Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Printers & Multifunction Reviews / PIXMA MG Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PIXMA MG Series or
Choose a Category
Top-Rated Products

Customer Reviews for PIXMA MG3220

PIXMA MG3220

The PIXMA MG3220 Wireless Inkjet Photo All-In-One delivers excellent quality and convenience in a compact package.
Average Customer Rating:
2.138 out of 5
2.1
 out of 
5
(109 Reviews) 109
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (109 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
10
3 stars
11
2 stars
20
1 star
55
24 out of 95(25%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PIXMA MG3220
Review 1 for PIXMA MG3220
Nickname: adkwmn
Location: northern NY
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Bad choice

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 30, 2014
This printer has been a disappointment. I trusted the name Canon. I have had to uninstall and re-install twice. Every time I use the scan feature it fouls up the wireless print ability. Also no card slot, you have to use usb cable to scan to computer. I have had it about two months and will have to replace it. I don't have time to fuss with this unacceptable product!
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PIXMA MG3220
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: Oregon
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Load up on ink

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:February 6, 2014
I bought this printer at a very good price...needless to say I wasn't expecting it to be perfect. It works fine for regular printing jobs. My biggest complaint is that is uses a ton of printer ink. I have had to replace both the color and black ink twice in the past 2 months. Not a good deal to get a cheap printer and then pay lots of money for ink.
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PIXMA MG3220
Nickname: Devin
Location: Virgnia Beach, VA
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Solid inexpensive printer/scanner

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 30, 2013
Pros: reliable, Compact Design, Low Ink Consumption, fast print speed
Cons: Difficult Setup
I think a lot of the negative reviews on this site come from the fact that the installation procedure is, admittedly, challenging. I was surprised by how many things I needed to download in order to get the printer working (both wired and via wireless internet). I'm not sure if it is easier on PC or not (I'm running Mac OSX 10.7), but the setup might be a challenge for a non-tech-savvy user.
HOWEVER, that being said, once it's installed, it is a fantastic product. It's very reliable, prints and scans quickly and effectively, and consumes less ink than a lot of other entry-level printers. Plus, its drivers do allow for configuration across a lot of different machines -- some low-cost printers have virtually no driver support and don't even run on Mac.
I'm very pleased with this printer, other than the hassle involved with setting it up. Bottom line: if you're good at installing software (or know someone who is), this printer is terrific for a home or small office. I have a small office printer that cost a lot more than this printer, but this has better print quality, more features, and uses less ink.
Printing via smartphone ('airprint' on iPhone), and the 3220's many other features, make this a high-end printer/scanner at a budget price.
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PIXMA MG3220
Nickname: ecooper
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Copying
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

I love the wireless printing

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 1, 2012
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, durable, Sharp Tones & Colors, easy to use
It is great for home usage it's easy hookup just read the directions.The best part is it's wireless and easy to use.The only thing I noticed is it's a little noisy when in use.I think the ink cartridges are a little bit expensive.I haven't found a cheap ink cartridge yet .
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PIXMA MG3220
Nickname: macron
Location: Meriden, Ct
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Good Quality For The Money

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 18, 2014
Pros: cartridge are inexpensive, cartridges last long
Cons: non that i came across
This printer is a great product and is very Mac Friendly which is one of the reasons I purchased it. Another is the fact that it requires less ink replacement than others.
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PIXMA MG3220
Nickname: George
Location: Rockville MD
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Best feature is the tech support

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:January 10, 2014
Pros: Sharp Tones & Colors, two sided printing
Cons: Difficult Setup, paper catcher does not catch multiple pages, wireless printer does not have much range
I buy Canon because of its free US based tech support. You can get a real,live person who you can understand and understands the problem--for free. This is important because the wireless connection set up--the reason why I bought the printer-does not connect easily. It required about 1/2 of tech support and a computer hook-up. I would not buy this printer if you cannot set the wireless though a computer rather than through WPS. According to the tech, the WPS set up works only about 60% of the time. I learned that over three frustrating days, until I finally called tech support.
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PIXMA MG3220
Nickname: StephenRayMaryKay
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Great for a small start-up company.

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 11, 2013
Pros: reliable, Compact Design, Easy Setup, Lightweight/Portable, Sharp Tones & Colors, easy to use, the bizzomb!
Cons: Slow Print Speed
I purchased mine online and it took all of five minutes before I was up and printing from my laptop. Read instructions folks and there's always your user's manual, Google, etc and online support. Admittedly I've not read it myself but this is a inexpensive, effective, easy to use, and overall a good choice for a student or a small business owner such as myself.
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PIXMA MG3220
Nickname: Greg
Location: Niceville, FL
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Do not make make my mistakie

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 13, 2014
Pros: Compact Design, Low Ink Consumption
Cons: Difficult to use, Difficult Setup, unreliable, impossible to create a multi-page scanned document
This is the most user-unfriendly printer and scanner I have EVER owned.
Does fine-enough for standard printing.
But do NOT use it as a scanner unless you also have a gun handy to blow your brains out with first.
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PIXMA MG3220
Nickname: Rondo
Location: Central Jersey
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Cannot Turn on Grayscale Printing

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:April 17, 2014
Pros: reliable, Compact Design, Easy Setup, durable, Lightweight/Portable, Sharp Tones & Colors
Cons: cannot set grayscale printing
Overall I am pleased with the unit: easy wifi setup (Mac); good print quality, average ink usage. However, the utility does not permit grayscale printing (not talking scanning here, but printing). My utility window shows grayscale printing "OFF", leading me to believe it could be turned on. Canon site Knowledge Base did not help.
Grayscale printing of documents is useful in my work,but either is not available or I don't know where to look. I would recommend the MG3220 to a friend for general use, but I would include a caveat re: lack of grayscale printing ability.
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PIXMA MG3220
Nickname: steveG

Will no longer buy from Canon

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 23, 2014
This printer does NOT connect to my computer through WiFi (the main reason I bought the printer was because it was wireless). Also the amount of money I have to spend replacing the ink is extremely costly.
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PIXMA MG3220
Nickname: tim
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Constantly Reboot Printer

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 14, 2014
I have had this printer for about 32 months and I am constantly having to power off and on for it to connect back to the wireless network. My wife is constantly telling me she can't print and I have to power off and back on. I have been using Canon printers the last 4 purchases but this one has been very aggravating.
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PIXMA MG3220
Nickname: GLK
Location: Lincoln, CA
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Poor quality.

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 15, 2013
Pros: Compact Design, Easy Setup, Lightweight/Portable, Sharp Tones & Colors, easy to use
Cons: High Ink Consumption, Flimsy Construction
Have owned this printer about one year. Sent a print command to the printer and it started then died. Followed instructions provided by Canon to try and get it working again without any luck. I can see why it is rated on two stars.
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PIXMA MG3220
Nickname: Anonymous
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Worst Printer Error

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 22, 2014
Cons: the printer
have to say this is probably the worst printer i have ever dealt with coming from someone in the IT field. Every time i need to install this printer on a different computer i have to hook it up via usb in order to install it rather than the setting it up once and being able to connect over the network. This thing hardly sees the network when it is installed. Ever since back when i bought it back in July of 2013 i have hated this printer from the moment i got the first model and it was defective out of the box to the replacement one i currently have. I have never dreaded printing since i got this machine because i always have to ask myself if it is going to print this time. It is a frustrating piece of equipment i have dealt with in my professional career and in my personal life.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PIXMA MG3220
Nickname: Disappointed
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert

So Disappointed

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 8, 2014
Have had this printer for about a year or a little more. It gets relatively little use. So far, even with relatively little use, it has had nothing but continual issues, first with wireless capability, then when just printing wired, then with error messages about everything: Ink, paper feeding, etc. It is an endless, endless list. What a poor experience.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PIXMA MG3220
Nickname: acbris
Location: Oklahoma
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

dont walk...run!

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 17, 2014
Pros: Easy Setup, fast print speed
Cons: unreliable
This printer seem to work great for the first month that I had it and then I've had nothing but problems since!
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PIXMA MG3220
Nickname: pj279
Location: Atlanta, GA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

wireless is a joke

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 1, 2014
Pros: Compact Design
Cons: Difficult Setup
Tried a wireless connection so many times, I finally gave up. The access point (WPS button) is on the 3rd floor, I am on the bottom level and alone. Lost count of number of times I've climbed the stairs trying to make the wireless connection work. Went to help pages and everywhere I could think of. Other sites have mention problems with setting up wireless by the purchasers.I should have listened ! What a huge waste of time. Will give this to local thrift store since I must have wireless. Back to searching I go and this time I will pay attention to the reviews of other purchasers !
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PIXMA MG3220
Nickname: Keno
Location: Houston tx
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Thought I had a good product

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 11, 2013
Pros: Lightweight/Portable
Cons: unreliable, Flimsy Construction
Work great at first year later will not pull the paper to print so it's a paper weight now wish it would had worked longer I used it maybe 15 times don't know if that played a part
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PIXMA MG3220
Nickname: Art in Va Beac
Location: Virginia Beach, Va
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

WiFi Failure to print

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:September 25, 2013
Pros: Compact Design, Lightweight/Portable
Cons: Slow Print Speed, unreliable, wifi fails
This printer repeatedly fails to print using WiFi and I resort to using a cable
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PIXMA MG3220
Nickname: Louie
Location: Portland, MI
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Nice performer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 14, 2013
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, Low Ink Consumption, Sharp Tones & Colors, easy to use
Very good printer. Seems better overall than other printers I've had - ink seems to last longer; from loading paper tray is a first for me, as well as being wireless. Everything works great. Usually don't spend a lot for a printer, so this one seems like a really good value.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PIXMA MG3220
Nickname: ochlocrat
Location: SF
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Useless waste

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 14, 2014
This printer is essentially nonfunctional. Every time I have had to print something - I typically print from work except when necessary - it has failed. The paper does not load, there are software problems, etc. Every aspect of it has been a headache. In over two years I have printed maybe 6 pieces of paper given how horrid the experience has been,
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site