Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Refurbished Products Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop Refurbished Products or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PIXMA MG3120

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

PIXMA MG3120

The PIXMA MG3120 Wireless Inkjet Photo All-In-One delivers fantastic quality, versatility, and ease of use.
Average Customer Rating:
2.725 out of 5
2.7
 out of 
5
(40 Reviews) 40
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (40 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
5
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
18
16 out of 40(40%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PIXMA MG3120
Review 1 for PIXMA MG3120
Nickname: krautdog
Location: cleveland, OH
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

MG3120

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 4, 2014
Cons: Poor build quality, piece of trash
total piece of junk, scanner function never worked, when trying to scan takes you to some sort of movie maker. print heads are out of alignment and there is no way to align them. consumes large quantities of ink, in fact the ink is twice as much as this poor excuse of a printer cost. I plan on throwing this worthless printer in the trash and buying a REAL printer, and I can assure you it WON'T be a Cannon. The should re-name their company from Cannon to Cannot!
Review 2 for PIXMA MG3120
Nickname: Ichigo
Location: South, USA
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Waste of time and money

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:March 27, 2014
It was cheaper to buy this printer then buy new ink, but so not worth it. Like many other reviews say, it only works when it wants to, hardly ever, and never works when I really need it.
I have it set up on my desktop, but I wanted it on my laptop too, and it will not install on my laptop for some reason, after many attempts. Very annoying.
Print head had to be fixed many times, etc etc, just so many probs, not worth the time.
Review 3 for PIXMA MG3120
Nickname: JOGGY
Location: Peoria, IL
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur

JUNK!

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 22, 2014
Cons: never works!
Biggest waste of money and piece of junk printer I have ever owned. I have had this printer a little over a year and it NEVER operates properly. I'm sorry I just purchased ink for it because I'm about to throw it in the TRASH!!!! It constantly will not connect to network. It cannot be found by the printer. More often than not I cannot get it to work. I GIVE UP!!!
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PIXMA MG3120
Nickname: dedzaboy
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Unable to setup wireless

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:January 27, 2014
I bought this printer some time ago and was unable to set it up to work wireless so just used the USB cable. At a loose end this morning I thought I'd have another attempt but failed again - during setup the installation software refuses to recognise the presence of the printer, despite the fact that it's connected. So I get stuck at this point and am going to give up again - wireless connectivity would be very useful but not absolutely essential so I'll live without it, I don't have the inclination to spend hours on forums and helplines to try and sort it out. Otherwise the printer works fine, not the best but then it wasn't expensive so...would be nice if wireless worked though, seems I'm not the only one that has struggled with this.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PIXMA MG3120
Nickname: So Done With it

Waste of money

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 20, 2014
Pros: Lightweight/Portable
Cons: Difficult to use, Difficult Setup, High Ink Consumption, unreliable
Don't waste your money on this one. It only works if it feels like it and nine times out ten it doesn't feel like it.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PIXMA MG3120
Nickname: chainsawguy
Location: Kelowna
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Scanning
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Worst Purchase Ever

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 9, 2013
Pros: Compact Design
Cons: Difficult to use, Slow Print Speed, Large Footprint, Difficult Setup, Dull Tones & Colors, High Ink Consumption, unreliable, Flimsy Construction
Looks great, works the worst. Takes forever to set up
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PIXMA MG3120
Nickname: John
Location: St. Louis
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Good home printer, great value!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 23, 2013
Pros: reliable, Compact Design, Easy Setup, durable, Low Ink Consumption, Sharp Tones & Colors, fast print speed, easy to use
This has been an excellent printer for my low to moderate home use. The print quality is superb, print speed acceptable, the ink use is less than other similar printers I have used and cartridges cost much less.
The scan and copy features are straight forward and perform as expected. I would highly recommend this printer to anyone with average printing use needs or less.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PIXMA MG3120
Nickname: Mima
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

wifi doesn't work

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 21, 2013
Cons: Difficult to use, Difficult Setup, unreliable
I've download the drivers, called twice, re-read the instructions. I have a new printer that has only intermittently worked and only for a short time. I would call it junk.
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PIXMA MG3120
Nickname: bones
Location: Rochester, NY
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Good entry level printer

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 23, 2013
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, easy to use
I've had this printer about 1 year now and use the wi-fi feature. Just purchased an iPad and my first printing experience was very easy. The iPad searched for a printer, found the 3120, I selected it and it printed my document. Doesn't get much easier than that.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PIXMA MG3120
Nickname: afiend2
Location: Las Vegas
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 22, 2013
Pros: reliable, Compact Design, Easy Setup, durable, Low Ink Consumption, Lightweight/Portable, Sharp Tones & Colors, fast print speed, easy to use
I would always buy a Canon printer. the main reason why the ink last forever before you have to replace it. And that is a feature most consumers overlook when buying a printer. And then they get so upset when they have to keep replacing their ink after only a few uses like other printers do. So if you are looking for the best buy a Canon.
You will never be disappointed.
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PIXMA MG3120
Nickname: theinfinityzero
Location: San Diego, CA
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

Very pleased!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 16, 2013
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, Sharp Tones & Colors, easy to use
I read through a few reviews and they all looked like they were written by the same person.
I guess I am one of the lucky people that have had no issues with this printer. I will admit that the OEM ink cartridge did run out pretty fast, but I've been getting some good "MPG" with the XL ink cartridge variants (though that comes at an extra price).
I've never experienced any issues with the printer not connecting. When I hit print it prints. I do have issues with my wireless router dropping connection causing an interruption when printing, but that's not the printer's fault.
Color reproduction is as vibrant as the original. I don't understand where the "dull colors" comments come from. I print black and white (35mm film) scans and they come out just as "vibrant" as the original!!
Printing speed is not bad. It could be faster, but I'm printing photos. I don't rush photo printings.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PIXMA MG3120
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Worst Printer on the Market

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 29, 2013
Pros: Compact Design
Cons: Difficult to use, Slow Print Speed, Difficult Setup, Dull Tones & Colors, High Ink Consumption, unreliable
Consistently has problems connecting to any of multiple computers. Goes through ink fast. Extremely slow. This is an absolute waste of money.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PIXMA MG3120
Nickname: Mad user

Horrible printer

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 29, 2013
Pros: Compact Design
Cons: Difficult to use, Slow Print Speed, unreliable, Flimsy Construction
Read the other 1000 reviews same problems horrible printer that lasts less than 6 months
Review 14 for PIXMA MG3120
Nickname: Enraged
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

DO NOT BUY!

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 18, 2013
Cons: Difficult Setup, unreliable, Flimsy Construction, airprint doesn't work
If you are considering this printer for the Wireless feature, especially AirPrint... DON'T!
Save yourself the headache of trying to figure out why it cannot be detected by any of your devices despite following the terrible directions to a T.
I have it on the network, but only the macbook can locate it. The iPhones and iPads in the house cannot. In fact, I went to the printers IP address and it loaded right up, then I tried to print the printers page, and it couldn't locate the printer...
Also, if you unplug it, it doesn't save your settings, so you have to start over if there's a power outage or if you need to move the printer.
Absolutely worthless.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PIXMA MG3120
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: Ball Ground,GA
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

I curse at it every time I try to use it!

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 29, 2013
Pros: Easy Setup
Cons: Difficult to use, Slow Print Speed, unreliable, High Ink Consumption
I have never hated a piece of equipment more than I hate this printer.... It sits next to my computer, but fails to find the signal from my computer sporadically. There's entire days I cannot print anything. I hate it hate it hate it!!!! And color prints are extremely slow.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PIXMA MG3120
Nickname: Springtx
Location: Houson, TX
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

what the heck?!

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 29, 2013
Pros: Compact Design, Easy Setup, Lightweight/Portable, fast print speed, easy to use
Cons: unreliable, drops connection, need canon software
This is the most frustrating printer I have owned. Setting it up is easy. Both wireless and USB. Then it will print for about a week or two, then suddenly I cannot print to it from any device. I had to totally uninstall and reinstall the software to get it working again. Then about 3 weeks later, it happened again!!
It would be a fantastic basic home printer/scanner if you could print to it on a consistent basis! Another note: You need to have the canon software to connect to it. You cannot just enter the ip address - it WILL add the printer, but will NOT print to it unless you have their software installed. Tried it many times, no go!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PIXMA MG3120
Nickname: Rapidcruzer

Worst printer ever

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 18, 2013
This printer has not worked right from day 1 .. It would print right for a week then print terrible. Then print right but the paper would jam. Terrible printer
Review 18 for PIXMA MG3120
Nickname: Dre
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

One Great Buy!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 23, 2013
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, Lightweight/Portable, Sharp Tones & Colors, fast print speed, easy to use
Cons: Large Footprint, High Ink Consumption
I went out to get a print for school, and it had to be wireless. I am one of those guys who likes to keep all brands the same. So I wanted a printer that did everything this printer did, under the same brand of my computer. That name brand was not worth it, the value and performance of the MG3120 was one great buy for me!!
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PIXMA MG3120
Nickname: Printless
Location: Charleston, SC
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

fine WHEN it worked

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 15, 2013
Pros: Compact Design, Easy Setup, Lightweight/Portable, attractive
Cons: Dull Tones & Colors, unreliable, High Ink Consumption, highly unreliable, got a bad batch
My first Pixma Wireless worked like a dream! I gave it to my friend and bought myself another one; a duplicate. This one the ink cartridges would never align properly or print correctly.
Returned it for an exact exchange. Same problem PLUS it gobbles up the paper from the feed tray like it's angry and jams up.
Returned it for an exchange. Got Pixma #3 -- same issues!
Pixma #4 - Bought another one from a different store, hoping it came from a different "batch" or something...same issues. It gobbles up the paper and jams the machine.
We've tried everything imaginable, like different paper, one sheet at a time, several sheets at a time -- still jams up. And the ink still prints out thin and blurry. It's the oddest thing?
I like Cannon and I almost never write negative reviews. However, I think folks ought to know that this particular printer seems to be a hit or miss machine.
I've been printing with printers since the internet was born, I know how to load ink and use a printer properly.
What attracted me to the Cannon Pixma 3100 series was the wireless feature and the compact size for the features ratio.
As I said, my first one worked like a charm for about 3-4 months...then I gifted it away. The next 3 have been a nightmare. This very night I have to hit a 24 hour store to buy yet another printer so my daughter can get her work printed out...it's truly frustrating.
All in all, I think it's a good product WHEN it works. Sorry guys at Cannon. I give this one a "D."
Thank you for allowing me to vent and state my case. My suggestion is, folks...buy a different Cannon printer.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PIXMA MG3120
Nickname: Karsen
Location: Baltimore MD
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

constant problems

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 21, 2013
Cons: unreliable, Flimsy Construction
I have had othe Canon printers and that is why I purchased this one. It was constantly jamming and then the cartridge carrier would not reset to the proper position. After fixing it by the maintenance functions 3 times and it only working for about a week after the fixes, the ink cartridges would not coe out. I prefer Canonn products, but this one was a huge disappointment.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site