Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / EOS Cameras Reviews / EOS Digital Cameras Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop EOS Digital Cameras or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products

Customer Reviews for EOS 60D

EOS 60D

18.0 megapixel CMOS imaging sensor (APS-C size) Up to 5.3 fps shooting speed; Burst Rate - 58 Large/Fine JPEGs, or 16 RAW images First EOS camera ever with vari-angle LCD monitor (over 1 million dot resolution) Full HD 1920x1080 video; manual exposure control and sound level control possible
Average Customer Rating:
4.67 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(215 Reviews) 215
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (215 reviews)
5 stars
171
4 stars
28
3 stars
8
2 stars
5
1 star
3
186 out of 203(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for EOS 60D
Review 1 for EOS 60D
Nickname: ImaClickin'
Location: Loveland, CO
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Excellent product!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 16, 2015
I recently received a Canon 60D for Christmas, replacing my Rebel Xti. This camera is brilliant! My favorite features include the ability to shoot in low light situations with ease, and the ability to shoot both jpg's and RAW in one shot is amazing! That battery power is also amazing. I spent two weeks on a Caribbean cruise, and took well over 250 shots, and still had half the battery life left. And the shots were crystal clear, using my two Canon zoom lenses.
Thanks, Canon, for a fine product. I can't imagine why Canon has stopped production of this camera!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for EOS 60D
Nickname: Syd
Location: Galati, Romania
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

My first DSLR

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 10, 2015
It was a gift from my mom, my very first DSLR and she made the made the best decision in choosing this camera. Of course she asked my uncle for help as he is a professional photographer and he recommended this camera because its just perfect for an amateur like me.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for EOS 60D
Nickname: Rocka
Location: Co Springs CO
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Best Camera I owned!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 3, 2015
This is a top of the line Canon. The pictures are stunning!!!!
Review 4 for EOS 60D
Nickname: Dexterlivemusic
Location: Carolina ,PR
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Portraits
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

More than even expect

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 16, 2015
Best give ever . It fills everything I need .love it
Review 5 for EOS 60D
Nickname: Balaji
Location: Alpharetta, GA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Best Purchase Ever "My First DSLR Camera"

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 2, 2015
For a starter to begin with using DSLR Camera, this is the best shot. It is very user friendly.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for EOS 60D
Nickname: matt2848
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Portraits
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 19, 2014
This camera is great with lots of great features.
A major upgrade from the t4i.
Takes great pictures and video.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for EOS 60D
Nickname: A Obenshain Photo
Location: HUNTSVILLE, AR
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Portraits
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

great start out camera.

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 18, 2014
Great to start out with. Easy to use and great camera for the price.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for EOS 60D
Nickname: kat
Location: Virginia
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Very nice

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 12, 2014
I have had this camera for a couple of years now and it has never let me down. Speed and stabilization is great. I am not a camera geek and can only tell you the pictures are wonderful. Any bad pics have been all my fault. Does more than I ask of it. I have never been happier with a purchase. It has also taken its share of beatings - although I have not dropped it from a height. I carry it in a backpack and tend to throw it in my car when I am on the go. I hope to save my money for a larger lens to take even better wild life pictures. All in all, could not be more satisfied.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for EOS 60D
Nickname: tomcat
Location: Stuart, Florida
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

Why should I upgrade to a 7D Mark II?

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 23, 2014
I started out my Canon camera purchases with point and shoot models when digital cameras first came on the scene. My first DSLR was a Canon xsi. I really feel in love with that camera and shot many thousands of shots without a problem. Many of them turned out so well I entered several in contests and they at least got published.
Now I was a committed Canon fanatic with my EF compliment of lens, I decided to upgrade to a 60D. I have had this camera now for about three years and have shot thousands of photos with it. I just love this camera! The quality of the photos I take, even cropped and brought into LR and PS are simply amazing.
I am now in a position to upgrade to one of the newer Canon models. As a member of Kelby One when I saw Scott Kelby review the Canon 7D Mark II, I almost bit the bullet and decided to purchase one for myself for Christmas. I liked how all of my lenses would fit the camera body and the fast shutter speed and low light performance almost got me hooked. Then I started getting more serious about the purchase by looking at the features of my 60D vs the new 7D Mark II. First of all, I didn't like the fact the 7D doesn't have an articulating monitor screen. Next I didn't think I really needed that much more speed in burst mode vs my 60D that I have found very acceptable. Lastly, I know it must be great to be able to shoot without noise in the much higher ISO setting with the 7D, but is it really worth me to upgrade at this time.
The final conclusion is my decision to stay put with my trusty old 60D and perhaps put my money into a couple more lenses. I really wish at least Canon had put the articulating monitor screen on the new 7D Mark II. I use mine a lot, especially when I shoot video and get in a position when the camera fixed screen just isn't going to allow me to see my shot.
10 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for EOS 60D
Nickname: mark-in-seattle
Location: Seattle, WA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 26, 2014
A wonderful DSLR camera, mediocre to poor support utilities.
Love learning more about my 60D, however on a Mac, EOS version 2, the photo transfer program, has an annoying "feature". Every time you manually run the program it insists on re-installing itself in the Mac's bootup "Login Items" list running in the background whenever the mac is booted. This degrades OSX reliability, is a security issue...yada yada and is not what this user wants EOS to do. It can not be disabled in EOS preferences, forcing the user to enter System Preferences to manually delete EOS from the Login Items list... every time... a pain. Looking for a replacement photo transfer program and will inform Mac and photography website forums about this program's un-user-friendly behavior.
Otherwise I love my 60D and have carried it on travels to 3 continents.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for EOS 60D
Nickname: DonutStick
Location: Jay, FL
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Canon is the best

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 19, 2014
Since I've been using my Canon EOS 60D, I've always shot Manual, Raw, and on a Tripod; shooting with this Canon gives you all of that and more. The operation of this camera is very easy (just remember to read your manual and shoot every day); controls are logically placed to where they are most convenient to the photographer to use, even while looking through the viewfinder setting up the shot. The resolution given by the 18 mega pixel sensor is outstanding (it definitely shows in the work I've done in school with this camera). With this Professional Canon camera you can't go wrong.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for EOS 60D
Nickname: M. C.
Location: medford, new york
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

canon follower

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 26, 2014
I love my Canon Cameras. i love the look, the size and features of my EOS 60D. my only problem is taking pictures in LOW LIGHT. pictures are much too dark. Any feedback on how to shoot better pictures in a low light setting.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for EOS 60D
Nickname: Ollie
Location: Buffalo
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Most valuable gift ever

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 20, 2014
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: noisy, poor flash performance
Got it for christmas, but if I knew that it was this good, I would have bought one a long time ago!
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for EOS 60D
Nickname: ZVD
Location: Chicago, IL
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Sports
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

60D - SD Card Reader Issues

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 2, 2014
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Simple controls/menu
Cons: Poor build quality
I have used Canon SLR cameras for the last 20 years, upgrading about every 4 years to a newer model. My most recent purchase was the 60D. I love the ability to shoot video through this camera. I think the image quality is very good, but would like to have an auto focus feature when shooting video.
Like many others who have purchased the 60D, my camera is no longer working. The card reader stopped working. This is unacceptable given the price I paid and the associated expectations. After researching the issue over the internet I understand that this is a common problem.
24 of 33 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for EOS 60D
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: South Florida
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 13, 2014
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, easy to use
Cons: noisy
Great camera for advance amateur and business. Quality, reliability, good in low light conditions, very good images quality and the hand grip feels good and secure.
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for EOS 60D
Nickname: Bob I
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Fl
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

I am very happy with my purchase

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 1, 2014
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, Simple controls/menu
I have been using the 60D for over a year now and have been extremely happy with it. Will be loking for a replacement for my XSi which is still performing very well...
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for EOS 60D
Nickname: JK
Location: Minnesota
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Long Term User

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 24, 2014
Pros: good battery life, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Bright LCD, easy to use
I wrote a review a few years ago when I first got this camera, and thought I'd add a long term update. 3 years of use and my 60D works as well as the day I bought it. Still looks brand new in fact. I'm pretty meticulous with taking care of my cameras, but nevertheless I'm very impressed with how well it has held up. It's been to Canada and Florida, and many places in between, including on ski slopes, in boats, and in very dusty gymnasium environments. I've taken many thousands of pictures with nary a problem. I originally bought this camera to use for taking gymnastics pictures of my kids, which is a challenging task. Low light, no flash allowed, very fast action, and you are generally sitting up in the bleachers. My favorite lens with this camera for shooting gymnastics is my Canon 85mm f1.8 USM prime. I generally shoot at 1/500 and f1.8, and even in the poor lighting I can often still shoot at ISO 800, even at 1/500. The autofocus works really well for the most part, especially with the USM lens, even on events like floor exercise where the kids are moving around really fast and the depth of field is constantly shifting. I have gotten some great pics over the years, and rarely miss shots with this camera. The high burst rate for this camera works wonderfully too, for those action sequences you want to capture. I've been equally happy taking portraits, nature pics, and just plain old family and vacation pics with this camera as well. I have the 18-135mm kit lens, the 55-250mm zoom, the "nifty fifty" 50mm f 1.8 prime, and the 85mm f 1.8 prime I mentioned above. I use them all and I'm really pleased with the pictures I've gotten with all of those lenses and my 60D. My family is always asking me to take pics of their kids, because this camera does such a great job. Two of my brothers recently went and bought Canon DSLR's for themselves (a T3i and a T4i) after seeing what my 60 D could do. I love the 60D though, because I use the LCD on the top of the body far more than I ever would have thought. It's just so handy for making quick adjustments to settings - something to definitely consider if you are struggling to decide whether you need it or not. I will never buy a camera without it again, personally. Since I shoot video with this camera as well, I should also emphasize the flip out LCD on the back. For video, having that articulated screen is priceless. You can tilt the screen and cradle the camera while shooting and it's soooo much more comfortable than holding a camera without the adjustable screen. Also, you can close the screen when shooting pics to keep it from ever getting scratched. My screen is still pristine after 3 years of use, thanks to being able to close it! My 60D's reliability has been outstanding and I have just loved this camera! Great battery life too. I have two batteries, but have never had to resort to my back up during a single day of shooting. My teenaged daughter has recently taken an interest in photography, and has been borrowing my camera. She has learned to use it very quickly, so that is a testament to the fairly intuitive menus, etc, and shows that a novice can learn with this camera pretty quickly with a little practice. She tells me it's time to pass my camera along to her and pick up a new one for myself. Based on my experience with the 60D, I will have no hesitation whatsoever with buying another Canon DSLR. I'm looking really hard at the 70D, though I may wait and see which features are on the 7D Mark II when it comes out (like whether it has a flip out screen). I'd love to consider bumping up to full frame, but only if Canon adds the articulated flip out LCD to one of those models (hint, hint). The flip out is just too handy for video for me to consider a camera without it at this point, though I can see why people who just focus on pictures might not care as much. At any rate, the 60D has been a truly outstanding camera for me, and has exceeded all of my expectations! Still in love with it 3 years later, and highly recommend it!
39 of 40 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for EOS 60D
Nickname: lady_dragon
Location: Spokane, WA
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

Canon

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 22, 2014
Pros: quiet, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Short battery life
This camera is great for beginners and professionals.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for EOS 60D
Nickname: joe
Location: Limon, Co
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Canon EOS 60D 18-135 lens

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 1, 2014
Pros: excellent picture clarity, ease of use, large screen display, bright screen display, excellent flash coverage, excellent battery life
Cons: absolutely none
Excellent clarity of shots taken Superb recovery time for rapid shooting. Very quick focus time. Very easy to use and understand functions. Display screen is very clear and bright.
Quick and easy to review shots taken. Comfortable to hold. Controls in good positions on camera. Can be used by beginners and pros.
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for EOS 60D
Nickname: Gus
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Just Get it

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 14, 2014
Pros: size, weight, fast burst, reliability, nice accessories range
Cons: noise at 800 and up, rubber grips come off with time
I know there are a bunch of other brands and models, but this is truly one of the best cameras you can get for it's price. I've been using this for around 3 years now and I've grown so fond with this camera that I don't know what I would do without it. Yes, there's the 70D now and the 7D, but this lacks none of the reliability and good performance canon is famous for. I've used and abused it in though environments and it has never failed on me. Good weight to size ratio, good burst, nice resolution (just buy yourself a better lens than the kit lens) and did I mention reliability?. The only thing that you should be aware of, is that 1. you should give it it's periodical maintenance, and 2. the rubber grips will get lose with time, but I guess this is normal, mine are starting to come off but I'm aware that they can be replaced. Overall, this is a great camera! Just get it!.
11 of 12 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 11 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site