellent pictures. Like I said, you cannot possibly go wrong with this camera.
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PowerShot A590 IS
Nickname: Max
Location: New Jersey
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Great Camera!

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 7, 2010
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Short battery life, Flimsy Construction
This is the greatest sub compact camera of 2009! It has every feature that you can imagine. The only problem is that it isnt durable, SO DONT DROP IT!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site