Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Copiers & Fax Reviews / Multifunction Copiers Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop Multifunction Copiers or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for imageCLASS D480

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

imageCLASS D480

Average Customer Rating:
3.406 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(32 Reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (32 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
8
21 out of 32(66%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for imageCLASS D480
Review 1 for imageCLASS D480
Nickname: Davvinci
Location: Orange, Ca
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

It's great

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 9, 2013
Pros: price, features, networked fax and printer, low cost reusables, great printing
Cons: scanner does not have it's own utility program
For the price I paid and even much higher price classes, this is the best machine I have ever owned. Speed, reliability and quality of the printer is exceptional. I wish the scanner had it's own utility but most of my other programs also have their own scan utilities. That would be the only caveat. I have owned this more than 6 months and 10,000 pages and not a hiccup.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for imageCLASS D480
Nickname: joe
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

doc feeder jams all the time

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 13, 2012
Paper jams nearly on every use of document feeder, and has ever since the product was new. I just don't have time to deal with support and exchange of it.
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for imageCLASS D480
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: PA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Worthless junk

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 12, 2011
Frequent jams; copies made using the ADF have a streak and are unusable. No amount of cleaning helps.
7 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for imageCLASS D480
Nickname: printer guy

best bang for the $$

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 5, 2011
the best printer ever made. The reviewers griping about bad scan quality probably did not know how to tweak the settings. 200dpi, scans text documents beautifully through acrobat. Cost per page is unmatched, aftermarket and refills work beautifully (sorry canon). feeder has only taken two pages at once one time on me and I've used it hundreds! I am buying a second one for my at work office since I like it better than the printers there!
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for imageCLASS D480
Nickname: dave
Location: california
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

wow, cant beat this little guy

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 20, 2011
Pros: super for price!
Cons: mpt limitedtray size limited
coming from color laser allin ones costing 5-10 times what i paid for this one. One consumable part, that's all. Refillable and cheaply available. Set scanning to 200dpi will solve the quality issue one reviewer complains of. network scanning to pdf works perfect through acrobat pro. Perfect product, way better than expected. Fast prints, good scans, my feeder has never jammed. my two complaints, multi purpose tray features and paper tray size. Mpt- needs to handle a stack of labels not just one, i would prefer a driver setting to select mpt, not the cheap print to mpt when loaded it now employs. Paper trays should always support a full 500 sheet reem, not t
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for imageCLASS D480
Nickname: RB
Location: Texas
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Fantastic Printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 16, 2011
Pros: full duplex, prints envelopes, scan via network or usb
Cons: no wifi
I've owned this printer for over two years and love it. Prints the first page from sleep mode in seconds. Scans pages to PDF with ease. Original toner available just about everywhere, even Costco!
Review 7 for imageCLASS D480
Nickname: Anonymous
Product replacement: Yes

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:July 24, 2011
The good: printer, fax (though haven't tried faxing from the computer)
The really bad: unclear instructions. After several hours of reading the documentation, searching online, I cannot figure out how to set up the scanner. Scangear software found the scanner, while the MF Toolbox says no supported scanners are available.
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for imageCLASS D480
Nickname: Joe&Mollie
Location: The Ghetto Of Phoenix
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Love our D480

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 10, 2011
Pros: fast, easy to use, easy to set up, good print results, few jams if ever, scanner is quick, fax is quick, trouble free feeder
Cons: can't scan wirelessly with a mac, printer drivers for the mac are "ok" at best, poor scanning drivers for the mac at best
We are in a Mac environment.
The Printer functions very very well most of the time, unless you are printing a particularly large document, in which case it bogs down quite badly. Otherwise, the printing function is GREAT. No jams, no issues, very clean prints, toner is used conservatively, but not at the expense of print quality. You get a lot of prints from a single toner cartridge.
The Scanning function is "ok", both in quality and features for the Mac platform. There isn't a way to adjust the scanner with the Mac Drivers to make it darker. In fact, you can't scan when networked to a wireless router with the Mac Drivers. But, we just leave a USB cable out whenever we have to scan and bring our laptops to the scanner when necessary. Not optimal, but it's fine. It works for us in 99% of our applications.
The feeder is great, no jams, no problems.
The Fax is quick, and aside from the problematic lightness mentioned in the scanning function, it works well most of the time.
Overall, we are VERY pleased with the hardware. Thank you Canon!
We are less than pleased, if not shocked, at the level of software/driver support and development on Canon's part.
We still recommend the D480 to our friends and relatives with similar needs as ours.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for imageCLASS D480
Nickname: tracyn
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Good features, Win7 Issues

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:May 4, 2011
Pros: great features easy to use
Cons: stops working intermittenly on win7
I had a prior MFP ImageClass that I ran on WinXP and worked like a dream. After it broke I bought the ImageClass D480 and was really pleased with it....until I upgraded to Windows 7. I like Win7 and the Canon ImageClass, just not together.
Set up was pretty easy (both network and USB print options), however the out of the box drivers do not work well with WIn7 nor does the Toolbox software. You MUST download them from Canon's site to get anything to work.
After setting everything up things seem to work well (no scanning issues with the right Toolbox version), however periodically everything stops working and you have to uninstall and reinstall the drivers and Toolbox software. Not sure if this is a Win7 or Canon issue, but I never had this problem with the prior machines.
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for imageCLASS D480
Nickname: business guy
Location: IL
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Bad Scanner; good printer

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 19, 2011
Pros: good b/w laser printer
Cons: scan autofeed jams constantly
I standardized my office on the ImageClass printer, beginning with the MF4150 and moving on to other ImageClass printers as we grew. This is the only one that was in any way a disappointment. The problem is that the scan autofeed simply does not work. It jams constantly -- all the time. Compared to my old 4150's, it appears that the autofeeder was redesigned, and unfortunately, it is all but useless, and I will have to begin transitioning my office to some other piece of equipment as we go forward.
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for imageCLASS D480
Nickname: B
Location: CA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Good product

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 4, 2011
I was little concerned to buy this product because of several negative reviews.
pros: Set-up is little tricky and wireless application is not very intuitive. But once set up correctly, they work. Good purchase. Manual functions are generally better. Other canon products have similar look & feel on the application software.
cons: Running mac is not as convenient as with PCs. No double-page print support with mac (or I don't know how to set it correctly). Canon need to work on their software.
overall rating: I give five star because everything is functional. Convenience of software can be improved, but it works: bottom line.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for imageCLASS D480
Nickname: Ron
Location: Texas
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Scanning
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Poor Scan Quality

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 28, 2011
Pros: print quality satisfactory, color scan quality is satisfactory
Cons: poor scan quality, frequent jams
Great features for the price -- if they worked!
BW scan quality is poor to unusable. So poor cannot OCR a BW scan. Scanning BW docs using Color scan is satisfactory but increases scan time and file size.
ADF frequently jams on ltr size docs and unusable for legal size docs -- jams every time.
Printing is good, but then you are theoretically buying an MFP, not a printer.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for imageCLASS D480
Nickname: HomeNetwork User
Location: Santa Clarita, CA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great quality and value

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 16, 2011
Pros: good quality, good value, fast printer, easy for home network
Cons: scan software could be better, scan set-up instructions weak
Was looking for a quality multi-function laser at a reasonable price for home network. Saw this unit in a local ad. I liked the price and features, but was hesitant to buy after reading many reviews on this site. I decided to trust the Canon brand and bought it. Set-up was easy except for the scanner. I agree that the documentation is weak. Would be nice if the unit came with better software. It does come with a driver for the scanner, but to make it easy, you need another program like "Scansoft" or "Nitro PDF", etc. When you use that program to initiate the scanning, you can scan multiple pages from the platen or the feeder without issue. No problems adjusting the file size or scanning in color or BW. Scanner is slow at high resolution or color, but is fast using BW with normal resolution. Printing is quick and excellent quality. No jamming issues so far at all. After two months, I am very pleased with my purchase. I have no need for the fax. Would have rated even higher if better scan software and instructions were included, but it works great when you have an aftermarket PDF creating / editing software.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for imageCLASS D480
Nickname: d ramirez

great price great product

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 9, 2011
easy set up got it networked with 4 computers in a small office works great
Review 15 for imageCLASS D480
Nickname: TAMU EE
Location: Austin, TX
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Horrible Printer (Setup is a nightmare)

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 26, 2010
Nightmare is the summary of this review! Very hard to setup either as a USB printer or a Network printer. No where does it talk about requiring third party software to setup network scanning. When this printer is configured as a network printer, it keeps going offline and never come back online again. I basically have to reinstall the software to get the printer back online. Horrible documentation and troubleshooting listed in the manual to debug these issues. I can't even find such information on the web. Truely disappointed at the quality of this canon printer.
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for imageCLASS D480
Nickname: Dr.T
Location: Orange County CA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Network Printer/Fax/Scan - Very nice !!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 8, 2010
Pros: does more than i expected
Cons: a factory reser\t on menu would be very helpful
Took a while to install everything, this is a complex product with multiple features each requires a driver. The only issue was setting up the IP address (Fixed IP) and forgetting to uncheck the "Auto" box, so instead of going to the IP address specified, it tried to DHCP, but that was off, and it ended up at 169.254.192.10 requiring a call to Tech Support to turn off the "Auto" feature.
Printing - perfect. Faxing - amazing, just print to the fax and over the network it handles the faxing as expected.
Scanning - Single page or multiple page feeds works great, but I'm using PaperPort software, which makes the job very easy, and creates PDF files, DOC files, etc.
I've had network printers before, but never had a network fax or network scanner, and this costs less, does more, and is VERY nice.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for imageCLASS D480
Nickname: Disgusted
Location: NY NY
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Forgeddaboudit

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 7, 2010
Pros: prints b&w
Cons: jams
Junk Mobile. Jams constantly. Jams all the time.
JAMS. JAMS. JAMS.
Falls Apart easily.. JUNK JUNK JUNK.
1 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for imageCLASS D480
Nickname: Tazjazzman57
Location: Wichita, KS
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

Good printer for price

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 27, 2010
Have used this MFC and others from Canon in work and home environment... Have found that for the most part that if you install all of the software provided that the machine works as advertised... for those with a little more tech savvy, or if you want to add some really good features, add the Toolbox from the installation CD or go to the Canon website and download the latest version of the Toolbox/Toolkit... allows enhancement of scanner and copier features and gives ability to save in multiple formats.... allows for scanning of regular and legal documents and gives user ability to define where documents are stored on doc-by-doc basis... overall, the machine will give you it's all once all the tools for its use are installed - after which most users will be very satisfied with the product.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for imageCLASS D480
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: Stanton, ca
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: No

Worst machine I've bought

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 13, 2010
After using this machine for a month now the top tray would not pull paper to scan. Kept getting paper jam if I put more than 2 pages. Now I'm stuck with this useless machine because it's more than 30 days could not return it.
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for imageCLASS D480
Nickname: rmb
Location: Chandler, AZ
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Excellent Printer and Value

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 30, 2010
Have owned this machine for over one year and it has performed flawlessly. Fast first page out and quiet. Document feeder works great with very few incidents of jamming. Fax is only used occasionally and never a problem.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site