Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Printers & Multifunction Reviews / PIXMA MX Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PIXMA MX Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PIXMA MX892

PIXMA MX892

Bring incredible quality, speed, and ease of use to your home office all in the name of increased productivity.
Average Customer Rating:
2.958 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(95 Reviews) 95
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (95 reviews)
5 stars
31
4 stars
7
3 stars
10
2 stars
21
1 star
26
33 out of 82(40%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PIXMA MX892
Review 1 for PIXMA MX892
Nickname: Unhappy Customer
Location: Grove City, OH
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Doesn't last long

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 26, 2015
This printer was great for a very short amount of time and then stopped printing all together. This product should last longer than this. Very disappointed.
Review 2 for PIXMA MX892
Nickname: Ink Man
Location: Baltimore, MD
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Good printer for Temporary use

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 14, 2015
Liked this printer for all of its capabilities. Unfortunately, it died with the dreaded B200 code. Looked up this code and lots of people have had the same issue with this printer. I have not had this printer that long, maybe a year. Took print head out, cleaned it, did what Canon suggested about power cord removal and print head removal. No dice. Guess it is trash now. Will buy a different manufacturer next time. Should last longer with the little printing that we do. Only use it sparingly at home.
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PIXMA MX892
Nickname: nolife
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Disappointed

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 4, 2015
Started out as a good unit. After a comparatively small number of copies, got the dreaded U052 error. Tried re-seating, cleaning, and other suggestions. No success. Ended up being a very expensive unit.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PIXMA MX892
Nickname: GB
Location: California
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

The Best

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 25, 2014
It is the Best Printer I have owned and well worth the price I paid.
Review 5 for PIXMA MX892
Nickname: vdmboy
Location: Dallas TX
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

great network printer, network scanning? NOPE

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 14, 2014
I really love this printer as a printer. local scanning and copying are very good. its reasonably easy to install (Windows 8 & MAC OSX Mavericks) if you download the drivers form the Canon site.
the network scanning simply doesn't work. you can scan to a USB drive and then plug into your computer, but forget any network scanning
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PIXMA MX892
Nickname: houdini65
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Scanning
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

DO NOT BUY!!

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 2, 2014
My printer was working great and then for no reason it wouldn't turn on. I checked every possible problem and it just wouldn't power on.
I went to the Canon forum and found that I wasn't the only one to have this problem. There were 80 some posts saying the same thing.
http://forums.usa.canon.com/t5/Personal-Printers/Pixma-MX-892-Won-t-Turn-On/td-p/90938
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PIXMA MX892
Nickname: MISS girl
Location: Tennessee
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Started out great....disappointed!

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:November 1, 2014
I was initially so impressed with this printer due to the compact size, ease of use, nice print quality and wireless component. Purchased 4/2013. However, in the last 4-5 months I've had nothing but problems. The most frustrating is that the print head has gotten clogged so the colors will not print. I have taken the print head out several times and cleaned as indicated, but it still won't print properly. Besides time lost, I've spent additional money to replace ink cartridges thinking that was the problem. Canon has a great reputation, but I likely won't buy a Canon printer again unless this can be resolved.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PIXMA MX892
Nickname: neenee
Location: rochester, ny
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

good while it lasted

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 28, 2014
I have read several customers that experienced the same issue that I have. I have had my mx892 for approximately 15 months and it just stopped printing. the machine goes through the motion of printing, but the paper is blank. I have gone through all of the maint. available, several time, but still no printed pages. there seems to be a flaw with this machine since so many others have experienced the same issue.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PIXMA MX892
Nickname: MinPA
Location: Philadelphia
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Sudden Death at 14 months

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:October 18, 2014
Very happy with this printer until it suddenly died. Without warning, while printing it just went dark and refuses to power up. Lasted only 14 months after moderate usage. I found a number of posts from consumers who had the identical experience. Strongly suggest you avoid this model since it clearly has reliability issues.
A shame, because this was a great all-in-one before its untimely demise.
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PIXMA MX892
Nickname: Wes
Location: Hood River, OR
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Decent printer. Didn't last long though.

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:October 6, 2014
Tremendously dissapointed at the build quality of things these days. This printer is the latest victim of a short lifespan and ink nozzle perma-clog. Liked the printer for the short time I had it which was a little over a year. A few months back the cyan color nozzle became clogged and I was unable to clean it using the canon self cleaning tools..
Today the power supply quit and it will no longer turn on.
Might have to try a different brand this time around.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PIXMA MX892
Nickname: adggjs
Location: Michigan
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Inexpensive to operate, simple to use.

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 9, 2014
This is a great machine. The wireless works very well. To get full benefit of this unit, be sure to dial-down the ink settings to 50%. Your cartridges last forever (almost). You can easily print a ream of paper after the indicator says "Empty".
Photo quality is the only time I use the Auto setting on ink.
Scanning a stack of documents could not be easier.
The two-sided print saves a lot of paper.
The best multi-function machine/printer I've ever seen.
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PIXMA MX892
Nickname: diva
Location: los angeles
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Scanning
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

MOSTLY ALL GOOD

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 8, 2014
I have had this MX 892 now for 2 years with no problems. it is hardwired into my network. I mostly scan and do very little printing,but when i do, it does go through ink quite rapidly, but what printer doesn't. The scanner program i have is wonderful. i gather Canon is not going to be using it anymore which is a shame. it is called MP Navigator and has a simple, clean interface with many options.
i have been on hold for some time now to find out how to get rid of a line down the side of scanned docs. they once told me how to fix it, but that fix doesn't seem to be working now.
I am amazed that Canon makes all these reviews public. wow. an honest company with a mediocre product according to some.
Review 13 for PIXMA MX892
Nickname: Stringbean
Location: Columbus, OH
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Good but only lasted 21 Months

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:September 6, 2014
This was our second Canon printer, our fist one lasted 4 years. The MX892 was a very good printer for 20 months. The print quality was good, it didn't use a lot of ink, and it was easy to setup. We had no problems with the printer until the power supply died. I think it should last longer for price.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PIXMA MX892
Nickname: plasticsdj
Location: Tracadie NB
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

WIll not turn on anymore after just over a year

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 27, 2014
Cons: will not power up
I bought this item just over a year a go . Was working great till all of a sudden will not Power up. There has got to be a company defect as I have found other people online with same issue.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PIXMA MX892
Nickname: NR
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

A Poor Product

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 23, 2014
Cons: Large Footprint, unreliable, definite product malfunction with printer head, printer head failure
I have had the pixma 892 just long enough to be past it`s
guarantee. Printer head error message (U52) and then it will not print black at all/ continues to lose its settings. Lite use from me but yet buying ink in unbelievable amounts.
I can understand a canon product that may perform less than stellar /
but i think canon should then extend the guarantee and
reimburse the customers for such a poor product, if they value their customers. I would not recommend this printer to anyone, and would not purchase another canon printer, related to the concern of the ink use and other problems with this printer.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PIXMA MX892
Nickname: Never again
Location: Austin, TX
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Died after minimal use

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 20, 2014
Pros: Easy Setup
Cons: unreliable, non durable
I attempted to use this printer for the first time in over 6 months which would be possibly the 6th time in the 2 years that I've had it. To illustrate my minimal usage: I have not needed to change the ink in the 2 years that I've had it (bought new from Fry's).
It simply will not even power on. I've tried every possible solution. Now, I see that I am NOT the only one that has had the problem and like all of the others I will never buy a Canon printer again.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PIXMA MX892
Nickname: Canon892
Location: usa
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Very good printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 12, 2014
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, durable, High Quality Output, fast print speed, easy to use
Very good print quality and works well as a workcenter. I have used this printer for over a year now. Remote printing is easy to setup and works well. Very happy with the purchase. The large internal paper tray is a nice feature and no paper jams or hardware issues encountered so far.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PIXMA MX892
Nickname: frustratedmom
Location: Phoenix, az
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great but dies in a year

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 2, 2014
Pros: Easy Setup, High Quality Output
Cons: unreliable, expensive ink, print heads burn out quickly
This is the second canon pixma printer that I have purchased in the past 2.5 years. The first one (mx882) lasted just about 18 months perhaps less before I got the dreaded b200 error message (print heads burnt out) The print quality was terrific but the ink was pricey. I purchased my second pixma (mx892) about a year ago and it worked terrific until yesterday when I got the b200 error again, I am a casual printer (maybe 25-30 pages per month) mostly black and white documents with the occasional photos and colorful school project for the kids, there is no reason that the print heads should burn out after minimal use. I will not buy another canon.
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PIXMA MX892
Nickname: Doc
Location: 'sconsin
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

Revised review

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 28, 2014
I've been asked to re-write my earlier review of the MX892. So I will not talk about the fact that the 18 month old printer stopped working. That is the end of my review
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PIXMA MX892
Nickname: Anonymous
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert

Best Wifi Connection out of 3 brands

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 17, 2014
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, Small Footprint, easy to use
Cons: Slow Print Speed
Over the past 6 years, this was my third brand printer. Out of the three, this one was the easiest to connect to from all my computers and phones (OSX, Windows7, Android, iOS) and STAY connected. The others would have to be completely redone every so often. Reading some of the other reviews, and having experienced many different printers over the years, let me tell you, they ALL use ink faster than you think, and they ALL eventually break after a few years. Pull your head out of the sand and realize the consumer world we live in, which nothing is made to last on purpose. I dont like that fact anymore than the next person, but you're fooling yourself if you think its just one brand. I have had this thing for a year and half and its still working like it did on day one, and has stay connected to my network wireless the whole time. I love the design, I can close the tray to keep it out of the way and when I give the print command, it auto folds down!
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site