Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / EOS Cameras Reviews / EOS Digital Cameras Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop EOS Digital Cameras or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for EOS Rebel T2i EF-S 18-55mm IS Kit

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

EOS Rebel T2i EF-S 18-55mm IS Kit

The Canon EOS Rebel T2i brings professional EOS features into an easy to use, lightweight digital SLR that's a joy to use.
Average Customer Rating:
4.733 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(236 Reviews) 236
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (236 reviews)
5 stars
192
4 stars
35
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
5
225 out of 236(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for EOS Rebel T2i EF-S 18-55mm IS Kit
Review 1 for EOS Rebel T2i EF-S 18-55mm IS Kit
Nickname: JSerle58
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

T2i customer for several years

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 16, 2014
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Solid Operation, Lightweight/Portable
Takes nice pictures, especially when paired with my Canon 18-135mm lens. Video is not as good as with newer camera capabilities, because it is hard to keep moving objects in focus. The mode dial is easily moved when taking the camera in and out of it's case costing me some good shots. Wish there was a mode dial lock switch
Review 2 for EOS Rebel T2i EF-S 18-55mm IS Kit
Nickname: phillywill
Location: Phila., PA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

OK until I got caught in a rain storm

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 7, 2013
Pros: good battery life, quiet, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Poor build quality
I've had my T2i for a few years. I took over 10,000 pictures with it and was very satisfied.
In August 2013 I got caught outside in a rainstorm and the camera is now completely inoperable. Also the lens that came with it in the kit no longer has Auto Focus.
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for EOS Rebel T2i EF-S 18-55mm IS Kit
Nickname: echo13
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

The best for learning and great photos

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 11, 2013
Pros: good battery life, quiet, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use, great for hdr
For years (since 1975) I was a film photographer Canon Ftb and AE1 (both still active) but in 2010 I went digital with the then top of the line entry level T2i. As a hobbyist and all around joy hunter the T2i has made me look like a pro. I started in New Orleans and on a cruise. Great night shots of wet streets and colors galore with little noise and great landscapes of plantations, shipboard rooms and entertainment shots without a flash and those distance shots of oil rigs from a moving deck of a ship due to the kit EF-S 18-55. But as a learning tool for entry to digital the biggest eye opener was when I found out about HDR photography and the eye popping photos this T2i was able to capture with the stabilized picture with also auto focus on providing the great low noise always. The ability to AEB +/-2 or 1 in 1/3 or 1/2 three instant shots or even to do continuous 2 or more shooting with the AEB getting a set (of three -2 0 +2) for 2 (6 shots total [or more if you just want to let it go]) shots back to back with the mirror up (live view)(less shake and noise) of sunrises or sunsets WITH windy conditions or moving tides providing very little ghosting to tend with, mind blowing magical to say the least.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for EOS Rebel T2i EF-S 18-55mm IS Kit
Nickname: BklynEl
Location: New York City
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Solid camera, good price, professional results

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 29, 2012
Pros: Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, Lightweight/Portable
Cons: noisy, Slow Start-up time, Complicated controls/menu
Overall, this is a good, solid camera and a very good value for the price. While it has some nice auto and semi-automatic functions, I work entirely in manual mode, and the controls and ability to adjust settings are clunky. If you're a landscape photographer or work with semi-automatic functions, you won't have a problem. I'm an urban photographer and find adjustments clunky, and a little slow. But again, it's a good, solid choice at at good price, and there is no reason someone with a decent skill set can't get professional photos from this camera.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for EOS Rebel T2i EF-S 18-55mm IS Kit
Nickname: ladfan
Location: SB, CA
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Wonderful Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 21, 2012
I'm a beginner and love this camera. You must take the time to read through the manual and play with it. I am amazed at the photos I've taken. The clarity is fantastic, easy to use not heavy at all. I am really enjoying it and want to learn more about photography.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for EOS Rebel T2i EF-S 18-55mm IS Kit
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: New york, NY
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Family & Friends

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 17, 2012
Pros: good battery life, quiet, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Heavy/Bulky
The camera itself is easy enough to use as a beginner and gives professional quality photos. The sofware is new to me and is the most confusing part. Overall, very satisfied with the product and inspired to learn more so I can make use of its many functions.
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for EOS Rebel T2i EF-S 18-55mm IS Kit
Nickname: Barb in GA
Location: Atlanta, GA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

My Dream Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 28, 2012
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation
I purchased the T2i about 2 weeks ago & can't put it down! Have wanted a Rebel for several years. A dream of a camera. Great photos right out of the box on Auto! Upgraded from an SX40 IS which is a great camera too. Just bought the additional telephoto lens. A little heavy but will get used to that...because that's what allows for all the features and quality. So easy to use, fast shutter speed for my dogs & other action photos. It was worth the wait. If you are familiar w/Canon cams the menus are easy too. Buy it if you are on the fence. You won't regret it!
10 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for EOS Rebel T2i EF-S 18-55mm IS Kit
Nickname: Eduardo
Location: Raleigh, NC
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great quality pictures

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 10, 2012
Pros: quality, features
Not much to say other then I love the quality. The pictures and the video are awesome. I am not a professional but I do enjoy to take pictures and record videos.
I had a Canon A650 before and loved it. That motivated me to stick with Canon for my first SLR. I recommend it to anyone and everyone. The price tag hurt me but for an SLR its reasonable.
8 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for EOS Rebel T2i EF-S 18-55mm IS Kit
Nickname: Ann
Location: pennsylvania
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

cannot find fault

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 15, 2011
Perfect camera for those looking to eventually move away from auto settings. If you never intend to go manual, get a cheaper camera!
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for EOS Rebel T2i EF-S 18-55mm IS Kit
Nickname: Jarhead
Location: Molalla, OR
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great mix of features for the enthusiast

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 7, 2011
Wonderful camera, it has held up very well during outdoor hiking, shot over 5,400 shots. I'd recommend the external grip that includes the battery pack. If there was anything to knock, I'd say it would be the noise during low light shooting. The pixels of the sensor are very small, and low light signal to noise ratio is not that great. However, to do better, one would have to jump to double the price or more, if you were to include all the features along with 60fps video and 1080p video.
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for EOS Rebel T2i EF-S 18-55mm IS Kit
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: Cedarburg, WI
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

I love it

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 27, 2011
Pros: Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Solid Operation, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Amazing...it makes my friends question why I don't take pictures for a living.
5 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for EOS Rebel T2i EF-S 18-55mm IS Kit
Nickname: Bobo
Location: Houston, Texas
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

The Canon T2i Experience

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 25, 2011
Pros: good battery life, quiet, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
I bought the Canon T2i lens on Dec. 30, 2010 & I just LOVE it. I've had several pictures published or shown on tv.My very first awesome shots were of the fireworks on New Years Eve. When it comes to professional cameras(I am a pretty good amateaur), this camera is the way to go!
I just had the Milky Way(Our galaxy) put on the ABC CH 13 NEWSCAST!!!
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for EOS Rebel T2i EF-S 18-55mm IS Kit
Nickname: Al
Location: Knoxville, TN
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Canon is synonimous with Quality

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 8, 2011
Pros: good battery life, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Simple controls/menu
Unbelieveable low light quality and sharpness. I have had this camera for 6 months and love it. Great video cap;abilities also. Best camera for non-professional photo buffs.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for EOS Rebel T2i EF-S 18-55mm IS Kit
Nickname: ronindex
Location: west coast florida
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Sports
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

best camera i have

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 22, 2011
Pros: good battery life, quiet, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use, its been great shooting
this camera has been dropped at least 3 times and it still works great.its gotten wet and it still works.not much to say,but its a good camera.
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for EOS Rebel T2i EF-S 18-55mm IS Kit
Nickname: Poppy
Location: Masachusetts
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Best SLR I've ever used

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 26, 2011
Pros: good battery life, quiet, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Solid Operation, easy to use
Cons: record length needs to be longer for video mode
I have had my T2i for 7 months now, the picture quality has no equal, this camera has a great ease of use and all the features I was looking for in an SLR when I first started looking for another. Battery life in mine was longer than most I've used. The only flaw I found, is in that the video does not run long enough for me in record mode.
8 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for EOS Rebel T2i EF-S 18-55mm IS Kit
Nickname: Dave K
Location: Gilbert, AZ
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

A solid upgrade for XT owners

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 25, 2011
Pros: good battery life, quiet, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: hit/miss af
In early 2006 I bought my first DSLR and happily started using my Canon Rebel XT. The camera always served me well, but I never got really into photography like I wanted. Recently the bug bit me again, and after seeing a friends TxI series camera I knew it was time to upgrade, and start sinking my teeth into photography.
After a few weeks of use I couldn't be happier. The stock IS lens is a huge upgrade from my stock XT lens and the indoor performance is leaps above my 2006 model.
The overall design is a huge leap as well, and the large screen showcasing all my core data in an easy to read and easy to adjust format is even better.
In the past few weeks my skills have jumped 100 fold because now I have an urge to see what this thing can really do.
Video recording... it's great. You're not going to be replacing your HD Camcorder, but for a "out and about" type thing it's excellent, and the fact you can drastically change your video with your lenses is great. I'd of loved to see some AF capabilities, but I understand the lack of it for something like this.
If you're new to DSLR, or looking for an upgrade to your older model I can't recommend this enough. I've since paired it with Canon 28-135 f3.5/5.6 & 55-250 lenses and they are great as well for a bang for your buck product.
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for EOS Rebel T2i EF-S 18-55mm IS Kit
Nickname: Kendall
Location: Washington
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

So glad I chose this camera!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 22, 2011
Pros: Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Solid Operation, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use, both automatic and manual focus
Cons: noisy
For a while I was considering purchasing a DSLR from one of Canon's competitors, but as I researched more I chose this camera, and I am so glad that I did.
I've had a standard point-and-shoot for quite a while, and I can already tell that my T2i is going to be a great transition into the DSLR world. It's easy to use, takes great photos, and gives a freedom that a regular camera wouldn't give you. The lens that comes with the kit is nice as well, although it's definitely an entry level lens and it quite noisy. I'm already preparing to buy a telephoto and wide-angle lens in the near future. That's the other really nice thing about this camera; the camera will always be good, and buying it is a no-brainier for the price and quality, but you can always simply pop on a new lens if you desire a different effect or quality in your photos! The T2i will essentially never get old, and is a must-have if you are looking to get more into photography!
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for EOS Rebel T2i EF-S 18-55mm IS Kit
Nickname: Samuel

Perfect Choice

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 16, 2011
Pros: Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, excellent noise reduction
I was looking for a camera that was able to have noise reduction. This camera is very excellent at noise reduction even with elevated ISO. It can also process the images quickly.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for EOS Rebel T2i EF-S 18-55mm IS Kit
Nickname: irulethe70s
Location: NOYB
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Portraits
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Replaced a design flaw A490

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 12, 2011
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
I had a Canon A490,and i have found a nasty design flaw that is not on my Powershot S2IS or my A480
This bugged me enough where little to no pressure opened the battery cover and it looks a little warped to me with batteries in it so i decided to get a T2I and learn to use a DSLR camera
All i can say is WOW
I have had this for a month and i am already loving the switch to SLR and i can't wait to use it in Ft.Lardadale
Pro tip: Dump the kit lens as soon as you can,your images and print flexibility will thank you big time
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for EOS Rebel T2i EF-S 18-55mm IS Kit
Nickname: PK
Location: Houston, Texas
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

EXCELLENT ALL AROUND CARRY CAMERA

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 11, 2011
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Solid Operation, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: noisy
This camera with a 18-135mm lens can't be beat for all around go-to equipment. It's fast, as light as can be expected with the mentioned lens and easy to use in a hurry for sudden wildlife shots. I have taken well over a thousand shots with it to date and have had no problems at all. It takes superb shots in auto and fantastic shots when set up correctly in one of the creative modes and manual mode.
Like all cameras of this caliber it has is limitations that are mostly lens induced. Use a good lens get "good" results. use a great lens and get GREAT results.
If you are on a fixed budget and are looking at this camera as possible addition to your stable, I can tell you that you won't be disappointed. I would advise getting the best lens you can afford to go with this camera.
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 12 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site