Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Refurbished Products Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop Refurbished Products or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for VIXIA HF M41

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

VIXIA HF M41

The Canon VIXIA HF M41 Flash Memory Camcorder features a 32GB internal flash drive and dual SDXC compatible memory card slots in an ultra-sleek, compact and lightweight body.
Average Customer Rating:
4.375 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
7 out of 8(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for VIXIA HF M41
Review 1 for VIXIA HF M41
Nickname: Sparks
Location: Seattle, WA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Images Excellent, Software Useless

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:February 13, 2013
Pros: excellent image quality, easy to use
Cons: Limited Software Compatibility, mts files nearly useless
This camera has an excellent video capture - I'm very happy with it's high-def format, low light capability... good overall.
However, I *would not* recommend this for anyone who edits video on a professional level. Files are stored in "MTS" format (a variant of H264). But it is NOT H264 and is NOT read by iMovie or FinalCut Pro. The bundled software will only convert formats when DOWNGRADING the resolution to a lower setting.
I had to purchase a 3rd party software to convert the videos (very, very time consuming) to be useful on my Mac or PC.
Canon has worked hard to make this camera user friendly for video... but not hard at all (Pixela software) at making the files you construct useful.
I'll be replacing this M41 for a camera with files that can be easily managed in HD format.
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for VIXIA HF M41
Nickname: Outdoors Person
Location: Florida
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Buy one while you can

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:April 30, 2012
Pros: optical viewfinder
Cons: poor touchscreen interface
The best feature of this camcorder is the optical viewfinder. The bew Canons have only an LCD which is dimmer than previous models and is impossible to see in sunlight. The HF M41 has been discontinued so new ones are hard to find. The price of used ones is now higher than that of new ones (if you can find one). It is true that the new models have a better user interface and Wi Fi capabilities, but if you can't see what you are photographing those features are inconsequental. Buy the M41 while you still can. It is a very good camcorder.
8 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for VIXIA HF M41
Nickname: jerseybill
Location: Jersey City, NJ
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 16, 2012
Pros: great low light
Cons: touch screen
Great in low light, the best that i have seen in any camcorder that i have had in the past 25 years without any added video light.
Clear video with bright colors.
Touch screen can be a little tricky.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for VIXIA HF M41
Nickname: ADPKY
Location: Kentucky
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Perfect replacement for a previously perfect cam.

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 28, 2011
Pros: second to none video reproduction., images look like the really did., camera feels great in hand., touch-screen for target tracking ++, sound reproduction is natural
Cons: menu needs major work, scrolling on touchscreen is a pain.
I was in love once I owned the Canon HV20 Camcorder. I once remembered her model by heart but had to look it up. Moving to a mackbook air, no firewire port I was in need of an update. I picked the M41 because other users of my older Canon said this was the perfect replacement. Right they were, this camera exceeds in low-light more than my beloved 1080i miniDV unit. While I agree the settings and menu need major improvement as is a pain, the camera itself makes you forget about the horrible menu. I took night video of Christmas light shows using the preset low light setting and the color reproduction was as close to being there. I have yet to see a consumer camcorder that can record Christmas lights in total darkness without losing the color, until the M41 anyway. Once again, I will always buy a Canon and trust my memories to their ability to capture them and reproduce them just like the day I was there. Even if this is on back-order, it is worth the wait so don't pick another brand, you will regret it. The video is also easy edit on the Mac Ilife and Final Cut despite internet rumors, no conversion required.
35 of 36 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for VIXIA HF M41
Nickname: Scott K
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great Low Light

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 27, 2011
I have a long history of low satisfaction with video cameras, This one has ended this long streak. The featires are great and have everything that the pro-sumer user would need, but the low light ability really adds to the list, and is the sole reason that I purchased this camera.
Love the quality, and especially in close up shots, in fact, its very close to macro.
8 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for VIXIA HF M41
Nickname: Hogie
Location: Kansas City, MO
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

Excellent Camcorder for Semi Pro

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 23, 2011
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Easy Computer Connectivity, Great sound/audio, Accurate, Vivid Colors, Compact Design, excellent image quality, durable, Good Software Compatibility, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, Easy TV Connectivity, easy to use, viewfinder a plus
The HF M41 makes great HD video. Colors are brilliant and the detail is astounding for a prosumer camcorder. I really like the feature that allows for a moving subject to remain absolutely clear no matter where the subject is on the screen. Voice is great and easily heard. Can reduce wind noise outside if desired. And the big plus for me
is the viewfinder which can be used if desired. I have missed viewfinders. Huge plus. Stabilization system
is way above average, in the excellent range for a hand held cam. Great 10X steady zoom. .
v
57 of 59 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for VIXIA HF M41
Nickname: bbear72
Location: Houston, TX
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Excellent Prosumer Camera

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 8, 2011
This is a great prosumer camcorder
I bought this camera during a promotion for under the SRP at a big box retailer several months ago. I chose this model for the optical viewfinder feature.
I use this camera for business and pleasure but pulled the trigger to upgrade because of an upcoming Alaska cruise later this summer.
I've added the WD-H43 wide angle lens which I really like. It's a quality-made product that doubles the camera weight and really throws off the center of balance but I love the increase in viewable area.
I just received the extra capacity BP-819 battery. I used some rewards points so it cost me nothing.
I don't particularly like the touch screen but on auto mode you don't have to do very much on the screen.
Good camera for the price.
22 of 23 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for VIXIA HF M41
Nickname: Jaramooch
Location: Michigan
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Solid Camera for the Price

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 17, 2011
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Easy Computer Connectivity, Great sound/audio, Accurate, Vivid Colors, excellent image quality, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, easy to use
Cons: Flimsy Construction
Theres alot of talk that this new sensor causes a decrease in image detail from the previous s-series...
Well I have done extensive testing comparing the Canon s-10 with the M41
In daylight the M41 is definitely a sharper image (not by alot) , and has better color.
In Lowlight the M41 is worlds better.
I think that the softness or less detail complaints come from low light shooting. I noticed that the images are slightly soft in low light recording. But the alternative is a grainy noisy shot. i'd take the slight decrease in sharpness with much less grain any day.
Regardless in situations where theirs plenty of light the M41 looks amazing.
The touch screen is nice but I'd prefer a manual control as I fear for the longevity of touch screens in general.
The LCD itself is very nice. Although it feels a bit "thin" as in cheap.... I can hear it creak when twisting it.
THe body could have had some more bulk to give it a more solid "tank" like feel like the S10.
A wider lens and a focus ring would make this camera amazing.... Of course theirs the grossly overpriced G10....But I won't fork out an extra 700 for a camera that gets the same images just has sturdier design and some extra features...Not worth it.
71 of 72 people found this review helpful.
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site