Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Copiers & Fax Reviews / Multifunction Copiers Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop Multifunction Copiers or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for imageCLASS D1120

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

imageCLASS D1120

Average Customer Rating:
3.368 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
5
11 out of 19(58%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for imageCLASS D1120
Review 1 for imageCLASS D1120
Nickname: Business User

Unreliable

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 20, 2014
Pros: good when not broken
Cons: unreliabe, fail quickly, require service frequently
We have purchased four of these new and two of them failed within the first year -- blinking red light, total loss of functionality. One of them failed within 24 hours of arrival and due to the recency of the purchase the service person got to us quickly and fixed it. The other two are now expensive paper weights. These are not used at high volume. Probably a few copies or scans per day.
The ones that are in service are great, but the rate of attrition is just way too high to make this a sensible purchase.
Canon is usually a high quality brand. This particular product, not so much.
Review 2 for imageCLASS D1120
Nickname: mike
Location: Pittsburgh, pa
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Copying
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Great copier

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 12, 2013
I use this for a copies only. Works great for One or two sided. Top feed works well, I haven't had any jam issues.
Review 3 for imageCLASS D1120
Nickname: C Nye
Location: Denver, CO
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Scanning
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Ferrari with a bicycle tires

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:May 13, 2013
Pros: lots of features for the money, big storage tray
Cons: feeder jams easily, scanner just too dang slow
I have used this copier in my tax practice for 18 months. I also have a different Canon copier in another tax practice that is much older but performs much better in each of the 2 areas I outline below.
There are a lot of great features on this copier for the price. I would absolutely love it if it were not for 2 very big draw backs.
(1) Automatic feeder - Very unreliable when comes to pulling one page at a time. Personally, I don't think the feeder tray is at a steep enough angle to work the way it was designed. My other Canon has a much steeper feeder tray and almost never jams.
(2) The scanner works but can take several minutes to transmit a single page. If you have 10 to 20 pages, I need to plan on waiting about an hour. It's odd, because it scans the page fast, but it just takes forever to communicate to the toolbox software on my computer. Doesn't matter how low of a resolution I set, it still takes forever.
Review 4 for imageCLASS D1120
Nickname: GN
Location: Charlotte
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Copying
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

NOT THE BEST

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 7, 2013
Pros: nice looking many features
Cons: not reliable
I have used Canon copiers for the past 40 years. They were very reliable with many features. However, after one year and 8 months this machine stopped working. Not very reliable copier.
Review 5 for imageCLASS D1120
Nickname: MileHigh
Location: Colorado
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Copying
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Great product for the price

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 29, 2012
I have never met a copier that didn't jam or was a bit complicated to operate. That being said, for the price this copier is awesome. It copies on 2-sides, you can use it as a printer and it is a good scanner. With an automatic feed that works pretty good most of the time, I scan and file just about everything. Having multiple offices, I have been able to reduce labor by having staff in one location review work in another location.
When I bought this, all I wanted was a good copier, I got much more and will buy another one (newer model) this year.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for imageCLASS D1120
Nickname: PTravel
Location: Los Angeles
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Copying
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

Excellent value.

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 30, 2012
Pros: high quality output and scans, low cost readily available consumables, fast copying and printing
Cons: scanning using toolbox takes 5-10 seconds to start
I bought a Canon D1120 when we moved one of our floor copiers to another department and I wanted a conveniently-located copier/scanner in my office - printing was an added bonus. The D1120 offers performance and quality far beyond what I expected at this price point. Copy capability is excellent -- virtually no warm-up and the 30 ppm rating is accurate. The copies are crisp and clean. Scanning works well -- at 300 dpi, b&w, PDF, the ADF is fast, though a bit below the rated 30 ppm. Scan quality is excellent, and the ability to do color (at a considerable speed penalty) is an added bonus. I found an easy solution for scanning to the network -- I have an old netbook connected via USB. It's a slower XP machine but it runs the Toolbox just fine, and is configured to save the scanned files to a folder on our network server. I print over the network, and it is fast with very high-quality output; perfect for both business correspondence and the court filings that I produce. I recommend using a network connection, even if it is only used on a single machine, as the browser-based interface offers complete control over all of the D1120's settings. The D1120 is solidly built, compact (for what it does) and well-designed. I am very pleased with my purchase as it fits the bill perfectly. I took a star off the overall rating, features and performance only because of a delay before scanning starts when using the Toolbox, and the inability to scan to a network location without using a dedicated computer. Otherwise, it would be a solid 5 stars across the board.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for imageCLASS D1120
Nickname: Lynn
Location: California
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Good Printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 11, 2012
I got this Canon thinking that it would replace my previous Canon copier that lasted forever for 10+ years. I finally gave it to Goodwill, but it was still working. To my surprise, this one does everything else including printing and scanning. However, I use my 2 other printers for scanning and faxing because they have been already set up before this printer arrived. It is a great machine and has not given me a single problem for the past 3 years. I hope it will last as long as my old one.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for imageCLASS D1120
Nickname: Steve
Location: Orange County, CA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Best Printer For Me

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 12, 2011
My review should be understood in context - this is a home office printer that I use often, but for relatively small volumes. I am a long-time (40 year) computer user. I work on my computer virtually every single day and I really needed a personal printer that would quickly print and/or scan 50 page documents. I have been using this one for about 3 months and I haven't yet had a single jam (and I do lots of 2-sided printing). My last few printers were ink jet so they had color, but to my surprise, I have been so happy about the speed and reliability of this printer that I haven't missed the color printing. (This is my first Canon product ever.)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for imageCLASS D1120
Nickname: ralphy
Location: Shelby, nc
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Pretty nice features, that is if they worked

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:November 20, 2011
Pros: easy to use
Cons: duplicate
duplicate (to copy both sides of paper) function does not work. keep jamming every time.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for imageCLASS D1120
Nickname: Sanders-Hasty Ins
Location: Canton, IL
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Copying
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:May 26, 2011
This machine is wonderful, accept when scanning large documents. The scanner frequently jams when scanning documents larger than about ten pages.
Other than the frequent jamming, the machine out performs any other machine we have seen on speed.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for imageCLASS D1120
Nickname: Kaity
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Scanning

Worst Copier/Scanner/Printer Ever

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 14, 2011
Pros: always prints
Cons: never scans
We use at least four of these in our office. When I am trying to finish up the month's worth of cardholder files, and start scanning everyone, mine always decides to mess up after a couple people. Alright, no biggy, I'll just go to the next scanner. It gives me three goes. Okay...Next one. A couple goes. The last one won't even go. It's like they all decide to not work for me once the first one stops working. Don't buy it, it's totally not worth it.
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for imageCLASS D1120
Nickname: Bryan
Location: Chicago, IL
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Automatic Tray Switch

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 17, 2011
Pros: everything else is fine
Cons: automatic tray doesn't work
Automatic tray switch DOESN'T WORK. It's too complicated. I set the tray to print envelope 10, and it continues to give error message "Load paper tray". I load both with envelope and it asks again. This is stupid, and this printer eat all my nerves. I have MF4690 Canon printer and it works ok, and this one is a total loss. Thanks
3 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for imageCLASS D1120
Nickname: CopyKat
Location: Massachusetts
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Copying
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Well Worth the Price

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 11, 2011
I am a 4th grade teacher and find the ImageClass D1120 to be an amazing purchase for the price. I have run this machine through two cartridges without a single jam. I use the double sided copy feature and find that it is every bit as capable as larger, more expensive machines. The quality and number of prints per cartridge is amazing.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for imageCLASS D1120
Nickname: BigSal7
Location: Fort Pierce, FL
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Copying
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great Product

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 10, 2011
We are pleased with the performance of this unit, except for the scanner function. We can get it to scan a single sheet but NOT multiple copies. Overall, though, it has been a very good printer.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for imageCLASS D1120
Nickname: Soloymi
Location: Chicago, IL
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Very hard to use

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 23, 2010
I owned this D1120 for about a 3 months and it causes a lot of trouble.
First: Automatic select of paper (multipurpose tray and cassete) is NOT working. When I put paper in multipurpose tray and try to print something from example Word document it will pull the paper from cassete. Then everytime I want to print from Multipurpose tray I need to go to printer properties in Word and there manually set the MultiPurpose, and it's too boring and takes a lot of time.
Second: When I try to print on an envelope, I set everything OK in Word and set the right envelope size. I put envelope in MultiPurpose tray and click print in word, then it said: Load the paper tray: Env.
Excuse me, but there is only two trays, multipurpose and cassete, and I put envelope in MultiPurpose. If that's not correct and I have to always open the cassete and put envelope there... That's crazy..
This is very, very stupid printer and a total loss.
I has also Canon MF4690 and everything above works great.
12 of 19 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for imageCLASS D1120
Nickname: Larisa
Location: Lex, KY
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Awsome copier

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 29, 2010
Pros: reliable, durable, High Quality Output, fast print speed, easy to use
First of all I've got to tell you, it is very hard to find an awsome printer and copier in one. It is either the copier features that are awsome and printer lacks or the printer is great and copier lacks. Considering black and white monochrome, fast and economical, the only feature this will lack as a printer is the "wireless" network and a card reader as well as lcd screen if anyone needs it.
We use it as a copier in an office setting. Everyone is absolutely in love with it. It has more features than man-rer lists. I especially like the double sided copies feature and an ID copy. The window is large enough for most of what I need it for. The outside feeder is working exclusively, doesn't skip, and doesn’t get stuck. User friendly. You can ask it to copy very many different ways: the book style, 4 sheets per page, make from one sided to two sided and backwards. I save a lot of paper and space storing info that way. Don't have to use two sheets of paper for an Id, It scans the first copy, asks you to flip the ID, then scans the other and puts both copies on the same sheet and side of a paper not overlapping each other. The only thing I wish it had is a wireless e-connection for a scanner, but I guess it's not that hard to connect to the USB. The ink that came with it lasted 5 month. It is an office of 6 doctors. Haven't used the scanner yet, just about to try though. Haven't used it as a printer yet either. Didn't have the need.
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for imageCLASS D1120
Nickname: ak
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Reliable document feeder

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 6, 2010
Pros: reliable, durable, High Quality Output, fast print speed
Cons: Large Footprint, difficult to grab print jobs
Solid printer, very reliable and has never jammed so far in two months of use. Auto collate feature is neat. Used it as a printer, copier, and scanner. Quick warm up (2-3 seconds) and copies almost keeps up with printing unlike some copiers that severely lag behind. One big drawback is that the machine is noisy, but bearable; also this thing is a little big and heavy, but very solid in physical construction. The only thing I don't like is the output tray, it's below the top cover so it's difficult to retrieve the print jobs. Scanner setup was easy, not sure what others are complaining about.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for imageCLASS D1120
Nickname: USNA70
Location: San Diego, CA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Solid Machine

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 1, 2010
Pros: Small Footprint, High Quality Output, fast print speed
Cons: Difficult Setup
Replaced a Canon PC1040. Love the duplex copying and the small footprint. It does envelopes easily from manual feed but the thickness does cause them to wrinkle, fairly common in low end laser printers. Network set up for a Mac was not too easy since I had to use IP addressing to get it to work. The scanner works nicely although a simpler feature set than the usual scanner. My wife is a teacher and she gives copiers heavy usage. So far, this machine has performed very well and is a joy to operate.
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for imageCLASS D1120
Nickname: The Pup
Location: LA, CA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

D1120 MFP

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:October 7, 2009
Pros: High Quality Output, fast print speed, reliable, Easy Setup, easy to use
Cons: Difficult to use, no fax, envelope printing
Even though MS Word defines the envelope size before printing, you still have to define the envelop size again via the printer's front panel control (in metric mm no less!!!). No fax capability is also a limitation.
18 of 23 people found this review helpful.
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site