Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / PowerShot Cameras Reviews / PowerShot SD/ELPH Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PowerShot SD/ELPH Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PowerShot SD1200 IS

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

PowerShot SD1200 IS

Average Customer Rating:
4.316 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(171 Reviews) 171
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (171 reviews)
5 stars
106
4 stars
32
3 stars
20
2 stars
7
1 star
6
139 out of 171(81%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PowerShot SD1200 IS
Review 1 for PowerShot SD1200 IS
Nickname: Cooldad
Location: Washington, DC
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Great compact camea

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 14, 2010
Pros: great battery life, features, easy to use, excellent image quality
Cons: none
The Canon PowerShot SD1200IS is a great point and shoot camera. Indoor setting is fantastic, crisp life-like pictures what you expect from Canon. Auto mode I use for outdoors only, the beach setting is an awesome macro. Great battery life, I have shot over 300 in a single day with the flash, no problem. All modes are great for capturing those kids pictures. On moving rides you need to learn to pan, the camera wants to give you that brilliant, crisp photo you will have forever. Low-light you need to use the mode night snapshot and here it helps to have a steady hand or fixed object. I have had no problem taking Christmas decorations in the dark, some trial and error needed depending on the lighting situation, it has a f/2.8 lens...don't zoom in. Crop on the computer or get closer to the object and frame it. On people low-light photos the flash goes off and you will be fine. Did I mention I can pocket the thing in my front jeans pocket? No need for the wife to purse it or advance the film, focus the shot, lollipop and adjust the diaphragm...you getting strangled... Thanks Canon!
48 of 50 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PowerShot SD1200 IS
Nickname: sierra
Location: Alaska
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Underwater Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 10, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use, great underwater camera
Bought this camera because it was small with a view finder. A week out from a diving trip I decided to get an underwater casing for it. The pictures were unbelievable underwater for such limited functions. The macro shots were exceptional in the program setting with only the camera flash. I was able to zoom in while editing with great quality. Perfect color with no color filter like in the underwater mode setting. Even the video worked well - however, a red filter is needed. A pro I worked with was amazed @ the quality of the pictures. What a nice surprise - a real plus for me with only having to pack one camera on dive trips.
20 of 21 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PowerShot SD1200 IS
Nickname: wino77
Location: California
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Another lens cover problem

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 21, 2012
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable
Cons: Complicated controls/menu, poor lens cover performance
I have owned 5 Canon cameras and 3 of them have had lens cover problems. It must be a weak point in Canon compact cameras.
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PowerShot SD1200 IS
Nickname: ivanboxedup
Location: Denver, CO
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: No

Dont Take To Concerts

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 14, 2010
Pros: image quality, easy to use
Cons: bad sound preformance, bad low light preformance
Its a good camera for my first im not gonna lie, but i just cant take it to concerts and expect a good video to take home because the bass totally kills the mic and you cant hear anything clearly unless the bass is gone. i mean its good on taking pictures just not from far away. awesome camera i just wished i could of gotten one with a better sound performance.
Review 5 for PowerShot SD1200 IS
Nickname: bacard100
Location: MINNESOTA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Great Camera!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 1, 2010
Pros: all
Cons: n/a
This is the best camera you can get for your money! Pictures, quality, everything is great. Both of our relitives bought the same one since we bought ours a year ago :)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PowerShot SD1200 IS
Nickname: Jamieshutterbug
Location: Massachusetts
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Wonderful Camera!!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 18, 2010
Pros: great camera
I Have had my SD1200 for 2 years now and when it was stolen, I bought another one exactly the same. If you read the manual when you have problems (the blurry pics) you will see that it is easy enough to fix, just by raising the quality of the photos. I love it! If you shut off the auto focus assist beam and set the picture review on the lowest setting the battery lasts a LOT longer, too.
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PowerShot SD1200 IS
Nickname: Ed
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

Camera for Senior Citizen

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 17, 2010
The best feature of this camera is the ability to aim camera by looking at the eyepiece instead of the screen. I have used both, but there have been times when using the eyepiece was the only way that I could shoot a photo. I would never again buy a camera unless it had this type of backup method for taking photos. We bought it when we were moving to Israel for several months and we came back with great pictures.
Review 8 for PowerShot SD1200 IS
Nickname: LOLASMOM
Location: Tucson, AZ
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast

BEst little camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 6, 2010
I love this camera. It is impossible to take a bad photo.
I cannot sing enough of its praises.
EVEN PHOTOS FROM A MOVING CAR, came out perfectly clear.
I love everything about it.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PowerShot SD1200 IS
Nickname: Suz
Location: Massachusetts
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Worth its weight in gold

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 27, 2010
Pros: settings for any situation, great macro, easy auto settings for begginners, clear photos, reliable, amazing focus
Cons: the optical zoom could be better, photos look clearer on screen then on comp
I love this camera. Seriously, it is one of the best cameras I have ever owned. I am an amateur photographer, and student. I do not, therefore, have the money to spend on high-end DSLR camera. After my last camera died, I spent weeks searching for a good replacement. This is it. It does just about everything you could want, and for the best price too. I never thought it would be this good. The auto settings almost always choose the right scenario. It has all the basic features, and even some I din't expect, like long shutter.
The problem I have with it is that its optical zoom is a bit lacking. I have seen cameras with better zoom. That being said, it makes up for it with great focus and clear images. Another thing that bugs me is that the screen often makes the photo look better than it is, and on numerous occasions, I have gotten a great shot, only to open it on the computer, and find it blurry.
Overall, it is the best camera I have ever had, and it's few cons are greatly outweighed by its features and general performance.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PowerShot SD1200 IS
Nickname: TKB
Location: Honolulu, HI
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

Camera good, battery not really

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:August 1, 2010
Pros: add a pro
Cons: add a con
I bought this camera because my other camera broke. As far as ease of use, it's pretty simple, but not as simple as my previous brand. It takes good pictures, but the battery doesn't work well for me. The charge doesn't last too long on this camera. I don't know if it's a malfunction, or that happens with this model. Overall, I am pretty satisfied except for the battery problem.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PowerShot SD1200 IS
Nickname: Alyy<3
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast

Amazing Camera!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 27, 2010
Pros: pictures are really clear, easy to use, battery life is amazing
Cons: takes a while to load pictures on facebook
This is the most amazing camera I've ever had! It's never slow or sluggish, and all of the images are crystal clear! The colors of the pictures are bright and I can take some really cool pictures, and it focuses in on objects better than my old camera. It's tiny and can fit into my pocket easily. The only thing that's happened is that one time the screen went black even though it still took the pictures. It was new, so I was really worried that I messed it up, but it turns out that I accidentally turned the screen off. If anything like this happens to anyone, all you have to do is reset your settings to default. This is an amazing camera, and I really think anyone who buys it will love it. The bottom line is, it's easy to use and takes beautiful pictures. I've never been so happy with purchasing an electronic item.
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PowerShot SD1200 IS
Nickname: Scrapbook junkie
Location: Reading, PA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Great Product

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 24, 2010
I absolutely love this camera. It has many great features that any picture-taker will love. Turn-on and shutter speed are super quick for those moments you weren't prepared for. Auto settings work extremely well, or if you have some time and wish to create your own settings according to the occasion, it's an easy flip of a button. I never leave home without this camera. Love everything about it. Great battery life and picture quality is phenomenal. I use an 8 GB SD card and have had no space issues whether I am takng videos or pictures. Highly reommended. I have had nothing but complaints with every other digital camera I've owned. Finally think I found the best!
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PowerShot SD1200 IS
Nickname: kat
Expertise Level: Casual User

fantastico!!!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 16, 2010
This camera is awesome!!! I love it!! I have it in orange and it is gorgeous! it doesn't have many features but its great if all you want to do is take a simple picture. its great. so clear and awesome!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PowerShot SD1200 IS
Nickname: Cheyenne
Location: St. Augustine, FL
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast

Awesome!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 10, 2010
Pros: amazing quality, great macro setting
Cons: poor night setting.
I absolutely love this camera! It has everything one could look for in a digital camera; nice zoom, nice macro, the automatic setting actually works. I also like how the batteries are rechargeable, so I don't have to go out and buy batteries every ten seconds. The pictures I take with this camera come out amazing; the quality is so great. I get people telling me all the time that my pics look professional and they ask what camera I use. Another thing I like about this camera is that it comes in a ton of colors. Instead of getting bland silver or black, I was able to get the blue one; my favorite color. This camera also is priced fairly well. It's a little on the high side but it's worth every penny.
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PowerShot SD1200 IS
Nickname: LiteHiker
Location: Adirondacks, NY
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

Take this camera anywhere, everywhere

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 7, 2010
Pros: Bright LCD, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance
Instead of toting my beloved old-fashioned SLR in my backpack on those long outings, I can now pack the SD1200 IS Digital ELPH in a pocket and take images on the go. The Digital ELPH is my first digital camera, and I love it. I'm finding the camera simple to use, with good battery life, and simple controls. Also, it's great to make the family suffer through replays of the day's outing on the TV when we return home. While I don't feel quite the "photographer" as I do with my larger, better lens quality SLR, I find myself taking more images, and I think that the digital ELPH will help to make me a better and more adventurous amateur photographer.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PowerShot SD1200 IS
Nickname: Gene
Location: NJ
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Fantastic camera!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 26, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use, fun to use and easy to carry, perfect movies, tolerates a drop, green color is neat
Cons: none!
This is a great camera. I have taken it to Europe twice and people admire it and the picture quality. Wonderful low light pics. I take portraits and group pictures for orgnizations and they are admired. This is the best camera that I have ever had. I really like the viewfinder in bright light conditions and wonder why it is not in newer cameras? I must note that the movies turn out really well.
38 of 40 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PowerShot SD1200 IS
Nickname: Pez
Location: Mill Hall, PA
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

Great product

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 21, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
This product is very simple to use, takes nice quality photos and it doesn't break the bank in price. I would recommend to anyone that is a beginner or casual user.
7 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PowerShot SD1200 IS
Nickname: Bonbon
Location: Washingon DC
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Exactly what I wanted!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 8, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
This camera has exactly what I wanted - easy to use, good quality pictures and portability. Having had cameras that were almost impossible to use I am very happy with this purchase.
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PowerShot SD1200 IS
Nickname: Taylor
Location: New Jersey
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Great Gift

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 25, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
I received this camera from my nephew for Christmas. It is very easy to use. I took a lot of pictures right on Christmas.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PowerShot SD1200 IS
Nickname: roadbiker
Location: Powder Springs, GA
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Great Camera!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 24, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
My primary camera is a Canon 40D (soon to be upgraded to a 50D). It's a great camera, but not always the most convenient to take along for the ride - and I mean THE RIDE. I ride a bike a lot (about 3,000 miles/year) and I see some pretty nice things while pedalng that I would love to take pictures of. Camera phone, in a word, is lousy. So I wanted a nice, compact camera that I could easily carru around, and I got this little gem for my birthday (Christmas). I love it! It fits easily in my pocket (and cycling jersey) and I take it almost everywhere I go. It takes fantastic pictures. The resolution is fantastic as is the image quality. If you are in a place where you have to be quiet, you can turn off the sounds. It has an automatic mode, but also a "P" (for program) mode to let you adjust certain settings to your liking (ISO - up to 1600), white balance, color balance, metering, flash, etc. It also takes surpizingling good videos, although they take up a lot of space on the SD card.
The viewing display is big and sharp. A bit hard to see in bright daylight, bt that is to be expected. In these cases you can use the standard viewfinder, whcih is absent in many competitive models.
One of the reasons why I wanted to get a Canon because of my experience with my other camera and also because I like the Canon imaging software that comes with the camera and is common for both of my Canon Camera's.
Convenience, ease of use, and great quality. This is a great little camera!
24 of 25 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site