Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Refurbished Products Reviews

Customer Reviews for PIXMA MG5220

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

PIXMA MG5220

The PIXMA MG5220 is an advanced wireless inkjet photo all-in-one with a stylish, compact design delivering a fantastic combination of performance and convenience.
Average Customer Rating:
4.273 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
 rating
(88 Reviews) 88
71 out of 88(81%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PIXMA MG5220
Review 1 for PIXMA MG5220
Nickname: Canon User
Location: FL
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 7, 2013
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, durable, Lightweight/Portable, Sharp Tones & Colors, fast print speed, easy to use
Cons: Large Footprint, High Ink Consumption
Printer works reaqlly well, good quality on both documents and photos. Wireless setup was a breeze, no hastles at all. really like that it will work at the same time wirelessly and with USB.
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PIXMA MG5220
Nickname: sweet_twee
Location: Orlando, FL
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Happy with product (couple exceptions)

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 15, 2013
Pros: Compact Design, Easy Setup, durable, Lightweight/Portable, fast print speed, easy to use
Cons: High Ink Consumption
I am very happy with the wireless capabilities of this printer, it's the reason I chose this one...I do however wish that it had fax capabilities...I've had other canon products & printers, & the previous owned one was an all in one printer that did everything, print, fax, copy, & scan....this one as good that it is, does not fax!
Also, I never use the color settings, however in a few months the machine is telling me that the color cartridges are empty....they could not be, I'VE NOT USED ANY COLOR...yet I still have to purchase more cartridges!! This is very disheartenly unacceptible to me
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PIXMA MG5220
Nickname: VIngram
Location: Wadesboro, NC
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Great

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 27, 2013
Pros: reliable, Compact Design, Easy Setup, durable, Lightweight/Portable, Sharp Tones & Colors, easy to use
Cons: High Ink Consumption
I love this product. It was easy to set up and use.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PIXMA MG5220
Nickname: Brood
Location: Michigan
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur

Great Printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 8, 2013
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, durable, Sharp Tones & Colors, easy to use
Contrary to other reviews, we have never had a problem with color ink being used while printing black. The separate ink cartridges, cost and ink longevity (ChromaLife 100+) are why I stuck with Canon, and this printer allows the separate larger black ink with the photo black.
The initial load to start a scan or print can take longer than expected, but it isn't below average. The footprint really is respectable for a multi-function with separate feed source options.
I wouldn't recommend this model if you are heavy on photo printing. It's great for the occasional pictures, but for overall photo quality you should look up a couple models to get the extra photo ink options for better quality.
For the price and features, this is a great unit. It has been solid for the past year and a half, and look forward to more use.
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PIXMA MG5220
Nickname: Jo
Location: VA
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months

NOT FOR COLLEGE!!!

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 25, 2012
I could see this as a good printer for someone that doesn't depend on it to print consistently. But for printing papers it's awful. It takes forever to process the print job, and runs out of ink ALL THE TIME. It even runs out of color ink when I print black and white, and right now I can't print papers because it's out of blue ink. I find it also lies to me about when the ink level is low, because after it tells me that, I can continue printing for about another two months. Canon also doesn't sell the ink required for this printer at Target, which is the only store I can get to, since I don't have a car.
17 of 20 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PIXMA MG5220
Nickname: vicky
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Very Frustrated...

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 22, 2012
I bought this product about 3 months ago, and when I first set it up, everything worked, even printing from a wireless connection to a laptop. Since the first time I used it, it has stopped printing wirelessly, it will not print any .pdf or word document. It will not line up the way it looks on the computer or even print a .gif. This is frustrating me to no end. It may be well priced, but when you have limited funds and you put your trust and money into a product, you expect to have it work they way the company says it will. I will never buy another product from this company.
4 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PIXMA MG5220
Nickname: LM
Location: Texas
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

devours ink

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 26, 2012
Cons: ink usage
I bought this printer in August 2010 and have had it now 8 months. I have yet to go through a ream of paper, and yet I am about to replace the ink cartridges for the 4th time. Also, even when I am printing in only black-and-white, for some reason the color gets used. The only color printing I have done on this printer is about 10 photos, but I am on my third set of color ink. Even though I really like this printer (beautiful pictures, easy to set up, wireless, etc.), I would take it back if I could.
19 of 21 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PIXMA MG5220
Nickname: struckonu
Location: Two,Rivers,WI
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Best Printer EVER

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 24, 2012
Pros: everything!
I normally have purchased other brands but my son has purchased a Canon and I was amazed on the quality of his pictures that I went out the same day and purchased mine! I'm a scrapbooker and I'm always printing pictures and mine look like they are professionally printed. I'm very satisfied with my Canon printer. They come out dry and fast! The printer is very quiet as well.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PIXMA MG5220
Nickname: Barney
Location: McKinney, Texas
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 24, 2012
Pros: good printer
This is the printer I also wanted for printing my pictures. It is more than I hope for, just the right size.
Thanks alot, have a good day.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PIXMA MG5220
Nickname: AnothrBrotherMark
Location: SW Florida
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

copied only so far

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 23, 2012
Pros: never faltered in any print job, fast easy wireless installation
Although I've barely dented the capabilities of this machine it has far exceeded my expectations of a unit comparatively priced so low. It was extremely easy to set up the wireless function and a dream to use. It is my first wireless multifunction by any manufacturer, but the quality print is at the top. I've run out a few photos on regular copy paper and the detail was fabulous. I'm just very happy with it and expect good scanning. I have scanned something. I just remembered. It was good. I got this baby real cheap at a Walmart and it is fabulous. I wish I had taken the time to incorporate a fax, but the good results I'm getting with the printer, copier, and scanner made the snap decision on the inexpensive unit worthwhile. A print from online (yeah, I know I said I only copied...most of what I have done is print from online...go figure) the print time takes a little bit to gear up before it goes, but it may be a lag in my internet connection which is coming off a wireless router that is not showing all the bars available for the best connection. Just a good deal from Canon. I'm just really surprised because it's my first Canon and I was half expecting a dog. A real good surprise.
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PIXMA MG5220
Nickname: Sunny and bright
Location: Fort Myers, FL
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great Buy

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 16, 2012
Pros: easy set up, good color quality, auto paper feed
Love the printer. Easy to use; set up for WiFi and no problem; prints fast; good color; smart design.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PIXMA MG5220
Nickname: CATHERINE
Location: Florida
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

RED

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 11, 2012
Bought this printer to replace another brand that advertises quality photo printing (can't mention brand). The other one was printing B&W with a red cast. Turns out this one is almost as bad for B&W as the other one and color prints are much redder from the printer than they show on the screen. The other one does color much truer.
Straightforward copying is too complicated on this one--too many options.
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PIXMA MG5220
Nickname: ichy7
Location: Des Moines, IA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Mediocure

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 16, 2012
Cons: high consumption ink., low capacity ink containers.
My last Canon printer finally gave up with a printhead wiper container was FULL. You cannot empty this thing, only take it in to be replaced and that cost as much as a new printer. (Can you say, "Planned obsolesence)" Purchased the new MG5220 with great expectations, but... very disappointed in the ink containers. I stayed with Canon because I like the seperate ink tanks, but little did I know that they had reduced the size of them by about 35% and they increased the price if them too over the older BCI tanks. Also these newer tanks are no longer clear, but now black so you can no longer see through them to tell how much ink you actually have left. The older BCI tanks lasted forever, but these new ones seem to runout almost weekly. The all in one scanner works fine, but it's not a trade off for ink refills. But what choice do you hav eleft, but to purchase one of their "newer" MG models and LIVE WITH IT! Good luck and hope you have lots of cash on hand if you print anything at all.
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PIXMA MG5220
Nickname: Miss Priss
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Love My New Canon Printer!!!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 11, 2012
Great product!! I have been putting off purchasing a new printer for months now and found this one today. The price was fantastic!! Got home and set it up....easy...followed the step by step instructions and was like taking a walk in the park!!! Prints great and photo's look great!!!
Love the wireless access and have it hooked up to both my windows and mac computers.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PIXMA MG5220
Nickname: Dante
Location: College Station, TX
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Slow Loris

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 9, 2012
Pros: pretty, good book end, nice for stacking things.
Cons: doesn't connect to wifi, pain in the butt to update, no usb with the device, loud, makes earthquakes when it prints, worked for less than a week, can't print word documents off a flash drive, can only print certain sized pdfs???
This is absolutely terrible. Everything about this thing screams glitchy, from the Wifi connection, to actual printing. I got this thing when I started college...it worked for a grand total of THREE DAYS. I spent hours trying to figure out what I could do to fix it (It WILL NOT print from my computer using wifi and it DID NOT come with a USB to print it that way) I enter the correct password for my router into the piece of junk and it keeps telling me it is wrong and won't connect to ANYTHING.
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PIXMA MG5220
Nickname: Steve
Location: Dallas TX
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 22, 2012
Pros: wireless very easy to set up
Cons: horrible print quality
After many years of using another major brand of printer I tried this Canon MG5220. I works OK as a text printer, but it fails miserably as a photo quoality printer. The colors are way off, no amount of tweaking in Photoshop can bring them anywhere close to acceptable. Printing a purge print pattern looks OK, but when you try a picture of any sort, the only word to describe it is HORRIBLE.
The scanning feature does appear to work, although very slowly.
I have been using a Canon Camera since they came out with the Elan IIE, and am now on my second Canon DSLR. I really had hoped that the printer would provide the same degree of satisfaction as their cameras.
1 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PIXMA MG5220
Nickname: differenttake
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

All in one?

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:January 16, 2012
This is NOT an all-in-one. All-in-ones have fax capability.
This is a decent printer, scanner and copier for the money.
The software is buggy to install and the network setup is overly complicated. For instance, how exactly do you enter your network passkey? There's no keyboard onscreen.
Apparently this is unimportant. Unless you want to use it.
4 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PIXMA MG5220
Nickname: Powder28
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Wonderful Printer!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 3, 2012
I just bought this printer, it is AWESOME. I have an iphone 3g that I downloaded the free app so I can print from my phone to the printer. The picture is great, the set up was so easy.
This printer connected to my Wi-Fi in the easy setup that was flawless. GREAT PRICE and Buy!!!
I've never owned a Canon printer and will recommend this to everyone!
9 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PIXMA MG5220
Nickname: KopyKing
Location: Indianapolis
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Awesome Value

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 2, 2012
Pros: easy set-up, great print quality, great scan quality, works equally well with mac and pc, unbeatable value
The set-up and ease of use of this combination printer and scanner is unbeatable! Purchased this as an after Christmas gift to myself because I needed a wireless print device. Took less than an hour to set up and load print and scanner drivers to my Mac and PC. First time scan and print jobs went through effortlessly on both machines and almost as fast as my previous wired print connection. Haven't found any cons to this device yet! I would highly recommend.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PIXMA MG5220
Nickname: Gaddyg
Location: St Louis, MO
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Fantastic Canon MG5220

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 30, 2011
Pros: everything
Cons: nothing
I have owned the MG5220 for about a week and I would sincerely recommend the all-in-one to everybody. I am very impressed by the user interface on this machine. Should you need to copy simply press the copy button, scan similarly. Paper loads in a cassette in the front or sheet feed from the rear. Duplex mode is standard and works without effort. Setup is straight forward, no special skills required. Print and color quality are excellent and speed is good. I have not used the wifi connection.
This is an all-in-one that simply defines what an all-in-one should be, good quality prints, lots of features, very intuitive to operate, not at all 'fussy'.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View full site