Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Printers & Multifunction Reviews / PIXMA Pro Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PIXMA Pro Series or
Choose a Category
Top-Rated Products

Customer Reviews for PIXMA Pro9000 Mark II

PIXMA Pro9000 Mark II

Prepared to step-up and produce professional quality photo prints? The PIXMA Pro9000 Mark II possesses the functionality and technology you need for high-quality output so you can be the photographer you've always wanted to be.
Average Customer Rating:
4.463 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(82 Reviews) 82
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (82 reviews)
5 stars
62
4 stars
9
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
5
70 out of 82(85%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PIXMA Pro9000 Mark II
Review 21 for PIXMA Pro9000 Mark II
Nickname: Tamarin Tracker
Location: Georgia
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

The printer to buy

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 9, 2012
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, High Quality Output, easy to use
There is but one word for the images this printer puts out- AWESOME
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 22 for PIXMA Pro9000 Mark II
Nickname: Don
Location: California
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Pro 9000 Printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 4, 2012
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, durable, High Quality Output, fast print speed, easy to use
Cons: need roll paper feeder
As a Canon User sine 1970 with Cameras and Printers the quality of the PRO 9000 is right up with want I needed it provides exceptional quality and versatility that is needed for the work I do. I only wish it had the ability to use roll material which would make the printer the ultimate solution.
As always Canon Products are exceptional.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 23 for PIXMA Pro9000 Mark II
Nickname: Auto Racing Mike
Location: California
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Great Photos

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 15, 2012
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, durable, Small Footprint, High Quality Output, easy to use
Cons: Slow Print Speed, ink can be pricey and not easy to find
This printer does print outstanding large photos. We don't use it for prints smaller than 13 by 19, as that is why we bought it. It also does use ink, much more than the printers we have for 8.5 by 11, and that can get expensive. The only problem we had was that it wan't wireless, so wwe had to USB it to the computer we were trying to print from. But, this problem may have been solved, bsed on the review of another user. It appears that he simply USB's it to his router. Then he can access it wireless. We will try that. If it works, that will solve the only "problem" we really have. It simply prints GREAT photos!! Cartridges (all 8) can be hard to find. Most stores (Staples, etc) have them, but not necessarily all at one time. They can be costly. If the set of all 8 were dropped in price a little, That would be a BIG plus, with realtion to how much ink a photo takes up. We have had minor problems with the printer software cutting us out (not allowing the printer to pirnt) simply because a cartridge is low. This can prevent you from getting full use of a cartridge. Yellows and Magentas are big leeches in this area. Over-al we highly recommend this printer, especially for the larger 13 by 19 photos. Just wish 13 by 19 frames were easier to find. Would be nice if printer could do larger sized pirnt, too, though that paper is really hard to find. As we shoot with Cannon Digital camers, it oftern takes a lot of time to recompose the photos to the paper sizes available. Simpy put, the cameras are not set up for the available paper sizes. If you want to print 13 by 19 photos (wild life, sporting events shots, auto racing), this is the best printer I've seen (cost wise) for this, period! But it! Cannon needs to work o improvements for this printer, s technology improvements become available and not create new printers at higher prices that use different formats (inks, etc). Speeding up the printing process and a better way to route the large paper in would be a couple improvements that would reallly be nice. Rated features as a 4 because of the lack of "wireless capabiltiy"; hopefully we have gained a solution to that problem. Performance was a "4" because it does use a little too much ink (and the ink is often expensive and readily found) and the printing is a little slower than we'd like (not horrible and we don't print tons of photos). Paper loading for the large 13 by 19 paper is a little 'clumsy", but we canlive with it.
14 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 24 for PIXMA Pro9000 Mark II
Nickname: Nicole
Location: Central NY
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Awesome

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 10, 2012
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, durable, High Quality Output, fast print speed, easy to use
Cons: not wireless
Love this printer. The photos are beautiful on a low gloss paper. Ink consumption is acceptable. Professional quality prints for a good price.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 25 for PIXMA Pro9000 Mark II
Nickname: kk007
Location: Des Moines, Iowa
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

Best purchase ever

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 30, 2012
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, durable, High Quality Output, fast print speed, easy to use
Cons: b & w not ideal
Briefly, I am quite pleased with this printer's lab quality output. I should add that Canon's paper is highly essential for quality output. Set up was very easy, approx. 20 minutes. I use photoshop which easily integrates with all Canon printers. I'd like to upgrade to a B & W pro printer but the price can come down. Highly recommended.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 26 for PIXMA Pro9000 Mark II
Nickname: photo friend
Location: Pittsford, Ny
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Pixma Pro 9000 Markii

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 25, 2012
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, High Quality Output, easy to use, good monitor image matchpittsford nyless tha 2 mo
Cons: noisey on statup
The Pixma Pro 9000 Mark ii has in my short time of use performed very well to give me prints that closely match my edited monitor image with easy to use instructions and very good color.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 27 for PIXMA Pro9000 Mark II
Nickname: Budaman1010
Location: California
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Nice printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 16, 2012
Pros: High Quality Output, fast print speed, easy to use
Cons: Difficult Setup
Good printer.
Pros:
Nice prints
Reasonable cost and usage of ink with a caution.
Cons:
Careful not to set up double profiling because if will gulp photo magenta and turn out redish photos.
Under CMS choose nothing!
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 28 for PIXMA Pro9000 Mark II
Nickname: K

Set up EASY

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 22, 2012
Pros: Easy Setup, durable, High Quality Output, fast print speed
I purchased the Pixma 9000 for my daughter who has been interested in photography for a couple of years but has not been able to print her pics. We read the reviews and decided to go with this printer. The only con in the reviews that worried us were the comments regarding difficulty setting up the printer. I even asked the salesperson about this and he suggested we go to the Canon website and download the latest software for setup. I couldn't figure out how to do this so I just decided to go with the install software that came with the computer. IT WAS SO EASY and install was complete in about 5 mnutes. I never made it through the entire EXECUTE and ALIGN THE PRINTER process. I don't know what happened, but on a whim I thought I would print a pic anyway to see if the printer was working and it was perfect. So INSTALL was a breeze. We gave the product ratings a high score even though we just go it yesterday. The test picture that we printed was stunning.
5 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 29 for PIXMA Pro9000 Mark II
Nickname: MID12
Location: Indiana
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

I love this printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 24, 2012
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, durable, High Quality Output, easy to use
Cons: Slow Print Speed, Large Footprint
This printer is the best thing to happen to my business, it does not have its own wireless hook-up but with a USB cord to my router I am able to use this printer wireless which is awesome since it is pretty large. Setting it up was simple for my MAC, I started printing and noticed a great difference from this to my old printer, the quality was so much better! For the price this is a great printer to own!
13 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 30 for PIXMA Pro9000 Mark II
Nickname: jmg
Location: Louisiana
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

If you own an ink factory, buy it

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 30, 2012
Pros: nice photos
Cons: ink leech
Even setting it to print black & white it sucks up ink
and I mean lots of it
23 of 35 people found this review helpful.
Review 31 for PIXMA Pro9000 Mark II
Nickname: GMan
Location: San Diego
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Really is 5 star worthy!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 27, 2012
This Printer really is 5 star worthy!
* Easy to set
** Not too big
*** Versatile paper size capabilities up to 13x19
**** Speed is shockingly fast
***** Color is excellent
The only reason I didn't go all 5 stars, is that, in this day and age it is not wireless.
8 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 32 for PIXMA Pro9000 Mark II
Nickname: Maureen
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Love it

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 12, 2012
The photos last, quality is incredible. No maintenance complaints, have had for 2 years.
12 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 33 for PIXMA Pro9000 Mark II
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: Lake George, New York
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Incredible color saturation!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 28, 2012
I have been using this printer for a few weeks now and couldn't ask for anything more. The Pro 9000 Mark II is an upgrade from my very worthy i960. The i960 served me and will continue to serve me well. The colors produced by the PIXMA Pro9000 Mark II are spot on. Here's the odd thing though, at least for me. To get the great colors printed out I have to use the "Let Printer Determine Colors" option. When I chose any of the paper driver options for any of the particular papers, the colors are off. Obviously I'll chose the first mentioned option as long as the colors are spot on, which they are. The size and weight of this particular printer are most definitely a plus. That tells me it's solidly built, worth every penny. The only thing I wish now though is that canon would get some more Platinum 13"x19" paper in stock. Seems to be quite the popular paper.
10 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 34 for PIXMA Pro9000 Mark II
Nickname: Patrick
Location: Detroit, MI
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Extremely substandard website

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 27, 2011
Extremely difficult, if not impossible to find out if my printer has any software updates. Company site is useless.
Size and price of ink is rediculus. Price per tank should be less or size of tank larger.
29 of 36 people found this review helpful.
Review 35 for PIXMA Pro9000 Mark II
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: Indiana
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Quality Printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 18, 2011
Pros: Easy Setup, durable, High Quality Output, easy to use
Easy set-up. Quality printing. Disappointed that the Easy Photo Pro does not work with Photoshop Elements 7 or beyond.
5 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 36 for PIXMA Pro9000 Mark II
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: Arizona
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Output Is FABULOUS

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 16, 2011
Pros: High Productivity, High Quality Output, Low Running Cost
Cons: Difficult to use, Difficult Setup, Poor Media Handling
The output from tis printer is amazing. If you are doing high quality photo prints, that is all that matters. At the largest size, 13X19, my prints are pure and crisp and glowing. The smaller sizes are just as good.
The ink usage is also amazing. I have not yet figured out the order of the colors and how they slowly run out, but I am impressed. This seems to be the next generation of printers, since the ink is long lasting.
It also seems to be fairly fast, but that is not a high priority for me.
On the downside, this machine is not intuitive - nor does it arrive with useful instructions. It is "clunky" when starting a print job. It took me way too long to figure out where the rear tray opens and I still can't get the front tray to work.
Finally, for reasons I don't understand - see above concerning instructions - when printing in large format the first print is always off size. Once it gets used to my preferences, the prints are truly amazing.
If you want high quality prints of awesome clarity and definition, get this one. If you want to do post cards for Grandma, there are others.
28 of 29 people found this review helpful.
Review 37 for PIXMA Pro9000 Mark II
Nickname: Neen
Location: Connecticut
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Excellent Printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 5, 2011
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, High Quality Output, easy to use
I have never written a review of any product that I have ever purchased, but I am so far very, very pleased with this printer. The quality and dependability are excellent. I have been using this printer for approximately two months and I couldn't be happier.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 38 for PIXMA Pro9000 Mark II
Nickname: Tim
Location: Cleveland, OH
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Quality prints from an amazing printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 4, 2011
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, Good Media Handling, High Productivity, High Quality Output, easy to use
Cons: Large Footprint
Easy to set up. Printed a test 8x10 to see the quality and was blown away. Will continue to support Canon and their awesome gear!
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 39 for PIXMA Pro9000 Mark II
Nickname: Stan1
Location: Albany, Ga
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Exceptional performance

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 28, 2011
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, durable, High Quality Output
This is the first large format Canon printer I have purchased. The vivid color reproduction exceeded my expectations. I have show the resulting prints to two of my friends who were impressed as I am.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 40 for PIXMA Pro9000 Mark II
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: Central Ohio
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

An excellent value

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 17, 2011
Pros: reliable, High Productivity, High Quality Output, Low Running Cost
Cons: Large Footprint, instructions not always clear
I indicated this printer "replaced" another. Actually, I added this printer to a Canon IP5000 I have had for many years. I continue to use the IP5000 for general document printing and ocasional "snap-shot" photo printing. The Pro 9000 Mk II now gets the vast majority of my photo printing. The older Canon printer does great, the new one is outstanding.
I first used this new printer with some basic good quality glossy and matte paper, mostly Canon brand. Same paper that I have used for years, but the prints were greatly improved. I then got a pack of 13"x19" Canon Matte to experiment with the large formate capabilities of the Mk II. Earliest efforts produced brilliant but poorly cropped prints while I learned how to prepare photos for such large prints. Each new print looks better than the last so I am learnig.
Finally, I bought a package of Canon's letter size "Fine Rag" a month ago. WOW! This is what the Pro 9000 MkII is all about. I can't wait to get 13"x19" Fine Art paper. And of course, there are even better papers to use going forward.
I do list two "Cons", allthough not necessarily major. It is large, and needs the room behind it to feed the large paper. I ended up rearranging my work area and adding an "L". Probably needed it anyway but added to the "set-up" time. I also indicate that I found some of the instructions frustrating. This printer does not come with a hardcopy manual and the CD manual is very large. I found navigation through the CD difficult and some of the instruction vague.
Finally, I would have really liked to have had roll paper, capability, but given the price of this unit, I decided to forego that option at the time of purchase. As you can tell, I am very pleased anyway.
16 of 16 people found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site