Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Refurbished Products Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop Refurbished Products or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PIXMA MX340

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

PIXMA MX340

The PIXMA MX340 Wireless Home Office All-In-One delivers the versatility you need to experience increased productivity in your home or small office.
Average Customer Rating:
3.59 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(117 Reviews) 117
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (117 reviews)
5 stars
41
4 stars
31
3 stars
19
2 stars
8
1 star
18
73 out of 113(65%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PIXMA MX340
Review 21 for PIXMA MX340
Nickname: bill
Location: New York
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

A most excellent device

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 14, 2012
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, durable, Small Footprint, High Quality Output, fast print speed, easy to use
The MX340 has been consistently reliable for printing, scanning, faxing, and copying. I was surprised to find out that there were printer and scanner drivers available for Linux Ubuntu, which made it even more appealing to me. Setting up the printer in both Windows and Linux is pretty straight forward. Nice job Canon!
Review 22 for PIXMA MX340
Nickname: Mortiferon
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Don't EVER lose the Install disk!

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 24, 2012
Cons: Difficult to use, Slow Print Speed, Large Footprint, Difficult Setup, Low Quality Output, unreliable, defunct software, bloatware, loud operation noise
While switching rooms earlier this year, we did lose it. I was able to reinstall this printer and restore the WiFi on my mom's VISTA laptop from the drivers and software download page here, but the same is untrue of my Windows 7 x64 Notebook (this printer of course goes offline the second I pull the USB cable). Both systems, and Windows operating systems are wont to often require, had to be wiped and restored - thus losing the printer's setup and software. No biggie, just went and tried to do the same thing with my system as I'd done with my mom's - WELL, BIG PROBLEM!
The appropriate Windows 7 x64 “Canon PIXMA Wireless Setup Assistant (Windows)” REFUSES to work, and is evidently ESSENTIAL to setting the thing up for WiFi. It just flashes what looks like a CMD window and then does absolutely nothing and computability mode/"run as administrator" do nothing to get it working either. So I cannot restore WiFi functionality on my system and this printer is now useless to me seeing as the printer is in the dining room hutch, and my computer in my bedroom of course. It is too massive to be in my room, and I don't want to be woken up by it being used all of the time by others (it is very loud).
Just saying it is a real PAIN to have to keep moving the computer to the printer and hook them up manually just to print something all because the downloads and software files don't all work as they should and just about everyone loses the original installers to things at some point. Why they couldn't make this thing a TRUE WiFi printer with Ad Hock or even just a one-touch connect with the option to input the WiFi key in directly onto the printer's keypad (or similar) is beyond me. We will not be purchasing another Canon printer, that's for sure. Would not have even been my first choice (is it REALLY necessary for it to be a massive BRICK?) - the quality for pictures is also a joke, very fuzzy, and with line distortions throughout that I cannot get rid of (and no, the ink cartridges are not the problem).
JUST DON'T EVER LOSE THE INSTALLER DISK IF YOU USE WINDOWS 7 X64!!! MAKE A .ISO COPY OF THAT THING AND KEEP IT SOMEWHERE SAFE, OR DO YOURSELF A HUGE FAVOR AND BURN A DUPLICATE DISK NOW ALSO - OTHERWISE YOU'LL ALSO WIND UP IN THE SAME POSITION WITHOUT A DISK, A NON-FUNCTIONAL WIFI SETUP SOFTWARE FROM THIS SITE, AND THEREFORE NO WIFI!
IF YOU'RE A KIND SOUL AND KNOW HOW TO DO JUST THAT, PLEASE DO US ALL A FAVOR AND SHARE THAT .ISO FILE OF THE FUNCTIONAL INSTALL DISK AND HELP OTHERS IN THIS UNFORTUNATE SITUATION!
I AM NOT AN 'UNSKILLED' COMPUTER USER BY ANY MEANS - I AM AN ENTHUSIAST AND I AM ABLE TO DO JUST ABOUT ANYTHING I WANT WITH MY COMPUTERS AND RELATED PARAPHERNALIA, FROM FIXING THEM TO CUSTOMIZING THEM - EVERYTHING EXCEPT CONNECTING WIFI TO THIS PRINTER WITHOUT THE ***REQUIRED*** SOFTWARE TO DO JUST THAT!
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 23 for PIXMA MX340
Nickname: jbizme716
Location: Buffalo, N.Y.
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

pixmamx340

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 6, 2012
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, Small Footprint, High Quality Output, fast print speed, easy to use
worth every dime. I didnt need some super machine but something I could use in the event I opened a small business with. They have great tech support and made a great product. I promise youll get your bang for your buck with the pixma mx 340!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 24 for PIXMA MX340
Nickname: Anonymous

Ink Sucker

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 23, 2012
Pros: reliable, durable, High Quality Output
Cons: Slow Print Speed, Difficult Setup, ink does not last.
I love this printer, however it quickly uses up more ink than any printer I've ever owned. It's really frustrating! It costs approximately $50.00 a box for Color and B&W ink which lasts about a month; and I don't print very much at all! Make sure you turn off the feature that stops the printer from printing when the ink is low. Also there is no back light on the screen which makes it hard to see in low light. Cannon's customer service is great! The quality of the printing is great! It is a bit noisy and slow on start up. However once it's ready the printing is quick. The printing quality is great. The printer is well made. When using the software for scanning and so on, I find I need tech support and or the manual to figure things out. If you don't mind spending money on ink, then this is one of the better printers on market.
Review 25 for PIXMA MX340
Nickname: blue42
Location: Virginia
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Product replacement: No

BEEEP, GRIIIIND, WHIIRRR, BEEEP, BEEP, KAKLAC-KAK

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:May 18, 2012
Pros: easy to use
Cons: Slow Print Speed
Everything on this printer has worked okay. The copy feature is great. I don't even have to turn the computer on to make some copies of a document while I'm running out the door. And you can just put a stack of papers in and it'll scan or copy them all--outstanding for a home printer at this price. But I have never used any printer that took such an incredibly long time to print anything, and that made SO MUCH NOISE. If I want to print one page of a simple document, I can count to 20 before the printer will start. And during that time, it's making a huge variety of clicks, beeps, grinding noises, whining noises, and other noises that have no name. Even when you turn it off, it makes a loud beeeep! And this isn't just the initial warm-up upon turn-on. If I wait a minute or so between printing pages, it will do the whole performance over again, both after it finishes printing one page, and before starting to print the next one a minute later. The word "cacophony" comes to mind. If there was a printer version of a mocking bird, this would be it. But I like mocking birds.
I've had no other trouble with it except that it started printing the black faintly even though it's barely been used and there's plenty of ink. All of the features are great, and if I could make the thing shut up and just print I would like it pretty well.
Review 26 for PIXMA MX340
Nickname: notrealname

bad as the rest

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 2, 2012
generally after 20+ years and continued bloated software why printers can't give a worthwhile messages when they won't work. this one no exception
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 27 for PIXMA MX340
Nickname: Anonymous
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

wireless is worthless

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 15, 2012
Setting up and keeping the wireless is a pain, it works sometimes for a while then you just get to randomly set it up again. The software included is typical bloatware and is essentially useless. Printer itself works good for the price
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 28 for PIXMA MX340
Nickname: redfrog
Location: Crawfordville, FL
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

I Love My Printer!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 31, 2012
Finally, after throwing out too many printers, I can say I Love My Printer. My All-in-One office is just that....takes care of everything and allows me to do something else!
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 29 for PIXMA MX340
Nickname: TP208
Location: Chicago
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

timewaster

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 23, 2012
Wireless connectivity repeateadly stops for unknown reasons. have to uninstall & re-install wayyy too often.
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 30 for PIXMA MX340
Nickname: tony
Location: ashland city tn
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

bad decision on purchasing mx340

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 17, 2012
Pros: prints with great coloring
Cons: its ridiculous the hassle you go through to get th
Ive owned our cannon mx340 for a little over one year & its been a big headache. The wifi - wireless printer is worthless, usually its easier & quicker to connect the usb cord to get the job done faster. Also scanning papers is impossible. Its always wait a while!
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 31 for PIXMA MX340
Nickname: dissatisfied

Printing just stopped working

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 15, 2012
All printing capabilities just stopped working a little over a year after purchase. AVOID this printer!
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 32 for PIXMA MX340
Nickname: workfromhome
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

Unreliable Printer

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 8, 2012
Cons: unreliable
This is the worst printer I have ever owned, don't waste your money. Half the time I can print and half the time I get a message that the printer is not responding. The only way that I have found to fix this problem is go back and reinstall the printer again, which is a big pain. If I had it to do all over again I would NOT purchase another Canon printer.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 33 for PIXMA MX340
Nickname: alitalnik
Location: Grosseto IT
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Good but AirPrint firmware upgrade still missing

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:January 6, 2012
Pros: good quality overall
Cons: no airprint!!!
Good product for the money, could be perfect with a Firmware update for AirPrint compatibility.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 34 for PIXMA MX340
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: Jackson, MS
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Worst Printer Ever

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 10, 2011
This printer is horrible. This will make the second one I have had. The first one was replaced due to an error code that just suddenly caused the printer to stop working. Now the printer they replace that one with....is DOING THE SAME THING!!!! Don't waste the time or money on the printer.
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 35 for PIXMA MX340
Nickname: Holli
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Good Printer but hard to scan

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 10, 2011
I love this printer. I got it at a great price. It was easy to install wireless access. It prints fast and it looks good. I have not used it for pictures. The only draw back is that the menu is really hard to use for scanning. It finally worked but I dont know how I did it. I would like to put the item on the copier and hit scan and that be it. I had to work the menu from the computer and it finally scanned. Good scan pic but hard to use.
Review 36 for PIXMA MX340
Nickname: Anonymous

Waste of money

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 22, 2011
Cons: unreliable
Terrible choice if you are relying on wireless access.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 37 for PIXMA MX340
Nickname: plugnickle
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

paper jam

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:October 10, 2011
Cons: paper jam
I bought this printer about 16 months ago - been a good printer - all functions work well - had a paper jam yesterday - can not get resolved - unable to get to the area where the tiny bit if paper is lodged - resolution is to junk the printer - for a paper jam?
Review 38 for PIXMA MX340
Nickname: EvilBoost
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Worked a Hard 6 Months

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 23, 2011
Pros: Easy Setup, fast print speed
Cons: High Ink Consumption, unreliable
Bought this Printer New for my Motorcycle Shop, Lasted 6 months hit a paper jam and never worked again... Not my first Printer, But the shortest life yes, I tried alot of online forum support and nothing worked to fix it, no support! Great Product, not so good Design...
Review 39 for PIXMA MX340
Nickname: oregon

Uses color ink for all printing

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:September 22, 2011
Pros: Compact Design, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use
Cons: High Ink Consumption, color ink for all printing
This is a good printer, scanner and fax. However, and this is a big however, the printing options are color or gray scale. In both cases the color cartridge is used and empties faster than the black one. I did not know this when I bought the machine. I will be replacing it in the next month or two after I do some research as to what machine allows for black printing only if desired.
Review 40 for PIXMA MX340
Nickname: dap
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Product replacement: Yes

a piece of junk

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 15, 2011
Cons: Difficult to use, Difficult Setup, unreliable
the set up and tweaking directions are very unclear and very complicated
and while youre trying, it is very hard to read the tiny screen
and it keeps getting out of whack somehow so you have to keep doing it
and the manual is not very helpful
and the ocr doesn't work,and while in warrenty i got suppot and the guy said its no good, buy one.
5 of 8 people found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site