Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Printers & Multifunction Reviews / PIXMA MX Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PIXMA MX Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PIXMA MX892

PIXMA MX892

Bring incredible quality, speed, and ease of use to your home office all in the name of increased productivity.
Average Customer Rating:
3.091 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(77 Reviews) 77
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (77 reviews)
5 stars
27
4 stars
6
3 stars
9
2 stars
17
1 star
18
32 out of 77(42%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PIXMA MX892
Review 1 for PIXMA MX892
Nickname: Doc
Location: 'sconsin
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

Revised review

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 28, 2014
I've been asked to re-write my earlier review of the MX892. So I will not talk about the fact that the 18 month old printer stopped working. That is the end of my review
Review 2 for PIXMA MX892
Nickname: Anonymous
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert

Best Wifi Connection out of 3 brands

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 17, 2014
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, Small Footprint, easy to use
Cons: Slow Print Speed
Over the past 6 years, this was my third brand printer. Out of the three, this one was the easiest to connect to from all my computers and phones (OSX, Windows7, Android, iOS) and STAY connected. The others would have to be completely redone every so often. Reading some of the other reviews, and having experienced many different printers over the years, let me tell you, they ALL use ink faster than you think, and they ALL eventually break after a few years. Pull your head out of the sand and realize the consumer world we live in, which nothing is made to last on purpose. I dont like that fact anymore than the next person, but you're fooling yourself if you think its just one brand. I have had this thing for a year and half and its still working like it did on day one, and has stay connected to my network wireless the whole time. I love the design, I can close the tray to keep it out of the way and when I give the print command, it auto folds down!
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PIXMA MX892
Nickname: Didn't Last Long
Location: NJ
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Scanning
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Great while it lasted, but diidn't last long.

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 7, 2014
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, High Quality Output, fast print speed, easy to use
Cons: broke after only about year of use
PRO:
This was the best printer I had ever owned. WHILE IT LASTED & that was only for about a year. I used this mostly for SCANNING old family photos & documents. It was great & easy to use for that.
CONS:
1-INK was expensive & didn't last. Felt like I was always running out & I only bought CANNON INK.
2- I only printed on occasion & 95% of the time only printed in BLACK, but the colors didn't last either.
3- Did not print photos, only documents and that was only on occasion.
4- It only lasted a year & then I got a code B200.
I use this only for home use & I am the only person using it.
I DO TAKE GOOD CARE OF MY PRINTER & ONLY BUY CANNON INK, as my private computer teck suggested. Actually I have never bought an off brand ink for any of my printers, always bought the ink made from the Manf.
I did call Cannon, today & they said they would send me a replacement. BUT POSSIBLE NOT HIS MODEL & POSSIBLE A REFURBISHED MODEL.
I'm so disappoint in cannon products right now, If I had to replace on mine own, I would not be buying from the same company. My Old printer, was that was much harder on ink, but lasted 8 years. I'm not joking about that 8 years & never an issue.
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PIXMA MX892
Nickname: canonnomore
Location: MN
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Very Disappointed

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 26, 2014
Cons: unreliable
Have had this printer less than two years. Workied fine (very light home usage) but now the printer displays a B200 error. From all my research this is a common error with Canon printers and most people end up buying a replacement. Up until now I have been a big fan of Canon but based on this printer and a Canon camera that I recently purchased (problems that resulted in multiple calls to Canon support, sending the camera in for service and it still does not work correctly) I will NEVER purchase anything from Canon.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PIXMA MX892
Nickname: Cooper
Location: Chicago, IL
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Worst Purchase in the World

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 18, 2014
Cons: Slow Print Speed, Low Quality Output, unreliable
I never write reviews on anything so I am basically only writing this to show you how much awful this printer really is. I seldomly use this printer as I do not really need to print many things. Whenever I go to print something, the ink is low on one of the cartridges. It doesn't matter which one but I am constantly buying ink for it. I literally only print 5 pages of something and next thing I know ink is low. Not only this, but I never print in color and somehow the color ink goes low as often as the black ink. It's like the ink gets siphoned out from it while it is off. Will never buy another Canon product.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PIXMA MX892
Nickname: HeyJoe
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

What a lemon

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 7, 2014
Pros: Easy Setup, easy to use
Cons: unreliable, Flimsy Construction
What a lemon. Really like the features, software, and control interface on the printer. But the like stops there. It performs fine. But goes through ink like a kid goes through candy. Requires Canon cartridges or it will give you erorrs if you want to try 3rd party ink. Lasted about a year, then gave me a B200 error and stopped working. Tried all the troubleshooting steps I could find, but no luck. Wiith poor quality products like this, I won't be buying another Canon printer.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PIXMA MX892
Nickname: Fla customer
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Copying

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:June 2, 2014
PixmaMX892. Terrible with photo paper. Goes through ink faster than we can keep up - even if we choose only Black ink. Would not purchase this model again. Now we have to have it serviced or get a new one due to a paper jam.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PIXMA MX892
Nickname: sad owner
Location: San Diego, CA
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Scanning
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

worked for a while, then died

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 15, 2014
Cons: unreliable
Wireless printing never worked well so I used it mostly as a scanner or fax machine. All of a sudden the machine just died. Followed protocol with unplugging and wait for at least 30 min before restarting. Still same problem, no power to the printer. used a new power cable, still same problem.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PIXMA MX892
Nickname: justme
Location: Texas
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Crafts/Scrapbooking
Product replacement: No

Not very happy here

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:April 26, 2014
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, durable, easy to use
Cons: Slow Print Speed, Low Quality Output
Ok , my canon stopped working yesterday :-( It was printing fine and then all of the sudden gave me a B200 error and that was that. My son who knows a lot about computers and such tried everything to get it to work but nothing. seemed to work, its done capoots !!! I had this printer for about 3 1/2 to 4 years and it did a decent job. But was pretty slow and was not very clear in printing and photos weren't very clear either. This was for my personal use so i really didn't mind which is why i kept it but I wasn't really happy with my purchase. Now I'm hunting for a new one and don't know what to get..
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PIXMA MX892
Nickname: Accountant901
Location: Memphis TN
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Generally works well

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:April 10, 2014
Pros: Easy Setup
Cons: Slow Print Speed
I may have discovered a solution for the printer using color ink to print black. I allowed all of my color cartridges to run completely dry and started printing only from the black cartridge. Now, it seems to be printing only from my black 225 cartridge (unless of course I print color and then it does a good job).
I had no problem with the setup. It connected to my Wi-Fi on the 1st attempt.
Review 11 for PIXMA MX892
Nickname: JenH
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents

Can I give it ZERO stars?

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 8, 2014
If you like to spend an hour trying to make it print, buy this printer. It inexplicably goes offline, has errors, is not responding, etc. Don't think it's our wifi since everything else stays online. Also, it seems to print about 5 pages before you need 1 of the 5 ink cartridges.... ka-ching, ka-ching $$$. I can't live with this printer much longer.
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PIXMA MX892
Nickname: Student
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

PIXMA MX892 BEWARE

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 23, 2014
Pros: nice user congifuration, decent price
Cons: loves to go 'off line', included software useless
This printer does a fine job when it works. I have had issues for quite a while with the printer going 'off line' while connected via Wi-Fi and while connected via USB. The only thing I can count on is that I can't count on this printer working without jumping through hoops 98% of the time I want to use it. The included software is a waste since going on line to download the software is the only working option. I will continue battling this device until either I finally get too tired of it or it breaks on its own.
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PIXMA MX892
Nickname: Very Disappointed
Expertise Level: Casual User
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years

Never buy again

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 21, 2014
I've had this product for almost 2 years. It worked well in the beginning but found it slow. It goes through the colour cartridges very quickly and they're not cheap. I got an error message of B200 and found out that the printer head was probably gone and its replacement would be about the price of a new printer. I would never buy a Canon product again.
7 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PIXMA MX892
Nickname: Professor Bill
Location: Orange County, CA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Product works well as Adveritsed

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 16, 2014
When Writer/Printer is used as Advertised it works well as a Home Office product
Review 15 for PIXMA MX892
Nickname: Mike
Location: Charlotte, NC
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office

Great features and performance but not reliable

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:January 10, 2014
Pros: Easy Setup, High Quality Output, easy to use
Cons: unreliable
Prints very well; a little slow but quality is good. The included software works very well for scanning. However, after about 9 months the printer gave me a "U052" error and said I installed the wrong printhead. Search for it on the Canon forums; it seems to be a common problem. Now I'm waiting for an a warranty exchange, but it's on backorder!?!? Would be a 5 star printer if it was reliable. A flagship printer should not break after 9 months.
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PIXMA MX892
Nickname: INURBEX
Location: Seymour,IN
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Awesome Printer !!!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 4, 2014
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, durable, High Quality Output, easy to use, pyramid design, display
Cons: 8.5/10 print speed
I've owned this printer now for over a year.I've used several printer brands & models over the years but this printer here is the best I have ever used.Very dependable.Very user friendly & has more options than a fully loaded car.I haven't used 1/2 of the options this printer has available.Connects easily to Bluetooth & Wireless Routers like the ASUS RT-N56U & RT-N65U Routers.Scans images fairly quickly.Prints fairly quickly also.I give these 2 an 8.5 out of 10 which is a very good rating.The design of it is what appealed to me.The screen was the 2nd.It has the look of a Pyramid somewhat which I think is excellent.I'm so amazed with this printer that I'm currently in the process of buying the upgraded model the: MX922.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PIXMA MX892
Nickname: DrTim
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Good Hwardware Ruined by Confused Software

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 3, 2014
Pros: High Quality Output, fast print speed
Cons: Difficult to use, Difficult Setup, horrible software
I've been using Canon printers and scanners for some years now, and the MX890 continues the Canon tradition of combining great hardware with a befuddled mess of overlapping and confusing software.
Instead of a nice clean scan/print application, you get multi drivers (with overlapping functions), multiple scan+print applications (with overlapping functions), and multiple utilities. And good luck figuring out which is which from the scant documentation on the Canon web site.
Worse still, the apps themselves are amateurish .. some have huge buttons, some tiny. Even the basic driver is a confused mess. For example, the MX890 scanner shows up twice: once as "MX890 series" and once as "MX890 series Network". Why? Whice one should I use? The docs are silent. And if you choose one a "Change" button lights up that takes you to ANOTHER dialog box which presents a NEW list of scanners using DIFFERENT names ("mx890") and asking to choose one again.
it's very clear no-one at Canon has any real idea of how to make a well designed application.
So, buy the unit for great printing and scanning, but be prepared to spend a while figuring out the confused mess that is the scanner/printer software.
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PIXMA MX892
Nickname: richardssmt4
Location: Nevada City, Ca.
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years

Great product

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 28, 2013
Pros: Easy Setup, High Quality Output, fast print speed, easy to use, individual ink colors
Cons: non printed manual
I would prefer to have a printed manual. My usage is mainly printing of documents and photos,some fax.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PIXMA MX892
Nickname: Dan
Location: Bradenton, Fl
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Great printer for home office!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 20, 2013
Pros: reliable, Small Footprint, High Quality Output, fast print speed
We have had this printer for about a year. It has been very reliable as we don't use it every day. But when we do it's always ready!
Review 20 for PIXMA MX892
Nickname: DISAPPOINTED

worst purchase ever

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 15, 2013
Cons: Slow Print Speed, unreliable
I have gone through more ink than ever, uses color ink when printing black and white....makes no sense, freezes up after 2 printings on a regular basis, have tried the suggestions to unplug, etc., has been the biggest waste of my work hours so has cost me money in that sense as well.
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site