Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Refurbished Products Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop Refurbished Products or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PowerShot ELPH 300 HS Silver

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

PowerShot ELPH 300 HS Silver

Don't let the PowerShot ELPH 300 HS digital camera's slim profile fool you. This fashionable device will not only make you stand out from the crowd, but it'll also deliver incredibly brilliant still images and amazing 1080p HD videos.
Average Customer Rating:
3.956 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(45 Reviews) 45
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (45 reviews)
5 stars
25
4 stars
6
3 stars
4
2 stars
7
1 star
3
33 out of 45(73%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PowerShot ELPH 300 HS Silver
Review 1 for PowerShot ELPH 300 HS Silver
Nickname: suzy
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

color problems

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:October 14, 2012
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use
Cons: Complicated controls/menu, poor bright light performance
This camera is great in low light situations and in normal light, but not in bright light. Colors fade out in bright light. I tried auto, and various other light settings trying to match the color in front of me with what was on the screen, and could not find a setting that did it.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PowerShot ELPH 300 HS Silver
Nickname: SteelersD3
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great overall camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 17, 2012
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use
Cons: slippery when used with one hand
I read many reviews of cameras before purchasing this one at Best Buy. I have owned Canon cameras before and always thought they were easy to use and took quality pictures. This camera doesn’t disappoint. We bought ours in the red, which has a nice pop to it, but not over the top. The camera is very thin making it easy to carry in your pocket. For some the buttons may seem too small if you have bigger hands, but overall they had good feel. I recommend using the camera strap because it can be slippery if you only use one hand to take pictures. The battery life is pretty good. My wife and I took it on our Honeymoon only recharging it once during 7 days. Charging time was pretty quick, only a few hours. In the past I thought having double A batteries was the way to go, but with good battery life and the option to buy another one to have fully charged on hand is best. That of course allows the camera to be smaller making it easier to carry. Another recommendation as most people do is to buy a case for it to protect from drops, moisture, or sun light. Pictures look great from this camera. The detail is very sharp and the auto focus works well to take away any blurry pictures. I found that the auto feature works very well too, adjusting to different situations such as low light and night time. Photos taken with plenty of light turn out really well and I was surprised at how well it took night time photos such as fireworks with and without the flash. The specs advertised for the camera reveal that even at only 12 megapixels this camera takes better photos than cameras with 16 megapixels. The speed from turning on to taking a picture is fast enough for most and also taking picture to picture. The one touch movie recorder is an easy to use feature for shooting high quality video with sound. Overall I am satisfied with this camera and have always had pleasant experiences with Canon. I would recommend this camera for anyone looking for an inexpensive camera that takes great photos and is very compact.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PowerShot ELPH 300 HS Silver
Nickname: TG
Location: Phoenix
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Sports
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Missing High Shutter Speed Feature

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:September 10, 2012
Pros: Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use
Cons: Missing features/settings, no shutter speed control
The ELPH 300 HS has one serious flaw that could be fixed by Canon with software. That flaw is that you cannot set a high shutter speed for things like sports photography. Yes, you can pick a high ISO that will increase the shutter speed, but this results in grainy photos. Yes, you can use High Speed Burst for sports, but this results in shutter speeds that are too slow to stop the action and it results in small file sizes that cause grainy photos when cropped.
THE SOLUTION is for Canon to create a "P" menu item similar to the ISO menu item that will allow the user to specify a desired shutter speed. Canon, please read this and fix this problem.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PowerShot ELPH 300 HS Silver
Nickname: Richard
Location: Long Island, NY
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great camera, great value

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 23, 2012
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
I use the camera in business nearly every day. I have had it about 8 months now - it takes great pictures in all sorts of lighting conditions. Handy size. I have tried other brands over the years, but I have to say that I've never been disappointed with Canon.
Review 5 for PowerShot ELPH 300 HS Silver
Nickname: Waldo
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Flimsy

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 22, 2012
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable
Cons: Missing features/settings, Flimsy Construction
I have been using this camera for about 6 months. I was attracted by the sleek little body, and shiny red paint. I also had time to test many different cameras of similar size before buying. In the store, this seemed ideal. It is missing many features I once coveted. Manual focus, precise aperture control, for example. Many of those features I don't really want though, as I use my camera mostly for taking quick pictures of my projects or quick snaps while my child is doing something silly.
For most of my pictures, everything worked out well. The camera seems to focus easily on the desired target. White balance has been satisfactory. Saturation levels are about where they should be (IE: not over-saturated like most junk cameras). Shutter speed is reasonable, though not quick. The camera also seems to do well in low lighting.
One of the best features, and what sold me on this model, was the slow synch flash. That allows the flash a little time to fill in all the foreground, and background with light before the picture is taken. So far, that has been a godsend, allowing pictures to come out that otherwise never would.
However, here we are 6 months later, and I am forced to question Canon's build quality. I only open the battery bay to charge the camera. That isn't needed often. Yet, this most recent attempt was met with the door falling off in my hands. No matter how many times I questioned that on my other camera, it never happened. In 10 years owning it, it never happened. No it was not a Canon. So my advice to anyone buying this: get an extended warranty and hold on tight to the receipt.
5 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PowerShot ELPH 300 HS Silver
Nickname: ozzie
Location: San Francisco
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great all around Deal

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 23, 2012
Pros: simple
My first photo/video camera. Superb color photos. Great auto focus. Easy to carry in pocket or purse. Simple to use. Get a big enough data card for recording movies. I got a 16G which is about 1 hour of video. Get a carry case - I bought the "Caselogic" which has a side pocket for extra cards.
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PowerShot ELPH 300 HS Silver
Nickname: Emily
Location: Seattle
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: No

Poor Lens Cover

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:April 7, 2012
Cons: dents easily
I bought this camera for a trip to Guatemala. I have had it for about five months and took extremely good care of it. I always wore the wrist strap, I always placed the camera in a case so it wouldn't break, and I never lost the camera. I put it in my bag to take it on a day trip and when I took it out to take a picture I had realized the lens had a dent in it and now the shutter doesn't open. I am very disappointed that it could not stand one day in a bag without getting a dent and it was in the camera case. It turns out the warranty does not cover this and now I have to take it to a shop to get it repaired. Otherwise I was satisfied with the camera.
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PowerShot ELPH 300 HS Silver
Nickname: AGG
Location: California
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Big Disappointment

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:April 3, 2012
I have owned 3 excellent Canon point-and-shoot cameras in the past, but sadly this camera represents a big step backwards in quality and performance. The body is cheaper and the paint chips; the shutter is flimsy and cheap and allows dust in when closed; the lens frequently feels it is having an 'error' and refuses to open; some shots are blurry even in optimal conditions, leading to many lost photos; the low-light mode seems worse than past models; and the biggest problem is the terrible battery life, especially in cold weather conditions: it is not uncommon for a freshly-charged battery to decide it is suddenly out of charge after only a few hours of skiing or hiking (not using the camera that whole time, but taking it out for an occasional photo during that time). This battery issue is extremely frustrating and senseless! I warrantied one 300HS due to this, and my second one also has this problem. Come on Canon, get your quality back up to your old standard! I love Canon and want to see these issues fixed!
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PowerShot ELPH 300 HS Silver
Nickname: geezercycle
Location: Canada
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

not happy with this camera

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 29, 2012
I purchased this unit at a local big box store with big expectations, given the other reviews.
I used it for five days, at various functions, and found it to be lacking. For a high megapixel rating it produced blurry, grainy, over-saturated colour pictures. Automatic mode is slow to focus and doesn't lock on at times. Maybe I just got a bad one.
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PowerShot ELPH 300 HS Silver
Nickname: shootingstar
Location: Wisconsin
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

I love this camera!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 26, 2012
Pros: small easy to carry, long battery, features
Cons: focus on close objects
I love this camera and have been using it for about a month now. I love all the features on it, and that it is small and light-weight. It's easy to carry around and comparing it to my friend's camera, this works so much better. My only problem with it is when I want it to focus on closer objects, even with the macro setting, it doesn't work very well, and it makes me frustrated.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PowerShot ELPH 300 HS Silver
Nickname: BikeGeezer
Location: San Francisco area
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great Little Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 25, 2012
Pros: good small fast sharp, great video
Cons: takes .mov video a, low-light picture quality
This is my 3rd Digital Elph and the smallest so far. It is wonderfully small and easy to carry (careful you don’t mislay it!) and reasonably priced. It focuses well, is fast, and has lots of good features. The batteries last well, it is very fast, and takes clear, sharp pictures in normal light. Low-light performance is not so good unless you use the flash. The movies are shocking good for such a small unit, and will fill your big flat-screen with a sharp, almost high definition picture, plus good sound. The only problem is the videos are in the .MOV format instead of .AVI, so they don’t play well on Windows Media Player or Picasa. I would recommend this camera to anyone who needs a very small, good quality pocket camera.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PowerShot ELPH 300 HS Silver
Nickname: Dijon
Location: Mid-West
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

A Great Camera!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 23, 2012
After studying, comparing, and reading reviews I finally decided on the Canon ELPH 300. I am admittedly an amateur who needs the camera to give me great photos with limited help from me! So far it has done that. I'm still learning all the many features it has to offer..so..I expect the best is yet to come. I love the slim compact size, it fits perfectly in my hand...as well as being attractive. All in all I'm well pleased , and the price was very reasonable for such a quality camera.
Review 13 for PowerShot ELPH 300 HS Silver
Nickname: nokk
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

My Second ELPH 300 HS

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 6, 2012
I've been a Canon camera fan for many years now (including 35mm SLR's) but have only recently started shooting with the new compact digital cameras. Last year I purchased my first ELPH 300HS and was fairly amazed that it could do darn near as much as my larger, bulkier, more expensive Canon digital camera. While the ELPH is mainly a point and shoot camera, there are a large number of options for shooting that allow me to do more "serious" photography when the opportunity arises.
What I love most about the camera is the size, or should I say the lack of size. Think the size of a deck of cards, except the camera is only half as thick. It's so small and lightweight that it is easy to forget that it's in my pocket. Along with that, the memory cards are so small, yet hold so many pictures, that I find it virtually impossible to fill up even the smallest of them.
Another great feature is the ability to take rapid successive shots, as well as movies. Making movies is tough....simply push one button and you're recording. But that is typical of the camera, all controls being easy to use, although there are so many options for shooting that it takes a while to find them all.
All in all a great little camera. We're getting ready to take a most excellent vacation and because the camera does such a wonderful job for a very reasonable price, we got a second ELPH 300 HS so we can get twice as many photos.
46 of 49 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PowerShot ELPH 300 HS Silver
Nickname: Anthon
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

damaged 2 sdhc cards

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 21, 2012
Cons: damaged sdhc cards
all the functions are good, but the camera has damaged 2 sdhc cards.Now, Windows and Linux can not recognize the cards, even the cam display "data card error". i've read that now only with specialized labs (high cost) i can recover my photos. lost my money.
2 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PowerShot ELPH 300 HS Silver
Nickname: Tim P.
Location: Wynot, NE
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Great Camera, ignore the haters!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 30, 2011
Pros: great low light photos, fast and responsive, stunning 1080p, no need for flash at all reallyeven in dim light, very bright flash, low grain (even in dim light with no flash), accurate colors, cmos sensor for low light photos w/o flash
Cons: autofocus not always acturate (not big deal)
First off, let me be the first to tell you that I was a sceptic of this camera. I did not think at first that it would be as good as it really is. I do not write reviews, EVER, so this is a very compelling product that you should buy because it brought me to write one :).
I bought this camera two days ago, and got to "break it in" that very night when I got it. My sister in law had her baby, and boy did it ever perform. I was taking pictures in a very low lit room. It was medium sized with only one lamp on. (REMEMBER, you are not supposed to use flash with newborns, so I did not, and this served as a real world test for this camera. I feel that the only way to see how powerful a camera really is, is to see what it can do without a flash) I was scared to look at the pictures when i got home, because, after all this is one of the worlds smallest cameras. I plugged in my memory card into my computer and what i saw shocks me. The pictures taken in a dark room, were clear and were even brighter than the real life room itself. Beings i used no flash this is stunning. There was minimal to NO noise at all in the pictures too! This camera is treading on the grounds of both of my sisters DSLRs and taking it by storm.
I saw one revewer saying that the build quality of these were bad. That is the biggest load I have ever heard. This camera is rock solid, and feels quite literally like a very solid block of iron, it seriously feels that rigid. Absolutely no sense of plastic-ness feel here. It even has a rough (that is the right word, it is textured) but in any case makes you feel like you will never drop it. All in all it just adds to the feel and performance of this device that, if i had the money, would pay double price for.
As for the flash, it is very bright. dont let the small flash lens fool you, this sucker packs a punch. I took a pic of a dark room with flash, and it illuminated the whole room in the picture to appear like it had full lighting on. this was not a small room either.
It has absolutely stunning 1080, plus you have the ability to zoom in while taking video. That in and of itself is one selling point for this camera. Only select few allow you to do 1080, that is all on top of the zoom which isnt in 95 percent other point and shoots. lots dont even give you 1080 either. Colors were ABSOLUTELY awesome.
Need i mention the CMOS sensor? that is what is allowing me to take the great low light photos. Paired with canon's software, these low light photos are grain free (with very very minor exceptions, only noticable when pictures are blown up HUGE!)
As you can see, i could go on, and on all night about this, but you will never experience it until you get one. Go out and buy one. Trust me, you will not be dissapointed. Please disregaurd these people that are badmouthing it! Many people hate canon because they are biased and want a different camera company to be better. Reguardless of what they say, i can tell you that if you can stand still at all, even remotely, for just one second, you can a great photo, even without flash in dark situations.
42 of 42 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PowerShot ELPH 300 HS Silver
Nickname: sam
Location: Minneapolis, mn
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

shaky pictures

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 19, 2011
Pros: nice vidio, amazing options, great video quality, very sleek
Cons: shaky pictures, auto mode sucks, low light is poor
It says Image Stabilization but the pictures are very shaky.
My hand is stable but when I try to take pictures 4 out of 10 pictures are shaky that's not good as i was specific about this feature.
4 of 19 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PowerShot ELPH 300 HS Silver
Nickname: denisse
Location: nj
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

feel like i did a step back.

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 4, 2011
Pros: nice looking, pocketable, nice screen size
Cons: very short battery life, bad low light performance, slow
love and trust canon, owned many cameras. this one felt like a step back in some aspects. battery life is terrible, the worst from all canons i have owned. slow and bad low light performance.
8 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PowerShot ELPH 300 HS Silver
Nickname: Linz
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Great photos, great customer service, flimsy lens

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 11, 2011
Pros: great photos, manual mode options, fast and quality customer service, easy to use, small size, attractive camera
Cons: flimsy lens cover
For the most part, I really love this camera! It takes wonderful photos and I really enjoy having the option of manual mode. My only complaint is the lens cover. The lens doesn't shut all the way when turned off and doesn't open all the way on its own...Customer service was wonderful-- they sent me a refurbished camera an with all new battery and charger etc. VERY QUICKLY, but the new one had the same problem only a few weeks later. I will continue to buy cannon produces because of the quality photographs and customer service.
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PowerShot ELPH 300 HS Silver
Nickname: bowpro
Location: fort smith ar
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

3rd Cannon

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 10, 2011
Great HD video quality. I use my camera outdoors in rough environments. Performs great and produces video that competes with any camcorder on todays market.
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PowerShot ELPH 300 HS Silver
Nickname: meiling44
Location: Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Exceptional videos also

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 6, 2011
Pros: wide-angle lens; good battery life; compact size
Cons: manual on disc so learning features takes time
I purchased this Elph 300HS shortly before my grandson's 1st birthday in August 2011.
Videos are exceptional even when taken in less than ideal lighting. I have posted on youtube and relatives think I've used a camcorder.
I especially like the wide-angle lens since I don't have to move a long distance from subjects to get everyone in picture.
Some features are difficult to access because I haven't memorized how to do it all such as different lightings: fluorescent, tungsten, beach, fireworks, long shutter, snow, hand-held nightScene, etc. When I use the appropriate setting for the different lightings it really makes a difference in the pictures I've taken.
The "fish-eye effect" setting is fun and interesting.
I have recommended this Elph 300HS to many friends and family. I think it is such a great camera that I even recommend it to customers who are shopping for cameras in a local electronics store.
I am not a sales person or a representative of Canon.
I am just a grandmother who needed a new camera to take pictures and videos of my grandson and buying this Elph 300HS was an excellent purchase.
The credit-card compact size makes it very easy to keep in my purse and ready to snap a shot at a moments notice... and the one-step movie button is so convenient to record.
I also purchased an additional battery and a mini HDMI to HDMI cable which makes it easy to connect the camera to watch the videos on a high-definition TV set.
The battery charger which came with the camera charges the battery quite quickly.
21 of 21 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site