Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Refurbished Products Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop Refurbished Products or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PIXMA MG2120

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

PIXMA MG2120

The PIXMA MG2120 Inkjet Photo All-In-One delivers fantastic quality, versatility, and ease of use at an outstanding value.
Average Customer Rating:
2.897 out of 5
2.9
 out of 
5
(58 Reviews) 58
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (58 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
9
3 stars
8
2 stars
7
1 star
19
29 out of 58(50%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PIXMA MG2120
Review 1 for PIXMA MG2120
Nickname: bdkcu
Location: Ohio
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

beat your head into the wall now - save time

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 5, 2014
Cons: Difficult to use
I've owned this for a few years now. Will NEVER buy another Cannon - if they can't produce a quality entry model that works, why should I spend bigger bucks, especially when all I needed was a basic printer/scanner? Okay - cheaper and easier to buy a new printer than the Cannon approved refills. Which are the only ones that seem to work. It would help to have an actual MANUAL to see what the error codes are. I've finally gotten so frustrated trying to get this to work that I'm giving up and getting a new printer. NOT a Cannon. after answering the questions at the bottom of this review, I am seriously not a Cannon enthusiast, and this didn't replace anything, considering how difficult it is to use. I could have saved my money and kept the other working but difficult to use because of print/scan/fax/receive fax.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PIXMA MG2120
Nickname: GaryE
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Ok, For Windows but NO drivers for LINUS

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:May 28, 2014
Pros: Superior build quality, Super-sharp images
Cons: no linux drivers!
Works well with Windows XP through 8.1 with minor issues when shared in Windows. The ink is long lasting and quality of prints are good. Why are there NO LINUX drivers? I originally bought this item for LINUX only operation. Other series of Cannon printers I used in the past had LINUX drivers. If you love Microsoft then fall in line and this printer might be an economical printer but do NOT purchase if you want some other operating system.
Review 3 for PIXMA MG2120
Nickname: Guitar Guru
Location: Wheeling, WV
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Excellent, reliable printer

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 23, 2014
Pros: Super-sharp images, good looking printer
This is a good looking piece but more than that, it's speedy, reliable and installs easily. Couldn't be happier.
Review 4 for PIXMA MG2120
Nickname: Alf
Location: Milwaukee WI
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

Good deal but not complete

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:February 21, 2014
Cannon has done a remarkable job of reducing cost with this model. However, you probably need to buy a printer cable which costs about one third of the printers price.
It looks like they've skimped on materials producing a lightweight, mostly plastic, multifunction laser printer. It works fine with color or black and white. It's a better value than competitors for budget challenged Americans but needs to be handled gently.
Review 5 for PIXMA MG2120
Nickname: wes
Location: St.Louis,MO
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Cheap but functional

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:January 20, 2014
Pros: Easy Setup, Sharp Tones & Colors, easy to use
Cons: Large Footprint, Heavy/Bulky, High Ink Consumption, Flimsy Construction
Basic printer...ok for the money....eats up ink..refill once and throw away....cheaper to buy a new printer than replace cartridges
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PIXMA MG2120
Nickname: janetcan
Location: Southfield mi
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year

can't copy school work, paper jams very often!

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:January 16, 2014
Pros: Lightweight/Portable, Sharp Tones & Colors
Cons: Slow Print Speed, High Ink Consumption
every time i try to copy my school assignment- it jams, paper that is Ugh, sick of this , and what is a warrenty?
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PIXMA MG2120
Nickname: Disgruntled

Piece of Junk

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 28, 2013
Pros: easy to use
Cons: Slow Print Speed, Heavy/Bulky, Difficult Setup, Dull Tones & Colors, High Ink Consumption, unreliable, Flimsy Construction
This printer is terrible. Very noisy, shakes on the table.. finally gave out on me on a Monday morning (of course). Printer cartridges were always difficult to install and the device was slow to recognize them. All in all a horrible product, and overpriced to boot -- found a suitable competitor's model which is considerably better, for around the same price (cheaper actually). DO NOT buy
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PIXMA MG2120
Nickname: Printer King
Location: orlando
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Cheap vs Reliability

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 23, 2013
Pros: price
Cons: High Ink Consumption
I've bought quite a few of these printers on the fly because of the price. The printer is great for light use. Only 'seems to not work' problem is the paper feed. They all have problems. Using just the ink provided will have you going back the next couple of days for ink replacements. The ink will cost you more than the printer.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PIXMA MG2120
Nickname: Home Office User
Location: USA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office

Unreliable, buy something els.

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 21, 2013
Cons: Large Footprint, unreliable, Flimsy Construction
Used printer lightly for about two years. Has constant issues and print is almost always distorted. This product is garbage, plain and simple. Spend your money on a higher quality machine.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PIXMA MG2120
Nickname: ray
Location: new york
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 21, 2013
Cons: Difficult to use, Difficult Setup, unreliable, Flimsy Construction
worst printer ever. replaced the ink cartridge and now can't get it to align have to go buy new printer and it won't be a canon.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PIXMA MG2120
Nickname: mikey
Location: WI
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

Poor value, look elsewhere

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 21, 2013
Cons: unreliable
I've used my MG2120 twice, once to print a handful of documents and the second time to scan a receipt. Like another reviewer, 2 months after the 90 day warranty with a "P22" error. It's an inexpensive unit, but having it fail in a few months is unacceptable! ...not to mention a poor performance vs. dollar ratio. Look elsewhere for a printer!
Review 12 for PIXMA MG2120
Nickname: Anonymous

Setup

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:September 27, 2013
Pros: Compact Design, Sharp Tones & Colors, easy to use
Cons: Difficult Setup
When we first got ours, we thought it was a wireless printer. The box and everything we looked up on it said it was, it also didn't come with a computer to printer hook up cable. We tried to set it up, but it wouldn't respond. Turns out it was NOT wireless unless you had a wireless adapter which was sold separately. Needless to say, we were not happy with that outcome. However we did have an old printer cable that fit, so we hooked it up manually and have enjoyed it since. We are, however, still very disappointed with the claim of being wireless ready/capable and not including the proper devices to make it so.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PIXMA MG2120
Nickname: Lee
Location: West Palm Beach, Florida
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

So Happy I Chose This

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 18, 2013
Pros: reliable, Compact Design, Easy Setup, durable, Low Ink Consumption, Lightweight/Portable, Sharp Tones & Colors, fast print speed, easy to use, scans perfectly and sends to file
Cons: nothing that i can name!
I have owned several other "all-in-one"printers that were supposed to be something special due to their name recognition. Their price tags were up there too. Each of them failed to perform to my expectations and gave me trouble from "day one!" Getting service was always complicated by an overseas call to an English-as-a second-language person. The ink cartridges kept going up and up in price to the point of ridiculous. I finally gave up and decided to buy locally and found my Canon PIXMA-MG2120, The price was exceptionally reasonable and so were the cartridges. It's easy to use and reload. I love it and will never go back to those other brands! It performs perfectly for all my needs! :-)
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PIXMA MG2120
Nickname: tweetybird
Location: Springfield Illinois
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Great All In one Printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 30, 2013
Pros: Compact Design, Easy Setup, durable, Low Ink Consumption, Lightweight/Portable, Sharp Tones & Colors, fast print speed, easy to use
I've had this one for almost 3 months now. I have had other more expensive all in ones before and this one works as well or BETTER than all the others. Never any blurry printouts. I've had only one crinkled? printout but that was because I put the paper in wrong at the very beginning. I have had no problem whatsoever since then. It was an easy set up. Very easy to use. Great for the budget. Fast printout. Good on ink use.I just now had to add a new black ink to it. Even with all the printing I've done its taken a few months for it to run out. The color ink is still the one that came with the printer and not out of ink yet. I would highly recommend this to anyone who needs a great printer/scanner thats on a budget.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PIXMA MG2120
Nickname: 1
Location: USA
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 27, 2013
Cons: Difficult to use, Difficult Setup, High Ink Consumption, unreliable
Do not buy it!
Poor quality!!! A lot of problems.
Be ready to see many problems with it...
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PIXMA MG2120
Nickname: TXMC
Location: Arkansas
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Crafts/Scrapbooking
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

A Great Purchase

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 26, 2013
Pros: reliable, Compact Design, Easy Setup, durable, Low Ink Consumption, Lightweight/Portable, Sharp Tones & Colors, fast print speed, easy to use, beautiful pictures
I love the Pixma MG 2120. I think for me, was a great purchase.
I like the fact of having a scanner, printer all in one. I have had others with even a fax didn't like them as well as this one. It lasted longer for me in the long run.
I didn't like the jam ups either. For the most part it was my fault. Making sure your paper was all straight, had no wrinkles of any kind. I ran into those situations a few times.
Now even though it has been a little less than a year, I am ready to purchase another one.
For again as I said "I feel like it is my fault that it is no longer working properly". At least I'll take the blame for this one. I wonder if anyone else would. Pictures were perfect, none blurry, unless I made them to big within the enlargement of my pictures (Which sometimes I did).
Also, it used less ink than other inkjet printers i have had in the past. That is a plus on my budget.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PIXMA MG2120
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: Young Harris Ga.
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Worst printer ever

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 16, 2013
Pros: Compact Design
Cons: Difficult to use, unreliable
This printer has never worked the way it should from day one. Paper jams and if you do get it to print it is so blurry you cannot read it. Sort of looks like it prints double. I have changed settings and cleaned till I am sick of it.
1 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PIXMA MG2120
Nickname: AmAm
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

canon mg2100

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:August 11, 2013
Pros: Easy Setup, easy to use
Cons: Slow Print Speed, Dull Tones & Colors, High Ink Consumption, unreliable
I bought this 3 in 1 printer before 4Mo, it ws wrok tell the ink run out then every thing was stopped, I mean even the scanner which is does not make any sence.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PIXMA MG2120
Nickname: Kat
Location: Santa Rosa CA.
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

I really enjoy this printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 7, 2013
Pros: reliable, Compact Design, Easy Setup, durable, Lightweight/Portable, Sharp Tones & Colors, fast print speed, easy to use
its very easy to use
its compact enough for a small desks and I love the quality of the photo I print from web sites
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PIXMA MG2120
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: WA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

great basic printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 7, 2013
Pros: Compact Design, Easy Setup, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use
Popped the CD in and followed the instructions. Installed all the recommended files and it works great!
I printed an internet file then scanned a copy with very little difference. Good detail just a little lighter. I changed the USB cord by just pulling the short one out and plugging in the new one. It started right up without a hiccup (in my opinion a good test of the software integrity). Roger
1 2 3 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site