Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Calculators Reviews / Computer Link Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop Computer Link or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for X Mark I Mouse Slim

X Mark I Mouse Slim

Wireless Mouse 10-digit Calculator Keypad Ergonomic Design
Average Customer Rating:
2.583 out of 5
2.6
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
1
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 star
4
4 out of 12(33%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for X Mark I Mouse Slim
Review 1 for X Mark I Mouse Slim
Nickname: John
Location: Chicago
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great idea, poor quality

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 13, 2014
Pros: worked great for 6 months
Cons: failed after less than a year, short battery life (had to replace every 4-6 weeks
I bought two of these, one for home and one for the office. they worked great for a while, but after 6 months or so one of them will no longer connect via bluetooth and the other one has lost the springiness to the right button so it gets actuated at random times.
The calculators work great though if you need a small 4-function calculator with a non-standard keypad size.
Review 2 for X Mark I Mouse Slim
Nickname: Sam H
Location: Seattle, WA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great mouse for CAD work – A very happy Engineer!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 23, 2014
Pros: bluetooth, cheap, keypad
I’ve had this mouse for about a year. When this mouse was connected to my netbook running windows 7, it was laggy and sometimes unresponsive. I tried connecting it to my regular laptop (also Windows 7), and as other users have experienced, it would have difficulty reconnecting after it was used and went into hibernation.
I just received a new CAD workstation laptop (Precision M3800) running Windows 8.1. Unfortunately this workstation doesn’t have a keypad – which makes solid modeling numeric input difficult. As an interim fix, I decided to try the Canon Mark I mouse. The mouse worked flawlessly – completely opposite of my past experience. The mouse is responsive and accurate. Now, there are also no connectivity issues after the mouse hibernates after a few minutes without use (as there were previously).
Now, here this mouse really shines – the number pad and calculator! There is a “CAL/KP” key to switch it from a calculator to a keypad. When in calculator mode, you can crunch numbers, then press “Enter” and it will send the computed value to your solid modeling application (so far I’ve tried it with Solidworks and Inventor). Or you don’t press enter, and it doesn’t send anything to your computer – it just works as a calculator. When in keypad mode, you can use it as a keypad and have it provide input real-time.
And an added bonus is having the option to just hit the “Enter” key after you’ve performed an action in the CAD software – completely unrelated to any numeric input.
As for ergonomics, the buttons must be pressed directly down, not forward. This allows you to rest your palm on the key pad (with reasonable pressure) without activating any of the keys due to the slope of the profile. Great foresight on Canon's part with this design.
Overall I’m pleased with this mouse’s features, and I’m happy I didn’t throw it away after seeing its behavior with Windows 7.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for X Mark I Mouse Slim
Nickname: cb6352
Location: tampa, fl
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

no dongle option

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 27, 2013
Cons: add a dongle
who sells a bluetooth mouse without a bluetooth dongle option? it seems canon. i even have a bluetooth computer and it is sporadic at best to link. how would you like working on files and your mouse freezes with no way to link back up since it's frozen. if you dont offer a dongkle option tghen stop selling these.
0 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for X Mark I Mouse Slim
Nickname: ABooth
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Works well but stops.

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 30, 2013
Pros: works well when connected, switching between calc and keypad is well thought, accurate movement and glides well
Cons: it's essentially a paperweight it's so useless, fails bluetooth connectivity miserably, out of the box it is over responsive
I tried it on Windows 7 pro SP1, 64 Bit
As others have said, when it goes dormant, it no longer responds. Double left click does not reactivate. Switching on and off does not reconnect. Troubleshooting does not find any issues and selecting properties states no mouse was found.
Without deleting the device from Bluetooth devices and adding it again, it will not function.
It is essentially a paperweight that looks like a mouse.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for X Mark I Mouse Slim
Nickname: jan vlk
Location: Prague, Czech Republic
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

an interesting idea well realized

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 20, 2013
Pros: good idea, good built quality, lcd display for offline calculations
Cons: more functional buttons would be great, the white color on the keys is a little dark, not able to program the buttons for other functs.
- in case you have no Num Pad it enables a quicker numerical data entry
- connectivity and instalation under Windows 7 OK, quick
- i would welcome more functional keys (on the sides e.g.)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for X Mark I Mouse Slim
Nickname: Dave
Location: Sydney
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

WASTE OF TIME & MONEY

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 7, 2013
Pros: it was a nice idea
Cons: will not connect to computer, calc/kp button does not work, feels very cheaply made
I've been trying to connect the mouse for most of the morning to my Win7 laptop. The computer shows that the mouse is connected but cannon populate any of the device info including the MAC address. The pointer does not work and the mouse keep flashing the BT icon like its still looking for the computer. Also the button to switch from calculator to KeyPad does nothing. Its just a way over priced calculator or a Tecky paper weight.
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for X Mark I Mouse Slim
Nickname: kalmkeyth
Location: Madras, Oregon
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Almost worse purchase

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 2, 2013
Disconnected from the bluetooth device at first which was annoying but livable. Then quit connecting at all.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for X Mark I Mouse Slim
Nickname: Anonymous
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Great Bluetooth Mouse

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 11, 2012
Pros: very light weight
This to correct the criticism of Bluetooth in earlier reviews. The mouse does go dormant when left unused for a while. Just click the left button twice and it becomes active.
The mouse speed had to be slowed considerably for comfort.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for X Mark I Mouse Slim
Nickname: NML
Location: Columbus, OH
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

Better Calculator than Mouse

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:November 6, 2012
This is a really cool mouse, but as others have stated, if you leave your computer for an extended period of time, the bluetooth connection drops and the only way to re-connect the mouse is to delete the device from your Bluetooth manager and re-pair the device. Let's hope Canon submits a fix for this soon.
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for X Mark I Mouse Slim
Nickname: Michelle
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Unreliable

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 1, 2012
The bluetooth connection is unreliable. If you decide to take a break from working and come back, you'll fnd that the connection is lost. The only way to get the mouse to function again is to remove the batteries and possibly reinstall it. I've had this for a day, and I've already had to do this 3 times. I would not recommend this product to anyone.
11 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for X Mark I Mouse Slim
Nickname: specware
Location: San Jose, CA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

unreliable (bluetooth) connection makes it useless

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 11, 2012
Pros: good features & design
Cons: poor bluetooth connection
This device would otherwise make a great productivity tool if not the for problem stated in the title line, so much so I consider it useless!
When it connects to the host (i.e. a PC or a notebook computer) it works great in all aspects until it disconnects itself from the host in auto shut-off mode (to conserve battery power I assume). After which point it could not reconnect with the pairing PC/Notebook unless the hosting PC/notebook goes through the device removal, pairing and connecting cycle each time the connection is lost. There is no way to force the device to stay connected let alone to hope for a simple reconnect capability. Not a practical device to use on a regular basis.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for X Mark I Mouse Slim
Nickname: Guppy
Location: USA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month

Great mouse, but numberpad has some limitations

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 9, 2012
Pros: responsive mouse tracking, bluetooth support
Cons: numberpad cannot be used to enter alt-codes.
The Canon Mark I combination Mouse/Keypad functions well as a mouse; tracking seems crisp and responsive. Bluetooth pairing was simple, with no drivers were required.
Due to the small size of the the device, the Calculator/Numberpad can be a bit cramped; while convenient for travel and occasional use, a dedicated full-size pad may be better for heavy users. In addition, the numberpad cannot be used to enter special character Alt-number codes.
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site