Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / PowerShot Cameras Reviews / Other PowerShot Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop Other PowerShot or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PowerShot SX10 IS

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

PowerShot SX10 IS

Average Customer Rating:
4.661 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(310 Reviews) 310
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (310 reviews)
5 stars
237
4 stars
53
3 stars
12
2 stars
4
1 star
4
287 out of 310(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PowerShot SX10 IS
Review 1 for PowerShot SX10 IS
Nickname: bri
Location: cape cod, MA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

great camera for amateurs

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 7, 2008
Pros: easy to use, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, good battery life, durable
Cons: Heavy/Bulky
i love it, i just got it for my 16th birthday since i want to get into photography and its amazing.
i wanted a dslr ( canon xs ) butttt didnt have the funds, so got this instead.
its a great camera for beginners!
613 of 718 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PowerShot SX10 IS
Nickname: Lady luck
Location: USA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Loved this product

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 20, 2013
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Great product. took awesome pictures.Great for wildlife and scenery as well as family and sports. Love the zoom and ease of use.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PowerShot SX10 IS
Nickname: Goahnoah
Location: Colby, Kansas
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Awesome Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 29, 2010
Pros: slr body styling, flash hot shoe, articulating lcd screen, 2.5" lcd screen, scroll wheel, super macro, long zoom, wide angle coverage, decent size battery grip, takes aa batteries
Cons: stopless wheel
I purchased this camera 5 months ago and wasn't expecting that much for the price. It succeeded my expectations by a lot!!! I has great user interface, Great body styling and good low light capabilities. overall it is a great camera I would recommend to anybody!
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PowerShot SX10 IS
Nickname: pk
Location: Toronto
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Super camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 19, 2010
Pros: everything works great
Cons: lens cap is so-so
this camera is far better than any pocket digital, the zoom on it alone is amazing. Sharp pictures and great movies. Also uses AA batteries, I bought 2 one for me and one for my son.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PowerShot SX10 IS
Nickname: Turbo
Location: Alberta, Canada
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: No

Awesome!!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 17, 2010
Pros: size/bulk, close up shots, long zoom range, easy for beginners, good value, view screen is protected
Cons: manual flip flash
Great camera. I have only had it for 2 days but it is great. I like the zoom range and the digital zoom. It also takes great macro pics. I bought this mainly for work where I will be taking close up shots of failed mechanical parts but also wanted a good camera for zooming in on cool stuff while on vacation. The included cd is helpful for guiding you through the functions if you have a little patience. Also the bulk is not a problem. I was looking for a camera that could not easily be lost in a pocket and ran through the wash. It also makes it easier to keep your fingers from being in the way of the flash and lens. I also like that the view screen pivots so it can be protected or let you see what you are shooting at different angles. Well worth the money spent and a quick set up. I was snapping pics within 5 mins of opening the box.
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PowerShot SX10 IS
Nickname: CollegeStudent
Location: Evansville, IN
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Outstanding Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 7, 2010
Pros: 20x zoom, optical image stabilization, chdk compatible, fast startup, fast reponse, good video quality, excellent photo quality, intuitive menu, ergonomic, pivot screen
Cons: Heavy/Bulky, no interchangeable lens, fixed lens, occasional bugs, no strap for lens cap
In short, this is the best camera I've ever used.
Let's start with the cons (there are much fewer of them!)
CONS:
1. Every once in a while (1/100 uses) I will turn on the camera and find that the display is inverted. Hard to fix if you don't know how, but the simplest method is to take the batteries out while it is on (hard reset).
2. The lens is not interchangeable. (Does it really NEED to be?... it has macro and 20x zoom!) This inevitably means you cannot add filters, telephoto lenses, etc. Big whoop. If you can afford a ton of lenses, then go look at a Canon EOS.
3. There is not a "string" for the lens cap. But it has a clip. I usually stick it in my pocket, or clip in onto the strap.
4. There is not a battery meter. (But you can use CHDK's battery meter!)
PROS:
1. Lens: Most obviously is the lens. I've always wanted to get "a little closer" in photos and this lens does just that. You don't have to worry about a ton of blur at max zoom, because it works in conjunction with optical image stabilization (OIS, from here on out)
2. OIS: The OIS is great. Tired of motion blur? The IOS does an excellent job of reducing blur in photos. Yes, you will still want a tripod for 20X zoom photos, but it is possible to do without it.
3. Manual settings: my favorite feature lately is the manual mode for taking pictures. You can set the shutter speed (1/1600s to 15s) Fully customizable. The way photography should be. (Manual focus is a done electronically, though. This is not as efficient as I would like)
4. Screen: It pivots! That is itself is a great feature. You can use either the screen or the viewfinder and quickly switch between the two. The LCD is excellent and useful even in sunlight. No complaints there!
5. Speed: Quick start-up and response. This camera is very fast. If you have weak batteries, it may take a minute to charge the flash, but it's ready to take photos within a few seconds of pressing the ON/OFF button.
6. Ergonomics: Button positions are great. Granted, you should learn where the buttons are before you go taking photos in the dark. The buttons are in easy to use places (the thumb can reach all of the buttons on the back. You don't have to worry about pushing buttons accidentally.
7. Image Quality: Well, the 10MP may be an overkill, but it does an excellent job of getting quality images. With all those manual settings you have no excuse for bad lighting, contrast, or blur.
8. Useful "tools": Color swap, color accent, are fun to try.
ISO 3200 lets you get around 2-3 photos per second in good lighting. In poor lighting, well, it does its purpose of brightening stuff up to par. (remember, higher ISO = grainier photos!) Other useful tools are Av and Tv priority.
9. Menus: seems that the menus are rather intuitive. Check your manual, though to see what features are available in different modes.
I could go on, but I get the feeling you've made up your mind already...
10. SD! No more proprietary MemoryStick or XD cards!
OTHER THOUGHTS:
1. Face detection hasn't been very useful. I think its more of a marketing gimmick. It works, but what's the point? Same goes for most "preset" modes. I do like to the continuous focus in sport mode.
2. There is a "glare shield" thing included. It can be stored on your camera (screws onto lens backwards and forwards). This hasn't proved to be very useful yet, but its always there if I need it.
3. If you get this camera (or most any Powershot) then Google "CHDK." It opens up a whole smorgasbord of possibilities for your camera (scripting, RAW, motion detection, longer (infinite) shutter speeds, etc.)
4. This camera is better than some DSLRs that I've used.
5. There is a mount/port for adding a flash, if you want.
27 of 28 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PowerShot SX10 IS
Nickname: mecaton2
Location: Missouri
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Cover issues

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 31, 2010
Cons: outer ring loosens
Only problem we have had after multiple uses is the fact the outer ring to the lens came loose. It is only glued on and after usage it slowly becomes loose as if you were trying to focus a lense manually.
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PowerShot SX10 IS
Nickname: cj
Location: NH
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

I hate this camera!

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 12, 2010
This camera has given me nothing but trouble since I bought it. I use it has a tool for reference painting and it has continually been a source os major stress.
Using a pdf file to try to locate the problems has also been too much work. Finding the setting on the camera to make adjustments is too complicated. I would take this back to thr store in a heartbeat if at all possible. I thought the issue was mine and i would learn the camera but it's been 6 mos and I hate it.
1 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PowerShot SX10 IS
Nickname: Crissi
Location: Key West, Fl
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast

In Love With My Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 3, 2010
I have had this camera for a little over a year, and it's the best thing I've ever bought. I originally wanted a SLR but due to money, I settled for the powershot. I am so happy I did! I love all the features on this camera. I am still discovering new things that I can do with my Powershot. I take my camera everywhere with me. If photography is a passion, this is the camera for you! The only think I am still learning to deal with is the delay when using the flash. Something I'm sure I will overcome.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PowerShot SX10 IS
Nickname: Greywolf
Location: Metro Detroit, MI
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Great Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 2, 2010
Pros: "7-11 friendly" - uses standard alkali batteries, extremely versatile
Cons: cannot attach lens filters, no waterproof housing available for this model.
This is a very versatile camera that is simple to use. I use this camera both for my hobby ( nature photography) and in my professional life as a protection specialist (imaging for site surveys, area reconnaissance and protective intelligence). The software that comes with this camera makes it very easy and fast to produce excellent quality images that can be quickly disseminated to my clients and members of my team. I give this camera a 10 out of 10 - great product!! There are only a few improvements that I can think of that would make this an unbeatable system for those not wanting to spend on a D-SLR.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PowerShot SX10 IS
Nickname: Em
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Awesome camera!!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 2, 2010
Pros: easy to use, not too big, it's just cool!!
Cons: little bit awkward shaped, slightly complicated for begginers
This is a really great camera, I love it! So far it has worked way better than any other camera I've used. One of the many cool features on it is this setting that you can take pictures of things that are in motion! The only things I can think of to complain about are all the different settings, (it is hard remembering what button does what) and sometimes when I zoom in on something really close it gets all fuzzy and goes out of focus, but I'm sure that is probably my fault and would be a simple fix if I read the instructions all the way through! :)
Review 12 for PowerShot SX10 IS
Nickname: zowie
Location: Oakland, CA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Good Camera

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 5, 2010
Pros: Nice features/settings, easy to use
Cons: uses aa batteries
Like camera a lot. Takes very good pictures and was worth the cost of the camera.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PowerShot SX10 IS
Nickname: Hotel 5 Lima
Location: Alakanuk, AK.
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Great Pictures

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 21, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Heavy/Bulky
Still playing with the features, but so far, I'm very satisfied with each result. I was impressed with the clear pictures I took with the zoom. I have another brand 12MB digital camera and this camera puts it to shame in picture quality. I recommend you get this camera for starter before you get an SLR!!
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PowerShot SX10 IS
Nickname: sundy
Location: Northeast IN
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

Excellent Camera!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 5, 2010
Pros: Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Heavy/Bulky
Very durable camera. I bought mine about a year and a half ago and it is working great! (it even has been dropped once and still works!) I love the zoom. So nice when you are at a sporting event. I would buy another one!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PowerShot SX10 IS
Nickname: Jim
Location: Urbana, OH
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

You Can't do Better for the Money

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 17, 2010
Pros: good battery life, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use
I love this camera. I've recently had both a 35mm SLR and a small digital point and shoot. This camera outperforms them both. It takes great closeups and stop action shots.
To those who complain it's bulky, it's much lighter than an SLR with nearly equal performance. But, it's as easy to use as a point and shoot. I especially like the variable position screen. I've been able to hold the camera up over the crowd at events and get clear pictures with no heads in them.
I recently went to a shuttle launch at Cape Kennedy with my brother who arrived with $2000 worth of SLR camera, lenses, and a tripod. I got more good pictures than he did.
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PowerShot SX10 IS
Nickname: space case stace

excellent work canon

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 15, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: poor flash
I have had this camera for 8 months and I love every bit of it. It is easy for amateurs (like my mom who we bought it for) but also has enough features that a relative professional can use it and have great results. I like that it isn't too big to lug around, but that it still takes great photos. The only problem I have had is with the flash.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PowerShot SX10 IS
Nickname: sorry to own this
Location: Michigan

Poor Quality Pictures

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 9, 2010
Pros: Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Poor image quality, Poor Low-Light Performance, close range pictures are poor quality, medium range pictures are poor quality, long range pictures are poor quality
I have a Cannon EOS 35mm, and based upon that product I purchased this camera. The controls are similar so using this procuct is easy for me. However the pictures are simply poor quality on all ranges.... compeititors camers that are 1/3 the cost take better, clearer, sharper pictures than this one. I would not recommend it to anyone, Since I am used to the Cannon 35mm camera, I do not have any issues with the physical characteristics of this camera....... just the pictures are very poor.....
2 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PowerShot SX10 IS
Nickname: jkjoms
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert

i love my cam (SX10IS)

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 3, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use, designed to fit in our hand give excellent control
Cons: bulky
there is no compromise for high quality pictures so i was forced to buy canon SX10IS becuse there is nothing to surpass this model till date, i love my sx10is becuase it gives the real satisfaction of photographing!!!
i admit its bit costly but its worth it...the video control button and zoom functionality in video makes the camera even more amazing...battery life is an important factor and it gives surprisingly long usage time....take care of your camera (SX10IS) like your child...it will remain with you as your faithful servant.....its bulky but its loaded with features...manual mode is complicated but once you use it for a few times you wll get used to it
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PowerShot SX10 IS
Nickname: Jess
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Best Camera Ever

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 27, 2010
Pros: good battery life, excellent image quality, durable, Lightweight/Portable, macro, good price
I absolutely love this camera! It works very well and has excellent image quality.
I recently got interested in photography and desperately needed a camera with good macro because my old digital one couldn't zoom in to save its life. DSRL cameras were reasonably priced but the cost for good macro lenses were sky high and I couldn't afford them. So instead I opted for this camera. It has excellent macro and unbelievable optical zoom. I can be standing very far away from something and still take an excellent close-up of it. The powerful zoom is also perfect for taking pictures of insects and butterflies do to the fact that they get scared if something gets too close. Again, this is an excellent camera and I recommend it to anyone that wants to get into photography but can't afford really expensive cameras or lenses.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PowerShot SX10 IS
Nickname: KYD
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

It's OK

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:March 25, 2010
Pros: Nice features/settings, Simple controls/menu
Cons: Missing features/settings, Short battery life, Complicated controls/menu
One feature that I like about digital camera's is the ability to print the date on the photo. I don't like that the only way you can print the date on the photo is to print your photo's at home. I usually have my photo's developed!! If I had know that I couldn't have the date print on the prints when having my photos developed, I would not have purchased this camera. PERIOD!!!
1 of 10 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 16 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site