Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / PowerShot Cameras Reviews / Other PowerShot Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop Other PowerShot or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PowerShot SX10 IS

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

PowerShot SX10 IS

Average Customer Rating:
4.661 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(310 Reviews) 310
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (310 reviews)
5 stars
237
4 stars
53
3 stars
12
2 stars
4
1 star
4
287 out of 310(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PowerShot SX10 IS
Review 21 for PowerShot SX10 IS
Nickname: average joe
Location: Caldwell, NJ
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

Only For The Pros

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:March 8, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance, Difficult to use, Complicated controls/menu, owners manual hard to understand
I purchased this camera because I wanted to take high quality pictures while on vacation and it got very good reviews. To be fair let me first say that I found this camera to be of the highest quality and it came loaded with all kinds of desireable features. The main problem I experienced with this camera is that It just was too complex and too complicated to use. Prior to using the camera I read the owners manual from cover to cover and then I read it again this time with the camera in hand. There were so many buttons, dials and settings that I found myself overwelmed right from the start with all of the technical jargon and highly detailed instructions. I soon became frustrated with my lack of ability to understand how to utilize any of the many functions available so I simply set it to auto and used it that way for my vacation. Since then I read the manual again and I still don't understand it, nor can I remember what all the numerous buttons and dials do. There is no point to owning a camera that is so complex that you can't use it. The bottom line is that this is a very good camera for very experienced, very savvy camera enthusiasts who can digest all of the complexities involved. It is not for beginners or amateurs like myself who should just stick to the point and shoot models.
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 22 for PowerShot SX10 IS
Nickname: foxyterrier
Location: Maryland, Arizona
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Almost Perfect!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 4, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: if only it had a larger sensor....
This is a wonderful substitute for DSLR -- no need to change lenses to get your picture. The image quality is terrific and the camera is easy to learn to use. The AA batteries are also a great convenience -- you'll never be without a charge.
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 23 for PowerShot SX10 IS
Nickname: parsong
Location: Iowa
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

thumbs up!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 12, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
I wanted a high quality, dependable camera with a great zoom lens but at an affordable price and this fit the bill. I have had this camera for almost a year and love it. I like it's point and shoot easy usage plus all the features that allow me to be as creative as I want to be. I highly recommend it to the beginner looking for a camera they can begin using with confidence or the seasoned photographer.
--parsong
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 24 for PowerShot SX10 IS
Nickname: gtfan08
Location: Atlanta, GA
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Great Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 9, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Simple controls/menu, easy to use, super macro setting
This camera got me started on photography, and there wasn't a better camera for it. It has great image quality from far away or very close up. I would recommend this camera to anyone.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 25 for PowerShot SX10 IS
Nickname: Naro
Location: Miami, FL
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

What about wireless control?

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 6, 2010
Pros: Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Bright LCD
Cons: Missing features/settings, Flimsy Construction
Great camera for a beginner in photography. I love all the features, but I wish it could include a wireless control feature when taking self-taken photos, or family photos where you want to be included.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 26 for PowerShot SX10 IS
Nickname: pebal
Location: AW
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Great Choice !

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 6, 2010
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Really I 'm happy from this photocamera on my eyes, better and useful than last deployed G10 and G11 , mainly due to useful and handy ergonomics.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 27 for PowerShot SX10 IS
Nickname: ellieRN
Location: IA
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Awesome Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 5, 2010
Pros: excellent image quality, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: movie quality could be better
This camera is great.... great quality pics. Reccomend to everyone. Simple yet it has lots of extras.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 28 for PowerShot SX10 IS
Nickname: kat82win
Location: Fredericton NB
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Great Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 2, 2010
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
I love this Camera, I waited for 2 months until it was put out on store shelves, I borrowed my sisters camera which is the version lower than this one and thats what made me want this one, it had more features than hers...
I got researching cameras and i wanted something with the flip out screen on it as if i'm at a concert i can hold it over my head and still see what i'm shooting, or if i want to be in the picture i can flip it out and we can see how the picture will look before i snap it.
The weight is just right as well and love the grip as i feel the camera is secure in my hand.
I actually submitted one of the nature pictures i took with the camera and it got published in a book! This camera has made me want to pursue a career in photography.
I will definaltly never buy anything other than canon from now on! I also went out and bought the Powershot SD880IS so i can have a pocket sized camera for times when i'm somewhere i can't take the larger one with me(nights out with the girls)
Some day when the funds are available for me i will buy a SLR but i know i will return to this one as its so easy to use!
The only negitive thing i can think of is that one night i took a shot of the moon and I had it on a tri pod with the zoom out as far as I could get and when i took the picture the slight camera shake when i pushed the button made it slightly blurry, but i took enought that I got a few great ones and I could even see the crators in the moon with it, the detail was amazing, it would be great if i could get a remote for the camera to take the picture.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 29 for PowerShot SX10 IS
Nickname: Devon
Location: Arizona / Illinois
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Canon SX10IS

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 26, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Heavy/Bulky
I'm a 16 year old aspired photographer hoping to open my own business in the future so I bought this camera over the holidays in 2008! The sx10is is a great camera for action photos such as dirtbikes (my preference) and at weddings (my dream business) I do recommend a backpack for a camera bag!
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 30 for PowerShot SX10 IS
Nickname: mrktov
Location: VENTURA, CALIFORNIA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

excellent camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 22, 2010
Pros: excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, easy to use
AS A BEGINNER IN PHOTOGRAPHY, I CHOSE A CAMERA THAT WAS NOT A BEGINNER'S, BUT NOT A PROFESSIONAL'S. IN MY OPINION IT FALLS IN THE INTERMEDIATE PHOTOGRAPHERS RANGE. NOTHING BUT GOOD EXPERIENCES IN REGARDS TO USING ITS FUNCTIONS AND TAKING THE PHOTOS. THIS CAMERA IS FANTASTIC. I AM A CANON CAMERA PERSON FOR LIFE.
Review 31 for PowerShot SX10 IS
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: North Carolina
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Very stable images

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 3, 2010
Pros: good battery life, excellent image quality, easy to use, image stabilization, good zoom, uses regular aa batteries, face recognition, self portrait
We purchased this camera based on seeing unbelievable results from photos taken during a sailing regatta using an older generation model of this camera. The photographer was sighting the starting line, hanging on to the rail with one hand, and snapping photos with her other hand. Despite strong winds, waves, and subjects and sailboats moving by rapidly, the photos were amazingly sharp, with great contrast, and the subjects' faces were popping out as if they had stopped and posed.
---
We purchased the newer SX10 IS model, with similar image stabilizing and zoom features as the one that our friend used at a price that was significantly less than we expected.
---
During a recent trip my wife used the camera to snap photos of the winter wonderland scenery from the passenger seat in our car, through extremely dirty windows, while we were traveling at 65 miles per hour. Amazingly, there were very few blurry photos and the camera did not seem to care that the windows were filthy.
---
We are very pleased with this camera!
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 32 for PowerShot SX10 IS
Nickname: ronin
Location: largo,florida
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

for the money it was worth it.

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 23, 2009
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Heavy/Bulky
i had a xs120 is and it could not zoom enough for my needs.i purchased the sx10 and setting it up was easy since the controls are close to the xs120.for the money i spent on it,its a great camera.good battery life plenty of zoom.all in a nice package.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 33 for PowerShot SX10 IS
Nickname: Kodi2k6
Location: Methuen, MA
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Recommended!

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 22, 2009
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
After being a Nikon fan for decades, I have switched ships with this camera. I think this is my overall favorite camera to date. I would not swap it for anything except maybe the PowerShot SX20 IS. Focus is fast and quiet, the zoom is unbelievable, image quality is great, large LCD display, use of inexpensive batteries, it is just a really great camera. I have recommended it to many of my acquaintances.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 34 for PowerShot SX10 IS
Nickname: Muncie Birder
Location: Muncie, In
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

A good camera for wildlife photography

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 20, 2009
Pros: good battery life, excellent image quality, durable, Lightweight/Portable
Cons: Complicated controls/menu
I bought this camera specifically for a birding trip to Uganda. I used it for two months before I left to get the hang of it. My only complaint about the camera is that the manual focus does not work but that is a small drawback. The auto focus does not focus all that well on small objects but overall it give good results. It tends to overexpose the photos so I had to adjust the exposure setting 1/3 down. I took nearly 400 pictures in Uganda on 2.5 sets of alkaline batteries. That is one of the reasons I chose this camera was because it used regular batteries which you can carry with you anywhere. Of the pictures I took only about 5% were out of focus. One a Puff Adder among leaves. It focused on the leaves rather than the snake, but another picture of the snake came out well. I took almost all of the picture using the view finder. I don't much care for the screen.
The digital zoom is actually surprisingly good. I took a shop of a Long-crested Eagle on a power pole a half mile away and it actually came out rather well.
The main criticisms are: The shooting mode dial should have a lock on it so it can not accidently turn which it does. There are too many setting and buttons. The manual focus is worthless. There should be a focus 3 shot step on auto focus like there is on manual focus.
The software that comes with the camera would not work on my computer even though it was supposed to. None of it. I use Photoshop instead.
Do not expect the quality telephoto photos that you would get with one of the Canon special 500mm lenses but actually the results are surpisingly good considering the compactness of the camera.
I am very pleased. This is an excellent alternative to hauling around 30 pounds of expensive camera gear.
17 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 35 for PowerShot SX10 IS
Nickname: Stevijo
Location: Bartlesville, OK
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Most Versatile Camera Ever

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 9, 2009
Pros: Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use, versatile
Cons: Short battery life, some controls poorly located
This is the most versatile camera I have, with its 28mm to 560 mm super zoom. It is light, compact, easy to carry and powerful. I have used it to photograph two high school football games, one under the lights, one in a bright sun. I took more than 700 photos in these two games. I miss RAW but the images are excellent, second only to my Canon G10 for bridge cameras. It uses 4 AA batteries and goes through alkalines so I have switched to lithium (more expensive but much more usage). It accepts Canon flashes so when I am not satisfied with the built-in, I use an EX-580II but, that adds more weight to my hands and can cause me some clumsy accidents. I never shoot without a strap around my neck so I haven't dropped it, but I have made some errors and had to re-shoot a scene. I have suggested this camera to several people for an upgrade to what they have. It is complicated for those who truly want a point & shoot but it's fine for my needs. I have two Canon D-SLR's so this is an addition but one that complemented what I have and what I do. Like my G10, this is small and light and I can carry it through long treks, such as car shows. When I turn it sideways to shoot portraits, I have hit the "movie" button a few times and I've learned to think before I shoot so this control seems poorly placed to me. It would help if could be disengaged.
9 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 36 for PowerShot SX10 IS
Nickname: Rock
Location: Waxahachie, Texas
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Quality Camera but has flaws

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 8, 2009
Pros: Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use
Cons: Complicated controls/menu
The performance and features of the PowerShot SX 10 IS are generally first rate. There are two features I do not like. First, the lens cover is poorly designed and is easily dislodged from its place. Expect some time loss searching for it, if you can find it. At this point, I have not found a solution to secure its attachment. Second, after using the camera, I have less appreciation for the fold out viewer which is more difficult to focus quickly than a inline viewer. There is also the delay of flipping it out which means missing the short you really wanted.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 37 for PowerShot SX10 IS
Nickname: pappy
Location: Indiana
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Very satisfied

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 7, 2009
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Simple controls/menu, easy to use, good instructional book
Cons: Missing features/settings, Heavy/Bulky
When I bought this camera, I was looking for a reative inexpensive digital camera to replace a point and shoot one. My requirements were versatility with as much manual control packed in as possible, ease of use, low initial cost and the ability of continued use over long periods of time. I also did not want a DSLR as I am handicapped and would not always be able to carry extra lenses, filters, etc so I was looking also for a relative light camera.
Much research online and locally for a camera that would fulfill those needs was done. I was preparing for a vacation to travel from my home in the midwest to California and back taking nearly a month to wander around the southern United States on the way and back. This camera seemed to fit the bill.
First I would like to say my research paid off hamsomely. I carried the camera, a battery charger, three sets of batteries and five SD cards. I recharged the spent batteries each evening and downloaded the SD cards used that day to a laptop computer. There was not one problem encountered. The photos of the trip were beautiful and are memories that will remind me of that once in a lifetime trip.
One complaint I read about the SX10 IS during my search was it was heavy. It does have some heft to it and may not fit one who is used to small point and shoot cameras, but I found the weight to be an asset. This gives the camera the feel of the last SLR I owned and with the anti-shake on, I felt it gave me a steadier hand for those long, long shots in precipitious mountain climes. Another complaint stated was the use of the wheel (dial) on the back of the camera for choosing specific settings for those of us with fat fingers. I did not find this a problem and my fingers are certainly not small by anyone's immagination.
My only complaint is the lack of a low battery warning light or beep or anything. Unless I have missed how to turn it on, I don't believe there is one.
Overall, I am extremely satisfied with this camera. I would recoment it or its successor (the SX20 IS) to anyone looking for a digital non-SLR. It also makes a perfect second or third or fourth camera that will quickly become one of choice.
14 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 38 for PowerShot SX10 IS
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: south georgia
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

great point and click camera!!!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 6, 2009
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use, stupid friendly
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance
great camera for almost every situation. don't really know how to say it anyway but the best camera for the money that i have seen!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 39 for PowerShot SX10 IS
Nickname: Paparatzi
Location: Concord, Nc
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: No

Great Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 29, 2009
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Heavy/Bulky
Wonderful camera. Purchase before our wedding and honeymoon. This camera was easy to use and took great pictures for new users. We have wonderful honeymoon pictures and Im glad we make the choice of this camera. Just wish the newer model would have came out before we purchased this one but thats how electronics work.
Review 40 for PowerShot SX10 IS
Nickname: shutter happy
Location: Cheyenne, WY
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Best value ever!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 26, 2009
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance
I have had this camera for 11 months. To date I have taken over 6000 photos. I have owned other advanced non-dslr cameras and was looking to move into dslr before this purchase. I use the camera for both snapshots and commercial photos. The lens cap and camera parted ways, my only complaint about the camera. Sunlight makes LCD difficult to see, especially trying to make panoramic shots. Would reccomend a screen hood of some kind to eliminate the problem. AA batteries are a huge bonus for travel and remote locations. Would not hesitate to purchase again.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 ... 16 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site