Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / PowerShot Cameras Reviews / PowerShot SD/ELPH Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PowerShot SD/ELPH Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PowerShot SD790 IS

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

PowerShot SD790 IS

Average Customer Rating:
4.514 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(109 Reviews) 109
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (109 reviews)
5 stars
78
4 stars
20
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
4
95 out of 109(87%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PowerShot SD790 IS
Review 101 for PowerShot SD790 IS
Nickname: SmallBizOwner&Mom
Location: NYC
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Camera Fell Apart

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:May 2, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance, Flimsy Construction
Wonderful pictures & videos. Sharp, bright. Gorgeous! Unfortunately, about 6 mo. after purchase, screws came out on side & then side plate & strap became useless. Still worked, so didn't bother w/ looking at warranty. Then a screw on the bottom, then round front that says "Canon Zoom Lens" came off, then 2 pieces that cover lense & teeny springs that kept them on, then a piece around the lense about a week ago. Still worked, but had to keep everything in little ziploc baggie.
Sad part - since met others that have same camera & EXACT same sequence of deterioration is happening/happened to them.
Camera should come w/ tiny screwdriver, would not have had to finally go buy different brand today.
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 102 for PowerShot SD790 IS
Nickname: Anonymous
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

sad and dissapointing

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 26, 2010
Pros: good battery life, excellent image quality, Bright LCD
Cons: Missing features/settings, Flimsy Construction
I had recently owned the SD750 and had absolutely loved it. It took amazing quality pictures and I used it for around 3 years till I spilt water on it (sad day). I figured since I had such good luck with Canon I would purchase another Canon. The SD790 was a complete disaster. While yes, it took great pictures, it completely fell apart. First the side fell off that holds the wrist guard, leaving a gaping hole on the side of my camera. Next the front cover came off and we nicknamed it gadget because the entire camera was exposed. It quit working after about a week, which would be expected from a camera that has lost TWO of its entire coverings. Since I love the Canon quality I will purchase another one in the future. But beware of the actual construction of the SD790 camera so you don't end up with a "gadget" like I did.
PS. It does not have the feature where you can look at the pictures while the camera is turned off by pressing the play button.
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 103 for PowerShot SD790 IS
Nickname: jcdomaoan
Location: Pittsburg, CA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: No

Fabulous

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 2, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
wheel is a bit funky! after a year of casual usage, screws on the right side went became loose and they are now missing! other than those 2 concerns, i love my camera!
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 104 for PowerShot SD790 IS
Nickname: Cardinal Fang
Location: Folsom, CA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 19, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
I have used the SD790 now for about 2 years. It is the best camera I have ever owned! I have taken thousands of pics with it in very harsh areas. I do a lot of back packing in the the high Sierras. The SD790 performed flawlessly. It is light compact and takes beatuful shots.
I don't understand how several people complain about the screws falling out? My SD790 has not lost any screws or malfunctioned in anyway. If I decide to upgrade to higher pixel size, I will definitly bluy another canon camera!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 105 for PowerShot SD790 IS
Nickname: aft
Location: Wisconsin
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Awesome purchase!

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 30, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable
Cons: screws fall out
I've used many small hand held cameras and so far, this is the best one that I have ever used! I take so many pictures with it and the pictures turn out beautiful! I LOVE IT! I recommend this to anyone who wants a good camera. The only problem that I have with it is that the screws on the side fall out and the little piece on the side has fallen off while I have my wrist on the wrist cord and it has fallen to the ground a couple of times and I have not been happy about that but other than that, amazing camera!
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 106 for PowerShot SD790 IS
Nickname: Jmholt75
Location: Jackson, mi
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Hoped for better quality

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 12, 2010
Ive had this camera almost 2 yrs now. I had a canon sd600 before this which I loved but my 1 yr old got it wet. This time I (thankfully) purchased the 2 yr warranty. Ive had it back to BB 3 times alreay & I going again for another issue. I had the screen go blank & only show black fuzz in the LCD screen. I had to take it in & they mail it out & was w/o my camera for 2+ weeks. This time Im taking it in because the power button in loose & afriad it will fall off!! Im SO happy I purchased the warranty. Otherwise it takes great pics & It easy to use. I love all the diff settings for different atmospheres. But I had really hoped for better construction for what you paid for. Whats going to happen when my warrenty is up in a few months? Should last longer than 2 years.
Review 107 for PowerShot SD790 IS
Nickname: sd790_user
Location: Fort Collins, CO
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Side panel falls off

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 23, 2010
Cons: side panel falls off
Overall, very good camera. However, side panel, between the A/V OUT port and Card/Battery slide cover, fell off, along with screws. This is where the wrist strap attaches. So, be careful--you may lose your camera if you hold it by the wrist strap.
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 108 for PowerShot SD790 IS
Nickname: Halogengirlie
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Loved it - Bought another!

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 1, 2010
Pros: iso 400 - good for evening pics, good macro photos for small camera, sports setting with continuous shoot
I've had this camera for 2 years now, and I think it's the perfect "toss in your purse" camera. Compared to other small cameras, this little camera takes a great picture! I read other reviews where people complained about the camera's durability, but thankfully I haven't had any problems with mine... and I treat it fairly roughly (it lives in my purse and works at a construction site with me). When I went to purchase a camera for my mother... I was so satisfied with my camera, I purchased her an identical one! : )
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 109 for PowerShot SD790 IS
Nickname: Cindy
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Fell apart

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 4, 2011
Cons: fell apart
I had the same problem with the camera that many others did. The screws fell out, so the wrist strap detached and the camera just stopped working. I was disappointed in the construction of this camera. It should have lasted longer than 2 years.
11 of 13 people found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site