Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Printers & Multifunction Reviews / PIXMA MX Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PIXMA MX Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PIXMA MX892

PIXMA MX892

Bring incredible quality, speed, and ease of use to your home office all in the name of increased productivity.
Average Customer Rating:
2.763 out of 5
2.8
 out of 
5
(114 Reviews) 114
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (114 reviews)
5 stars
34
4 stars
7
3 stars
10
2 stars
24
1 star
39
33 out of 82(40%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PIXMA MX892
Review 1 for PIXMA MX892
Nickname: 
Location: VA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Best Printer I've Owned...

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 21, 2015
And I've owned many. This was my first canon product after using a series of different printers from the best known brand in the same and higher price range. I've experienced nothing but consistent quality over a two year period printing a combination of photos and documents, and a good bit of scanning. Photo quality IMO is unmatched at this price point. I see the short delays to begin printing and the software that could be improved as minor annoyances that are acceptable given the quality of the output.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PIXMA MX892
Nickname: 
Location: Cerritos, ca
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

Works all the time

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 18, 2015
Decent printer. Used Canon printers for decades. Could improve the software ease of use for the scanning.
Review 3 for PIXMA MX892
Nickname: 
Location: Tucson, AZ
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Worst printer

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 16, 2015
I purchased this printer at my local Costco a year ago and I completely regret it. It won't let you print in grayscale (at least not easily), it takes forever to print, and the color runs out so frequently. I would never recommend this product to anyone!!
Review 4 for PIXMA MX892
Nickname: 
Location: Phoenix, Az
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Horrible Printer- Stay away!

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 29, 2015
I advise everyone to stay far away from this printer. At first, I absolutely loved the features this printer had to offer. However, after a few months, wireless connectivity was starting to malfunction and I constantly had to reconnect to my computer. A short while after this, it shut itself off after printing a few documents and never turned back on. I tried unplugging it from the wall, unplugging it from the back of the printer... followed all the guidelines on the "help" forums and still no resolve. The printer flat out died and never turned on again...what a waste of money!
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PIXMA MX892
Nickname: 
Location: Englishtown, Nj
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Faxing
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Cannon Junk

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 15, 2015
My printer was about a year and half old with only 100 pages ever printed. Used it mostly for fax and resume printing. Out of the blue got wrong print head error like so many other cannon printer owners. Don't buy it.
Review 6 for PIXMA MX892
Nickname: 
Location: Chicago, IL
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Not one minute of trouble

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 30, 2015
I have been using this printer for over 2 yrs and have not had one minute of trouble with it. Would not hesitate to recommend it.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PIXMA MX892
Nickname: 
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Failed after about 100 pages

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:June 24, 2015
On paper (joke) this printer/scanner looks great. But it suffers form the usual Canon software stack issues .. too many confusing/overlapping/awful software apps in the bundle. "My Image Garden"?? Are they serious.
Much more concerning was that after 18 months of VERY light use (less than 100 pages total), the printer simply stopped working with an "Internal error" message on the screen.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PIXMA MX892
Nickname: 
Location: Sonora, Mexico
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

Throw another one on the trash heap.

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 4, 2015
My MX892 worked fine for 2 years and 2 months, then died suddenly. Will not power on. Now I see that many people have had the same experience with this printer. Very disappointing. For many years, I respected Canon for their quality products. However, this product has proven to be a horrible failure--just read the many reviews by people who experienced the same problem. Google "Pixma MX 892 Won't Turn On". Time to shop for another brand. Adios, Canon.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PIXMA MX892
Nickname: 
Location: Alabama
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Works good but cannot clear error messages

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:May 24, 2015
I have loved this MX892 for more than a year and thought I would always buy another mx892.
Has great feature, duplex, airprint, scan, works with my iphone and ipad.
It use to be good with ink but recently it seems to drink the ink.
Had to take the print head out and wash this in the sink. Then had to use compressed air on the blue head to finally clear.
Since I print a lot it has a timer that tell you the waste ink is full. So you have press the ok button before it will print.
I cleaned the waste ink tanks, but cannot reset the message that the waste ink is full.
No joy using the internet and cannot get Cannon to respond to me.
Have now decided this is my last MX892 Printer, even though I love all the features.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PIXMA MX892
Nickname: 
Location: Ohio
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Mostly used for: Copying

Don't buy this

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 22, 2015
Like many others, I received the "incorrect printer head" message, rendering my printer completely worthless even though the printer head was original to the printer. I owned it less than 2 years and used it very infrequently. Save your money and don't buy a Canon, particularly this model.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PIXMA MX892
Nickname: 
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

It was good while it lasted: less than 2 years

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 6, 2015
It was a good printer . . . for less than two years. One day it just stopped printing black. I replaced cartridges, ran all of the maintenance routines, but no luck. Other reviewers report similar problems. I generally like Canon photo products, but I am thinking that I will not try another canon printer.
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PIXMA MX892
Nickname: 

junk

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 6, 2015
This printer can do a good job when it feels like it. otherwise it drinks ink, and if the wind blows wrong that day you get a b200 code that basically makes this a great paperwieght. too many printers these days with too many features. pass on this.
Review 13 for PIXMA MX892
Nickname: 

Broke

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 18, 2015
dont buy this it broke after a short time. i had this foe less than 1 yr. it was always going off line, then it broke
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PIXMA MX892
Nickname: 

Buyer beware!

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 11, 2015
These MX892 models have stopped working for many users in the past few months. Just Google 'MX892 won't power on' and you will see many (many!) people finding this issue at the moment. One minute all is good, then next minute the unit just goes dark and will not power on.
I would strongly recommend avoiding this unit.
Sorry for the negative review, but I thought folks need to be warned to steer clear of this printer.
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PIXMA MX892
Nickname: 
Location: San Diego, CA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Too Complicated for Basic Needs

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:March 6, 2015
I purchased this a couple of years ago and I am not happy with it because of the multiple ink cartridges that need replacing (expensive) and it is complicated to use. I feel like I am going to the office supply store monthly to replace one or 2 ink tanks.
If you just want to do basic printing and scanning I'd find a simpler printer. The quality is excellent as far as the prints go.
1 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PIXMA MX892
Nickname: 
Location: Texas
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

Paper Weight

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 2, 2015
Had this printer for a little more than a year. In time for the warranty to run out. I got an error message U052. No repair possible without spending 2X the cost of a new printer. Will not purchase another Canon product. Ordered another brand. This issue has been reported all over the internet, yet Canon does nothing.
15 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PIXMA MX892
Nickname: 

Poor Quality

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 22, 2015
I bought this printer for my wife who lightly used it. The printer lasted less than two years before it broke with a cryptic error. It would cost 2x the price to fix. Reading other reviews, it looks like my experience was not unique. I bought a different brand that has better reviews for quality. I will be skipping canon from now on.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PIXMA MX892
Nickname: 
Location: West Hartford, CT
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Bad Printer

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 6, 2015
Inexpensive printer while it lasted. I got 5 months from my Canon PIXMA MX892 Printer before I got an error message U052. No repair possible without spending 2X the cost of a new printer.
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PIXMA MX892
Nickname: 
Location: Takoma Park, MD
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great Then Conked Out Completely

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 30, 2015
I love Canon printer products and have had great success with them in the past. I bought the PIXMA MX892 in October of 2012 and it lasted only 2 years 3 months before I got the "B200" error message, which means repair is needed. Canon support said the repair was likely to cost as much as a new one.
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PIXMA MX892
Nickname: 
Location: Grove City, OH
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Doesn't last long

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 26, 2015
This printer was great for a very short amount of time and then stopped printing all together. This product should last longer than this. Very disappointed.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site