Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Refurbished Products Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop Refurbished Products or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PowerShot S95

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

PowerShot S95

Canon's HS SYSTEM with 10.0 Megapixel sensor and DIGIC 4 Image Processor RAW + JPEG, with P, Tv, Av, and M shooting modes Bright f/2.0 wide-angle lens and Hybrid IS for blur-free shooting even close-up Customizable control ring for easy operation of manual or other creative shooting settings
Average Customer Rating:
4.404 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(94 Reviews) 94
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (94 reviews)
5 stars
60
4 stars
21
3 stars
7
2 stars
3
1 star
3
82 out of 94(87%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PowerShot S95
Review 1 for PowerShot S95
Nickname: alexmd2
Location: USA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Travel

Look no further

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 23, 2012
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images, low light performance, portrait lens
This is probably one of the best deals on a pocket point and shoot cameras out there. The lens is awesome, wide aperture lets you take shots without using flash where you never thought it was possible. Museum goers - this is great camera for you. Last year I took it to Paris and was extremely happy with natural light indoor photography. It is built like a tank and very compact - it will actually comfortably fit in a jean pocket. Had no issues with it in about 2 years of abuse. Perfect companion to my D7000.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PowerShot S95
Nickname: Rich

Poor Point and Shoot Camera

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 17, 2012
I have yet to take a decent picture using the Auto function on this camera. Every image, in all different lighting conditions, is of a low quality.
3 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PowerShot S95
Nickname: Z
Location: ND
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Realy good first camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 25, 2012
Pros: Fast auto-focus, easy to use
Cons: Semi-sharp images
I purchased the Canon S95 for general photography and astrophotography. And i am glad i did, with a max of a 15s exposure, high ISO and super wide apeature, it makes it a perfect fit for wide field astrophotography, and night tme shooting. its picture quality is very good for a compact, and noise is fairly low as well. it is an awesome camer and my next camera will be a Canon DSLR!
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PowerShot S95
Nickname: afarhat
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 19, 2012
I've been using the Canon S95 since almost 2 years now and although the new S100 has a couple of better features, I still have a bond to my S95. I am a demanding amateur in photography and the quality and versatililty that the S95 offers for its size and price cannot be easily matched. I love its German-like, minimalist design (even nicer and simpler than the S100). I recommended the S95 to many friends and confused strangers as well.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PowerShot S95
Nickname: Magpie
Location: Missouri
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Good choice

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 3, 2012
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Super-sharp images
My last camera died, so I purchased this camera after doing little research before a big family trip and before the holidays. I have been so pleased so far with the quality of the images, how easy it was to learn the camera on the fly, and the quality of the video. Glad I spent the extra money on this device!
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PowerShot S95
Nickname: Someone
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Replaced my S90 (lost it in Vegas):

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 15, 2012
Pros: great photos, features, 95% like an s90, very happy with it
Cons: not an s90
I had owned an S100 for 10 days, and exchanged it for the S95. Understand, I owned an S90.
My review.
Since it has the same components, it takes great images. I love it but still getting used to it. Great new features, super vivid kinda gives me a headache. So I don't use it much. Great macro, great images. Great S90 replacement.
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PowerShot S95
Nickname: Boberinni
Location: Detroit
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great Camera - DSLR Companion

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 12, 2012
Pros: f/2 lense is awesome, iso levels <=800 approach my 20d, front control ring, fits in my sd550 belt pouch, stereo mics and 720p
Cons: pop up flash seized - i used it for a little fill
I use this camera in two modes - manual and video. The manual controls are sweet.
I bought this camera to replace my SD550 carry everywhere camera. Since CS3 cannot support S95 RAW, I currently shoot only JPG and edit in CS3 ACR using my 20D/40D RAW process flow. It works great.
The f/2 lense lets me grab tons of stuff my 40D and 17-40 f/4L cannot get handheld. Handheld night shots around Detroit are great with the S95.
My pop-up flash seized after about a year of ownership. This worries me about investing another $200 in a waterproof housing (thanks to my G9 being worthless after the internal strap screw fell onto the circuit board and made it a $700 paperweight with a waterproof housing...), since the S100 housing is DIFFERENT. I used the flash for fill for a few shots. Now I overexpose and bring down the highlights to compensate.
Overall, this thing is well worth the $$. The S100 should be even better.
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PowerShot S95
Nickname: The Ogre
Location: Rocky River,Ohio
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Just AWESOME!!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 9, 2012
This is my 4th canon camera and I love it!! Its small and has a ton of Features. Pics come out awesome! I use it in program mode with my custom settings and Wow!!
Its small and powerful. Great job Canon
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PowerShot S95
Nickname: AccidentalTourist
Location: Columbus, OH
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

State-of-the-art

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 2, 2012
Received the Canon S95 as a Christmas gift. We have had several Canons in the Digital Elph series. Never had a problem with any of them. The S95 is a cut above them, but almost as compact; the lens housing protrudes a bit but it is still a "pocket-sized" camera. The display is huge and bright; all controls are intuitive. Picture quality is excellent, especially in low light when you might want to use the "cancel flash" feature. Manually adjustable but have not tried all those features yet. The image stabilizer cancels all but the most abrupt camera shake. Bought an 8G card, good for 6K+ photos! A fine small camera that should satisfy even the most discriminating photographer.
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PowerShot S95
Nickname: irrated
Location: Va
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Users Guide

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 27, 2011
I am extremely irrated that my new camera did not come with a printed (hard copy) users guide. I printed the users guide out from the disc and its 195 pages long. Irratents: manually printed copy is cumbersome and had to read; can't take manually printed copy on trips etc in case need to consult the manual. You would think that at the cost of this camera it would at least come with a users guide.
22 of 103 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PowerShot S95
Nickname: raffy
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

LOVE this camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 29, 2011
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, durable, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
I bought this camera a year ago after getting poor photos from my older camera during a baptism service. I couldn't be happier. On a recent trip to Philly, I was the only one in the group who got a clear shot of the original document of the Constitution where there is no flash allowed! My shot was perfect.!! (the room is dark). Shooting in normal conditions, they are well above average. Small enough to fit in my pocket, with a good sturdy shell, a very well made camera!! Thanks Canon!!
13 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PowerShot S95
Nickname: Beth Hancock
Location: Port Huron, MI
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Wonderful camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 29, 2011
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Last year I bought a Canon S95 because I wanted a camera I could keep in my purse and always have with me. I thought I was spending a lot of money for a camera but it has proved it's worth.
I just got back from a week in London and Paris where I shot 540 pictures, each one perfect, even when I was shooting out the window of a moving bus or indoors without a flash. I couldn't have been more pleased with the quality and ease of use.
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PowerShot S95
Nickname: TomH
Location: Dallas
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great small camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 26, 2011
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Have a Canon semi pro SLR with many lens. This is the first small camera that fits in my pocket, that I trust to take reliably good photos in low light. The camera has excellent photo quality, great flexibility and good ergonomics.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PowerShot S95
Nickname: don
Location: Los Angeles
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Perfect point and shoot

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 23, 2011
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use, excellent scene options
Canon really did a great job with this camera. The quality is outstanding and the manual control offered is a perfect bridge between a DSLR and a point and shoot. It's the best compact camera out there.
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PowerShot S95
Nickname: thecityoutside
Location: Portland, OR
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Love this camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 6, 2011
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
What I really wanted was a camera that had all the compact portability of a point-and-shoot but with manual features like a DSLR. The S95 has been perfect. I take gorgeous photos in Auto mode but have the option to really dial it in by messing with shutter speed, F-stop, and ISO settings. And the LCD is better than the one on my laptop! Overall, I feel like I got a great quality camera with just the right amount of features for a very fair price.
10 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PowerShot S95
Nickname: Joma
Location: Washington DC
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Good but with some initial quality issues

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 4, 2011
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality
Cons: initial sensor and control wheel quality issues.
Very nice camera with good low light quality pictures.
-It seems that Canon had some quality issues:
The first one I got had dead sensor pixels after going through airport customs a few times, I suspect the sensor to be sensitive to X-ray.The store gave me a new camera.
The second one I received had a very loose settings control wheel on the back and I returned that also and got another one.
-Nevertheless I am very satisfied with the overall performance of the camera. The pocketability is great and picture quality is superb.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PowerShot S95
Nickname: JbfPHoto
Location: Westfield, NJ
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

Fine camera with nice feel

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 2, 2011
Pros: good battery life, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use
This camera has a nice feel with the metal body. Quality of photos have been excellent, only step up would be a G series or EOS series.(No comparison to my 40D with L lens)
Focus is quick without any searching.
Very compact...can fit in my shirt pocket.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PowerShot S95
Nickname: Michael
Location: New York, NY
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

lots of dead pixels, good otherwise

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:September 12, 2011
Pros: Nice features/settings, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use
Cons: Flimsy Construction, dead pixels on lcd, dead pixels on sensor
The camera seems to have good physical build quality, but unfortunately and disappointingly, the quality of the electronics seems to be lacking.
1) My S95 has a great screen, but lots of dead (~10)
2) My S95's camera sensor has some dead pixels as well, leading to dark pictures being ruined by bright spots
Aside from the flaws mentioned above, which appear to be commonplace, the camera would have been great. I think it would be a great camera for those looking to learn about photography since it lets you configure most of the settings on a SLR. I would highly recommend this camera if the issues were sorted out, but can't, because I would consider the issues deal breakers. I would not have bought this camera knowing that Canon would sell a camera with this many defects.
14 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PowerShot S95
Nickname: Voyles
Location: Orlando, Fl
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Best Point & Shoot

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 4, 2011
This takes fantastic pictures with no exceptions. If you are basically a point and shoot person then this is as good as it gets. I don't like to fool with adjustments, but the true point and shoot did not have the same quailty of pictures so I purchased the S95. The only thing I wish it had is a 7+ zoom. 95% of my pictures do not require that zoom but I would like to have it available. I will upgrade to a S95 with a larger zoom when it comes out. But picture, picture, and picture is what taking pictures is all about, and the pictures taken by this camera are great. Also, the video is vary good.
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PowerShot S95
Nickname: krispy
Location: bellingham
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

awsome camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 26, 2011
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Thispower shot95 camera does everything mypower shot xs 100 did and even better!! Its so easy to use and very compact. I love it!!
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site