Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Printers & Multifunction Reviews / PIXMA MX Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PIXMA MX Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PIXMA MX860

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

PIXMA MX860

Average Customer Rating:
3.867 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(316 Reviews) 316
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (316 reviews)
5 stars
159
4 stars
63
3 stars
28
2 stars
25
1 star
41
226 out of 314(72%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PIXMA MX860
Review 1 for PIXMA MX860
Nickname: white Owl
Location: Oregon
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Crafts/Scrapbooking
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

The best in the field

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 5, 2014
I did not just purchase my Canon multi printer, I reinstalled it on a new computer. If I were to purchase a new printer it most diffidently will be a Canon. I have found that the Canon multi printer is the very best on the market. It does a very excellent job, is easy to use and holds up well with use. I have had my printer for several years and have used it to print on paper, card stock, and to do pictures. I have printed from my PC, copied, scanned, sent faxes, received faxes, have done it in black and white and color. It has never failed me to produce the best quality I expect.
Review 2 for PIXMA MX860
Nickname: jan
Location: New Mexico
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Crafts/Scrapbooking
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

won't buy canon printer again

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:November 10, 2014
I'm very disappointed in the MX860. Duplex printing jams at least 75% of the time. Ink runs out faster than any other printer I've owned and is very expensive. The quality of color printing is average to poor. Dark colored pictures or graphics more often than not print out with stripes, regardless of whether or not I've run the cleaning processes or have new ink. I won't purchase a printer from Canon again. I have owned Canon cameras and I recommend Canon cameras highly, but can't say the same for the printers.
Review 3 for PIXMA MX860
Nickname: zorba da Greek
Location: Thousand Oaks, CA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Don't buy it

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 20, 2014
Cons: Slow Print Speed, poor ocr, numerous gyrations before it prints, noisy
Very Poor user experience and printer functions.
Takes 2 minutes to print the first page of a report while the printer goes through numerous gyrations.
The OCR function of the printer software is very unacceptable as compared to other printers. Misrepresents characters as compared to the original document which makes it useless for OCR.
Not suggested as a printer for the average person.
Review 4 for PIXMA MX860
Nickname: White Hat
Location: Doylestown, PA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Copying
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Has Rough Edges

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:July 13, 2014
Pros: durable, easy to use, good print
Cons: ink consumption, task time, repetitive steps
I have had my printer/scanner for a few years and found it generally good. Today I scanned a five page document and tried to save it to a PDF file as usual and found that two pages were changed from portrait to landscape in my apple IMAX. Two extra tries had the same result. Tried to reload the original setup disc and ran into a maze of confusion. I have little use for color printing and print in black and white. If the color inkwells are low it will not print in black and white until replaced. I only use my Canon for scanning since I purchased a dedicated black and white printer. I arrange my files by year in documents and view two or more years in the same column. I must scroll the full length of the open page to get to the latest file area and have not found a way to " flip" top to bottom. Recently I tried to load pictures from a memory card without success. Overall the Canon is a good product with a few drawbacks.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PIXMA MX860
Nickname: Tony
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

All good

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 10, 2014
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, High Quality Output, easy to use
An excellent product for the price. I just wish it lasted longer than 4 years.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PIXMA MX860
Nickname: LA MacTech
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great Imaging; WiFi and Ink Issues

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:March 2, 2014
Pros: reliable, durable, High Quality Output, integrates well with os
Cons: Slow Print Speed, High Ink Consumption
Print quality is very good. Ink consumption rates are alarming. The expensive ink cartridges are significantly smaller than the previous ones, so they empty quickly, and using non-Canon ink definitely shortens the life of the printhead, so it is costly to operate. It is also painfully slow when connected to the network wirelessly. However if you connect via USB to a wireless router to share it over the network, print speeds are better. The the bulky size is unavoidable in all-in-one machines, not a flaw in this one. You can't have four office machines in one case and expect it to be much smaller.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PIXMA MX860
Nickname: Blaster
Location: Detroit, MI
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Scanning
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Good multifunction printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 16, 2014
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, High Quality Output, easy to use, good scanning, competent faxing
Cons: Slow Print Speed, Large Footprint
Have had this for a few years. Use it mainly for scanning documents, faxing and final color prints. A B/W laser is my day to day printer.
The final printout using good quality photo paper is superb! Certainly it takes quite a while, but you get what you wait for!
As for cost of ink, I've found some quality brandx cartridges to be very good.
Scanning is dependable and switching between default driver and custom driver to make those documents a little darker ... is quite easy and dependable.
The Tray loader is quite good and allows a lot of pages to be scanned or copied.
Faxing is competent and I can't find a significant fault.
Wireless hookup was initially somewhat complicated, but it wasn't rocket science to get it running. I just switched internet providers and replaced the router and it took 10 mins to find how to reset the wireless via searching Canon's web site. It's rather painless.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PIXMA MX860
Nickname: Steve S.
Location: St. Joseph MI
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Very Disappointing.

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 27, 2014
Cons: Difficult to use, Slow Print Speed, Large Footprint, Difficult Setup, Low Quality Output, unreliable, lost in endless self-cleaning cycles.
The print head is of poor design, clogs frequently. This printer drinks ink like an ink-a-holic, and the cartridges are expensive. Ours is 2.5 years old and I can no longer make it print after several deep cleanings. All it will do now is throw itself into endless self-cleaning cycles-- "clickety click, clickety-click" over and over. It was overpriced, needlessly complicated, and it's not heavy enough to become a good boat anchor. I have made my last Canon mistake, will never purchase another Canon product for fear of the same disappointment.
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PIXMA MX860
Nickname: Sailor Sam
Location: Washington, D.C.
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

A great machine

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 4, 2014
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, durable, High Quality Output, easy to use, built like a tank.
Cons: Slow Print Speed, Large Footprint, uses a fair amount of ink.
I have enjoyed my Canon MX 860 for several years now. Tonight, I printed out seven glossy II photos of my recently departed Dad for my Mother. The colors are true to life, and the details are amazing. Canon printing does take the average computer buff to the next level in terms of quality prints. The only draw-back is that it takes several minutes start printing after a command is given on the PC; but it's well worth the wait for superior results.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PIXMA MX860
Nickname: SJF
Location: CA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Good Value; software just ok

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:December 27, 2013
Pros: reliable, Small Footprint, easy to use
Cons: software
Like the machine overall, have two of them. Couldn't get it to operate wireless, it's hardwired. Does what it's supposed to as far as scanning & copies. Never used the "fax" feature. Only thing I would wish for is the software having a "memory" of recent places when filing scanned items. Super long path every time. Also, get rid of the auto date file check mark on this page. Ink is on the pricey side and this unit uses 4 colors. Prints nice pics but does hog up the ink on them.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PIXMA MX860
Nickname: Yankee bulldog
Location: Ohio
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Primary home printer!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 8, 2013
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, durable, Small Footprint, High Quality Output, fast print speed, easy to use, fax capable
This is our primary home printer used as a wireless printer for our computers.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PIXMA MX860
Nickname: SorryCharlie
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Just Say "No"

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 2, 2013
Cons: Slow Print Speed, unreliable, Flimsy Construction
Began experiencing the widely reported "grinding" noise and now printer is nonfunctional. This is not a durable product.
Review 13 for PIXMA MX860
Nickname: Daibidh
Location: Intermountain West
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Settings + Patience = Awesome on a Budget

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 12, 2013
Pros: reliable, High Quality Output, economical
Honestly, this purchase was intended to be the average quality every-day printer. From day one it fit the bill as a replacement for the odd report, list, or what-ever. In a pinch, I tried printing out a quick photo and thought, "Meh. I've seen worse but this is only worthy of the fridge!" Fiddling with the various settings in both printing and scanning, though, I've come to be pretty darned impressed with this thing. In fact, with the help of some specialty papers and a little patience, I have to admit to some absolutely stunning results. Who would have thought?!
Review 14 for PIXMA MX860
Nickname: I
Location: Illinois
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Documents

Good Output, Eventually...

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:September 19, 2013
Pros: High Quality Output
Cons: Slow Print Speed, poor software
This printer looked great on paper and the sample printouts looked good as well. However, once installed, I have been very unimpressed with it. The time from power on -- either from an off or sleeping state -- to printed output takes forever as the printer goes through some kind of a warm-up / priming / calibration process. Printing a single page can sometimes take minutes if the printer wasn't used recently. The printer has 5 ink cartridges that last a very short period of time and the printer won't print if one is empty (even if you are printing in black and white). I rarely print in color, yet feel like I am constantly replacing cartridges; I confess I wonder if these have some kind of internal expiration date. The bundled software for scanning is terrible.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PIXMA MX860
Nickname: Frustraded
Location: New Jersey
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Product replacement: Yes

Horrible Printer

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 11, 2013
Cons: unreliable
Nothing but frustrations. Document feeder is absolutely worthless, never works and sometimes (not very often) does what it wants. Endless problems from the day I purchased it.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PIXMA MX860
Nickname: R R J
Location: Mesquite, Tx
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

great printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 11, 2013
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, durable, Small Footprint, High Quality Output, fast print speed, easy to use
I have had this printer for a few years not and it is very reliable and the quality output is great.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PIXMA MX860
Nickname: sumomania
Location: Pittsburgh
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Product replacement: No

Worst Printer Ever

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 7, 2013
Cons: Difficult to use, Slow Print Speed, Difficult Setup, Low Quality Output, unreliable
This is the worst printer ever. The wireless does not work properly, it is slow to print and it does not print when one of the cartridges is low, even in the black mode. The instructions while allegedly English were of no dialect I could find past or present.
Canon lost a customer due to this printer
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PIXMA MX860
Nickname: arf
Location: South Jersey
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

poor choice

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 28, 2013
Cons: Slow Print Speed, Difficult Setup
I have tried and use other brands..ink consumption is high, wifi is difficult and print speed is glacial. Disappointing!
Review 19 for PIXMA MX860
Nickname: dgifford
Location: San Francisco
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Scanning
Product replacement: Yes

you color ink will disapear

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 4, 2013
Pros: High Quality Output
Cons: Slow Print Speed, unreliable, drains you ink every at turn on, ink cost outways any value
I have only printed color a few times in that last 3 months and no photos,, the color ink gets lower every time I turn it on,, if a color (that I never use) runs our you can not print scan or fax until you shell out more money for ink that you do not need..
It cost me about $1.00 a page to use this printer. 90% of the time I use just the scanner.
Review 20 for PIXMA MX860
Nickname: mikey
Location: chicago, il
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

worked good until it died < 3 yrs after purchasing

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:May 30, 2013
Pros: Easy Setup, High Quality Output, easy to use
Cons: Slow Print Speed, unreliable
For the price, it is a solid printer (when it works). I print or scan documents a few times a month. This printer goes through ink like crazy but does have a good print quality. Mine stopped working after about 2.5 years so I was a little disappointed
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 16 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site