Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Refurbished Products Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop Refurbished Products or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PIXMA iP3600

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

PIXMA iP3600

You're going to love the results from this compact photo printer. Its new 5-color ink system - four dye-based inks and a pigment-based black ink - produces vivid colors and bold, black text.
Average Customer Rating:
3.976 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(41 Reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (41 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
11
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
4
32 out of 41(78%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PIXMA iP3600
Review 1 for PIXMA iP3600
Nickname: Linda Z
Location: Lisle, Illinois
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

waste of money

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 18, 2014
Pros: okay photo prints
Cons: Poor build quality, paper feed doesn't work, poor value, cheap construction, new ink cartridges won't work, communication issues
I wasn't happy with this printer since the time I took it home from the store. Wish I had returned it immediately for a refund. Copies of photos are not too difficult to make, but when printing documents the paper tray does not insert into the printer correctly and therefore the paper needs to be pushed in at the exact time the printers ready otherwise it fail to print. I've spent as long as 30 minutes trying to print 1 copy of a document. The ink constantly had to be re-seated. If not the printer does not recognize the ink cartridges. I'm throwing it in the garbage today as I have spent countless hours trying to troubleshoot reasons as to why it won't print due to numerous errors.
Review 2 for PIXMA iP3600
Nickname: Sorge
Location: Windsor Ontario CA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Portraits
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 9, 2014
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images, greta value
I have been using this printer for the last two years, and love it. Great value for the money
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PIXMA iP3600
Nickname: Cforhappiness
Location: San Jose
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

This is the Canon printer to buy

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 26, 2013
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, High Quality Output, fast print speed
Very fast print speed.
Clear ink cartridge allowing users to see ink level.
However, ink is too expensive and cartridges are now smaller than previous generations of Canon ink cartridges.
9 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PIXMA iP3600
Nickname: CDP
Location: North Wales, PA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Good Printer

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 5, 2013
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, durable, High Quality Output, easy to use
I have had this printer now for 2 years. Very dependable with good photo quality output. We have several canon printers throughout the house. This is our least expensive one the is my "beater". I lug it from work to our basement. Cant tell much difference in photo quality between this and our more expensive ones. This printer does run a litter slow but for the price and reliability you cant beat it!
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PIXMA iP3600
Nickname: GR
Location: Michigan
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

great printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 3, 2013
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, fast print speed, easy to use
bought this as a replacement for 6600. Great printer and very affordable!
Review 6 for PIXMA iP3600
Nickname: MACH37
Location: Wyoming
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Worked fine for three years, then...

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:November 16, 2012
Pros: reliable, Small Footprint, High Quality Output, fast print speed, easy to use
Cons: Flimsy Construction, incomplete maintenance instructions.
This printer was as good as other printers I have owned, including E, H, O, P, and maybe a few other brands. The 'Photo Print' quality was outstanding, although I have not done very much of that type of printing. For three years text print quality was outstanding, but now the black ink nozzles cannot be cleaned, even with repeated deep cleaning. I understand that there is a "print head" that can can be replaced but there is no mention of this in the maintenance instructions. Searching eBay I find new print heads listed at prices higher than that of other brand new Canon printer models. I chose to buy one of those instead, since I do so little Photo Printing.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PIXMA iP3600
Nickname: Tinkerbell
Location: NJ
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Copying
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Doesn't Print

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 4, 2012
Cons: unreliable, Flimsy Construction, refurbished replacements, smaller ink cartridges, expensive ink cartriges
My family and I own so many Canon cameras, scanners, printers, and other hardware by Canon and have never been disappointed - until now. We have been customers for over 40 years and Canon always lived up to their reputation. Owned the 4500 and never had a problem. Never minded paying for Canon ink cartridges when using on a quality printer.
This printer 3600 is horrible, Even the paper tray is not sturdy. It prints a few pages and then nothing. This has happened so many times I can't even count. Followed all instructions- and cartridges were not clogged. Only the wider black one. Was cleaned, deep cleaned, wiped inside as per instructions, re-installed, and nothing. Amazon reviewers had same problems with it. Am so disgusted and aggravated. A shame that Canon's quality has decreased so much. I used to buy with confidence but after this I will, like many others, buy another brand.
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PIXMA iP3600
Nickname: jay
Location: Detroit, MI
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great Printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 25, 2012
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, durable, High Quality Output, easy to use
Cons: Slow Print Speed
A friend of mine who sells office supplies recommended this printer to me and I am so glad he did.
The print quality is superb and it is very durable.
I use this printer for my business and it has gone though roughly 20-30 ink sets and it still as good as when I first bought it.
The only caveat is to be sure to select the proper level of print quality to conserve ink. For business forms I select "draft", while for family pictures I select "high". It does a great job of both.
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PIXMA iP3600
Nickname: Pogo
Location: Beaufort, SC
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Good, small Inkjet Printer

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 30, 2012
Pros: easy to use
One of three Canon Inkjet & Laser Printers, this is a good, inexpensive Inkjet Printer. Color Management is ok, speed acceptable and overall print quality satisfactory. Having tried other brands in the past 10 years, Canon is the only brand I use and recommend.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PIXMA iP3600
Nickname: Ryan6980
Location: Apache Junction, Arizona
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Awesome pictures!!!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 2, 2012
This printer is amazing! The price is amazing! The pictures are amazing! A+++++!!!!!
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PIXMA iP3600
Nickname: edison
Location: Anaheim CA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Printer is great, chip on cartridge is not good

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:June 14, 2011
Cons: not allow refill ink
For years, I have been telling people to get Canon printer for its ink tank for easy refill. But they put chip into their printer to make it harder for refill. Even I select disable the ink level monitor, it still from time to time telling me the ink tank was bad, when it was actually a good tank.
I hate that!
15 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PIXMA iP3600
Nickname: top__banana
Location: Towson, MD
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Great for Graphic Design

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 10, 2011
Pros: reliable, Compact Design, Easy Setup, Sharp Tones & Colors, easy to use
I've had my 3600 since September 2010, and I been loving it since I first set it up in my dorm! I'm studying Graphic Design, so I'm constantly printing comps and final projects every week or so. This thing DELIVERS. I've never had a printer that can print so precisely and with such rich colors. Plus, the driver has many presets that make choosing the correct settings for the multitudes of paper I own easy. Both of my professors for Graphic Design 1 and Typography 1 constantly say that they're impressed by my printer & were surprised that I got it for such a low price. I'm just glad that my printer has always kept me from needing to run over to the 24-hour Kinko's when I'm finishing up a project!
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PIXMA iP3600
Nickname: Tinkerbell
Location: New Jersey
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Just Missing One feature-Otherwise very good

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 19, 2011
Pros: reliable, Compact Design, Easy Setup, easy to use, med speed
I purchased the Pixma iP3600 to replace my wonderful Pixma iP4500. I really liked the double-sided printing of the 4500 without having to take out the paper and reverse it, as you have to do with the 3600.That's the only big difference I can see so far. I haven't printed any photos as of yet, but I am happy with the color saturation when copying from the internet or documents. The paper tray doesn't seem as sturdy as my old one but I don't expect any problems with that. The best feature are the separate cartridges, and yes, they are a bit smaller than the previous ones, but isn't everything? I would like to add that the e-mail customer service I received when trying to fix my old printer was excellent. They even sent me a new cord to try just in case that was the problem. I also think their Customer Loyalty program is a very positive way to thank their customers. No complaints at all.
11 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PIXMA iP3600
Nickname: Jim

a good home printer

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 9, 2011
I had to replace my Pixima 3000 because of mechanical problems and found the IP3600 to be a very good replacement. The performance of this printer is about the same as the IP3000 but the photo software is much better.
Review 15 for PIXMA iP3600
Nickname: randi
Location: salem or
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

beautiful quality pictures

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 9, 2011
Pros: reliable, Compact Design, Easy Setup, durable, Low Ink Consumption, Lightweight/Portable, Sharp Tones & Colors, easy to use
Cons: Slow Print Speed
this printer prints beautiful quality pictures. absolutely stunning. and it makes editing prints really easy.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PIXMA iP3600
Nickname: user

nice printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 19, 2010
Pros: reliable, Compact Design, Easy Setup, easy to use
Great printer.
Some people say that they were having problems with the paper cassette and were having paper jams. I was having the same problems with loading the paper at first, the problem was that I didn't extend the tray, once I figured that out everything went well!
13 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PIXMA iP3600
Nickname: Tom
Location: Chicopee MA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

PRINTING PROBLEM

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:April 10, 2010
Pros: Compact Design, Easy Setup, Low Ink Consumption, Sharp Tones & Colors, fast print speed, easy to use
Cons: Difficult to use, unreliable
The printer is nice, compact and provides many options.
I love the print and color quality of the printer, once I can get it to print. Every time I click to print from the cassette, I get the report that there is no paper in the tray. There is, but in closing the cassette tray in the machine, the paper moves so that it can't be picked up to print. Also, at times the paper jambs and has to be cleared before trying to
print again. This happens EVERY TIME I attempt to print.
12 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PIXMA iP3600
Nickname: Marjah
Location: St. Coud, FL
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Great Product

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 4, 2010
Pros: reliable, Compact Design, Easy Setup, durable, Lightweight/Portable, Sharp Tones & Colors, fast print speed, easy to use
This is another great printer from Canon. I Just purchased this printer. It replaced a IP 3000, I had that printer for 7 years and printed every day on it. I have did my research on printers and Canon is tops. My family is Canon all the way. If you want a good reliable printer, do not hesitate, purchase this one it is great. You can not go wrong with the price. I am thinking about purchasing another, for a spare. I love Canon, and will not ever purchase and use another printer. I also have Canon Cameras. Yes the ink can be pricey but you only get what you pay for, and the ink quailty is great. Thanks Canon for another great product.
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PIXMA iP3600
Nickname: davy
Location: eastern Pennsylvania
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

after 8 months use

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:December 20, 2009
IP3600 bought from a bigtime e-tailer that uses eggs as its rating system.
Replaced a Canon S500 that needed a second print head...so I scrapped that one and bought this...because the 3600 cost less than the printhead alone.
It prints great photos but uses lots of ink.
Actually the 5 replacement ink tanks cost more than the original printer price.
The lower cassette is nothing but trouble, so all my paper is fed via the top loader.
It seems to take forever (more like 5 minutes) to actually start printing and I have a very fast quad-core computer. It works good once it finally gets going.
I think this model has been discontinued.
14 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PIXMA iP3600
Nickname: junebugg
Location: Trussville, Al.
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

So glad I chose Canon Pixma IP3600

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 6, 2009
Pros: reliable, Compact Design, Easy Setup, durable, Low Ink Consumption, Lightweight/Portable, Sharp Tones & Colors, fast print speed, easy to use
I have had others in the past, but so far this Canon is the very best. It prints off copies so easy, was easy for me to install and the price was very econimical. I can also get help anytime I need it from you guys and what could be better than that...As of yet I haven`t worked with the picture taking devices, but I will and I am sure that that will work like a charm also. I am very pleased.
Thanks.
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site