Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Refurbished Products Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop Refurbished Products or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for EOS 5D Mark II

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

EOS 5D Mark II

21.1 Megapixel Full-frame CMOS sensor, 14-bit A/D conversion, ISO expandable to 25600 Full HD video with manual exposure control and multiple frame rates DIGIC 4 image processing 3.9 fps continuous shooting, shutter durability of 150,000 cycles
Average Customer Rating:
4.479 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(401 Reviews) 401
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (401 reviews)
5 stars
264
4 stars
93
3 stars
26
2 stars
8
1 star
10
359 out of 397(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for EOS 5D Mark II
Review 81 for EOS 5D Mark II
Nickname: Bshooter
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Excellent all around camera

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 25, 2011
Pros: good battery life, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Missing features/settings
Sadly I have never used a 1D but if you can tolerate a longer mirror blackout and a less than robust build this camera will deliver excellent pictures in just about any condition. I've had mine over two years now and have had it out on many cold nights in the dark. It's probably my favorite form of photography with this camera. It excels at low light and night shots. Any camera has weaknesses, many are quick to point out the less than stellar AF design, slower frame rates, etc. Well, I have to say this camera delivers top photos that really are second to none and that would have to be the main criteria for a camera wouldn't it? I haven't used video all that much but it is another great feature of the camera. I wish you could access mirror lock up a little easier and I wish it would shoot several shots in quick succession with the mirror remaining locked up but I believe that's common among most cameras. I have thoroughly enjoyed mine and have seen the quality of my photos go up since acquiring this camera.
11 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 82 for EOS 5D Mark II
Nickname: usaf64
Location: Arizona
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Outstanding Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 24, 2011
Went from the EOS 1Ds Mark III to the 5D Mk II and never looked back! Although I'm not a pro, I feel the metering is better on the 5d and ease of using the various features is superior. The only drawback I see is the lack of an eyepiece shutter which is really surprising on an upper end camera body. I will be getting the battery grip shortly. HIGHLY recommend this camera to all serious photographers!
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 83 for EOS 5D Mark II
Nickname: Ron
Location: Gaithersburg, MD
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Worst Purchase experience ever

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 21, 2011
Pros: nil
Cons: out of focus, no sharpness, Poor build quality, Poor image quality
If you really want to waste your money and time and want to know how poorly a product can be manufactured then it is right time for you to purchase this product.
Pros -- Nil
Cons -- Out of Focus, No sharpness, Poor Build Quality and Image Quality
14 of 149 people found this review helpful.
Review 84 for EOS 5D Mark II
Nickname: CamDog
Location: Dallas, TX
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Excellent for Still Subjects, Good for Action

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 15, 2011
Pros: resolution & sharpness, color & light rendition, least expensive canon full-frame option
Cons: not a light-weight camera
This is an amazing camera for the money. For still subjects, I can't imagine a better camera at even twice the price. The rendition of colors and light are beautiful. The resolution allows you to make either huge enlargements or crop in ways that we previously dreamt about, providing terrific flexibility in post-processing. For action subjects, the nine focus points and fewer cross-hatch focus points will lead to a lower yield of in-focus photos than one would get with a camera built specifically for moving subjects, but the yield is still good, and I'll keep resolution, crop flexibility and full use of wide angle lenses any day for a 10% - 15% higher yield of in-focus shots in sports photography. The full frame (vs crop sensor) will make your lenses look better from a resolution/contrast standpoint, in addition to your wide-angle lenses giving you wide-angle results without the multiplier to focal length. The shallower depth of field that comes will full-frame took some adjustment for me with group photos, but is great for single portraits. If you want great resolution, contrast, and wide-angle performance, this camera is hard to beat. Plan on using Canon L lenses with it, since most of the less sharp lenses will be exposed as such under certain circumstances.
10 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 85 for EOS 5D Mark II
Nickname: Don
Location: Dallas, TX
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Best Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 14, 2011
I had own a 5D and moved up to the 5D Mark II and absolutely love it!
4 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 86 for EOS 5D Mark II
Nickname: Albert
Location: Chicago
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Excellent Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 23, 2010
Pros: good battery life, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, easy to use
Cons: noisy
I just switched from Canon 50D to Canon 5D Mark II .
Ladies and gentelman the difference is in the details. Great quality of picture. I only had this camera for few hours now, but I can tell the difference between Canon 50D and Mark II. I know some people complain about focus on this camera, so far had no problems. In fact this camera is focusing much better then my 50D.
I am glad that I bought this piece, so far I love it.
16 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 87 for EOS 5D Mark II
Nickname: Pablo
Location: Uxbridge, MA
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

Best Digital Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 19, 2010
Pros: good battery life, quiet, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
As a professional photographer I find that the Canon 5D MKII DSLR full frame 21.1 megapixel camera exceeds my every expectation. The quality of the images produced from this camera are outstanding. The durability of the camera body is second to none. I am very pleased with this camera so much that I just purchased a second 5D MKII as a back up camera. I highly recommend this camera
to any professional looking for a qaulity and durable camera.
22 of 23 people found this review helpful.
Review 88 for EOS 5D Mark II
Nickname: Gerald
Location: Portland, Or
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Outstanding

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 9, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Bright LCD, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Heavy/Bulky
It's now going on 6 months since I got my 5D and absolutely love it. This is my second Canon purchase in 2 years and I am very happy with my choices. I got it for the sensor size and not because of the video. I thought I don't know why anyone would want to video on a dslr. That is till I took it out of the box just to look at the video and wow, hooked. The images are also amazing, I love large prints so I print 13 x 19 prints and they are so clear I can see what the person on the photo is thinking :-) You can't go wrong with the 5D.
14 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 89 for EOS 5D Mark II
Nickname: Missy Colorado
Location: Crawford, Colorado
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Great upgrade move

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 28, 2010
Pros: detail, size and weight of body, fast enough for wildlife
Cons: noisy, battery change from 5d
Since entering the digital era I went from a 20D to a 5D and then to a 5D Mark II. The Mark II is a fabulous camera and the increase in detail is amazing. I currently use my Mark II as my main camera and the 5D as my backup. One thing I consider a downside is the fact that now I have to carry two sets of batteries and two battery chargers. I should have checked ahead of time (though it probably wouldn't have changed my mind), but why does the configuration and fit of the battery have to keep changing. I understand that the newer batteries are probably better, but why cause us to carry two completely different sets for a 5D and a 5D Mark II, knowing how critical it is when traveling to control weight and bulk? I realize it sells more product but at a detriment to us photographers who have to pack it around. The only other thing is noise. I do mainly wildlife photography and after stalking and hiding to get close to my subject, the noise of the camera is almost always detected while
shooting. Please can you make a quieter camera?
28 of 31 people found this review helpful.
Review 90 for EOS 5D Mark II
Nickname: yair2112
Location: Israel
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Best camera for this price !!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 1, 2010
great camera the autofocus is better then what some people saying love that camera and ill probably going to keep it for a wile
13 of 19 people found this review helpful.
Review 91 for EOS 5D Mark II
Nickname: b8264d
Location: Martinsburg WV
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Simply Amazing!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 20, 2010
Since purchasing this I barely use anything else. My clients always have rave reviews for the color and quality of thier images and if they are happy, I am extremely happy. I upgraded from a 20D to the 5D MK II knowing there was a difference between the two but I had no clue just how much I would fall in love with this camera. I would buy another one as a backup if I could.
15 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 92 for EOS 5D Mark II
Nickname: SamD
Location: Atlanta
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

Great Camera Lousy Software

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 19, 2010
Pros: image quality
Cons: bad software
Excellent camera, outstanding images, easy to use but the supplied software never works - it won't properly install and conflicts with previous cameras installed on your computer
16 of 19 people found this review helpful.
Review 93 for EOS 5D Mark II
Nickname: AJP
Location: Niagara Falls, NY
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Amazing!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 15, 2010
Pros: picture quality, build, overall quality
Cons: price
Had many other canon products, nothing compares to the 5DII
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 94 for EOS 5D Mark II
Nickname: rancheroperson
Location: Buena Park Ca
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Great camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 9, 2010
Pros: full frame sensor, ease of use, picture quaitly
Cons: none
Glad I bought this camera having owned a EOS 30D & still use a 50D this is a great upgrade what a differance the full frame sensor makes
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 95 for EOS 5D Mark II
Nickname: bob
Location: California
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Canon manuel ise and 60 FPS video problem

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 29, 2010
Cons: in manuel mod not support "auto iso" mod., not support 60 fps video., low light not not working auto iso but no problem.
Good camera but have some problem.
1- in manuel mod (M) not support "auto iso" mod.
2- Not support 60 fps video.
3- Low light not not working auto iso but no problem,it's normal...
11 of 186 people found this review helpful.
Review 96 for EOS 5D Mark II
Nickname: Stu
Location: Lake Success, NY
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Best camera I ever owned

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 19, 2010
Pros: image quality, price, lcd display is outstanding
Cons: none
I have numerous DSLRs and the 5D2 is the best of all of them. The image quality is superb, the high ISO quality is without comparison. I had sold a medium format camera and never enjoyed image quality with that camera as I do with the 5D2. The 5D2 is THE camera that all others are compared to.
15 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 97 for EOS 5D Mark II
Nickname: Dsltech
Location: san francisco
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Great high ISO pictures

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 31, 2010
A little over a year ago I started with a T1I and a Tamron 28-270. It was fine but I really liked taking nightlife and low light pictures. I bought a 24-70 2.8L and I started getting what I wanted, but still fell short. So I am at the camera store debating if i should buy the 70-200 IS 2.8L II or the 5D II as they are basically the same price. I thought the IS would help in making those dark night shots. Lucky me the sales rep definately recommended the 5D II instead. It is a great camera for low light shots. ISO up to 3200 with no flash on dark nights is amazing. Picking up background light makes my subjects just glow. There is some visible noise at ISO 3200 but nothing compared to what I had on my T1I at 1600. Very usable. Higher pixel count rounds out to make an exceptional picture. I dont have any regular canon lenses to compare the picture quality to but I think you really need quality glass to make the most of the 5D II. Menus take some time to get use to as I tended to mind freeze for a couple of seconds trying to remember what button goes with what feature but that goes away as you use the camera. Full frame is great compared to crop sensor but it took awhile to get used to how wide 70mm really is compared to what it is on my T1I. Extremely happy with the camera but a little disappointed at the price point. I was also pushed the 7D by the sales guy and the most appealing thing about it was the price. Better autofocus points and faster frames on the 7D for almost 1K less. But I am glad I stepped up and bought the 5D II and the only camera I will upgrade from this one is the mark III when it comes out.
23 of 24 people found this review helpful.
Review 98 for EOS 5D Mark II
Nickname: renavoo
Location: New York, NY
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Amazing camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 28, 2010
Pros: iso sensitivity, pretty intuitive for previous canon users, unbelievable photos, feels really well built
Cons: none yet!
I upgraded from a T1i because I wanted high ISO sensitivity. The 5DMKII fulfills this need and more. I just went to the zoo and was forced to go up to ISO3200 to take certain photos. When I came home, I uploaded the photos and I was shocked by how great the photos turned out. What an amazing camera! It's definitely heavy and I'm still learning how to use all the controls (but it's been pretty easy to navigate, since I'm coming off of a Canon dSLR.) I was initially worried about spending so much money but now I'm so pleased with my purchase!! Full frame all the way!
By the way, I haven't used the video function and I don't expect to much either, since I have a HD camcorder. However, it's a nice to have and hey, after watching House and seeing what they did with the 5DMKII, I know it takes great videos!
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 99 for EOS 5D Mark II
Nickname: Ysoltys
Location: Seattle
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 22, 2010
Love everything bout it, 60 fps would be amazing tho. And also anamorphic would be great
3 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 100 for EOS 5D Mark II
Nickname: jimmy
Location: Melbourne Florida
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Poor Quality Item

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:August 15, 2010
I purchased the 5D MkII based on previous versions of Canon SLR camera's and the reviews it has recieved since it was built. I usually nerver purchase a first of a kind technology becuse of hardware and software issues so after the MKII came out I was satisfied enough to purchase this. After owing this camera I am very satisfied with the quality of the image and the features of the camera, that is if I could keep it working. It has stopped working three times since I purchased it and the only way to clear it was to remove the battery and start over. I recieved no error's from the unit and it is now currently being retuned for repair. Pretty poor for a two month old camera and at this price totaly unexceptable. I will post a new commnet once the unit has been replace or repaired.
29 of 41 people found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 ... 3 4 5 6 7 ... 21 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site