Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / EOS Cameras Reviews / EOS Digital Cameras Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop EOS Digital Cameras or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
4.574 out of 5
5 out of 5

Customer Reviews for EOS 60D

EOS 60D

18.0 megapixel CMOS imaging sensor (APS-C size) Up to 5.3 fps shooting speed; Burst Rate - 58 Large/Fine JPEGs, or 16 RAW images First EOS camera ever with vari-angle LCD monitor (over 1 million dot resolution) Full HD 1920x1080 video; manual exposure control and sound level control possible
Average Customer Rating:
4.665 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(221 Reviews) 221
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (221 reviews)
5 stars
175
4 stars
29
3 stars
9
2 stars
5
1 star
3
186 out of 203(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for EOS 60D
Review 1 for EOS 60D
Nickname: Tweet150
Location: Minnesota
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Portraits
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

My favorite camera so far

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 4, 2015
This is my 4th Canon SLR and I love it! I got the 60D when it launched and I have not been disappointed yet. It's a little heavy, but I expect that in a good product. I use it for weddings, portraits, landscapes, macro, travel, sports, everything. It goes with me everywhere I go. It's easy to use, there is a ton of different functionality so you can personalize it to your needs. Paired with the right lens you can capture absolutely amazing photos. I am more than pleased with this camera. I am sure there are bigger and better out there, but for the price and options it's a great investment!
Review 2 for EOS 60D
Nickname: peos60d
Location: Beaverton
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Best camera purchased

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 29, 2015
Best camera I purchased. Easy to use features. Manual feature is like the old canon cameras.
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for EOS 60D
Nickname: GreenMonstah
Location: Albany NY
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Just OK

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:May 21, 2015
I was forced to purchase this after my 50D broke and by that time, that model was discontinued. My biggest gripe witht he 60D is the mirror shake. I do a lot of macro where the detail and sharpness really count and more often than not, the image is not crisp from the mirror vibration. It's on a tripod and I use a remote shutter release. There should be no blur.
It's terrible in low light situations, producing very noisy images. I also don't really know why Canon is such a big fan of the HD video. Unless you're doing interviews where the subject is stationary, it's pretty impossible to take usable video on this because while there is autofocus, it is not constant and is very slow. Canon, you should just stick to pictures. If someone wants video, they'll buy a camera specifically made for it.
Despite the gripes, I have been able to get some pretty decent pictures. The movable screen has helped in a few situations where I needed to put the camera over my head and needed to compose my shot or if I was on the ground taking a picture of a flower at an upward angle and couldn't look through the viewfinder.
Overall, I'm disappointed with the performance of it. This camera definitely wasn't worth what I paid for it. I can't wait until I can afford the 5D Mark III.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for EOS 60D
Nickname: JG
Location: Boston, MA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Fantastic camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 24, 2015
I personally enjoy the physical body of this Canon camera over the other cameras I own. And the adjustable display screen is also an extremely useful tool to have while filming or using a a tripod. Overall, I am quite satisfied with this Canon product so far!
Review 5 for EOS 60D
Nickname: jpmalonesr
Location: Owego, NY
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 17, 2015
Even though I just got this camera I love it. There are so many features that it is not an easy camera to learn but my experiences with using the XT, XTi and Xsi have smoothed over the edges. I wouldn't have wanted to come into this camera cold. Before I actually got the camera I downloaded a pdf of the users guide. This is one of those rare times when I would advise anyone interested in this camera, or any of the advanced Canon EOS cameras, to READ THE MANUAL.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for EOS 60D
Nickname: Ambereull
Location: Valley City, ND
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Portraits
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Beginner & in love

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 3, 2015
I'm in love. I haven't taken any class and this is my first camera purchase and I love it! My goal is the 5d mark iii
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for EOS 60D
Nickname: ImaClickin'
Location: Loveland, CO
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Excellent product!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 16, 2015
I recently received a Canon 60D for Christmas, replacing my Rebel Xti. This camera is brilliant! My favorite features include the ability to shoot in low light situations with ease, and the ability to shoot both jpg's and RAW in one shot is amazing! That battery power is also amazing. I spent two weeks on a Caribbean cruise, and took well over 250 shots, and still had half the battery life left. And the shots were crystal clear, using my two Canon zoom lenses.
Thanks, Canon, for a fine product. I can't imagine why Canon has stopped production of this camera!
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for EOS 60D
Nickname: Syd
Location: Galati, Romania
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

My first DSLR

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 10, 2015
It was a gift from my mom, my very first DSLR and she made the made the best decision in choosing this camera. Of course she asked my uncle for help as he is a professional photographer and he recommended this camera because its just perfect for an amateur like me.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for EOS 60D
Nickname: Rocka
Location: Co Springs CO
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Best Camera I owned!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 3, 2015
This is a top of the line Canon. The pictures are stunning!!!!
Review 10 for EOS 60D
Nickname: Dexterlivemusic
Location: Carolina ,PR
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Portraits
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

More than even expect

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 16, 2015
Best give ever . It fills everything I need .love it
Review 11 for EOS 60D
Nickname: Balaji
Location: Alpharetta, GA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Best Purchase Ever "My First DSLR Camera"

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 2, 2015
For a starter to begin with using DSLR Camera, this is the best shot. It is very user friendly.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for EOS 60D
Nickname: matt2848
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Portraits
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 19, 2014
This camera is great with lots of great features.
A major upgrade from the t4i.
Takes great pictures and video.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for EOS 60D
Nickname: A Obenshain Photo
Location: HUNTSVILLE, AR
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Portraits
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

great start out camera.

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 18, 2014
Great to start out with. Easy to use and great camera for the price.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for EOS 60D
Nickname: kat
Location: Virginia
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Very nice

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 12, 2014
I have had this camera for a couple of years now and it has never let me down. Speed and stabilization is great. I am not a camera geek and can only tell you the pictures are wonderful. Any bad pics have been all my fault. Does more than I ask of it. I have never been happier with a purchase. It has also taken its share of beatings - although I have not dropped it from a height. I carry it in a backpack and tend to throw it in my car when I am on the go. I hope to save my money for a larger lens to take even better wild life pictures. All in all, could not be more satisfied.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for EOS 60D
Nickname: tomcat
Location: Stuart, Florida
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

Why should I upgrade to a 7D Mark II?

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 23, 2014
I started out my Canon camera purchases with point and shoot models when digital cameras first came on the scene. My first DSLR was a Canon xsi. I really feel in love with that camera and shot many thousands of shots without a problem. Many of them turned out so well I entered several in contests and they at least got published.
Now I was a committed Canon fanatic with my EF compliment of lens, I decided to upgrade to a 60D. I have had this camera now for about three years and have shot thousands of photos with it. I just love this camera! The quality of the photos I take, even cropped and brought into LR and PS are simply amazing.
I am now in a position to upgrade to one of the newer Canon models. As a member of Kelby One when I saw Scott Kelby review the Canon 7D Mark II, I almost bit the bullet and decided to purchase one for myself for Christmas. I liked how all of my lenses would fit the camera body and the fast shutter speed and low light performance almost got me hooked. Then I started getting more serious about the purchase by looking at the features of my 60D vs the new 7D Mark II. First of all, I didn't like the fact the 7D doesn't have an articulating monitor screen. Next I didn't think I really needed that much more speed in burst mode vs my 60D that I have found very acceptable. Lastly, I know it must be great to be able to shoot without noise in the much higher ISO setting with the 7D, but is it really worth me to upgrade at this time.
The final conclusion is my decision to stay put with my trusty old 60D and perhaps put my money into a couple more lenses. I really wish at least Canon had put the articulating monitor screen on the new 7D Mark II. I use mine a lot, especially when I shoot video and get in a position when the camera fixed screen just isn't going to allow me to see my shot.
13 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for EOS 60D
Nickname: mark-in-seattle
Location: Seattle, WA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 26, 2014
A wonderful DSLR camera, mediocre to poor support utilities.
Love learning more about my 60D, however on a Mac, EOS version 2, the photo transfer program, has an annoying "feature". Every time you manually run the program it insists on re-installing itself in the Mac's bootup "Login Items" list running in the background whenever the mac is booted. This degrades OSX reliability, is a security issue...yada yada and is not what this user wants EOS to do. It can not be disabled in EOS preferences, forcing the user to enter System Preferences to manually delete EOS from the Login Items list... every time... a pain. Looking for a replacement photo transfer program and will inform Mac and photography website forums about this program's un-user-friendly behavior.
Otherwise I love my 60D and have carried it on travels to 3 continents.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for EOS 60D
Nickname: DonutStick
Location: Jay, FL
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Canon is the best

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 19, 2014
Since I've been using my Canon EOS 60D, I've always shot Manual, Raw, and on a Tripod; shooting with this Canon gives you all of that and more. The operation of this camera is very easy (just remember to read your manual and shoot every day); controls are logically placed to where they are most convenient to the photographer to use, even while looking through the viewfinder setting up the shot. The resolution given by the 18 mega pixel sensor is outstanding (it definitely shows in the work I've done in school with this camera). With this Professional Canon camera you can't go wrong.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for EOS 60D
Nickname: M. C.
Location: medford, new york
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

canon follower

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 26, 2014
I love my Canon Cameras. i love the look, the size and features of my EOS 60D. my only problem is taking pictures in LOW LIGHT. pictures are much too dark. Any feedback on how to shoot better pictures in a low light setting.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for EOS 60D
Nickname: Ollie
Location: Buffalo
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Most valuable gift ever

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 20, 2014
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: noisy, poor flash performance
Got it for christmas, but if I knew that it was this good, I would have bought one a long time ago!
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for EOS 60D
Nickname: ZVD
Location: Chicago, IL
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Sports
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

60D - SD Card Reader Issues

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 2, 2014
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Simple controls/menu
Cons: Poor build quality
I have used Canon SLR cameras for the last 20 years, upgrading about every 4 years to a newer model. My most recent purchase was the 60D. I love the ability to shoot video through this camera. I think the image quality is very good, but would like to have an auto focus feature when shooting video.
Like many others who have purchased the 60D, my camera is no longer working. The card reader stopped working. This is unacceptable given the price I paid and the associated expectations. After researching the issue over the internet I understand that this is a common problem.
24 of 34 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 12 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site