Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / PowerShot Cameras Reviews / Other PowerShot Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop Other PowerShot or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PowerShot SX110 IS Black

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

PowerShot SX110 IS Black

Average Customer Rating:
4.52 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(202 Reviews) 201
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (202 reviews)
5 stars
143
4 stars
40
3 stars
7
2 stars
5
1 star
7
178 out of 202(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PowerShot SX110 IS Black
Review 161 for PowerShot SX110 IS Black
Nickname: raby
Location: NY
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 15, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life
best purchase ever,powerful camera very resonable price.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 162 for PowerShot SX110 IS Black
Nickname: gezzkat
Location: Ohio
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

A Must Have

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 15, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable
Having worked in the professional photography field for over 15 years and with many different cameras, I chose the SX110IS for my grab and go camera. It fits nicely into a purse or jacket pocket, is light weight (not flimsy) and comfortable to handle. The image quality is very impressive, especially in low light (no flash) and macro settings. This camera is full of features and super easy to use. You will need rechargable batteries and memory cards with large storage because you will want to keep shooting ! !
23 of 23 people found this review helpful.
Review 163 for PowerShot SX110 IS Black
Nickname: Joe
Location: Champlin, MN
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Outstanding pictures

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 14, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable
Bought this camera because it was so easy to use and the picture quality is tremendous. I especially love the macro setting which makes it possible for me to take beautiful pictures of flowers up close with no distortion and outstanding crispness. The 10X zoom in such a small camera is unbelievable. I can zoom in on deer, birds and other critters and again the clarity is unbelievable. Taking pictures inside the house with no flash is also great. Natural indoor lighting is more than enough to take an excellent picture. Love this little camera. Also, easy to transfer pictures to computer and send out e-mail. Would highly recommend this camera.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 164 for PowerShot SX110 IS Black
Nickname: Alice

Very Happy

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 14, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, durable
Cons: Short battery life
I am very happy with the purchase of my camera from the minute I demo it in the store.I was looking to buy a SLR but price and ease of use was a concern,since my wife is not at ease using a SLR.This camera had so many features and so user friendly conpared to the other brands avaible it was a no brainer.Their are a few draws backs however (1) slow flash recovery (2) battery life (3) In the child and pet mode if the child or pet moves to fast it's going to blurr.Aside for three iteams its a great value for your money.After all it's not a SLR.
Review 165 for PowerShot SX110 IS Black
Nickname: Girechiefretired
Location: Riverton, Illinois
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

AWESOME

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 14, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable, zoom fantastic
Even better than I expected. I had a PowerShot A 80 and wanted to upgrade to more MGA Pixels. I have other cameras in the past, including a Canon, but this one is by far thew BEST. NOTHING I dislike about it, so far. I have used it on a couple of vacations and have found nothing I could not do or wanted to do more. The 10X zoom is a big improvement from my last camera, and I would recommend this camera for anyone.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 166 for PowerShot SX110 IS Black
Nickname: Jim
Location: Utah
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

This Is A Great Camera!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 14, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable
I loved this camera so much, I gave my son and my daughter each one for Christmas. They love it too! The image stabilizer is really nice. I like the zoom lens. I carry this camera with me everywhere I go. I even have it with me at work. I like the movie mode too. I purchased a 4 gig memory card, and that allows me to take both movies and still photos. The pictures are crisp and sharp! I would recommend this camera to everyone! If you purchase the precharaged, rechargable batteries, the battery life lasts a long time!
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 167 for PowerShot SX110 IS Black
Nickname: Yoj
Location: Youngstown, NY
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Love this camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 14, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, durable
This camera is my 2nd digital. Last one only had 2 megapixels but it was purchased many years ago. The SX110 is so easy to use. Very user friendly with idiot-proof settings. It makes taking pictures enjoyable not tedious. Printing the pix from the memory card is so easy, too. A word of warning, buy the made-for-digital camera batteries. They last a lot longer than the regular batteries.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 168 for PowerShot SX110 IS Black
Nickname: Danny50
Location: Islamorada, Florida keys
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

outstanding camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 14, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable
I have been looking for digital camera for over a year, and finally after all this time, and countless reviews of all types of digital camera, I selected the CANON powershot SX110 is, what a fantastic camera, I'm a novice photographer, so I wanted an easy camera to use and one with at least a 3in viewing screen, WOW! I can't believe the pictures I've taken and that's on easy mode, can't wait to learn more about all the features this camera has, I can download my pictures in seconds and delete the ones that are no good, the 10x optical zoom is great, I took a picture of a blue heron on the water about a 150 yards offshore, the detail was incredible, this maybe the only camera I'll ever buy, trust me, you won't be disappointed with the CANON SX 110, go for it!
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 169 for PowerShot SX110 IS Black
Nickname: Marv
Location: Colorado
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Power Shot SX110IS

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 13, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, durable
Cons: Short battery life
Best buy for the money.
This camera has features that any user would be comfortable with.
Unlike the slim cameras, this is easy to hold and not too bulky.
This camera is much lighter than the SLR equivalent and the results in image quality are close to equivalent.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 170 for PowerShot SX110 IS Black
Nickname: JR
Location: Virginia
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: No

Great Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 13, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, you can get batteries anywhere
Cons: Short battery life
I like everything about this camera. You can use easy mode or auto and there is nothing to shooting great pics. I don't care about short battery life, I think that AA batteries can be found anywhere. Use Lithium and get longer life.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 171 for PowerShot SX110 IS Black
Nickname: himtall
Location: Johnson City, TN
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

An Impressive Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 13, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, durable
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance, no electronic viewfinder
It's not meant to be a high-end professional camera, but the Canon PowerShot SX110 IS delivers very nice results. I purchased the 110 for my daughter after using the SX100 for a few months. It can be completely automatic, or you can control one or several features. Where it really shines is people photography; the quality is outstanding. The video it produces is really exceptional, too. If you're looking for a portable camera to take to family reunions, ballgames, etc., this is one I'd highly recommend.
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 172 for PowerShot SX110 IS Black
Nickname: Kiteless
Location: San Francisco, CA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Love this camera, but not perfect

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 11, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable
Cons: slow flask recharge, no hd video recording
I love this camera. Low Light focus is very good thanks to it's focus beam and fine detail is very reasonable for a camera in this price range. It also can focus very quickly even in poor light and snap a good quality photo with the flash. Outdoor performance is stunning. A lot of light goes a long way, even on a cruddy camera, but on a great camera like the XS110 IS it does wonders. Really quick snaps over and over, no problem. I think it is rated at like 1.6fps.
Some other things to like about this camera. It is fairly small for a cam with a 10x zoom, and at full zoom the optical IS is very good. Even using it in normal indoor shooting without the flash. I love the huge screen on the back! Makes taking photos and then showing them to my friends really great. Camera also starts up fairly quickly and can take a picture in just a couple seconds.
Finally my one complaint about the camera. The flash is slow to charge. Maybe because it is running on just 2 AA batteries. I use high capacity AA HiMH rechargables, but still slow flash recharge. Take a picture and then wait around 5 seconds for the flash to charge. It also will not pop the flash up on it's own like my big Kodak did. I love and hate this feature. I don't like putting it up on my own when it asks me to, but I also didn;t like the hard pop the Kodak made when it did it. I was always worried that my Kodak would break.
Built in lens cover is great, but make sure to keep it very clean. Get a little sand or something in there and its over. I have never seen a canon auto cover/lens retract break on it's own though.
Bottom line, this camera is exactly what I needed to take simple stills, be small enough to stick in my pocket, and compliment my Canon Vixia HF100 HD Camcorder for stills. A great buy!
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 173 for PowerShot SX110 IS Black
Nickname: SSK44
Location: Gilbert, AZ
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Homerun!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 7, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, durable, great battery life with aa lithium.
Cons: short battery life with standard aa alkaline.
I love this camera. User friendly, affordable, and great image quality. I consider my self an avid enthusiast. I use this camera for outdoor photograph during backcountry hikes. For this reason, I wanted a camera that was still somewhat compact, yet without sacrificing image quality. This model provides awesome performance and image quality in a compact and smooth package. The camera actually fits in a Lowepro "Ridge 30" belt holster. Canon has really hit a homerun with the SX110 IS. I believe it will become a very popular unit.
21 of 22 people found this review helpful.
Review 174 for PowerShot SX110 IS Black
Nickname: usagirl
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

Great camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 1, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, durable
Cons: Short battery life
Easy to use and set up. I really like the clarity of the pictures it takes. I am really looking forward to using it alot.
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 175 for PowerShot SX110 IS Black
Nickname: jadeh
Location: Southern California
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

Great Camera for a Great Price

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 26, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, durable
Cons: could use a view finder, underwater mode would be nice
I bought this camera for myself and I love it. It's easy to use and the picture quality is great. I've been using it to photograph mostly flowers, dogs, birds, bees in macro and auto. Almost every shot comes out great, when the shots aren't great it's usually user error. The only drawback I've found is there is not a view finder, I personally don't find this to be a major issue.
6 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 176 for PowerShot SX110 IS Black
Nickname: Buddy
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Amazing Camera!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 19, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable
Cons: none
I was in the market for a new digital camera. I have been out of the camera loop for about 4 years and while doing research, I decided to only research Canon products since that is what I own in 35mm (3 cameras, all great)..
The DSLR's were out of my price range and I wanted something a little more than the ultra compacts.
After reading many reviews, I decided on the SX110. I liked the features it had: 9 MP, 3" LCD, Manual exp., etc.
When I started using it and while reading the manual, I was absolutely amazed at the # of features this camera had. I could not believe what this camera could do.
I used to be a pro photographer so understanding these features was not too difficult, but I could see how a novice might be overwhelmed. Do not let that deter you . With some basic knowledge and practice, you will be able to grasp the sx110.
Some people have mentioned that it is complicated and do not like the thumb wheel for choosing controls. I really like this method. The control buttons and wheels are easy to use and are very responsive. I honestly don't know why some people have problems. The menu features, which are abundant, only took a day or so to get used to.
Again, do NOT let the abundant features and controls deter you. This camera is packed with features you's expect in a much more expensive camera.
Although I won't use ALL the features, I will use many. I really like the included software also. It makes downloading and sorting the photos a breeze. I really like the automatic file classifier. Before, with my old camera, if I took 30 photos, the camera would automatically assign a generic file name and number to it. Then I would have to manually change each file to name it to what I wanted.
With this software, all you have to do is assign a personal name to ONE photo in the series and the software will automatically assign that name and a numerical designation to the rest of the files in that series.
I also enjoyed viewing the photos through the camera by either people or events.
Pick "people" and that's exactly the photos it will bring up.
Yesterday, I christened the camera by taking pictures of my grandchildren and they came out fantastic. All indoor shots too. I set the camera on "indoor" and the pictures came out as if they were shot outdoors; no "warm yellow" tint that you always get from indoor shooting with table lamps on.
I did some "macro" shooting today and the PQ was very good.
As far as battery life, I can't comment on that yet as I have not used it enough. Some have complained about poor battery life but it's possible they may be using poor re-charges or thier re-charges are not being cycled properly. I am currently waiting for a set of ENELOP batteries and will make sure I charge them slowly. I have recently read that fast charging is absolutely the worst thing you can do to batteries.
All in all, this is a great camera. I am very pleased with the PQ and ease of use.
84 of 87 people found this review helpful.
Review 177 for PowerShot SX110 IS Black
Nickname: JRFAN88
Location: San Dimas, CA.
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

pretty good camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 18, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, durable
Cons: Heavy/Bulky, Short battery life
I previously had kodak before I got this one, and the kodak is for the beginner and doesnt have many features. This camera has many more options. Just be sure you read the instructions so you can take advantage of all the options!
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 178 for PowerShot SX110 IS Black
Nickname: Fire
Location: Winnsboro, SC
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Worth the price

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 13, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable
Cons: Short battery life
I have put off purchasing a digital camera because I thought it would be to complicated. This picture takes great photo's with little effort, and downloading to the computer was very easy. I did however have problem emailing. Have not worked that out yet.
But other wise this is a great camera.
6 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 179 for PowerShot SX110 IS Black
Nickname: Bubbles

Best camea

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 12, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, durable
Cons: Short battery life
It certainly takes awsome pictures. WOW. But it does eat batteries. Make sure you by rechargable batteries for your camera to save $. Another thing is that it sometimes take blurry images, just make sure the flash is raised, you are on the right setting, and READ THE INSTRUCTION MANUAL. Overall GREAT CAMERA Also takes awsome night pictures. Buy a camera cass. It can get a little bulky.
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 180 for PowerShot SX110 IS Black
Nickname: johnny
Location: Boston, MA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Definitely the best camera (aside from SLR) i own

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 9, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, durable
Cons: Heavy/Bulky, Short battery life
If you want to buy a camera, but don't want either a simple point and shoot, or have to lug around an SLR, then this is definitely the camera for you. Tons of features packed into this little badboy, and you will have the time of your life.
12 of 12 people found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 ... 7 8 9 10 11 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site