Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Refurbished Products Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop Refurbished Products or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PowerShot SX40 HS

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

PowerShot SX40 HS

The PowerShot SX40 HS is a versatile compact point-and-shoot camera that easily captures amazing photos and videos.
Average Customer Rating:
4.68 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(125 Reviews) 125
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (125 reviews)
5 stars
95
4 stars
21
3 stars
8
2 stars
1
1 star
0
113 out of 125(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PowerShot SX40 HS
Review 1 for PowerShot SX40 HS
Nickname: loomex
Location: Ithaca, NY
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 18, 2014
Pros: Super-sharp images
Cons: slo-motion video is not 1080p
I have had this camera for over two years. Over a vacation I took over 1000 pictures and a few videos and only had to charge the battery once. The image quality is great. It has a lot of features I have not really used yet.
Review 2 for PowerShot SX40 HS
Nickname: Crimson782
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Portraits

Excellent Camera

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 23, 2014
Pros: Superior build quality, Super-sharp images, vibrant colors, great picture settings
I have been using this camera for 2 years now. I find that it is very easy to use. There are a lot of amazing settings on this camera, and they are easy to figure out. This camera does not come with a paper instruction manual, but it does come with one to load onto your PC. I did just that and read it, and had no trouble figuring out all of the settings. I truly wish I could download a photo with this review. I have done numerous photo shoots for my family, and now have other's asking me if I do it professionally. My latest subject was my 6 month old baby. I took over 300 photos, and only 3 were blury...not bad considering my subject doesn't stop moving! Colors are vibrant, images are clear. The auto focus does not take that long unless your subject continues to move (then set to sports mode or HQ setting). Hold down the button half way, and it quickly adjusts. I absolutely love this camera!
Review 3 for PowerShot SX40 HS
Nickname: Frost
Location: Rock Hill SC
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Just what I needed

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 2, 2014
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images
Cons: flip up flash
Got it in 2012 and love it! Point and shoot before an DSLR any day. Has more features than I thought, but you don't need to use them unless you really want to. The AUTO option works just fine for most shots. Needed a new camera, but was trying to stay away from the DSLR and I am glad that I did.
Review 4 for PowerShot SX40 HS
Nickname: Montana
Location: Montana
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

dont waste your money

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 28, 2014
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Super-sharp images
I purchased this camera because I love to take pictures of all the wild life in our area. I wanted a good zoom That plus when the grandkids are here I always have a camera ready on short notice for the cute things that happen. well the camera was really clumsy to hold and the flip out LCD screen was terrible. It wobbled and just the slightest movement it would move and then you lost what you were trying to see. The built in view finder was ridiculous. You couldnt see through that if you tried. The other bad idea was that you have to manually flip up the flash option. If you forget and you are in a dark place you have just lost your precious moment. I returned the camera and found something else with better options.
2 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PowerShot SX40 HS
Nickname: MaxBird
Location: Overland Park, KS
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Wonderful Camera with a loud zoom.

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 3, 2014
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Simple controls/menu, easy to use, good zoom range
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance, Heavy/Bulky, loud zoom noise
The powershot sx 40 hs is my new favorite camera! i love everything about it except for: the zoom noise, the time it takes to focus, and the weight. the good things are: the image quality, THE ZOOM, the ease of use, and all of the cool functions and options. i photograph birds and nature. it is a quick, fun, and easy camera to use. it really took the term Point and Shoot into account. over all great camera. some good ad-ons are the price and the slow-mo.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PowerShot SX40 HS
Nickname: TexasRangersFan
Location: Texas
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Sports
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

"Fan"tastic Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 1, 2014
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
I have owned this SX50 for more than one year. I also owned the SX30 (sold to another Rangers fan) AND the SX40 which I still use. have taken approximately 500 GB of pictures with these 3 cameras, mostly at Rangers games. 10 FPS on the SX50 cranked it up to 300GB this season alone, because of RAW mode.
3 great cameras. The SX30 was purchased during the AL Championship Series and captured the moment ARod struck out, sending the Rangers to the 2010 World Series. It's shortcoming was the "continuous" mode, not being fast enough an no RAW mode. When the SX40 came out, it included 8 frames per second, solving the "continuous" mode that I needed. When the SX50 came out, camera RAW was included, making this the perfect camera.
The zoom on all 3 cameras is outstanding. My seat in Rangers Ballpark is in Section 2xx just beyond first base. I have some great head shots of all 3 outfield position players. I've got some fine pictures of stealing of second base, one of an airborne Home Plate umpire trying to avoid a baserunner stealing home.
I can't imagine what the SX60 will bring. Bulb maybe? I keep looking for a reason to go with a DSLR over the SX50 and can't find one yet.
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PowerShot SX40 HS
Nickname: DCharleneNix
Location: Asheville, NC
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Who knew a Canon could fit into a Coach?

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 17, 2013
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Heavy/Bulky
I am dedicated Canon lover and fan! This camera is not only as handy as a point and shoot, but, works as good as a very expensive camera with replaceable lenses. I was on the balcony at my Daughter's Graduation and zoomed all the way in as close as front row. This was in a huge auditorium. Best of all, it is still smaller and compact. So compact, it fits in my Coach purse! Highly recommend!
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PowerShot SX40 HS
Nickname: Airam
Location: Missouri
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

easy for beginners!!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 8, 2013
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Heavy/Bulky
Love the features, especially the 35x zoom! (I don't have to buy another lens)..I'm no professional photographer, and this one is perfect ( good for beginners too!)..had mine now for 2 years and it's still great!!..
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PowerShot SX40 HS
Nickname: Em
Location: Rockland, NY

Love it BUT

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 24, 2013
I bought this camera last year and I was amazed by it. I absolutely love it. However, I am forced to give it a 4 starts review because after having it for a little over a year, I already need to service it. Since it's been over a year, it is now out of warranty and I have to pay for the repair. I get a lens error message since it seems the lens is stuck. I have no idea how this happened because I have never dropped it or anything like that. It is a good purchase but I think it shouldn't need servicing so quickly.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PowerShot SX40 HS
Nickname: Lyn
Location: Pleasanton Texas
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Love my camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 17, 2013
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
I bought this camera because it was the next step up...I love it...would and I do recommend this camera
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PowerShot SX40 HS
Nickname: KLCPROD
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Love it!!!!!!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 16, 2013
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use, zoom is amazing
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance
I went into the camera world a year ago and now I'm taking AMAZING pictures for what is considered a low end camera. I have taken it past the limits of the zoom many times with crazy accuracy and clarity
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PowerShot SX40 HS
Nickname: Mr. Cressida
Location: Allentown,PA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Worth every Penny

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 14, 2013
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use, manual focus big plus
I was in the market for a new camera that could tie me over till I got better at photography. I went a to a local retail store to and found several that were ready available in the price range I was budgeting myself in. After trying all of them I found myself going back to SX40 for over all speed quality and ease of use. I researched for another week and The Sx40 won out of the top names in the price range. That was 2 years ago and I'm still using it and have decided A DSLR is still not for me and all the weight and baggage I would have to lug around.
I will use this camera till it dies and if I can find another it will be mine!!!
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PowerShot SX40 HS
Nickname: njcar49
Location: New Jersey
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

best camera I have owned

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 9, 2013
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, easy to use
I am not a camera expert.
I have used this camera at home and at work for about 14 months.
It does everything I want and does it perfectly.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PowerShot SX40 HS
Nickname: LJT8969
Location: Londonderry NH
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Love this camera!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 17, 2013
Pros: Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
I purchased this camera a year ago to take on vacation. The camera is very easy to use and the pictures come out very clear. The zoom on this camera is amazing! I have taken pictures of wildlife from a distance that look like I am standing right next to them.
The thing I especially like about this camera is that you can either look through the view finder or use the LCD. I find it hard to see the LCD in bright sunlight with sunglasses on, so use the view finder for outdoor pictures. The LCD opens away from the camera base and tilts, so you can actually hold the camera over your head and tilt the LCD down so you can see what you are taking. Fantastic feature!
I highly recommend this camera to anyone interested in the ease of a point-and-shoot camera that also has some added features. I have taken amazing pictures with the macro lens and also unbelievable pictures of a hummingbird at my feeder with the continuous shooting feature!
Love this camera!
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PowerShot SX40 HS
Nickname: law
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Loved it at first, developing some problems

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 14, 2013
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Bright LCD
Cons: lens errors frequently, hard to focus, slow from photo to photo
Right out of the box, I had a lot of fun with this camera. It worked beautifully, though the one thing that is hard and I wish could be changed is the abillity to control the focus a bit more (I focus on a certain thing, but the little focus box jumps around onto something else). The zoom is a winner! I've taken photos with this that I've only been able to dream of taking before. The low-light setting is excellent, even in poor lighting. This worked like a dream for easily 6 months, but then I began getting lens errors, and now I am getting a completely fuzzy picture in the view finder when trying to get a picture. This camera has been used a lot, but it has been babied--well cared for, lens cap on when not in use, stored in a zippered case to protect from dust. That said, I would still recommend it, but I am concerned about how long it will last as the lens error actually shuts the camera off, and there is no know reason for this. My 11-year-old has tried this and LOVES it.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PowerShot SX40 HS
Nickname: MJH32
Location: New York, NY
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

LOVE THIS CAMERA!!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 23, 2013
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: 15 second max shutter speed with 100 iso limit
I love this camera. I've owned this camera for almost 2 years and couldn't be happier with it. I've always been interested in photography but being in college a few years back I was never able to afford a nice camera. Once I got a job out of college this was one of my first purchases, couldn't afford a full DSLR yet and this camera seemed to have everything I wanted.
The camera take GREAT photos and has an INCREDIBLE zoom. The image quality come out almost as crisp as a full DSLR and you can't beat the quality and zoom for the price. Great camera for any amateur photographer to learn with and hone their skills. I'm constantly reading articles and tips on how to improve my skills and the camera is always able to do the new things I discover (recently got into HDR photography and the camera has a great bracketing feature). The various modes are great even thought I like to stay in the manual mode most of the time, the high speed shutter feature is great for capturing all the little details of movement in something that happens quickly.
The only downside I've discovered with the camera is trying to take space/night photography and only having up to a 15 second exposure and it limits your ISO to 100, but I guess when I save up enough for a full DSLR I'll get past that.
One other thing I want to mention which I'm thrilled about is that I accidently left my camera outside ALL night during a rain storm. The next morning I was freaking out thinking I broke my camera, but to my pleasure I opened the battery pack and it was bone dry. The lens was fine and it started right up and took pictures good as ever. The LCD screen has a couple little water spots on it that I would have to learn to live with but after a couple days those dried up and are no longer there. Canon you made a GREAT product here and I couldn't be happier.
I'm currently saving up for a full DSLR but will never get rid of this camera, there are just somethings that this camera can do that a DSLR can't (ie the zoom, at least without a crazy expensive lens).
Highly recommend this camera for any amateur photographer who wants to learn and discover how to take great pictures. Thanks Canon!!!
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PowerShot SX40 HS
Nickname: Joyfulcalm
Location: Santee, California
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Amazing

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 1, 2013
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use, fast, excellent zoom
Simply put, WOW..the camera takes amazing pics, and has many features that higher end cameras have. The zoom is awesome, especially when you set it on a tripod, I was pleasantly pleased! What fun it was to look at something up close, when I couldn't physically get close, like the moon lol Oh, and the speed between each shot is perfect, especially when you don't want to miss those goofy kids and pets moment, speed and clear shots are very important! Lastly, to assure your photos are perfect, and able to use all the camera's features, with out blur or excessive noise, get a class 10 memory card, not a class 4. You'll be much happier. Have fun!
29 of 29 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PowerShot SX40 HS
Nickname: Bill
Location: Medford, OR
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Portraits
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

VERY NICE ALL-AROUND CAMERA

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 28, 2013
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use, durable for a camera
Sharp image quality in all focal lengths, even when lens is wide open. Because image size is so small I shoot most of my photos at widest aperture to make the background as out of focus as possible. Also, I have a tremor in my hands. so when I do macros or shoot in dim light, the image stabilizer is a great help.
Very handy to carry around. I use a wrist strap rather than the neck strap that it come with.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PowerShot SX40 HS
Nickname: Richie
Location: New York
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Best ever

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 6, 2013
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Excellent picture quality Low light to Bright snow Light!!! Use indoors or out.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PowerShot SX40 HS
Nickname: Cookiesoes09
Location: French Camp, MS
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Excellent Product

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 3, 2013
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, durable, easy to use, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Simple controls/menu
I have always like using a Canon camera because its easy to manage, settings are very easy to follow, has excellent image quality, and th durable that it carries. I would recommend a Canon Camera.
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site