Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Printers & Multifunction Reviews / PIXMA MG Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PIXMA MG Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PIXMA MG8220

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

PIXMA MG8220

A sleek, beautiful design is your introduction to the superior quality, versatility, and ease of use you'll experience with the PIXMA MG8220 Wireless Inkjet Photo All-In-One.
Average Customer Rating:
3.5 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
3
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
6
15 out of 24(62%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PIXMA MG8220
Review 1 for PIXMA MG8220
Nickname: Txsinger
Location: Houston, TX
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great Printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 13, 2014
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, durable, Low Ink Consumption, Sharp Tones & Colors, easy to use
I am not sure what all of the complaints about this printer are. I have been using it over a year now to produce pictures and CD covers for my band. The scanner works with out a hitch, the print quality is great the speed is decent and the ink has lasted well I am only on my second batch of inks and over 1000 cd's and covers printed. I am going to attribute the other people's issues are due to lack of knowing how to set the printer correctly. I would highly recommend this printer.
11 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PIXMA MG8220
Nickname: april
Location: Temple, TX
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Would be great if all the features worked

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:April 10, 2014
Pros: Sharp Tones & Colors
Cons: Difficult to use, unreliable
Have had our printer for about 3 months. Blue tooth connectivity works well. Print quality is good. Speed is ok. Ink runs out faster than I would like. If you plan to get this to print pictures- look for another printer. The back feed tray that is supposed to hold picture paper doesn't work well at all. When you do finally get it to recognize the adjusted feed tray you have to deal with file feed errors. For what we paid I wish we could return it and get something else.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PIXMA MG8220
Nickname: Pinocchio
Location: Aptos, CA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

MG8220 Review

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 27, 2014
I am an advanced photographer and printer user. I have used this printer for over a year. The interface is poor. The ink cartridges are too small. The print quality is poor. The scanner is complicated. Photos are not worth printing on this printer.
6 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PIXMA MG8220
Nickname: Tom
Location: Nashua, New Hampshire
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Not reliable - slow

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 4, 2013
Pros: wireless setup
Cons: Difficult to use, Slow Print Speed, High Ink Consumption, unreliable
The features are excellent when working. My three complaints are:
Prints many copies when I only select to print one. This has happened many times and drains my ink cartridges (which are obscenely expensive). This just happened moments ago when I discovered I had over 20 pages of the same thing. I assumed I was out of paper but 5 minutes later another page came out. A software bug that clearly benefits Canon's cash flow. And no, it is not user error, after the first occurrence I have been extremely cautious before hitting print.
Once you run out of one color, yellow for example, you cannot print ANYTHING! Not even a black ink document. This occurred recently and resulted in a late arrival to a meeting without the printouts. Not good.
Finally, and more an irritation, is the time it takes to warm up, It can take upwards of 5 minutes to print one page if the printer hasn't been used for awhile.
47 of 49 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PIXMA MG8220
Nickname: Unhappy w/MG8220
Location: CA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Faxing
Product replacement: Yes

NO FAX!!!!!

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 14, 2013
Cons: no fax
WATCH OUT, IT IS A "MULTIFUNCTION PRINTER" WITH NO FAX!!!!!
Now I am stuck.
12 of 62 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PIXMA MG8220
Nickname: Marie
Location: Pennsylvania
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Good quality but slow

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:June 29, 2013
Pros: Easy Setup, fast print speed, easy to use
Cons: High Ink Consumption, unreliable
I've had this printer for about a week now. I found it very frustrating when trying to print directly from my laptop because a lot of the time it would say there was a communication error even though the printer is on and working correctly. I did the setup and everything on my laptop so there is no reason for it to be saying that. Most of the time I would have to move all the photos I want onto an SD card and print it from there. When printing for the first time of the day, it takes the printer a significantly long time for it to warm up. Longer than any printer I've ever had but after that first time it prints fine. Other than not being able to print from my computer and taking a long time to warm up, it's an excellent photo printer that prints good quality pictures.
10 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PIXMA MG8220
Nickname: Donnie G
Location: Chicago, IL.
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

SOHO Workhorse

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 23, 2013
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, durable, Sharp Tones & Colors, easy to use
This is my 4th. Canon photo printer, but my 1st. photo all in one printer. Both photo print and text quality are excellent, which is exactly what I'm accustom to getting from my Canon printers. This multi function device has far more features than I will ever need to use, and I like that, since I'm a firm believer that "it's better to have it and not need it than not have it and need it".
My favorite features are the built in scanner/copier, the ability to print directly to CD/DVD, and I'm especially fond of the two separate paper loading paths that make switching between photo paper and plain paper an effortless operation. This printer meets my needs perfectly and it looks great too.
24 of 24 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PIXMA MG8220
Nickname: PTurvill
Location: Whidbey Island, WA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Don't Believe the Specifications

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:June 13, 2013
Pros: Easy Setup, Sharp Tones & Colors, prints cds and dvds
Cons: Large Footprint, Heavy/Bulky, High Ink Consumption, poor documentation
While the specifications list a galaxy of compatible picture cards, Footnote 7 mentions a "special adapter" allegedly "sold separately." In truth there is no currently made adapter that will permit the use of xD format picture cards. While a few such cards (xD to CF) may still be found on dealers' shelves, their prices are about half the price of the current street price of this printer. If you want to print from xD cards, look elsewhere.
Otherwise, except for very high ink consumption (a common complaint among many currently made inkjet printers: give away the printer, make huge profits on ink!), this printer is a good choice for someone who wants a decent multi-function printer for photos, CDs/DVDs, and general page printing, copying and scanning.
With more ink economy, it would rate 4 stars; with full picture card compatibility (no unavailable "adapter" required) it could rate 5 stars. Canon can do better than to resort to misleading and bloated specifications to lure customers.
8 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PIXMA MG8220
Nickname: JB
Location: Baltimore, MD
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Customer: more than 20 years

Best printer I ever had

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 11, 2013
Pros: Compact Design, Easy Setup, Sharp Tones & Colors, fast print speed, easy to use
Cons: Large Footprint
This printer is the best featured printer and the best buy I ever had. I particularly like the feature to scan 35mm 0negatives and slides. The results of various slides I scanned is very acceptable for a 8" by 10" print. I would advise any one to purchase this printer.
21 of 21 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PIXMA MG8220
Nickname: clinton
Location: Birmingham, AL
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Best Quality - at an (ink) price!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 7, 2013
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, durable, Sharp Tones & Colors, fast print speed, easy to use
Cons: High Ink Consumption
I just had to replace my old Canon PIXMA MG8120 - after a number of years, I had just worn it out. But because it had served me so well, I shopped around and ended up getting the 'new' version - this MG8220. It's faster than my old printer, has everything that I need and will, I hope, last as long as my MG8120.
But - buyer beware! - as much as I love this printer it still just drinks ink at an alarming rate. I only use genuine Canon ink and paper and have tons of ink left (one more reason I got this model) left over from my old printer. This is NOT a low-ink consumption printer by any means.
But if you want the very highest print quality, easy wireless and AirPrint printing, flawless scanning, etc., this may be just the printer for you.
27 of 28 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PIXMA MG8220
Nickname: Mel

very frustrating selection panel

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 27, 2013
Pros: Sharp Tones & Colors
Cons: Difficult to use, Slow Print Speed, unreliable
This printer does print high quality copies. However, the panel of buttons to select what you want is very, very confusing. The printer seems to get "confused" when I try printing something remotely from my computer, and whirrs and clicks forever before I finally coax it to print. I've had the printer for about 8 months and it's a challenge any time I want to print. Today I tried to copy something, and a warning came on saying the rear paper tray was empty and needed filling. FIRST: I had no idea it had a rear paper tray. Second, neither I, nor my 5 degrees from MIT computer junkie husband can figure out how or what to push to make it print from the front paper tray again.
Really, people at Canon, does it have to be THIS hard?
Would not buy again unless you are a real techie.
15 of 25 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PIXMA MG8220
Nickname: Chuck58
Location: Maryland
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great overall printer/scanner

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 21, 2013
Pros: Compact Design, Easy Setup, Sharp Tones & Colors, fast print speed
This has just about every feature you could ask for. Air Print enabled, wireless print and scan, beautiful photo printer on glossy paper, color print on printable CDs. Inks get a little pricey depending on usage. Overall very pleased
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PIXMA MG8220
Nickname: College Student
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Super duper printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 14, 2013
Pros: reliable, Compact Design, Easy Setup, durable, Low Ink Consumption, Lightweight/Portable, Sharp Tones & Colors, fast print speed, easy to use, wireless printing and bluetooth capability
This printer is awesome. I am college student and as such space is a premium... this printer sits ontop of my dresser in a corner of my room and i love the wireless printing and scanning. setup is a snap and usage is so easy that a 6 yr old could figure it out. theres atleast one review on this printer that says you can only scan using a usb cable... that reviewer has no idea what they are talking about. this printer meets and exceeds my expectations and as such this is the best printer i have bought to date.
12 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PIXMA MG8220
Nickname: Warborn
Location: Windsor, CT
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

This one is a keeper.

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 5, 2012
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, durable, Low Ink Consumption, Sharp Tones & Colors, easy to use
I love this machine. I've been through quite a few over the years. This one is by far the best.
What I like:
- Print qulity
- Print speed
- scan quality and speed
- ink consumption - whoever complains about ink just go on Ebay and search "refill"
- wireless
- prints photos from my iPhone wirelessly via iPhone app.
- home network friendly, 2 desktops, 3 laptops, 2 iPhones and iPad all print from anywhere in the house.
What I don't like:
- does not make sandwiches
34 of 36 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PIXMA MG8220
Nickname: Jake
Location: Exeter, CA
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Canon MG8220 does not print color after 4 use

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 13, 2012
I have the Canon MG8220 for approx 4 months
At first it was printing ok
now, it does not print anything in color
I did all maintenance
but nothing happens
im using brand new ink
19 of 37 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PIXMA MG8220
Nickname: Old gezer
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Product replacement: Yes

Good Canon Experience

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 11, 2012
Pros: Easy Setup, Sharp Tones & Colors
Cons: High Ink Consumption
Easy to set up, but miss book I received with my old printer. Don't particular like touch switches when using printer as not sure of action or results in multiple touches when not intended. It seems to use more ink than my older MP960 and the ink containers are smaller.
14 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PIXMA MG8220
Nickname: Tom
Location: Cheshire, Ct
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Solid Purchase

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 15, 2012
Pros: reliable, Compact Design, Easy Setup, fast print speed, easy to use
We bought this for home office and family use at the end of 2011 and it has not disappointed us. Got a great price by ordering on Canon website.
10 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PIXMA MG8220
Nickname: newiPad3user
Location: Redding, CA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

Works great for AirPrint

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 10, 2012
Pros: Compact Design, Easy Setup, durable, Sharp Tones & Colors, fast print speed, easy to use, works with airprint
I am writing a review before having used all the features. However, wireless setup was the easiest of any of my Canon products. Wireless printing and scanning are great. I bought the MG8220 for the sake of AirPrint, a feature that allows direct printing from my new iPad3. AirPrint works flawlessly! I will be exploring all the other features in time. So far, so good! Most complete Canon printer-scanner I have yet owned. Good job, Canon!
8 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PIXMA MG8220
Nickname: knuts1
Location: Minnesota
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Scanning
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

bad or no instructions

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:July 16, 2012
Pros: Compact Design, fast print speed
Cons: Difficult to use, Difficult Setup, bad or no instructions
I bought this printer yesterday and it took forever to install as the instructions are very bad. I bought it mainly to scan old negatives and there are absolutely no instructions either with the printer or online that I can find that instruct me on how to do it. If the sales woman did not show me where the negative holder was I probably would not have found it as again there are no instructions I could find.
I would not recommend this to a friend at this time but I may change my mind in the future once I use it more.
I will do a followup once I use this printer more.
22 of 32 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PIXMA MG8220
Nickname: rustin
Location: florida,fl
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

wrong decision taken

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 30, 2012
i was looking for a quality printer nd money is not a problem for me....but the decision whcih i had made ryt now doesnt seems to be correct...bad printing quality...old firmwares inside the printer...talking bout wireless adapter....poorest sorry to say but u r not manufacturing the good printers :-((
31 of 153 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site