Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Refurbished Products Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop Refurbished Products or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for EOS 5D Mark II

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

EOS 5D Mark II

21.1 Megapixel Full-frame CMOS sensor, 14-bit A/D conversion, ISO expandable to 25600 Full HD video with manual exposure control and multiple frame rates DIGIC 4 image processing 3.9 fps continuous shooting, shutter durability of 150,000 cycles
Average Customer Rating:
4.474 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(397 Reviews) 397
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (397 reviews)
5 stars
260
4 stars
93
3 stars
26
2 stars
8
1 star
10
359 out of 397(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for EOS 5D Mark II
Review 81 for EOS 5D Mark II
Nickname: Don
Location: Dallas, TX
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Best Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 14, 2011
I had own a 5D and moved up to the 5D Mark II and absolutely love it!
4 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 82 for EOS 5D Mark II
Nickname: Albert
Location: Chicago
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Excellent Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 23, 2010
Pros: good battery life, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, easy to use
Cons: noisy
I just switched from Canon 50D to Canon 5D Mark II .
Ladies and gentelman the difference is in the details. Great quality of picture. I only had this camera for few hours now, but I can tell the difference between Canon 50D and Mark II. I know some people complain about focus on this camera, so far had no problems. In fact this camera is focusing much better then my 50D.
I am glad that I bought this piece, so far I love it.
16 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 83 for EOS 5D Mark II
Nickname: Pablo
Location: Uxbridge, MA
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

Best Digital Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 19, 2010
Pros: good battery life, quiet, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
As a professional photographer I find that the Canon 5D MKII DSLR full frame 21.1 megapixel camera exceeds my every expectation. The quality of the images produced from this camera are outstanding. The durability of the camera body is second to none. I am very pleased with this camera so much that I just purchased a second 5D MKII as a back up camera. I highly recommend this camera
to any professional looking for a qaulity and durable camera.
22 of 23 people found this review helpful.
Review 84 for EOS 5D Mark II
Nickname: Gerald
Location: Portland, Or
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Outstanding

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 9, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Bright LCD, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Heavy/Bulky
It's now going on 6 months since I got my 5D and absolutely love it. This is my second Canon purchase in 2 years and I am very happy with my choices. I got it for the sensor size and not because of the video. I thought I don't know why anyone would want to video on a dslr. That is till I took it out of the box just to look at the video and wow, hooked. The images are also amazing, I love large prints so I print 13 x 19 prints and they are so clear I can see what the person on the photo is thinking :-) You can't go wrong with the 5D.
14 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 85 for EOS 5D Mark II
Nickname: Missy Colorado
Location: Crawford, Colorado
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Great upgrade move

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 28, 2010
Pros: detail, size and weight of body, fast enough for wildlife
Cons: noisy, battery change from 5d
Since entering the digital era I went from a 20D to a 5D and then to a 5D Mark II. The Mark II is a fabulous camera and the increase in detail is amazing. I currently use my Mark II as my main camera and the 5D as my backup. One thing I consider a downside is the fact that now I have to carry two sets of batteries and two battery chargers. I should have checked ahead of time (though it probably wouldn't have changed my mind), but why does the configuration and fit of the battery have to keep changing. I understand that the newer batteries are probably better, but why cause us to carry two completely different sets for a 5D and a 5D Mark II, knowing how critical it is when traveling to control weight and bulk? I realize it sells more product but at a detriment to us photographers who have to pack it around. The only other thing is noise. I do mainly wildlife photography and after stalking and hiding to get close to my subject, the noise of the camera is almost always detected while
shooting. Please can you make a quieter camera?
28 of 31 people found this review helpful.
Review 86 for EOS 5D Mark II
Nickname: yair2112
Location: Israel
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Best camera for this price !!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 1, 2010
great camera the autofocus is better then what some people saying love that camera and ill probably going to keep it for a wile
13 of 19 people found this review helpful.
Review 87 for EOS 5D Mark II
Nickname: b8264d
Location: Martinsburg WV
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Simply Amazing!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 20, 2010
Since purchasing this I barely use anything else. My clients always have rave reviews for the color and quality of thier images and if they are happy, I am extremely happy. I upgraded from a 20D to the 5D MK II knowing there was a difference between the two but I had no clue just how much I would fall in love with this camera. I would buy another one as a backup if I could.
15 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 88 for EOS 5D Mark II
Nickname: SamD
Location: Atlanta
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

Great Camera Lousy Software

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 19, 2010
Pros: image quality
Cons: bad software
Excellent camera, outstanding images, easy to use but the supplied software never works - it won't properly install and conflicts with previous cameras installed on your computer
16 of 19 people found this review helpful.
Review 89 for EOS 5D Mark II
Nickname: AJP
Location: Niagara Falls, NY
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Amazing!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 15, 2010
Pros: picture quality, build, overall quality
Cons: price
Had many other canon products, nothing compares to the 5DII
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 90 for EOS 5D Mark II
Nickname: rancheroperson
Location: Buena Park Ca
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Great camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 9, 2010
Pros: full frame sensor, ease of use, picture quaitly
Cons: none
Glad I bought this camera having owned a EOS 30D & still use a 50D this is a great upgrade what a differance the full frame sensor makes
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 91 for EOS 5D Mark II
Nickname: bob
Location: California
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Canon manuel ise and 60 FPS video problem

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 29, 2010
Cons: in manuel mod not support "auto iso" mod., not support 60 fps video., low light not not working auto iso but no problem.
Good camera but have some problem.
1- in manuel mod (M) not support "auto iso" mod.
2- Not support 60 fps video.
3- Low light not not working auto iso but no problem,it's normal...
11 of 186 people found this review helpful.
Review 92 for EOS 5D Mark II
Nickname: Stu
Location: Lake Success, NY
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Best camera I ever owned

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 19, 2010
Pros: image quality, price, lcd display is outstanding
Cons: none
I have numerous DSLRs and the 5D2 is the best of all of them. The image quality is superb, the high ISO quality is without comparison. I had sold a medium format camera and never enjoyed image quality with that camera as I do with the 5D2. The 5D2 is THE camera that all others are compared to.
15 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 93 for EOS 5D Mark II
Nickname: Dsltech
Location: san francisco
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Great high ISO pictures

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 31, 2010
A little over a year ago I started with a T1I and a Tamron 28-270. It was fine but I really liked taking nightlife and low light pictures. I bought a 24-70 2.8L and I started getting what I wanted, but still fell short. So I am at the camera store debating if i should buy the 70-200 IS 2.8L II or the 5D II as they are basically the same price. I thought the IS would help in making those dark night shots. Lucky me the sales rep definately recommended the 5D II instead. It is a great camera for low light shots. ISO up to 3200 with no flash on dark nights is amazing. Picking up background light makes my subjects just glow. There is some visible noise at ISO 3200 but nothing compared to what I had on my T1I at 1600. Very usable. Higher pixel count rounds out to make an exceptional picture. I dont have any regular canon lenses to compare the picture quality to but I think you really need quality glass to make the most of the 5D II. Menus take some time to get use to as I tended to mind freeze for a couple of seconds trying to remember what button goes with what feature but that goes away as you use the camera. Full frame is great compared to crop sensor but it took awhile to get used to how wide 70mm really is compared to what it is on my T1I. Extremely happy with the camera but a little disappointed at the price point. I was also pushed the 7D by the sales guy and the most appealing thing about it was the price. Better autofocus points and faster frames on the 7D for almost 1K less. But I am glad I stepped up and bought the 5D II and the only camera I will upgrade from this one is the mark III when it comes out.
23 of 24 people found this review helpful.
Review 94 for EOS 5D Mark II
Nickname: renavoo
Location: New York, NY
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Amazing camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 28, 2010
Pros: iso sensitivity, pretty intuitive for previous canon users, unbelievable photos, feels really well built
Cons: none yet!
I upgraded from a T1i because I wanted high ISO sensitivity. The 5DMKII fulfills this need and more. I just went to the zoo and was forced to go up to ISO3200 to take certain photos. When I came home, I uploaded the photos and I was shocked by how great the photos turned out. What an amazing camera! It's definitely heavy and I'm still learning how to use all the controls (but it's been pretty easy to navigate, since I'm coming off of a Canon dSLR.) I was initially worried about spending so much money but now I'm so pleased with my purchase!! Full frame all the way!
By the way, I haven't used the video function and I don't expect to much either, since I have a HD camcorder. However, it's a nice to have and hey, after watching House and seeing what they did with the 5DMKII, I know it takes great videos!
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 95 for EOS 5D Mark II
Nickname: Ysoltys
Location: Seattle
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 22, 2010
Love everything bout it, 60 fps would be amazing tho. And also anamorphic would be great
3 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 96 for EOS 5D Mark II
Nickname: jimmy
Location: Melbourne Florida
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Poor Quality Item

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:August 15, 2010
I purchased the 5D MkII based on previous versions of Canon SLR camera's and the reviews it has recieved since it was built. I usually nerver purchase a first of a kind technology becuse of hardware and software issues so after the MKII came out I was satisfied enough to purchase this. After owing this camera I am very satisfied with the quality of the image and the features of the camera, that is if I could keep it working. It has stopped working three times since I purchased it and the only way to clear it was to remove the battery and start over. I recieved no error's from the unit and it is now currently being retuned for repair. Pretty poor for a two month old camera and at this price totaly unexceptable. I will post a new commnet once the unit has been replace or repaired.
29 of 41 people found this review helpful.
Review 97 for EOS 5D Mark II
Nickname: Josepi
Location: Cary, NC
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: No

Friends are raving

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 10, 2010
Pros: amazes friends, beautiful photos, easy to use
Cons: video auto-focus
Got the camera for Father's Day/Birthday and I was shocked at the photos. I have always used point and shoots, but wanted a really good HD video camera. My wife showed me the article about House using this DSLR for the last episode, and I decided to give it a shot. My friends and family LOVE, LOVE, LOVE the photos I take on this camera. I use the 24-105mm zoom and it is incredible. The depth of the shots compared to the point and shoots have me taking way more photos than videos and I am a video guy. I have taken over 3000 photos with it since June. So how long does the shutter last?
3 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 98 for EOS 5D Mark II
Nickname: BlueMoon Bob
Location: Providence, Rhode Island
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Changing Brands after 38 years

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 10, 2010
Pros: add a pro
Cons: add a con
I have not use a Canon in my 38 years of photography. This is my first Full-Frame camera too...I resisted switched from film to digital 6 years ago...So, I'm allowed two mistakes in a lifetime?
The ease of use of my 5D Mark II is incredible. I'm in my 3rd week and have found all the settings I needed plus learning many others I wish I already were using. I used the instruction manual and recommend any additional 'field' books or DVD's that can be found at your local photo store or on-line. Please read the manual first...its very helpful.
My first impressions of the 5D Mark II are the grip of the camera is great. The toggle switches and main rotary dials are within reach of your finger tips when gripping the camera. The internal 'on board' computer- is very easy to read and follow without being a maze of folders and sub-folders . The included 3 types of software are great:
The Digital Photo Professional [used mostly] ;
is great to organize your photo's, quickly download, batch process with simple click of the button to rename groups of photo's, change output resolution, convert RAW images and change image Quality to JPEG, TIFF or a combo of them.
The Picture Style Editor [not used yet-still learning]
A nice edit software with a DVD learning step by step on how to color correct, exposure compensation, etc, etc..
EOS Utility [Used somewhat]
Quickly downloads pictures directly from your camera when used with Digital Photo Professional -can also use a card reader too if preferred. But downloaded directly from camera with a 16GB 90mps card...saves a bunch of time.
I've used about 10 minutes of video on the camera ..which is beautiful 1080HD. Wow is all I have to say.
Can't wait to dig into the real essence of the EOS 5D Mark II. There's lots of options I haven't used and never had on my old camera.
19 of 19 people found this review helpful.
Review 99 for EOS 5D Mark II
Nickname: Zigi
Location: Oregon
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

MDMkII

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 10, 2010
This camera is everything it is touted to be and so much more. The learning curve is a little steep at first however the results are absolutely spectacular. I recommend the learning videos from "Elite Video".
I sense that there is so much more to learn about this camera and thus apply to photography. I have owned a Hasselblad in the past the the optics on this camera ( kit L lens) are totally comparable.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 100 for EOS 5D Mark II
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: Pierre, SD
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Stunning stills / awesome video

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 10, 2010
Pros: add a pro
Cons: add a con
The Canon 5D Mk II has taken my still photography to the ‘next level’ and my video production to an entirely new level. I primarily work in video but often integrate still photos into my projects. I appreciate the powerful combination of features and performance set against a small and easy form factor. The technology does not overwhelm but allows for a clean, simplistic workflow. I can quickly and easily field with a minimal amount of kit and return with exactly the shots or images I wanted. Having worked with this camera for more than a year now, I find my dedicated video camera (Canon XL-2) is spending more time in the office while the 5DMkII stays with me all the time.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 ... 3 4 5 6 7 ... 20 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site