Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / EOS Cameras Reviews / EOS Digital Cameras Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop EOS Digital Cameras or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
4.588 out of 5
4.739 out of 5
4.447 out of 5

Customer Reviews for EOS Rebel T3 18-55mm IS II Lens Kit

EOS Rebel T3 18-55mm IS II Lens Kit

Perfect for photographers ready to make the move to digital SLR photography, the new EOS Rebel T3 delivers beautiful photos and video, speed, simplicity and fun.
Average Customer Rating:
4.729 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(144 Reviews) 144
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (144 reviews)
5 stars
111
4 stars
28
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
0
139 out of 144(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for EOS Rebel T3 18-55mm IS II Lens Kit
Review 1 for EOS Rebel T3 18-55mm IS II Lens Kit
Nickname: photographer
Location: south carolina
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

great camera price

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 23, 2014
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Bought this camera in the summer of 2012 and it's a spectaculer camera for its price. i got intrested in photography and after looking at prices and other cameras, i chose the rebel t3. WARNING: THIS IS NOT A CAMERA FOR A PRO! Don't get me wrong, i LOVE this camera and have taken great photos with it. i mostly use it for nature photos and it has given me the quality i need. this is a great camera for the hobbyist, the casual user, and even for the lower end of advanced amateurs. i would not advise it for sports, major/pro photography, or videography. though it misses the quick dials dedicated buttons on non-rebel canons, you get where you can change the settings quickly and without looking away from the veiw finder. it's a great camera if you want to have something to hold onto and to hear that cla-click but you're not quite ready to let go of your point-and-shoot. great camera, but if you're planning on doing pro photography, i'd advise you check out the t4i and t5i if you're going rebel, but if you're fine with the complete D seires, i'd say look at the 7d, 5d, 70d, and 60d as well.
Review 2 for EOS Rebel T3 18-55mm IS II Lens Kit
Nickname: Smalz
Location: Detroit, MI
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

This Camera is small but powerful!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 11, 2014
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: doesn't come with a case
I love this camera so much! It's the first camera that I myself have owned. It works so well and the quality of the photographs that it takes is amazing! I was blown away from how crisp and breathtaking the pictures are. I'm very satisfied with this camera and I HIGHLY recommend this camera to anybody wanting to get a professional camera from a phone or smaller camera. Love it!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for EOS Rebel T3 18-55mm IS II Lens Kit
Nickname: jessie
Location: Oregon
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

outstanding unit

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 16, 2014
Pros: lots of excellent features
just bought my second T3. takes great wildlife photos in any weather. Best features are easy to operate and speed of photo. I also like all of the features that allow manipulation of photo.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for EOS Rebel T3 18-55mm IS II Lens Kit
Nickname: Old Man
Location: MB
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 19, 2014
Had a hard time giving up my film. Glad i did. The camera is good value for the cost. There was enough to catch my attention and stay with it. I was suprized at the picture quality that "this cheap camera" could put out. I have given up on film and staying with this for a few months. Until i am more relaxed with this camera and upgrade to a better body. This will be passed on to a grandchild so they can start. Do your self a favour if you can afford to and buy some good glass as these can be used when you upgrade your camera body. I am having a lot of fun with this trying the different filters and I even have had no problems using this in -40 degree for extended time (5-6 hr.) The battery lasts a decent amount of time. If you are not sure about pictures i would say to you to buy this over a point and shoot. You can do so much more.
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for EOS Rebel T3 18-55mm IS II Lens Kit
Nickname: cuevl
Location: Leeisville, Texas
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 7, 2013
Pros: excellent image quality, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Missing features/settings
Purchased this as my first dslr and have been very pleased. I bought this model over other higher models mainly because I didnt require those better features. I accomplished what I wanted with this camera and it exceeded my expectations.
Picture quality was great, features were great, and of course at a good entry level price. As time passed i began to master many of the controls and features and got the most out of it. It was at this point that I started discovering the cameras limits. The focus system tended to be slow at time and very frustrating making me miss the shot. Low light gave it trouble but that was to be expected. The lack of being able to fire an off camera flash was another con.
Again though still a great camera for the money and the picture quality was great. Sure it has its limits but again for this being an entry level I think it serves it purpose just right.
21 of 22 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for EOS Rebel T3 18-55mm IS II Lens Kit
Nickname: n4mjg
Location: Tullahoma,Tenn
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Portraits
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

best camera !

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 28, 2013
Pros: good battery life, quiet, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Heavy/Bulky
The reason i brought this is because it fit my hand perfit ! and this camera does have good pic so far ! it take time to get ust to this and learning more about this T3. i love this camera !!
the down side is this camera is heavy not much thuo !
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for EOS Rebel T3 18-55mm IS II Lens Kit
Nickname: Baby Snapper
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Portraits
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Good entry level

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 15, 2013
Pros: good battery life, Quick Start-up time, Solid Operation, Lightweight/Portable
Cons: Missing features/settings, Poor image quality, noisy
Great for beginners! I bought this to take pictures of my new baby and have been relatively pleased. Overall, it's been great and I have gotten some great images. Now that I've been using it for 6 months it leaves some things to be desired. Here's a list of my gripes;
1: kit lens. Gives you tack sharp images maybe 1 in 5 shots
2: high ISO gives a lot of noise
3: metering: I find myself having to meter the sky and use exposure compensation of -2 stops with a circular polarizer just to get the sky not to blow out and loose data. Fixable in post but annoying.
13 of 19 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for EOS Rebel T3 18-55mm IS II Lens Kit
Nickname: new2digital777
Location: Myrtle Beach, S.C.
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Great Item, Gave me a reason to enjoy life again

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 12, 2013
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Solid Operation, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
I have used this camera for 3 months now with no problems. I had no previous use with a DSLR so I did not know what to expect. I am glad I bought this camera, I go out once a week and look for things to shoot. I never thought I could take a good picture but the t3 is easy to use even in manual mode.
I am disabled in a wheelchair so a heavy camera bag is out of the question, the t3 even with my 75-300 lens on is very comfortable. I cannot think of a bad thing to say about this camera.
I did not get out very much until I bought this camera, now I cant wait to go out and find something to photograph, and I have met some very nice people also photographers. I do admit to lens envy I do want some L glass for my camera.
17 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for EOS Rebel T3 18-55mm IS II Lens Kit
Nickname: Kenyatta
Location: Stafford, VA
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Easy to Use

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 13, 2013
Pros: good battery life, quiet, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use
Cons: Complicated controls/menu
I like the ease of use of this camera. The only thing I would like to have added to the camera is simpler set of instructions for some of the more unconventional functions.
11 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for EOS Rebel T3 18-55mm IS II Lens Kit
Nickname: Nokia 808
Location: Honolulu, HI
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Extremely long battery life

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 7, 2013
Pros: good battery life, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Solid Operation, Simple controls/menu
Cons: low resolution screen
I bought this for my college graduation. However this end up to be my travel mate. Extremely long battery life. I charged the battery for my 2 weeks trip and battery last throughout the trip. Actually it last for almost 2 months!
Excellent image quality.
I can live with its ISO 3200
Very easy to use control and button.
The 50mm F1.8 lens is a must buy. Excellent in low light, sharp, and awesome bokeh!
The only drawback is its low resolution screen, but that's OK with its price range. May be Canon use this to save power for its long battery life!
The Red and Brown color T3 look pretty nice!
Too bad I already had the black one.....
23 of 24 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for EOS Rebel T3 18-55mm IS II Lens Kit
Nickname: chuck
Location: chicago, il
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

best camera i have ever had

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 30, 2013
Pros: good battery life, quiet, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
great camera relitivly durible love the easy to use settings great battery life
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for EOS Rebel T3 18-55mm IS II Lens Kit
Nickname: frankandlynn
Location: Southeast Ohio
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Great Camera For A Rookie

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 17, 2013
Pros: Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Simple controls/menu
We bought the Rebel T3 1100D kit and added the 75-300MM lens about a week ago. We wanted a decent camera, but also wanted something that would take good photos of our back yard birds. We know next to nothing about DSLR cameras,so we researched before we bought and also went through the manual during the first day while charging the battery. The first day we got photos of a robin in the bird bath and the image is so clear that the water is captured on the inmate as droplets instead of streaks. Most of the technical jargon is a mystery to us, but we're able to pick up on the basics of taking pictures. We think we could have gone with a competitor and been fine, but we're more than pleased with what we ended up with.
28 of 29 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for EOS Rebel T3 18-55mm IS II Lens Kit
Nickname: lynn
Location: lexington ky
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

best camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 16, 2013
Pros: good battery life, quiet, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
I love my camera would not us anther one would recommend this camera a friend and famliy
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for EOS Rebel T3 18-55mm IS II Lens Kit
Nickname: Jeremy
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years

Good for Amateurs but Couldl Be Better

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 3, 2013
Pros: good battery life, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: noisy, the flash flashes twice before taking a picture
I bought this camera and in my opinion it's a very good investment especially if you are an amateur photographer. The main cons would be that the flash flashes twice before taking a photo (it flashes every time it focuses) and I really don't enjoy how pictures turn out with flash. However, it is a lightweight camera with in-camera editing if you're on creative mode and it is very easy to use.
13 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for EOS Rebel T3 18-55mm IS II Lens Kit
Nickname: Rebel Addict
Location: IL
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Portraits
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Great Investment

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 29, 2013
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Solid Operation, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Shaky operation
Lovely pictures erect from this camera. It is so simple to use. The quality of the pictures in immeasurable. The camera excels in taking pictures without flash in dark or dimmer settings. I would only suggest that the buyer must be able to hold the camera without moving as the pictures will be blurred.
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for EOS Rebel T3 18-55mm IS II Lens Kit
Nickname: Beth
Location: Mt MORRIS MI
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Awesome camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 19, 2013
Pros: good battery life, quiet, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Purchased this camera for school course, and just love it--have to learn to use manually and is easy to use and learn.--have taken some beautiful pictures with it so for
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for EOS Rebel T3 18-55mm IS II Lens Kit
Nickname: Tnt1007
Location: Southgate MI
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Awesome deal for the price

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 23, 2013
Pros: Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Missing features/settings, noisy
For my 1st DSLR it's well worth the price.i just got it a few days ago and am very happy with its performance. It will take me awhile to learn all the features on it. I also added the 75-300 mm lens as well. Worth the extra money for the zoom. Tonight I was playing with the macro lens, have never used one before. My photos actually turned out pretty good for not knowing anything really about macro photography. Love the size of the LCD screen, not too big or too small. Only thing I wish it had was a "color selection " like some other name brand models. Also it is a little noisy compared to others but its not annoying. Had it had this I would have given it 5 stars all the way cross.
13 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for EOS Rebel T3 18-55mm IS II Lens Kit
Nickname: Cowboy
Location: Twin Cities MN
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Portraits
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 15, 2013
Pros: Quick Start-up time, Solid Operation, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: noisy
I reviewed the other options that were out there and this camera was definetly worth its price. I was used to shooting with point and shoot cameras but this was a great buy for the money. My pictures are great and I am still learning to use all of the features that this camera has to offer.
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for EOS Rebel T3 18-55mm IS II Lens Kit
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: California
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Excellent Beginning DSLR

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 12, 2013
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Poor build quality, noisy
For my first DSLR camera, the T3 jumped above the rest simply for the extremely appealing price. Although the build quality does not feel up to par while in hand, and the loud, high-pitched shutter sound are quite frustrating, overall, I can say nothing else bad about it. It gets the job done and is just a fun camera to use for the cheap price.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for EOS Rebel T3 18-55mm IS II Lens Kit
Nickname: domino
Location: loveland colorado
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

rebel t3

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 4, 2013
Pros: good battery life, quiet, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Solid Operation, Lightweight/Portable
Cons: Dim LCD, Difficult to use, Complicated controls/menu
For an entry level camera I found this to be a good buy. Having researched the alternatives as best I could the canon t3 won out for its wider lens options. The one thing I would like to see is more support for mac os 10.8 since none of the software is compatable which is a bummer. Also more detailed information on what each function does and how to access it would have been greatly appreciated. The pictures I have been able to take with my novice experience has me speachless. I would recommend this to anyone starting out in the field.
6 of 8 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site