Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Printers & Multifunction Reviews / PIXMA MP Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PIXMA MP Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PIXMA MP480

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

PIXMA MP480

Average Customer Rating:
3.957 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(47 Reviews) 47
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (47 reviews)
5 stars
22
4 stars
13
3 stars
6
2 stars
0
1 star
6
36 out of 47(77%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PIXMA MP480
Review 1 for PIXMA MP480
Nickname: Yankee bulldog
Location: Florida
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 8, 2013
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, durable, Small Footprint, High Quality Output, fast print speed, easy to use
Use as a printer at our second vacation home with our lap top computers. Both a toshiba and Mac book pro.
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PIXMA MP480
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: Boston, MA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

I'll Always Buy Canon!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 13, 2011
Pros: compatible, good size, seems to salvage ink like no other printer., easy set up!!!
This printer has been good to me for the past few years.
I'll always buy Canon printers! ;
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PIXMA MP480
Nickname: softballmomma
Location: jacksonville florida
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

its okay

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:February 16, 2011
I have multiple issues with my printer as of right now it stopped feeding paper on the right side. i dont know whats wrong with it. i have made sure its all cleared out there is nothing keeping it from feeding the paper right. I have owned this for a long time and yet it seems like I keep having an issue with it. The ink doesnt last long at all! im tired of spending so much on ink and not feeling like im getting my moneys worth. the scanner works good but can not print anything
6 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PIXMA MP480
Nickname: Ced G.
Location: Pine Bluff,Ar.
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

I love my MP480

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 11, 2010
I just want to say that I'm very satisfied with my MP480 multifunction printer/scanner!!!! The color pictures are so brilliant,and it is very easy to use! I would recommend this product to anyone who needs a multifunction printer! Thank you Cannon!!!
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PIXMA MP480
Nickname: rebert
Location: Washington State
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Product replacement: Yes

Poor purchase

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 27, 2010
Pros: Easy Setup, Lightweight/Portable, Sharp Tones & Colors, easy to use
Cons: High Ink Consumption
It worked fine when I first purchased it. Now 7 months later it will no longer pick up the paper. very typical of most mufti printers I've dealt with.
13 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PIXMA MP480
Nickname: Pizza Print
Location: usa
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Great For Price

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 18, 2010
Pros: Easy Setup, Lightweight/Portable, fast print speed, easy to use
Cons: Dull Tones & Colors
Everything is great except when printing color images ... not photos but art . Does not pic out all the colors with regular printing. May need to use photo paper or photo inks.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PIXMA MP480
Nickname: M2
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

MP480 Best for the $

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 4, 2010
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, durable, Sharp Tones & Colors, fast print speed, easy to use
Cons: High Ink Consumption
The Canon Pixma MP480 is:
Pros:
1. Priced right
2. Delivers good quality copies
3. Makes sharp scan images and files
4. Durable product
Cons:
1. Goes through ink quickly
2. Wish it also FAX'd
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PIXMA MP480
Nickname: kimosubi
Location: New York
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

some flaws/ overall good

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 25, 2010
Pros: Compact Design
Cons: if cartridge runs out printer impedes computer
PROS: Printer is streamline, has nice features, such as memory card slots, 1.8 viewing screen & scanner.
CONS: if either the BLACK or COLOR cartridge requires replacement, the printer stops working and the computer scanner will not operate until you replace the ink jet.
ALSO, if the black jet requires replacement, the printer will not print at all, so even color will not print.
Overall, it's not a bad printer and checking out the competition features verses pricing, I've found Cannon to come out on top.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PIXMA MP480
Nickname: Nan
Location: Onaway, Michigan
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

Great Printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 18, 2010
Pros: reliable, Compact Design, Easy Setup, durable, Low Ink Consumption, Lightweight/Portable, Sharp Tones & Colors, fast print speed, easy to use
I had an older canon printer and when it wore out, I thought I'd try another brand......BIG MISTAKE! The other brand quit working in less than a year, so I went back to a Canon. I love it! It was less expensive than the other brand I had and it is a much better quality printer. I do office work at home for my husband and print out many invoices and pictures. The quality is exceptional. I would recommend this printer to anyone! Thanks Canon, I'll never own another brand!
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PIXMA MP480
Nickname: HappyCamper
Location: Michigan
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Best I've Found

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 22, 2010
Pros: reliable, Compact Design, Easy Setup, durable, Lightweight/Portable, Sharp Tones & Colors, fast print speed, easy to use
Is easy to set up,reliable,produces great photos.
Uses conservative amount of ink-of course alittle more with photos to be expected,but reasonable.Easy to understand troubleshooting options,even helped my daughter with her's-an earlier model of Canon with success.Would recommend this to any level of personal/professional consumer.Am very pleased that I purchased this and earlier model for family members!
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PIXMA MP480
Nickname: Pandrew
Location: Geneseo, NY
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Excellent student printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 15, 2009
Pros: reliable, Compact Design, Easy Setup, durable, Low Ink Consumption, Lightweight/Portable, Sharp Tones & Colors, fast print speed, easy to use
I'm a college student, and this printer has served me extremely well for my first semester. I have written in excess of 30 papers, and have yet to purchase ink. I have also used my MP480 to print photos, and have been very pleased with the results. For such an inexpensive printer, the MP480 is of excellent quality.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PIXMA MP480
Nickname: College girl
Location: Provo, Utah
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

It's okay.

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:December 1, 2009
Pros: Easy Setup, fast print speed, easy to use
Cons: unreliable, print feed issues
My family bought this printer for me to go with my Macbook graduation gift. They said it was a really good one and it has worked fairly well. I've had some issues with jamming here and there but it's pretty easy to remove. But like a few other reviews I read, my paper won't feed through and it just crumples the end and says there is no paper. I've barely had it 6 months, started using it about 3-4 months ago since I got to college. But now that I have lots of final papers due these next few weeks, I have to go find another printer because my replacement won't be here for a week. No other major issues but beware of the paper feed. Technical support was helpful in trying to figure out the problem and in offering to send out another one.
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PIXMA MP480
Nickname: RealtorGal
Location: San Diego, CA
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Great Scanner!

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 28, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, Easy Setup, Sharp Tones & Colors, easy to use
Cons: High Ink Consumption
I purchased this machine mainly because I needed a scanner for work. It is an ink hog for printing - so I typically send large print files to my other printer. The scanned images are always top quality and the software for scanning is easy to use. I really like the fact that I can scan multiple images and combine them into one pdf file. For the price, it's a good machine!
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PIXMA MP480
Nickname: Zlata
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

Disapointed

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 9, 2009
Pros: easy to use, fast print speed
Cons: Heavy/Bulky, Difficult Setup
I bought printer and I was happy with it first ,but when I tried to install software It was nightmare because cd was in arabic languge and I did not understand it.There was not option to change language.I managed to instal it just following manual and guessing.But when you want to change ptint settings is in arabic.I have decided to return the product.
3 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PIXMA MP480
Nickname: Trems
Location: Miami, FL
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Great Product

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 4, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, Easy Setup, easy to use, fast print speed, reliable, Sharp Tones & Colors, works great with mac
Cons: High Ink Consumption
Great Printer!
Got it free with a new Macbook Pro at the Apple store (After rebate), and I have to say, it preforms great at everything that I would need it for. Great quality printing, and has many good features, and I really like the 1.4 inch screen. Relatively fast, and a lot better than my last printer!
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PIXMA MP480
Nickname: Red
Location: St. Paul, MN
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: No

Great for Printing Pictures. Ok for everyday Print

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 13, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, Lightweight/Portable, durable, easy to use, fast print speed, reliable, Sharp Tones & Colors, lcd screen
Cons: High Ink Consumption, doesn't come with usb cable
Great Printer for printing pictures. Good for printing papers. High cost ink cartridges. Doesn't come with usb cable
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PIXMA MP480
Nickname: arizonalady
Location: Chandler, AZ
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Another rip-off

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 2, 2009
Cons: Difficult to use, High Ink Consumption, unreliable
Worst purchase I ever made. The printer is slow and noisy. I have had it about a month and now it will no longer print at all. Scanning very difficult. The printer is not recognized by my computer. Might have to delete and reinstall drivers. If that does not work, it will hit the garbage!
9 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PIXMA MP480
Nickname: FHF
Location: CORSICANA, TEXAS
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

SPUR OF THE MOMENT WOW

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 18, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, Lightweight/Portable, durable, Easy Setup, easy to use, fast print speed, reliable, Sharp Tones & Colors
Cons: ink expensive
INSTALLATION, SET UP WERE BOTH EASY, HAVE ALWAYS USED A DIFFERENT BRAND, THIS WAS AS SPUR OF THE MOMENT BUY, PRICE WAS VERY REASONABLE, VERY SATISFIED WITH PRINTER WILL BE ABLE TO TRANSPORT FOR ONSITE PRINTING WITH EASE, INK IS A LITTLE BIT SPENDY BUT HEY AFTER ALL YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR, I HAVE BOUGHT CHEAPER INKS IN THE PAST AND THE PIC QUALITY WAS BAD, I DO ALOT OF NATURE PICS AND THEY ARE EXCELLENT
8 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PIXMA MP480
Nickname: cajunoki
Location: Oklahoma City OK
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

good but could be better

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 17, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, Easy Setup, easy to use, reliable, Small Footprint
Cons: High Ink Consumption, noisy
this is my second canon printer.I bought it because it is a lot of printer and small footprint.I do have two (2) gripes about it.1)It is way too noisey & uses too much ink. And the ink is not cheap.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PIXMA MP480
Nickname: mary
Location: mesa ,az
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

I hate this printer

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 14, 2009
Cons: Difficult Setup, unreliable
I've only had it for 3 days and it has been the most difficult printer i've ever owned. Straight from the box it's been nothing but problems. It's going back to wallie world first thing in the moring.
2 of 8 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site