Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / EOS Cameras Reviews / EOS Digital Cameras Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop EOS Digital Cameras or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for EOS Rebel T3i 18-55mm IS II Lens Kit

EOS Rebel T3i 18-55mm IS II Lens Kit

Photographers looking for an easy-to-use camera that will help them create their next masterpiece need look no further than the Canon EOS Rebel T3i.
Average Customer Rating:
4.763 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(278 Reviews) 278
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (278 reviews)
5 stars
241
4 stars
23
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
6
257 out of 271(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for EOS Rebel T3i 18-55mm IS II Lens Kit
Review 1 for EOS Rebel T3i 18-55mm IS II Lens Kit
Nickname: 
Location: Granbury, TX
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Simply Amazing Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 9, 2012
Pros: ease of use, redesigned grip, video, numerous automatic modes, numerous manual modes, fps speed, many many more
Cons: price
I still own two original Canon AE1 film SLR cameras and I have owned and used a digital EOS Rebel XTi for the past 3-1/2 to 4 years. This camera was an upgrade and ... WOW what an understatement that is. From the redesign of the grip to the flip-out view screen to the numerous new features ... and the ability to do 1080P HD Video!! As I said in the title ... a Simply Amazing Camera. Whether you are a complete beginner to SLR cameras and are just using it with completely automatic settings or a seasoned veteran photographer using detailed manual settings ... the camera takes stunning pictures. Canon has again set the bar very high with this latest addition to the EOS line.
728 of 747 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for EOS Rebel T3i 18-55mm IS II Lens Kit
Nickname: 
Location: Leavenworth, KS
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Sports
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Great beginner purchase

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 22, 2015
Ordered this camera around a year and a half ago as my first SLR and am now just moving on to the Canon 70D. Great starting camera! Simple enough to use but also takes great photos in the process. Not the fastest to focus or sharpest when it comes to action but a great camera for landscape and portraits!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for EOS Rebel T3i 18-55mm IS II Lens Kit
Nickname: 
Location: Stuart, Fl.
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Difficult to use

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 26, 2015
I've had a Rebel T3i for about a year. It will not take a picture that is any further then 30-49 feet. Beyond that, the image is tiny and not magnified. I have tried every trick I know. Changing lenses is useless. The 5x & 10x enhances the image only on the display screen. The actual picture is terrible and not at all enlarged.
Every single time I use it, I'm disappointed.
1 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for EOS Rebel T3i 18-55mm IS II Lens Kit
Nickname: 
Location: Florida
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

Great Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 29, 2015
Have owned this camera for 4 years now. It has proven to be a versatile and very usable camera. Fast focusing and a fairly accurate metering system. It impressed me from day one. Light weght and comfortable to hold. I own other canons to include the 6D and 70D, but I still find myself gra bing this one for a days shooting simply because I am so used to it. It has never let me down.
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for EOS Rebel T3i 18-55mm IS II Lens Kit
Nickname: 
Location: Canoga Park, CA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Best Entry Level Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 23, 2015
The Canon T3i for me is the best camera for DSLR beginners. The articulated screen is so convenient especially in hard angled views. the kit lens that comes with it will be a good practice lens. I am using this camera for low light shooting and astrophotography and am really happy with the results. I'm sure this camera would last long when properly cared and maintained.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for EOS Rebel T3i 18-55mm IS II Lens Kit
Nickname: 
Location: Washington, D.C.
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Worst camera purchase ever

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 24, 2014
I have had the camera for two years, had to return it twice for defects under warranty, the first time one month after purchasing it because a glitch in the software made it impossible to eject the SD card. Now, I have to send the lens in, (third service request), because a screw has gotten loose and rattles inside, messing up the autofocus function, and at times blocking the manual adjustment altogether. In addition, from the beginning, there were multiple times when the focus just goes in and out, for ever, and makes it impossible to actually release the trigger. Needless to say, many great shots were missed because of this inability to simply shoot. I have had to disable automatic focus. But then again, it is easy to forget that I am no longer on automatic focus, and have to manually focus instead. Result: pictures end up being fuzzy.
In short, this camera is a huge waste of time and money.
4 of 26 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for EOS Rebel T3i 18-55mm IS II Lens Kit
Nickname: 
Location: hardin co. ky
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

best camera i brought

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 12, 2014
takes great photographs haven't got my lights ,background's or my lens covers or hoods yet , but I been taken great outdoor photograph's , so I put them in self publishing book, and made stuff on café press .com t-shirts and more like bedding for twin , king, queen
Review 8 for EOS Rebel T3i 18-55mm IS II Lens Kit
Nickname: 
Location: Annapolis MD.
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

good for beginners

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 14, 2014
this is a perfect camera for bignners With great image quality, simple manual settings, and reasonable price; make this a must have for people starting out
16 of 19 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for EOS Rebel T3i 18-55mm IS II Lens Kit
Nickname: 
Location: Bakersfield, Ca.
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Sports
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Best camera I have ever owned

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 24, 2014
Pros: good battery life, quiet, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
I have used several other brands of cameras. This canon camera is easy to use and by far much superior to other cameras. I am a beginner using this camera and feel like a pro at the quality of pictures it takes
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for EOS Rebel T3i 18-55mm IS II Lens Kit
Nickname: 
Location: Maryland
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

AWESOME T3I

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 18, 2014
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use, you can start right off in auto mode., become a pro from the first time you turn it on!
Cons: sorry no cons here :-(
I bought my T3I a couple years ago and have had nothing but fun ever since. Now my hobby is 100% taking pictures. I love it. I love learning everything about this camera. I'm so proud after posting a picture to the different social networking sites and friends responding how beautiful my pictures are. I like my camera more than I do most DSLR cameras popping out onto the online stores & market. I am a Canon owner for life. Now that I am on 100% disability I've learned to take up my spare time being 'creative'. I can be totally upset and go off to the local park and start taking pictures and forget the bad things that life throws your way. Thanks to ALL the Quality Control specialists that work for Canion. Like I said in the beginning, I have NEVER had an issue with my T3I and can't find anything negative online about my (T3I) camera. When I get the money I will upgrade to the 70D (an old mans dream). Something to hope and wish for, I'll keep saving and maybe get one before I pass on. My T3I will goto a grandson who also enjoys my photography hobby. Sorry this was so long of a review but really just a tip of the iceberg on how I feel about my camera. Best of luck to all new and old photographers out there with YOUR Canon camera. A special thanks to Canin for making such a great product!!
17 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for EOS Rebel T3i 18-55mm IS II Lens Kit
Nickname: 
Location: Michigan
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Great deal!

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 9, 2014
Pros: nice and light., video flip out screen
Cons: no image stabilization
I would definitely recommend this camera. Easy to change sets...with dials! Question or support is only a phone call away.
8 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for EOS Rebel T3i 18-55mm IS II Lens Kit
Nickname: 
Location: Bremerton, Wa
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Intimadated

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 9, 2014
Pros: ease of use, photo quality
Although I have owned a digital camera before, never have i owned one with so many options. I purchased my T3i a week ago and have been reading the handbook that came with the camera. Nothing but confusion. I understood some of what i read, however, when it came time to make my own adjustments to the camera I was totally confused. Then came the birthday party of my girlfriends mother. I was asked to take pictures. At first i was nervous and hesitant to take pictures that everyone would be viewing and seeing my mistakes. Boy! Was I wrong to feel that way. While it was in the Auto mode, i clicked away. I took several shots of people using the portrait mode as well. I was completely surprised to see the clarity, sharp focus as well as the intentional blurring(portrait mode) make my pictures come alive. Now it has me definitely inspired to learn more about my new camera and explore the seemingly endless options of picture taking. Thanks Canon.
25 of 27 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for EOS Rebel T3i 18-55mm IS II Lens Kit
Nickname: 
Location: Chicago, IL
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Great Camera!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 22, 2014
Pros: good battery life, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
I had wanted this camera for about 2 years before I actually made the decision to purchase it. And I am so happy I did! I did a lot of research before I bought it, this being my first DSLR. I decided this was the correct decision for my level of expertise and what I wanted to shoot. The controls are very easy to understand but still have enough complexity to make it different than your basic point and shoot digital camera. This camera is an amazing learning tool and perfect for many levels of photographers.
15 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for EOS Rebel T3i 18-55mm IS II Lens Kit
Nickname: 
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Amazing Beginner Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 17, 2014
Pros: Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use, great beginner camera
Cons: a little to much plastic
I really liked this product because it is very easy to use and fun.
3 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for EOS Rebel T3i 18-55mm IS II Lens Kit
Nickname: 
Location: mesa,az
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

always wanted one finally got one

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 13, 2014
Pros: good battery life, quiet, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: no cons
nothing bad to say about this camera if you thinking about getting one stop thinking and get it I'm glad i did. I did alot of research before getting a camera and all signs pointed to this one.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for EOS Rebel T3i 18-55mm IS II Lens Kit
Nickname: 
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 3, 2014
Pros: good battery life, quiet, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
I have owned a eso rebel 35mm and liked the performance.
I decided to buy the EOS Rebel T3i because of the name and to view pictures before printing.
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for EOS Rebel T3i 18-55mm IS II Lens Kit
Nickname: 
Location: Central PA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Too bad the software doesn't work.

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 8, 2013
Cons: software is out of date.
I might be a lot happier if the software I spent 30 minutes installing on my Macintosh (EOS Utility) worked instead of telling me, right out of the box, that "Cannot be used with this version of the operating system."
On the other hand, maybe the software isn't as good as Graphic Converter, so I wouldn't be any happier.
4 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for EOS Rebel T3i 18-55mm IS II Lens Kit
Nickname: 
Location: Atlanta, GA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Best Entry-Level DSLR

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 12, 2013
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: noisy
I just received this camera yesterday and right out of the box, I have been able to shoot professional-grade photos. The controls are very easy to use and the body is very lightweight. My only suggestion is to invest in lens with better zoom capabilities. Overall, a great investment for people looking to take their photography to the next level!!!
14 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for EOS Rebel T3i 18-55mm IS II Lens Kit
Nickname: 
Location: NY
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Best EOS camera for beginners and Video Makers

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 20, 2013
Pros: Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Simple controls/menu, easy to use, excellent quality videos
Cons: noisy, Short battery life, Heavy/Bulky, zoom loud in videos, zoom shaky in videos
I LOVE this camera! I was hesitant to purchase at first because of the price, but I am so glad I did. I do mostly video and candid photos. This camera is easy to use and takes amazing photos and HD 1080 videos. My only con is that is that the zoom is loud and "piecy" in videos. I would suggest getting multiple batteries also because battery life is short for long videos.
14 of 18 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for EOS Rebel T3i 18-55mm IS II Lens Kit
Nickname: 
Location: New Bern, NC
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Excellent DSLR!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 16, 2013
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Solid Operation, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: noisy
This was (is) my first DSLR and I absolutely love it. Sure, a 7D would be nice; but for someone who doesn't want to spend 1.5k+ on a camera, this is a wonderful alternative. It's worked very well for me, and I don't think I've had one "glitch" or technical issue with it thus far. My only problem with this body is the sound the shutter makes--I really get annoyed by that squeaky sound (as opposed to a simple "click") and I often find myself self-conscious and paranoid that others will get annoyed by it as well. This is a very minor issue, however--and if that's the only problem I have with it, I'd say that's pretty awesome. I've had this camera for about a year now and haven't noticed it being any different from when I first purchased it (and I've used it almost daily). It's lasted me this long and I expect that it will last me at least a few more years--and if it does, I'll gladly stick with it until I run across an issue. I honestly love this camera.
15 of 16 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 14 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site