Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Refurbished Products Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop Refurbished Products or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PIXMA MX340

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

PIXMA MX340

The PIXMA MX340 Wireless Home Office All-In-One delivers the versatility you need to experience increased productivity in your home or small office.
Average Customer Rating:
3.646 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(113 Reviews) 113
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (113 reviews)
5 stars
41
4 stars
30
3 stars
19
2 stars
7
1 star
16
73 out of 113(65%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PIXMA MX340
Review 21 for PIXMA MX340
Nickname: blue42
Location: Virginia
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Product replacement: No

BEEEP, GRIIIIND, WHIIRRR, BEEEP, BEEP, KAKLAC-KAK

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:May 18, 2012
Pros: easy to use
Cons: Slow Print Speed
Everything on this printer has worked okay. The copy feature is great. I don't even have to turn the computer on to make some copies of a document while I'm running out the door. And you can just put a stack of papers in and it'll scan or copy them all--outstanding for a home printer at this price. But I have never used any printer that took such an incredibly long time to print anything, and that made SO MUCH NOISE. If I want to print one page of a simple document, I can count to 20 before the printer will start. And during that time, it's making a huge variety of clicks, beeps, grinding noises, whining noises, and other noises that have no name. Even when you turn it off, it makes a loud beeeep! And this isn't just the initial warm-up upon turn-on. If I wait a minute or so between printing pages, it will do the whole performance over again, both after it finishes printing one page, and before starting to print the next one a minute later. The word "cacophony" comes to mind. If there was a printer version of a mocking bird, this would be it. But I like mocking birds.
I've had no other trouble with it except that it started printing the black faintly even though it's barely been used and there's plenty of ink. All of the features are great, and if I could make the thing shut up and just print I would like it pretty well.
Review 22 for PIXMA MX340
Nickname: notrealname

bad as the rest

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 2, 2012
generally after 20+ years and continued bloated software why printers can't give a worthwhile messages when they won't work. this one no exception
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 23 for PIXMA MX340
Nickname: Anonymous
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

wireless is worthless

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 15, 2012
Setting up and keeping the wireless is a pain, it works sometimes for a while then you just get to randomly set it up again. The software included is typical bloatware and is essentially useless. Printer itself works good for the price
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 24 for PIXMA MX340
Nickname: redfrog
Location: Crawfordville, FL
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

I Love My Printer!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 31, 2012
Finally, after throwing out too many printers, I can say I Love My Printer. My All-in-One office is just that....takes care of everything and allows me to do something else!
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 25 for PIXMA MX340
Nickname: TP208
Location: Chicago
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

timewaster

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 23, 2012
Wireless connectivity repeateadly stops for unknown reasons. have to uninstall & re-install wayyy too often.
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 26 for PIXMA MX340
Nickname: tony
Location: ashland city tn
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

bad decision on purchasing mx340

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 17, 2012
Pros: prints with great coloring
Cons: its ridiculous the hassle you go through to get th
Ive owned our cannon mx340 for a little over one year & its been a big headache. The wifi - wireless printer is worthless, usually its easier & quicker to connect the usb cord to get the job done faster. Also scanning papers is impossible. Its always wait a while!
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 27 for PIXMA MX340
Nickname: dissatisfied

Printing just stopped working

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 15, 2012
All printing capabilities just stopped working a little over a year after purchase. AVOID this printer!
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 28 for PIXMA MX340
Nickname: workfromhome
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

Unreliable Printer

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 8, 2012
Cons: unreliable
This is the worst printer I have ever owned, don't waste your money. Half the time I can print and half the time I get a message that the printer is not responding. The only way that I have found to fix this problem is go back and reinstall the printer again, which is a big pain. If I had it to do all over again I would NOT purchase another Canon printer.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 29 for PIXMA MX340
Nickname: alitalnik
Location: Grosseto IT
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Good but AirPrint firmware upgrade still missing

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:January 6, 2012
Pros: good quality overall
Cons: no airprint!!!
Good product for the money, could be perfect with a Firmware update for AirPrint compatibility.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 30 for PIXMA MX340
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: Jackson, MS
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Worst Printer Ever

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 10, 2011
This printer is horrible. This will make the second one I have had. The first one was replaced due to an error code that just suddenly caused the printer to stop working. Now the printer they replace that one with....is DOING THE SAME THING!!!! Don't waste the time or money on the printer.
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 31 for PIXMA MX340
Nickname: Holli
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Good Printer but hard to scan

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 10, 2011
I love this printer. I got it at a great price. It was easy to install wireless access. It prints fast and it looks good. I have not used it for pictures. The only draw back is that the menu is really hard to use for scanning. It finally worked but I dont know how I did it. I would like to put the item on the copier and hit scan and that be it. I had to work the menu from the computer and it finally scanned. Good scan pic but hard to use.
Review 32 for PIXMA MX340
Nickname: Anonymous

Waste of money

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 22, 2011
Cons: unreliable
Terrible choice if you are relying on wireless access.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 33 for PIXMA MX340
Nickname: plugnickle
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

paper jam

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:October 10, 2011
Cons: paper jam
I bought this printer about 16 months ago - been a good printer - all functions work well - had a paper jam yesterday - can not get resolved - unable to get to the area where the tiny bit if paper is lodged - resolution is to junk the printer - for a paper jam?
Review 34 for PIXMA MX340
Nickname: EvilBoost
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Worked a Hard 6 Months

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 23, 2011
Pros: Easy Setup, fast print speed
Cons: High Ink Consumption, unreliable
Bought this Printer New for my Motorcycle Shop, Lasted 6 months hit a paper jam and never worked again... Not my first Printer, But the shortest life yes, I tried alot of online forum support and nothing worked to fix it, no support! Great Product, not so good Design...
Review 35 for PIXMA MX340
Nickname: oregon

Uses color ink for all printing

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:September 22, 2011
Pros: Compact Design, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use
Cons: High Ink Consumption, color ink for all printing
This is a good printer, scanner and fax. However, and this is a big however, the printing options are color or gray scale. In both cases the color cartridge is used and empties faster than the black one. I did not know this when I bought the machine. I will be replacing it in the next month or two after I do some research as to what machine allows for black printing only if desired.
Review 36 for PIXMA MX340
Nickname: dap
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Product replacement: Yes

a piece of junk

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 15, 2011
Cons: Difficult to use, Difficult Setup, unreliable
the set up and tweaking directions are very unclear and very complicated
and while youre trying, it is very hard to read the tiny screen
and it keeps getting out of whack somehow so you have to keep doing it
and the manual is not very helpful
and the ocr doesn't work,and while in warrenty i got suppot and the guy said its no good, buy one.
5 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 37 for PIXMA MX340
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: Long Island, Ny
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 8, 2011
Great all in one printer, had some issues with the alignment but once set up correctly it works great. i would reccomend this printer. I actually had my sister buy the same one and she loves it as well.
Review 38 for PIXMA MX340
Nickname: SGDAD28
Location: ORLANDO, FL
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 22, 2011
Pros: reliable, Compact Design, Easy Setup, durable, Low Ink Consumption, Sharp Tones & Colors, fast print speed, easy to use
IT WORKS GREAT, IT IS NICE TO HAVE A WIRELESS CONNECTION AND CAN PRINT FROM ALL THE LAPTOPS IN THE HOUSE
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 39 for PIXMA MX340
Nickname: gf
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 29, 2011
Cons: doesn't work
works from my laptop only half the time- there is no online help
Review 40 for PIXMA MX340
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: HOUSTON
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

worst purchase ever

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 13, 2011
THIS PRINTER WILL NOT RECONGIZE THE USB PORT I EVEN TOOK IT TO A PRO AND THEY SAID IT IS MALFUNCTION FROM FACTORY DEFECT. BUT I LOST MY RECIEPT AND CANT RETURN IT.
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site