Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / PowerShot Cameras Reviews / Other PowerShot Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop Other PowerShot or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PowerShot SX10 IS

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

PowerShot SX10 IS

Average Customer Rating:
4.661 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(310 Reviews) 310
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (310 reviews)
5 stars
237
4 stars
53
3 stars
12
2 stars
4
1 star
4
287 out of 310(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PowerShot SX10 IS
Review 1 for PowerShot SX10 IS
Nickname: kendp
Location: Schenectady, NY
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Perfect for Me

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 21, 2008
Pros: Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, good battery life, see my review
Cons: see my review
I bought this camera on the basis of early reviews and my confidence in Canon cameras. It replaces a Powershot A620, which is an excellent camera, but does not have all the features that I would like for the landscape and street scene photos that I especially enjoy.
Most useful to me have been the following:
Wide angle lens. I didn't know what I was missing in the past by not having it. But now I would not have a camera without it.
20x zoom. Wow, what a difference compared to the 4x zoom I had previously. I can now reach out and get shots of distant views that I could only dream about previously.
The camera's weight and balance feel very good in my hands. I believe I would have less shake possibilities than before even without the image stabilizer.
Image stabilizer is something I would not want to be without in the future. Previously, without IS, I shot in 200 ISO to help guard against blurred photos. Now, with IS, I can shoot in 80 ISO with much less noise.
I-contrast is a great feature. I was trying to photograph a waterfall but was dissatisfied with all the shots because a shadow was hiding part of the rock wall it was passing over. I turned on I-contrast and the shadow disappeared just as though the sun had changed direction. Now I have I-contrast on automatic.
The controls make it easier than it was for me before to switch to continuous shooting. I don't have to go to the menu, just push a button.
The Scenic setting has many more options than I had before, making it easier to get good photos in a variety of situations. Additions to what I had before include Night Snapshot, Sports, Night Scenes, and Sunsets.
One feature that I still have, fortunately, is the ability to use regular AA batteries rather than having to buy a special battery pack. Rechargeable batteries are not expensive and last a long time.
Although I have not used this feature it, the camera has a hot shoe that makes it possible to install an external flash in the future if I want to use on.
I also like the option of being able to make the LCD brighter and easier to see in sunlight.
The camera is easy to use, but it works best if you read the manual so that you understand what is available. It is more advanced than a point-and shoot camera. It is also best if you work through the menu as there are some important choices available to you that help you personalize the camera for what you want to do with it.
No camera is perfect. The dial that is used to change shutter speed, aperture opening, etc., is one of the weakness on this camera. The dial is not as responsive as it should be and is poorly designed.
I would also prefer threads so that I could use lenses, especially a polarizer. There are a few threads so I can make a very thin polarizer that I have stick, but a normal thickness lens does not. Also, I am not confident the thin polarizer is really secure.
I would like to have an aperture value greater than 8.0 to get even more clarity in the background of landscape shots.
Would I buy the camera again? Do I recommend it to others? An unequivocal "yes" to both questions. If you want a camera with many of the capabilities of a DSLR , without the need to buy and carry a variety of lenses, this is a camera that should be on your short list.
190 of 190 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PowerShot SX10 IS
Nickname: Coach
Location: Vancouver, BC
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Filters Fit!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 17, 2009
Pros: Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable, use of filters!
Cons: Difficult to use
I've been reading a number of reviews which all stated that the new SX10 IS does not come equipped to enable the use of lens filters. This was a significant issue in determining my choice whether to buy the camera or not. Especially wanting to have the option of a UV filter to protect the lens. Upon going to a reputable camera store, they showed that indeed there are threads just inside the camera lens and further went on to attach 52mm filters to prove it. I was sold! The lens hood even fits over top. I have had the original S1 IS for five years now and have taken it around the world and brought back some fantastic photos. Although going to a dSLR was tempting, lugging the body and a couple of different lenses around in my backpack lured me back to this model - a 28mm to 560mm lens in one sleek body. Although all the new features are a bit daunting (and exciting) - it just gives me more reasons to go 'play' for a few more hours.
95 of 95 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PowerShot SX10 IS
Nickname: Loves digital
Location: Arizona
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Amazing number of great capabilities

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 6, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, great macro capabilities, long telephoto lens, swiviling lcd
I've owned Canon SLR cameras for decades and now use a Canon 5D and 20D, which have taken many outstanding photographs. I usually carry both of them as I keep a 70-300mm lens on the 20D. These great cameras may now spend more time in the drawer since I was given the SX10 IS as a birthday present.
I have taken several hundred photos with the SX10 using macro, super macro, portraits, scenics, wildlife at full zoom, art shots, shots in the sun and shade, fill-flash and inside photos using the flash. I am absolutely delighted with the results. The color saturation, sharpness and detail are amazing! Only a handful were rejected, mostly because the focus wasn't sharp where I wanted it. The face detect sometimes missed a person on the edge and they weren't in sharp focus.
This camera has it all in one light, small, easy to carry size. It has amazing macro capabilities, with good depth of field, and a swiveling LCD that eases back pain while taking flower/bug photographs. The 20X zoom is outstanding in the optical range and useful in the digital zoom range. One press of a button captures video. It truly is an amazingly versatile camera!
The 10 megapixel images allow me to crop and edit to the size and quality I look for in post processing.
My only (small) complaint is that the lens hood doesn't have much tooth where it attaches to the camera so it can pop off going into my carry case. The lens cover stays in my pocket.
At first I was concerned with using AA batteries but I purchased rechargeable batteries and have been pleasantly surprised with how many photographs can be taken on one charge.
The bottom line is the SX10 IS delivers colorful, sharp, high quality images from macro to a long zoom. I love it!
51 of 51 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PowerShot SX10 IS
Nickname: jamarimutt
Location: Aguadilla, Puerto Rico
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Excellent camera, excelent value

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 31, 2008
Pros: great lens!
Cons: lens cap attachment
I upgraded from an S3IS and am very pleased with this purchase. Aside from the obvious lens improvement (20x vs. 12x, 28 mm vs. 35 mm), this camera is half as noisy (noise at ISO 400 = noise at ISO 200 on the S3), exposure compensation now has its own button, manual focus is much easier thanks to a rotating wheel, and the autofocus is more accurate. The camera is larger and heavier but this is not an issue for me. The only thing I don't like is the system used for attaching the lens cap... this is not easy to do and with the included (neat) shade attached it is actually quite difficult.
46 of 46 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PowerShot SX10 IS
Nickname: Anonymous
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

Great Camera for the Amateur!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 31, 2008
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings
Cons: sucks batteries down...a lot
The Canon SX10 IS is a great camera for the beginner/hobbyist. For the price it features great image quality and features. If you want to get creative and adjust aperture, ISO speed, shutter speed, etc..., while also being able to shoot in various modes and auto, this is the camera for you! If you don't want to spend $600+ on an SLR, but still want to be able to use the camera for taking creative shots, you should seriously consider this camera. I purchased this without breaking the bank and I love it! Not to mention the 20X zoom and the rotating monitor! Those can really come in handy! With the ability to fold in the display, you can prevent scratches, etc... to the display, you can tilt it down to take overhead shots or tilt it up to take lower shots.
Great macro camera! If you take close up shots, the Super Macro feature is great! One can almost get on top of the subject and the camera will still focus!
The only downside to this camera is that it takes ...4AA batteries... If you have a stockpile of batteries somewhere, then that is great; I would really recommend purchasing higher quality rechargeable batteries instead of using regular alkaline. You will soon find out that 2 packs a month is common for this camera to eat...or more if you use it often... Seriously, spend 10 bucks and get some rechargeables.
I purchased this camera for flexibility and value, and received both!
45 of 45 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PowerShot SX10 IS
Nickname: sylvainber
Location: oswego, il
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

This is THE sweet spot in digital photography

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 7, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, good battery life, durable, the lens is awesome
Cons: Heavy/Bulky, learning curve for advanced featu
I 'grew up' with a Canon XT-1 film SLR camera... only to find myself with point-and-shoot cams once my son was born (ps cams do capture the moment with little notice).
I've had the Powershots A520 and SX100IS, still own an A540 and have been wanting a 'real lens' ever since i abandoned the SLR/film world. I don't want to carry lenses anymore, a decent superzoom is more than adequate for travel photos) and this camera has the lens to capture great images (note: megapixels are wasted when a cam has a tiny lens)
I found in the SX10IS the perfect balance of features and automation. I can just turn it on and shoot in most cases if in a pinch... or take my time and take (manual) control of the cam for detail work)
The cam is a bit heavy... expected in this category. Battery life is excellent. Canon has really pushed the envelope with this model on the features.
Recommended: get a tripod for ppl portrait and landscape photos... get a speedlite flash if you really want to take night photography (lighting is the secret to great pictures... the built-in flash can only do so much). Get the 'cheat sheet' for this model (order it online)... it summarizes the manual in a tri-folded legal size (laminated) sheet. The manual is just too linear to be useful while traveling.
43 of 43 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PowerShot SX10 IS
Nickname: Twostep
Location: Texas
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

Gotta Get One

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 27, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, good battery life, great zoom, good video mode
Cons: no lens cap tether, a little slow on flash refresh
I found my all around camera for still and video! I took a one week cruise to Alaska, I took over 1000 pics and 1 hour of video and didn't come close to filling an 8 gig SD card. The zoom is awsome (20x optical). Do not let the 4-AA batteries scare you. I got over 300 pics per battery change with rechargable batteries. The swivle screen is a nice feature, especially when taking photos over a group of people. This thing has so many bells and whistles it will still take a little while to reach it's potentential. However, it was easy enough for my wife to pickup, turn-on, point and shoot. It also has a fast response time from the time the button is pushed to the time the picture is taken, you don't have the 1 or 2 second delay. The external flash shoe is a plus for when I decide to get an external flash. The built in flash is a little slow on refresh time, but that is just a small issue. Don't skimp on the SD card, get the ultra II or III high capacity card and you will be set up. It is not a pocket camera. It is a solid camera, doesn't feel cheap. If you are a casual user, want lots of features, great pictures and a great zoom, this is the camera for you.
32 of 32 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PowerShot SX10 IS
Nickname: Old Photo Bug
Location: Near St. Louis
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Better than I thought

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 14, 2009
Pros: Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable, very versatile
Cons: Complicated controls/menu, needs filter threads
The older one gets the harder it is to carry a good DSLR outfit so I thought I would try this. I call it my do-it-all camera. One compact package that can do almost everything my Rebel XT can do with a bunch of heavy accessories. At first I thought I would sell the XT but let’s face it a DSLR does better but less conveniently. I compared the cameras taking photos on a tripod at the same position. The DSLR is sharper but a small amount of work in my Photo Shop Elements and I can get very close. I have taken over 600 pictures with this over an eight month period. I noticed that many think this camera is heavy and bulky. Well in comparison to a DSLR it is small, light and handy.
Just keep this in mind. The best camera is the one you have with you.
29 of 29 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PowerShot SX10 IS
Nickname: Ange
Location: Auburn,ME
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Now one of my kids...

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 1, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, good battery life, durable
Cons: the lens cap storage when not in use is not good
I have had a few cameras before, and I love to take pictures, and this camera is by far the best. The quality is amazing, the shutter speed is fantastic, and if you use lithium batteries in it, they will last over 1000 pictures. I took it to a concert where an average camera will get dark, grainy images, and this camera gave me professional, close up shots that people thought I purchased from the band. The video mode has 2 microphones instead of the average 1, so the sound qualty is better than average. This is my favorite investment by far.
28 of 28 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PowerShot SX10 IS
Nickname: nipper
Location: Wilbraham, MA
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

LOVE IT LOVE IT LOVE IT

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 12, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, durable, takes fast object moving speed really well
Cons: Short battery life
I just took some spring photos of brids in trees 25FT away and they look crystal clear. i also took some photos of kids racing motocross this past weekend and they were jumping and going by me so fast the photos look like prof ones!! Best investment I ever made.
25 of 25 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PowerShot SX10 IS
Nickname: smitty
Location: NEW YORK STATE
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

OVER ONE YEAR OLD

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 15, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, good battery life, durable
After having this camera for over a year, I still am impressed with the overall proformace of it. Just returned from trip to Europe and took over 1200 photos and several viedos. camera operated flawlessly . the zoom quality is fantastic. have several shots of sturctures at wide angle and then zoomed in fully and people can only say "WOW".
The only Con about this camera was the lack of threads for attachment of lenes,but this can be solved by purchasing an adapter through LENSMATE that uses the grooves for the hood attachment for the adapter. After the adapter is on, you may use any 58mm lens that you wish too.
love this camera.....even after one year....still learning .
23 of 23 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PowerShot SX10 IS
Nickname: Charlie
Location: Oak Ridge, TN
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Excellent Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 24, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable
Cons: cannot use filters easily
Canon has learned from comments regarding the predecessors of this model. Controls are convenient. Noise is significantly reduced (although noise is an issue at ISO 800 and higher). Focus is fast; optics are very good; and features remain exceptional. The movie mode is a real plus. Macro and super macro are superb.
Shutter lag remains an issue, as can be expected. You can learn to anticipate nature and action shorts or use continuous drive mode.
That we cannot easily attach filters is a con, but that can be overcome with care.
All-in-all, the SX-10IS is a substantial camera in a small package, well worth the price, and a joy to use.
23 of 23 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PowerShot SX10 IS
Nickname: starvingartist51
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Awsome

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 2, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable
I purchased the SX10 IS after testing four other top named brands. I took each of those back.
This camera is spectactular. I've been a semi-pro photographer and avid amature for the past 31 years.
The 20X zoom is smooth and acurate, although a tripod is necessary on the extreme (560mm) end. Macros, scenery, portrait, manual, low-light, and auto setting shots taken at the Grand Canyon are extremely clean and the color is well balanced. The images remain very clean even when blown up to 11" x 17".
The SX10 IS is a very capable and dependable unit.
One more item, I have taken over 600 pictures on one set of batteries.
This unit rivals my SLR for clarity.
The only con I have is the dinky lens cap---very cheesy---and can be lost easily.
22 of 22 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PowerShot SX10 IS
Nickname: TravelWriter
Location: Ohio
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Great Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 31, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, durable
Cons: Short battery life
Between us, my husband and I own 7 digital cameras, 5 of them Canons (including 2 SLRs). I was looking for a lightweight, very portable but full-featured camera (but larger than pocket-size) to use as a backup to my SLR and when lugging around the SLR was just too difficult. I found the SX10 at a local electronics store and it was priced right and fit the bill.
Since I bought it in June, I'm happy to report that it has virtually replaced my SLR in just about every situation. The macro and super-macro modes are outstanding, and I'm generally happier with the results than those of the SLR. The 20X zoom works quite well, although at the full extension I recommend using a tripod since the image tends to get a little bit fuzzy if hand-held.
The only downside is that it eats batteries; I estimate that I can fill up not much more than a couple of 1 GB media cards before I get the low-battery notification. Still, the benefits far outweigh that inconvenience -- I just have to be sure to have plenty of batteries on hand.
20 of 20 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PowerShot SX10 IS
Nickname: Litespeed
Location: San Diego, CA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Great all around camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 12, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, durable
I have had this camera for a little over a month. It's very easy to use once you read the instructions manual.
It takes extremely sharp pictures in both normal and macro mode. When looking through the view finder, the photo may look a bit grainy, but don't let that fool you, the picture will be very crisp. It's probably better to use the LCD screen to compose a picture then using the view finder, but I use both. I really like the flip screen, gives you not only a way to protect the screen itself but to be able to put the camera at an overhead angle and still see what you are shooting.
Be sure and get rechargeable batteries and a charger, they last much longer.
The flash has be be raised by hand, but no big deal.
The zoom is great and will come in handy more then you know.
Cheapest place to buy this camera is Best Buy, cheaper then Walmart and you can actually use the floor model and see what the camera will do.
20 of 20 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PowerShot SX10 IS
Nickname: des6557
Location: Raleigh, NC
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

Great Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 9, 2009
Pros: Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, good battery life
Cons: Heavy/Bulky
I purchased this camera before a cruise through the Med. It took a week of using it to get comfortable with the controls and camera features. I took over 3000 photos during the trip. All in all, I love the features and performance of the SX10 IS. The electronic viewfinder is great when bright light makes the LCD screen hard to use. It includes a diopter adjustment so that information can be read without glasses. The LCD tilts and rotates for hard-to-get angles. It conveniently uses AA batteries, but the battery life is excellent anyway. I used rechargables with lithium disposables as a backup, but never needed the spares during a day of touring. My pictures turned out great once I got some practice. First, the auto focus can sometimes blur your shot, especially at extreme zoom. It can take a try or two to allow the camera to focus correctly. Low light shots can also be hard for the auto focus. There's a "night scene" mode that improves the camera's performance and enhances colors as well. The panorama mode works well and the included "stitching" software does a good job at putting shots together. However, you have to be careful with maintaining your aspect angles and focus during the process of taking multiple pictures. Like I said, it takes a little practice. This camera is also bigger and can get a little heavy while strapped around your neck. The included neck strap is very thin and quickly becomes uncomfortable. I'd recommend a good padded neck strap as a first accessory. Finally, I'd also reccommend a higher capacity SD or SDHD card. It comes with a 2GB SD card, but it fills quickly. I went with a 16GB SDHD card that holds a ton of pcitures and also improves the speed of the camera when saving shots.
19 of 19 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PowerShot SX10 IS
Nickname: Jillian
Location: Gallatin, TN
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Awesome Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 24, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, good battery life, durable
Cons: Heavy/Bulky
I take tons of nature pic. this camers brings out the color and life to my pictures. there is a lot of controls you must figure out but if you didnt it would be a good camera. Sure if you want an easy camera go by a one time use camera. But if you want cool pic for a reasonable price I suggest this camera. I have dogs and kids and this camera is great for them to. After I bought this camera I went to a camera store and looked at others just to make sure that I have the right camera for me. I look a cameras that was over 500 and they were no where better than this one. The zoom on this is awsome. Even the sales man said that this camera was better even though I didnt buy if from his store. He says he gets these in and they are gone in a few days, that he is out of stock of them right now. So I bought a cleaning cloth and left very happy. Even though I was happy before but now I knew I made the right choice. The camera is heavy/bulky but what do you expect for a great camera with an awesome zoom.
19 of 19 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PowerShot SX10 IS
Nickname: DMH
Location: Warner Robins, GA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

SX10IS

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 9, 2008
Pros: swivel lcd viewer
Cons: Missing features/settings, no threads for filter attachment
Fantastic, sharp pictures from Macro to 20X zoom. The use of AA batteries is a plus to me because I can find them anywhere I travel and the amount of charge they hold has increased over the years. Swivel LCD allows me to take pictures inside machinery at odd angles for engineering studies. The removal of filter threads from this series of cameras was an extremely bad decision. I hope an adapter is created soon. Ergonomics of holding the camera is better than most cameras in this size range.
19 of 19 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PowerShot SX10 IS
Nickname: gojino
Location: Los Angeles
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Great camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 18, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable
Cons: need a way to add filters
I recently purchased this camera since I was taking a trip of a lifetime. I was really impressed with the ease or use and the intuitive controls. All the pictures I took turned out excellent. I really liked the zoom, other people on this trip were amazed at the power of this camera compared to their larger Digital SLR's I really like the video features, as I was planing on bringing a video camera also, I found there was no need to do so. Also I loved the SLR viewfinder, it allow me to make quick shots without having to view the video screen, this was perfect for bright sunlight and as I said quick shots.
I do wish for one feature, I want to be able to put a filter on the lens, at least a clear one so I can protect the lens from water or dirt. But overall I am extremely pleased with this camera and Highly recommend it.
18 of 18 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PowerShot SX10 IS
Nickname: SkyPilot
Location: Grass Valley, California
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Second Canon Purchase

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 15, 2008
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality
OK, I read all the reviews, mostly good, some bad. I purchased the camera and wow, amazing. I had two goals in mind, one my wife who wants to pick up the camera, push a button and shot, period. The second goal was to satisfy my camera needs which are things like the incredible amount of settings and the ease of setting. I read some of the reviews and saw people complain about the user manual. Anytime you have a device that can do so much it becomes a little tough to put it in a format that works for everyone. My suggestion on the user manual is download the PDF from the web sight, have it on your computer and enlarge to 200% and it becomes an easy manual to read.
As far as the camera goes, it is a delight. One of the complaints, which I agree with, is the lens cover does not have a means of attaching it to the camera other than the clip on the inside used to clip to strap. I might add that having a clip is better than my Minolta which has nothing.
The perfect camera is yet to be made but this is getting darn close.
18 of 18 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 16 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site