Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Printers & Multifunction Reviews / PIXMA MX Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PIXMA MX Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PIXMA MX892

PIXMA MX892

Bring incredible quality, speed, and ease of use to your home office all in the name of increased productivity.
Average Customer Rating:
2.833 out of 5
2.8
 out of 
5
(102 Reviews) 102
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (102 reviews)
5 stars
31
4 stars
7
3 stars
10
2 stars
22
1 star
32
33 out of 82(40%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PIXMA MX892
Review 1 for PIXMA MX892
Nickname: Anonymous

Broke

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 18, 2015
dont buy this it broke after a short time. i had this foe less than 1 yr. it was always going off line, then it broke
Review 2 for PIXMA MX892
Nickname: marsmic

Buyer beware!

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 11, 2015
These MX892 models have stopped working for many users in the past few months. Just Google 'MX892 won't power on' and you will see many (many!) people finding this issue at the moment. One minute all is good, then next minute the unit just goes dark and will not power on.
I would strongly recommend avoiding this unit.
Sorry for the negative review, but I thought folks need to be warned to steer clear of this printer.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PIXMA MX892
Nickname: SDIEGO
Location: San Diego, CA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Too Complicated for Basic Needs

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:March 6, 2015
I purchased this a couple of years ago and I am not happy with it because of the multiple ink cartridges that need replacing (expensive) and it is complicated to use. I feel like I am going to the office supply store monthly to replace one or 2 ink tanks.
If you just want to do basic printing and scanning I'd find a simpler printer. The quality is excellent as far as the prints go.
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PIXMA MX892
Nickname: Stealth
Location: Texas
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

Paper Weight

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 2, 2015
Had this printer for a little more than a year. In time for the warranty to run out. I got an error message U052. No repair possible without spending 2X the cost of a new printer. Will not purchase another Canon product. Ordered another brand. This issue has been reported all over the internet, yet Canon does nothing.
12 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PIXMA MX892
Nickname: Unhappy Customer

Poor Quality

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 22, 2015
I bought this printer for my wife who lightly used it. The printer lasted less than two years before it broke with a cryptic error. It would cost 2x the price to fix. Reading other reviews, it looks like my experience was not unique. I bought a different brand that has better reviews for quality. I will be skipping canon from now on.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PIXMA MX892
Nickname: Don B
Location: West Hartford, CT
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Bad Printer

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 6, 2015
Inexpensive printer while it lasted. I got 5 months from my Canon PIXMA MX892 Printer before I got an error message U052. No repair possible without spending 2X the cost of a new printer.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PIXMA MX892
Nickname: SET TP
Location: Takoma Park, MD
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great Then Conked Out Completely

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 30, 2015
I love Canon printer products and have had great success with them in the past. I bought the PIXMA MX892 in October of 2012 and it lasted only 2 years 3 months before I got the "B200" error message, which means repair is needed. Canon support said the repair was likely to cost as much as a new one.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PIXMA MX892
Nickname: Unhappy Customer
Location: Grove City, OH
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Doesn't last long

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 26, 2015
This printer was great for a very short amount of time and then stopped printing all together. This product should last longer than this. Very disappointed.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PIXMA MX892
Nickname: Ink Man
Location: Baltimore, MD
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Good printer for Temporary use

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 14, 2015
Liked this printer for all of its capabilities. Unfortunately, it died with the dreaded B200 code. Looked up this code and lots of people have had the same issue with this printer. I have not had this printer that long, maybe a year. Took print head out, cleaned it, did what Canon suggested about power cord removal and print head removal. No dice. Guess it is trash now. Will buy a different manufacturer next time. Should last longer with the little printing that we do. Only use it sparingly at home.
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PIXMA MX892
Nickname: nolife
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Disappointed

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 4, 2015
Started out as a good unit. After a comparatively small number of copies, got the dreaded U052 error. Tried re-seating, cleaning, and other suggestions. No success. Ended up being a very expensive unit.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PIXMA MX892
Nickname: GB
Location: California
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

The Best

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 25, 2014
It is the Best Printer I have owned and well worth the price I paid.
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PIXMA MX892
Nickname: vdmboy
Location: Dallas TX
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

great network printer, network scanning? NOPE

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 14, 2014
I really love this printer as a printer. local scanning and copying are very good. its reasonably easy to install (Windows 8 & MAC OSX Mavericks) if you download the drivers form the Canon site.
the network scanning simply doesn't work. you can scan to a USB drive and then plug into your computer, but forget any network scanning
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PIXMA MX892
Nickname: houdini65
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Scanning
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

DO NOT BUY!!

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 2, 2014
My printer was working great and then for no reason it wouldn't turn on. I checked every possible problem and it just wouldn't power on.
I went to the Canon forum and found that I wasn't the only one to have this problem. There were 80 some posts saying the same thing.
http://forums.usa.canon.com/t5/Personal-Printers/Pixma-MX-892-Won-t-Turn-On/td-p/90938
15 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PIXMA MX892
Nickname: MISS girl
Location: Tennessee
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Started out great....disappointed!

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:November 1, 2014
I was initially so impressed with this printer due to the compact size, ease of use, nice print quality and wireless component. Purchased 4/2013. However, in the last 4-5 months I've had nothing but problems. The most frustrating is that the print head has gotten clogged so the colors will not print. I have taken the print head out several times and cleaned as indicated, but it still won't print properly. Besides time lost, I've spent additional money to replace ink cartridges thinking that was the problem. Canon has a great reputation, but I likely won't buy a Canon printer again unless this can be resolved.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PIXMA MX892
Nickname: neenee
Location: rochester, ny
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

good while it lasted

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 28, 2014
I have read several customers that experienced the same issue that I have. I have had my mx892 for approximately 15 months and it just stopped printing. the machine goes through the motion of printing, but the paper is blank. I have gone through all of the maint. available, several time, but still no printed pages. there seems to be a flaw with this machine since so many others have experienced the same issue.
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PIXMA MX892
Nickname: MinPA
Location: Philadelphia
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Sudden Death at 14 months

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:October 18, 2014
Very happy with this printer until it suddenly died. Without warning, while printing it just went dark and refuses to power up. Lasted only 14 months after moderate usage. I found a number of posts from consumers who had the identical experience. Strongly suggest you avoid this model since it clearly has reliability issues.
A shame, because this was a great all-in-one before its untimely demise.
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PIXMA MX892
Nickname: Wes
Location: Hood River, OR
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Decent printer. Didn't last long though.

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:October 6, 2014
Tremendously dissapointed at the build quality of things these days. This printer is the latest victim of a short lifespan and ink nozzle perma-clog. Liked the printer for the short time I had it which was a little over a year. A few months back the cyan color nozzle became clogged and I was unable to clean it using the canon self cleaning tools..
Today the power supply quit and it will no longer turn on.
Might have to try a different brand this time around.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PIXMA MX892
Nickname: adggjs
Location: Michigan
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Inexpensive to operate, simple to use.

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 9, 2014
This is a great machine. The wireless works very well. To get full benefit of this unit, be sure to dial-down the ink settings to 50%. Your cartridges last forever (almost). You can easily print a ream of paper after the indicator says "Empty".
Photo quality is the only time I use the Auto setting on ink.
Scanning a stack of documents could not be easier.
The two-sided print saves a lot of paper.
The best multi-function machine/printer I've ever seen.
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PIXMA MX892
Nickname: diva
Location: los angeles
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Scanning
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

MOSTLY ALL GOOD

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 8, 2014
I have had this MX 892 now for 2 years with no problems. it is hardwired into my network. I mostly scan and do very little printing,but when i do, it does go through ink quite rapidly, but what printer doesn't. The scanner program i have is wonderful. i gather Canon is not going to be using it anymore which is a shame. it is called MP Navigator and has a simple, clean interface with many options.
i have been on hold for some time now to find out how to get rid of a line down the side of scanned docs. they once told me how to fix it, but that fix doesn't seem to be working now.
I am amazed that Canon makes all these reviews public. wow. an honest company with a mediocre product according to some.
Review 20 for PIXMA MX892
Nickname: Stringbean
Location: Columbus, OH
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Good but only lasted 21 Months

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:September 6, 2014
This was our second Canon printer, our fist one lasted 4 years. The MX892 was a very good printer for 20 months. The print quality was good, it didn't use a lot of ink, and it was easy to setup. We had no problems with the printer until the power supply died. I think it should last longer for price.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site