Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Printers & Multifunction Reviews / SELPHY Compact Photo Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop SELPHY Compact Photo Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for SELPHY CP780

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

SELPHY CP780

Average Customer Rating:
4.422 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(45 Reviews) 45
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (45 reviews)
5 stars
32
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
3
39 out of 45(87%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for SELPHY CP780
Review 1 for SELPHY CP780
Nickname: Maxwell
Location: Spring Hill , Florida
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 13, 2014
Pros: Easy Setup, High Quality Output, fast print speed, easy to use
I have had my printer for a few years and I love it. The pictures come out so clear. I also like the fact that you can print in B&W if you prefer. The only complaint I have is that you cannot buy just the photo paper by itself, you have to buy the color ink to get the paper
Review 2 for SELPHY CP780
Nickname: Bill
Location: Garland, Texas
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Wish that it could do more.

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:August 7, 2013
Pros: Easy Setup, Small Footprint, High Quality Output, easy to use
Cons: Difficult to use, Slow Print Speed
Transferring Pictures from my computer to the Selphy 780 via (USB) cable has been unsuccessful.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for SELPHY CP780
Nickname: no joy

Changed my previous bad review to good.

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 10, 2013
Before I rated the driver on this as bad. Because of the way Windows uninstalls programs, I could not remove the driver to start with a fresh install. The uninstaller could not fix this. What I did was unplug printer from the USB port and went into the CONTROL PANEL/DEVICES AND PRINTERS and click on any printer icon then the PRINT SERVER PROPERTIES tab to select the Selphy CP780 and deleted it. Rebooted Windows. Run the Selphy driver install. It will ask you to plug the printer into a USB port to complete the process. That's it. Works fine now. The Uninstall program needs to work better. It was useless.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for SELPHY CP780
Nickname: rubyyoga
Location: NY
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 10, 2011
Pros: Compact Design, Sharp Tones & Colors
Cons: unreliable
After one year, the paper handling mechanism of this printer becomes unreliable. The newer es-40 model provides much better alternative as the paper and the film are integrated in one package.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for SELPHY CP780
Nickname: DM
Location: Saltillo Coah Mexico
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Photos

Great Machine

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 24, 2011
Pros: reliable, Compact Design, Easy Setup, durable, Lightweight/Portable, Sharp Tones & Colors, fast print speed, easy to use
Cons: High Ink Consumption
A Great Machine But I would like for you to make Ink to be sold seperately as I have LOTS of paper. Also where can I buy a cable to connect it to my computer? There seems to be no acessaries sold seperately. WHY NOT?? I NEED A CABLE. DM
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for SELPHY CP780
Nickname: DM
Location: Saltillo, Coah. Mexico
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

INK

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 18, 2011
Pros: reliable, Compact Design, Easy Setup, durable, Lightweight/Portable, Sharp Tones & Colors, fast print speed, easy to use, perfect for my use
Cons: High Ink Consumption
I love this little machine. I have used it a lot. I would like to know how to order INK seperatly as I have a lot of paper & no INK.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for SELPHY CP780
Nickname: the bird lady
Location: Northern Michigan
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 20, 2011
Pros: reliable, Compact Design, Easy Setup, durable, Low Ink Consumption, Lightweight/Portable, Sharp Tones & Colors, easy to use
Cons: Slow Print Speed
Our Cannon Selphy CP780 has been used at family gatherings, so everyone gets a memory of the day to take with them. It's great for personal use and does a great job if you're not in a huge hurry.
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for SELPHY CP780
Nickname: Hopeful
Location: Temecula, ca
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Love the CP Line but not the CP780

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 5, 2010
Pros: image resolution, value
Cons: unreliable, too dark
I loved my CP 100. When it finally died I was excited to get the CP 780. To my dismay, it often jams and requires sacraficing an entire film load to fix it $$$$$!. AND, the color is always too dark. Whether printing from the computer or directly from our canon camera. Maybe I got a bad unit? Already spent lots of money on film and paper.
Not sure if I want another one.
13 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for SELPHY CP780
Nickname: luckyjoy
Location: Mantua, NJ
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

very happy with this printer

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 16, 2010
I think the selphy printer is easy to use. Ink and paper load easily and the picture quality is wonderful. As a senior I don't have a lot of technical experience and had no problem with conecting it or using it.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for SELPHY CP780
Nickname: nascar_fan88
Location: Lisman,AL
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

Excellent printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 21, 2010
Pros: reliable, Compact Design, Easy Setup, Lightweight/Portable, Sharp Tones & Colors, fast print speed, easy to use
The SELPHY CP780 is an excellent home photo printer. It is very user friendly and makes super looking pictures. It is very compact and takes up little room. It is also capable of being used as a portable if a battery pack is purchased. I would recommend the product to anyone who likes to take digital photos and print them at home wothout the hassel of going to a store to get paper prints made. Excellent product. Worth the price and more.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for SELPHY CP780
Nickname: Anonymous

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:June 16, 2010
Bought this printer a while back and used it hoping that i wouldnt have to go down to walgreens to print my pictures anymore. it is a very good printer the only thing is that it have a faded line that goes threw the top of all my pictures and i tried everything to get it to go away but i just think that is how it prints....the quality of the photos are okay thought.
Review 12 for SELPHY CP780
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: CA
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

Great value great pictures

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 9, 2010
Pros: reliable, Compact Design, Easy Setup, durable, Low Ink Consumption, Lightweight/Portable, Sharp Tones & Colors, fast print speed, easy to use
The Selphy CP780 is a great copier and at a good price. It prints great pictures with true colors. It is economica. It is easy to set up and easy to use. I highly recommend it for an amature or a pro.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for SELPHY CP780
Nickname: sugarlips
Location: york, pa
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Love! Love! love it!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 28, 2010
Pros: Compact Design, Easy Setup, durable, Low Ink Consumption, Lightweight/Portable, Sharp Tones & Colors, fast print speed, easy to use
Love this printer. Like that I can also connect my other camera to it using usb cord and print those photos out too.....bought one for me, bro and mom
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for SELPHY CP780
Nickname: Nina
Location: Ca
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

Great little printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 7, 2010
Pros: reliable, Compact Design, Easy Setup, Lightweight/Portable, Sharp Tones & Colors, fast print speed, easy to use
Cons: High Ink Consumption
I received this printer as a Christmas gift. I love this printer.
I have a SLR digital camera and when I print these photos the colors are just awesome. Just wish my other digital camera memory cards fit too. But overall I am very happy with this printer.
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for SELPHY CP780
Nickname: Candi
Location: Cleveland, OH
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Selphy Printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 26, 2010
Pros: Compact Design, Easy Setup, Sharp Tones & Colors, easy to use
Cons: High Ink Consumption
I was first introduced to this printer when I was working in an Operating Room in Cleveland. They used it to instantly print intra-operative pictures and pre and post-surgery Plastic Surgery pics. The fact that Surgeons use this for documentation purposes should tell you alot about the quality of these prints!
I was so impressed with the quality and ease of these prints that I went online to investigate buying one myself. I could not believe how inexpensive they were. I ordered one immediately along with extra print/paper packs and have since bought one for my son and daughter-in-law for Christmas.
The clarity and quality of the prints are crisp and beautiful. My grandkids also love to watch the paper go in and out of the printer as it lays down the different colors.
This is one of the best buys I have ever found on the internet. I just love it.
The only thing I can think of that I wish was different is that you can only buy packages of ink and paper; enough for an exact number of prints. You can go through those packages quickly if you don't watch. Therefore, I use this printer only for printing very special pictures!
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for SELPHY CP780
Nickname: Bisbeeblue
Location: Palominas, Arizona
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

It's A CANON!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 17, 2010
Pros: reliable, Compact Design, Easy Setup, durable, Low Ink Consumption, Lightweight/Portable, Sharp Tones & Colors, easy to use
I have an Elph and SDIS Canon cameras and had been going to the drug stores to develop photos---waiting for a economical home printer soluton.
The Selphy answered all of my requirements. Low price of hardware and per print with Canon quality!!!
I am able to get the supplies at the electronic store where I purchased the printer.
When a solution is needed Canon takes aim and blows the competition out of the water!
Thanks!
Review 17 for SELPHY CP780
Nickname: Happy
Location: Salt Lake City
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: No

Paper Supplies- kp36ip

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 24, 2010
Pros: reliable, Compact Design, Easy Setup, durable, Lightweight/Portable, Sharp Tones & Colors, easy to use
Cons: Slow Print Speed, High Ink Consumption
For the paper supplies, go to shop.canon.com. In the search box (Enter Product Name), type kp36ip. Make sure to not leave any spaces between the characters. You can also search for Selphy paper products. 36 sheets and 1 ink cartridge are packaged together for a very good price.
I was going to take this to Africa with me but that meant I had to empty my 1 carry-on of food and clothes. Who knows I still might change my mind as I am still debating if I really need to take this with me with 2 weeks left before I leave!
Good luck!
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for SELPHY CP780
Nickname: mrs hedlund
Location: pa
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

pretty good purchase

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 5, 2010
Pros: Compact Design, Easy Setup, durable, Lightweight/Portable, Sharp Tones & Colors, easy to use
Cons: Slow Print Speed, High Ink Consumption, paper needs to slide back and forth
the only thing i don't like is that you have to constantly buy paper with the ink to refill. and that only one pic comes out at a time. But the quality is like store quality. real 4 x 6 prints and nice colors.
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for SELPHY CP780
Nickname: RP
Location: San Antonio, TX
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

Great Little Printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 4, 2010
Pros: Compact Design, Easy Setup, Lightweight/Portable, Sharp Tones & Colors, fast print speed, easy to use
I am very pleased with my new Selphy 780 Photo Printer. I love the small size and the quality of the prints is great.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for SELPHY CP780
Nickname: superior_intel
Location: hartford, CT
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

Perfect

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 18, 2010
Pros: Compact Design, Easy Setup, durable, Low Ink Consumption, Lightweight/Portable, Sharp Tones & Colors, fast print speed, easy to use
Cons: software needs a little tweeking
I purchased this printer figuring that I would use it on my boat when we have guests. Just needed it for the occasional print. Turns out that I love this little printer and have been using it at work and home as well. Print quality is excellent! Color rendition is very good. Ease of use is also excellent. I would recommend this to anyone looking for a simple to use high quality color card printer.
22 of 22 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site