Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Refurbished Products Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop Refurbished Products or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PowerShot ELPH 530 HS

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

PowerShot ELPH 530 HS

For twelve years ELPH cameras have been coveted icons of design and innovation. Informed by that legacy yet stepping solidly into the future comes the PowerShot ELPH 530 HS.
Average Customer Rating:
3.454 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
3
7 out of 11(64%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PowerShot ELPH 530 HS
Review 1 for PowerShot ELPH 530 HS
Nickname: camera fan
Location: west palm beach florida
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

worst purchase ever

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 13, 2013
Cons: Poor image quality, Poor Low-Light Performance, Difficult to use, Short battery life, Complicated controls/menu
poor quality images, not intuitive or user friendly, picture quality better in older canon models, would not recommend
10 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PowerShot ELPH 530 HS
Nickname: BHG
Location: WA
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great CameraWith One Flaw

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 10, 2013
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use, simple elegant design
Cons: battery goes dead even when off
I like everything about this camera except one: If you leave the battery in the camera it goes dead in only a few days, even when the camera is turned off. If you remove the battery after each use it holds its charge OK.
19 of 22 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PowerShot ELPH 530 HS
Nickname: grr
Location: Willmar , MN
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

no manual override

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 1, 2012
Pros: small size
Cons: no manual override
I was really excited about this camera and then I found out that it has no manual override. I returned the camera. I can not use a camera this basic.
43 of 264 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PowerShot ELPH 530 HS
Nickname: PWD lover
Location: Aldie, VA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Wifi not so good

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:July 22, 2013
Pros: Lightweight/Portable
Cons: Difficult to use, Complicated controls/menu, Flimsy Construction, poor wifi capabilities
I purchased this camera as a lightweight alternative to my DSLR for fun trips. I loved the idea of having wifi to post to Facebook, etc.
It took me several hours to figure out how to set it up. The Canon website is horrible. If you don't do everything in the proper sequence you have to keep registering your camera over and over. It wasn't clear whether you needed one password or two (for the Canon Imaging as well as the Canon account).
You can submit a photo to facebook, but you can't make any comments - not good.
Email photos - I haven't had time to delve into it but it appears that you have to set up the email recipients ahead of time on the web site, so you need to know who you might send a photo to before you even take it.
I haven't taken many photos yet, so will refrain from commenting on that until after my upcoming trip.
I know it's not an iPhone, but I did expect some basic features for wifi that didn't require constant set up changes on a web site to make it work.
16 of 20 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PowerShot ELPH 530 HS
Nickname: Tim
Location: Atlanta GA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

Has potential of a real winner

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:December 28, 2013
Pros: Nice features/settings, durable
Cons: Complicated controls/menu
THis is my initial review for the ELPH 530 HS and will update it in a week or so. I have seen several comments about short battery life so that will be investigated. The comments about the round and round on the Canon web site is true. I still do not have my account complete yet, I think!? Camera quality is superb - I saw several reviews that knock it because it isn't the usual ELPH metal case. In my humble opinion, so what? It has a very solid feel and I like the "quality" of the plastic components. It has a lot of powerful technology packed inside it. I had initial problems with the wi-fi capability as it was one of the reasons I purchased it! I own a Rebel XT and a 7D so love Canon!
More later.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PowerShot ELPH 530 HS
Nickname: JSK
Location: Toronto, ON
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Very Good!

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 13, 2013
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, easy to use
Cons: Heavy/Bulky, Complicated controls/menu
I bought this camera as point and shoot for my dslr
One of the review(at the bottom) said there are no manual option. But there is one. If you used canon camera, word P is manual setting. It is great except the screen. Screen is not a static but pressure. It means it has films on it. Not like smart phone screen. Respond time is longer and sometimes it doesn't work. So if you want to buy this product, you should try ou the working one. Because all the functions on the phone is great and works well.
Pro: Low light, many functions and settings, manual option, easy to use.
Con: Touch screen, no multi erase, battery is short, case is made with plastic,
13 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PowerShot ELPH 530 HS
Nickname: LoffKat
Location: New York, NY
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Decent small camera

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 13, 2012
Pros: size, weight, wifi upload
Cons: slow readiness for next picture to be taken
I bought this camera because an old camera (SD450) which i loved so much was lost to a bus ride... I love the size of this camera and the features are the same as most small cameras. There IS a manual override for shooting adjustments (P). While is it a little on the slower side to be ready to take the next picture, I am okay with sacrificing that option for the weight and size of the camera. As always with Canon, the images are excellent.
41 of 43 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PowerShot ELPH 530 HS
Nickname: photo novice
Location: Nayarite, Mexico
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

excellent camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 18, 2013
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
1st canon was a T50 P&S .. AE1 .. this Elph 530HS is the most convenient and all around quality ...I always remove the battery from all cameras when not in use .. This is probably the best camera I have ever owned ...the big screen is a great feature...
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PowerShot ELPH 530 HS
Nickname: thecatsmeow
Location: Georgia
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Bang for the bucks!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 24, 2013
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
I love the camera. Its sleek design and compact. Everything I needed in camera. Takes excellent pictures even in low light. It took me some time to get use to the touch screen which is very sensitive but I love it! I would recommend this to anyone looking for a cheap camera.
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PowerShot ELPH 530 HS
Nickname: BillyBob
Location: Pensacola FL
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

great little camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 12, 2013
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Fast, lightweight takes awesome pics. Upgraded from older Canon Elph....love the touch screen
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PowerShot ELPH 530 HS
Nickname: Thae
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Love this Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 29, 2012
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Short battery life
My previous camera, Canon SD3500, was horrible! I hated the thing and the pictures were awful. This camera replaces that one and it is awesome! It takes excellent low light shots and the normal pictures are beautiful. The touchscreen is not iPhone-like but i don't expect my camera to be a phone. This is the 1st camera I have truly loved in awhile.
46 of 48 people found this review helpful.
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site