Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Printers & Multifunction Reviews / PIXMA MX Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PIXMA MX Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PIXMA MX512

PIXMA MX512

Bring excellent quality, speed, and ease of use to your home office all in the name of increased productivity.
Average Customer Rating:
3 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (29 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
6
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 star
8
13 out of 29(45%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PIXMA MX512
Review 1 for PIXMA MX512
Nickname: kai
Location: st paul, mn
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

great ip printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 15, 2014
Pros: Easy Setup
works well for us with a mac and a few pc's in the house. reliable too! would buy again
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PIXMA MX512
Nickname: butchiew
Location: Charlotte, NC
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Piece of junk

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 8, 2014
Cons: Difficult to use, Difficult Setup, unreliable, Flimsy Construction
Worse printer that I have ever used. I had two other Canon printers, that I had no problems with. Wish that I would have kept one of them
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PIXMA MX512
Nickname: Bonnie
Location: Houston, TX
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

great when it worked

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 29, 2014
Great for the first few months but print quality dropped after about 6 months and it's totally stopped working after less than a year
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PIXMA MX512
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: Oregon
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Not Good

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 15, 2014
Pros: easy to use
Cons: Slow Print Speed, unreliable
I got this printer for Christmas 2012. It worked good until about a month or so ago. I went to scan something for school, and the printer wouldn't scan. There was a pop up saying there was a document in ADF. I swear to you, there was no document in the entire printer. I am not allowed to do anything on the printer until this alert is gone.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PIXMA MX512
Nickname: Anonymous

Does everything you need

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 3, 2014
This printer is great all around. It did take me awhile to figure out all the details and how each item works with my computer. But once you figure all the minor details... it's amazing.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PIXMA MX512
Nickname: joe
Location: ny ny
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

beware

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 27, 2014
this product is unacceptable.
I spent 2 days to install the software for the scanner.
the software is a mess...no help from on-line manual.
box has missing parts.,AND i got a broken cd
scanning takes more steps & needs the same answers over & over...user specifications
you have entered as defaults don't take,,,
even if the sw was good, this printer is SLOW
there is a long wait before you can start to scan....
takes 3 minutes to scan 1 page...I shutter to think of when I have to scan 50 or more (my norm)
I have worked in data processing for 35 years
even the printers for computers the size of a room
were faster!!!!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PIXMA MX512
Nickname: Terry
Location: Michigan
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Excellent for Price

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 27, 2014
Pros: excellent print quality, excellent print speed, wireless operation, auto document feeder
Cons: weak springs on copier lid, printed pages end up on floor, tri color ink cartrige can't replace single color
I purchased this printer to replace an OLD thermal fax machine. I've been quite pleased with it so far. The "fit-to-page" feature of the copier has been a great help with documents that are printed way to small. Also using it to scan documents that need to be saved, but don't have to be in paper form. The print quality and speed are excellent for an ink jet printer.
The wireless works flawlessly which helps as I don't have space for it near my computer. I've had no problems with missfeeds as others have mentioned. Perhaps a different brand of paper would help, I've found some papers work well with my laser and others tend to jam.
The only issues I have is the springs that hold the copy lid up are a bit on the week side and it tends to come down sometimes when you don't want it to. Also, the paper output tray is a little short and it tends to allow paper to end up on the floor.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PIXMA MX512
Nickname: big red
Location: Silver Spring MD
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Hope for no jamming

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:January 25, 2014
Pros: speed of printing, wireless printing
Cons: alignment issues, paperjams
I was very proud of this purchase for the first 14 months of use. Then I had one paper jam which happened in the back and I had to open the back of the printer to extract the paper. And from then on, the alignment was off. I tried multiple auto corrects, and multiple manual corrects. Neither worked. SOOO FRUSTRATED, I could throw it off a cliff and feel much better.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PIXMA MX512
Nickname: wontbuycanon
Location: North Carolina
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Just junk

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 24, 2014
Cons: poorly built, paper jams constantly, smeared printing
This printer has been nothing but junk. Paper jams and smeared printing time after time. Straight to the trashcan.
Never again.
Review 10 for PIXMA MX512
Nickname: circusranger
Location: Ocala, Florida
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Superb Wireless Printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 13, 2013
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, durable, Small Footprint, High Quality Output, fast print speed, easy to use, impeccable wireless
When it comes to Canon, be it cameras, or printers, I invariably get "value for money", and in over twenty years so, have to have ONE PRODUCT fail.
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PIXMA MX512
Nickname: Captain Dunsel
Location: Atlantam GA
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Product replacement: Yes

Easily the Worst Printer I have Ever Used

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 11, 2013
Cons: Difficult to use, unreliable, Flimsy Construction, endless jamming, alignment problems
We bought this printer as a desktop unit for one of our executives, to replace a Pixma 870 which had worn out over several years of use. (Unfortunately the 870 seems to be no more.)
BIG mistake. This has been the worst printer I have ever used in 35 years in IT - and I have seen some real duds.
It has endless problems with ink smearing, mis-feeds, poor software, irritating pop-ups and lousy network support.
The printer had so many problems with its internal sensors that we DEMANDED that Canon replace it after about 4 months. The replacement is now sitting on the workbench, having sucked in a stack of about 7 to 10 sheets of paper at a draw, and wrapped them around the drum, leaving absolutely no way to get at them to extract them.
Might be an okay printer for a home user who prints on single sheets, hand fed, and plugged into the PC with a USB cable.
For a business environment, accessed across a network (by just ONE user)? Forget it.
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PIXMA MX512
Nickname: Kate
Location: NE Texas
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

oh my, not again

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:October 2, 2013
Pros: fast print speed, beautiful phots, cartridges are inexpensive
Cons: Difficult to use, unreliable, hard to fax and scan
Fax machine rarely works, spend hours on phone with support. BUT, the photos print really really clearly. Scanning is also a problem, but if you want to print, its great. Don't get if you like to fax or scan.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PIXMA MX512
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: texas
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

happy with my printer

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 30, 2013
Pros: reliable, durable, High Quality Output, fast print speed, easy to use
This replaced a printer I had for years. Very good printer. All the features are very neat. Had a little bit of a hiccup with the initial network setup but everything works superb now!!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PIXMA MX512
Nickname: Augie
Location: Phila. ,PA
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 19, 2013
Pros: reliable, High Quality Output, easy to use
Looks and works great. Great product at a good price.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PIXMA MX512
Nickname: Freeze
Location: Silicon Valley, CA
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Better then I expected

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 25, 2013
Pros: reliable, Small Footprint, High Quality Output, fast print speed, easy to use
Cons: Difficult Setup
I don't print much, but when I do this printer does exactly what I need it to do. The ink price is reasonable. My only issue is setting up the wireless function.
20 of 21 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PIXMA MX512
Nickname: Nw-Ohio girl
Location: Ohio
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Firmware update needed

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 6, 2013
Pros: Small Footprint, High Quality Output, fast print speed
I received this printer as a gift after specifically requesting this. It was on Apple's list of Airprinters, and I own 4 Apple products.
My 2 laptops worked like a charm right away with the printer but for my iPhone and ipad I had to download and install updated firmware before they would print to the MX512.
Canon does mention in the fine print of their instructions that this download may need to be done. I would suggest though that instead of just locating this in the fine print, that it be put in a more prominent spot, along with prominent links to instructions on HOW to download and install this update.
27 of 29 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PIXMA MX512
Nickname: Anonymous

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:February 26, 2013
Nice instructions for receiving a fax, but nothing about how to send one!
9 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PIXMA MX512
Nickname: 123
Location: Charlotte, NC
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Product replacement: Yes

Works well for wireless printing

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 3, 2013
Pros: Easy Setup, easy to use
Cons: Large Footprint
Was easy to set up and start using. Have used copy, scan, print & wireless print from iPhone with no problems. Haven't tried fax as I don't need. All worked well. While not this printer's fault, I was disappointed that Costco doesn't carry ink for it. Will need to find a new cheap & convenient place to buy. Also, printer is kind of big. Not enormous, but a consideration if you have small space.
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PIXMA MX512
Nickname: tom
Location: ns
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Copying
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

needs to be returned

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 24, 2013
Cons: Difficult to use, Difficult Setup, unreliable, hard to turn on, fax not working
copier is fine, fax not working turns off after pushing fax setting, hard to turn on --several tries, will be returning to staples [ should have not replaced the old canon]
2 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PIXMA MX512
Nickname: Anonymous
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Nothing But Problems!!!

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 20, 2013
Cons: unreliable
Have had nothing but problems with this printer. Not satisfied at all!
3 of 12 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site