Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Printers & Multifunction Reviews / PIXMA MG Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PIXMA MG Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PIXMA MG3220

PIXMA MG3220

The PIXMA MG3220 Wireless Inkjet Photo All-In-One delivers excellent quality and convenience in a compact package.
Average Customer Rating:
2.154 out of 5
2.2
 out of 
5
(78 Reviews) 78
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (78 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
7
3 stars
9
2 stars
15
1 star
38
21 out of 78(27%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PIXMA MG3220
Review 1 for PIXMA MG3220
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: Oregon
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Load up on ink

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:February 6, 2014
I bought this printer at a very good price...needless to say I wasn't expecting it to be perfect. It works fine for regular printing jobs. My biggest complaint is that is uses a ton of printer ink. I have had to replace both the color and black ink twice in the past 2 months. Not a good deal to get a cheap printer and then pay lots of money for ink.
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PIXMA MG3220
Nickname: Devin
Location: Virgnia Beach, VA
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Solid inexpensive printer/scanner

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 30, 2013
Pros: reliable, Compact Design, Low Ink Consumption, fast print speed
Cons: Difficult Setup
I think a lot of the negative reviews on this site come from the fact that the installation procedure is, admittedly, challenging. I was surprised by how many things I needed to download in order to get the printer working (both wired and via wireless internet). I'm not sure if it is easier on PC or not (I'm running Mac OSX 10.7), but the setup might be a challenge for a non-tech-savvy user.
HOWEVER, that being said, once it's installed, it is a fantastic product. It's very reliable, prints and scans quickly and effectively, and consumes less ink than a lot of other entry-level printers. Plus, its drivers do allow for configuration across a lot of different machines -- some low-cost printers have virtually no driver support and don't even run on Mac.
I'm very pleased with this printer, other than the hassle involved with setting it up. Bottom line: if you're good at installing software (or know someone who is), this printer is terrific for a home or small office. I have a small office printer that cost a lot more than this printer, but this has better print quality, more features, and uses less ink.
Printing via smartphone ('airprint' on iPhone), and the 3220's many other features, make this a high-end printer/scanner at a budget price.
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PIXMA MG3220
Nickname: ecooper
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Copying
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

I love the wireless printing

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 1, 2012
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, durable, Sharp Tones & Colors, easy to use
It is great for home usage it's easy hookup just read the directions.The best part is it's wireless and easy to use.The only thing I noticed is it's a little noisy when in use.I think the ink cartridges are a little bit expensive.I haven't found a cheap ink cartridge yet .
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PIXMA MG3220
Nickname: adkwmn
Location: northern NY
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Bad choice

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 30, 2014
This printer has been a disappointment. I trusted the name Canon. I have had to uninstall and re-install twice. Every time I use the scan feature it fouls up the wireless print ability. Also no card slot, you have to use usb cable to scan to computer. I have had it about two months and will have to replace it. I don't have time to fuss with this unacceptable product!
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PIXMA MG3220
Nickname: George
Location: Rockville MD
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Best feature is the tech support

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:January 10, 2014
Pros: Sharp Tones & Colors, two sided printing
Cons: Difficult Setup, paper catcher does not catch multiple pages, wireless printer does not have much range
I buy Canon because of its free US based tech support. You can get a real,live person who you can understand and understands the problem--for free. This is important because the wireless connection set up--the reason why I bought the printer-does not connect easily. It required about 1/2 of tech support and a computer hook-up. I would not buy this printer if you cannot set the wireless though a computer rather than through WPS. According to the tech, the WPS set up works only about 60% of the time. I learned that over three frustrating days, until I finally called tech support.
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PIXMA MG3220
Nickname: StephenRayMaryKay
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Great for a small start-up company.

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 11, 2013
Pros: reliable, Compact Design, Easy Setup, Lightweight/Portable, Sharp Tones & Colors, easy to use, the bizzomb!
Cons: Slow Print Speed
I purchased mine online and it took all of five minutes before I was up and printing from my laptop. Read instructions folks and there's always your user's manual, Google, etc and online support. Admittedly I've not read it myself but this is a inexpensive, effective, easy to use, and overall a good choice for a student or a small business owner such as myself.
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PIXMA MG3220
Nickname: steveG

Will no longer buy from Canon

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 23, 2014
This printer does NOT connect to my computer through WiFi (the main reason I bought the printer was because it was wireless). Also the amount of money I have to spend replacing the ink is extremely costly.
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PIXMA MG3220
Nickname: tim
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Constantly Reboot Printer

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 14, 2014
I have had this printer for about 32 months and I am constantly having to power off and on for it to connect back to the wireless network. My wife is constantly telling me she can't print and I have to power off and back on. I have been using Canon printers the last 4 purchases but this one has been very aggravating.
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PIXMA MG3220
Nickname: GLK
Location: Lincoln, CA
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Poor quality.

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 15, 2013
Pros: Compact Design, Easy Setup, Lightweight/Portable, Sharp Tones & Colors, easy to use
Cons: High Ink Consumption, Flimsy Construction
Have owned this printer about one year. Sent a print command to the printer and it started then died. Followed instructions provided by Canon to try and get it working again without any luck. I can see why it is rated on two stars.
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PIXMA MG3220
Nickname: macron
Location: Meriden, Ct
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Good Quality For The Money

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 18, 2014
Pros: cartridge are inexpensive, cartridges last long
Cons: non that i came across
This printer is a great product and is very Mac Friendly which is one of the reasons I purchased it. Another is the fact that it requires less ink replacement than others.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PIXMA MG3220
Nickname: Anonymous
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Worst Printer Error

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 22, 2014
Cons: the printer
have to say this is probably the worst printer i have ever dealt with coming from someone in the IT field. Every time i need to install this printer on a different computer i have to hook it up via usb in order to install it rather than the setting it up once and being able to connect over the network. This thing hardly sees the network when it is installed. Ever since back when i bought it back in July of 2013 i have hated this printer from the moment i got the first model and it was defective out of the box to the replacement one i currently have. I have never dreaded printing since i got this machine because i always have to ask myself if it is going to print this time. It is a frustrating piece of equipment i have dealt with in my professional career and in my personal life.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PIXMA MG3220
Nickname: Keno
Location: Houston tx
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Thought I had a good product

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 11, 2013
Pros: Lightweight/Portable
Cons: unreliable, Flimsy Construction
Work great at first year later will not pull the paper to print so it's a paper weight now wish it would had worked longer I used it maybe 15 times don't know if that played a part
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PIXMA MG3220
Nickname: Art in Va Beac
Location: Virginia Beach, Va
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

WiFi Failure to print

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:September 25, 2013
Pros: Compact Design, Lightweight/Portable
Cons: Slow Print Speed, unreliable, wifi fails
This printer repeatedly fails to print using WiFi and I resort to using a cable
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PIXMA MG3220
Nickname: Louie
Location: Portland, MI
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Nice performer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 14, 2013
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, Low Ink Consumption, Sharp Tones & Colors, easy to use
Very good printer. Seems better overall than other printers I've had - ink seems to last longer; from loading paper tray is a first for me, as well as being wireless. Everything works great. Usually don't spend a lot for a printer, so this one seems like a really good value.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PIXMA MG3220
Nickname: Port of Agony
Location: Port Angeles, WA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

One problem after another

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 2, 2014
Cons: will not wifi reliably
WI-FI operations on a home network, using this printer, have proven to be impossible to make the printer work on a sustainable basis. I was able to get it to enter the WI-FI network and to print once. Then everything went into a Que with statement the printer was offline.
I called Canon and got a very knowledgeable rep who patiently walked me through uninstallation and installation with driver download from the Canon web site. Everything worked well AND THEN after a period of a day or so, I tried to print again. NOTHING, "printer offline." I went through the whole uninstall and reinstall routine and it worked. Then after a day, it went back to "printer offline." Obviously, I am too dumb to figure it out. YOU KNOW SOMETHING: I DO NOT WANT TO BE SMART ENOUGH TO FIGURE OUT WHY IT WILL NOT FUNCTION STEADILY.
I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS MACHINE TO PEOPLE LIKE ME, MAYBE "IT" EXPERTS, BUT NOT ME. My MP560 is online at another location and works well with little tweeking required.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PIXMA MG3220
Nickname: bjl-lf
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

I do not see why this would get such bad reviews!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 31, 2014
Pros: duplexer, airprint, fast printing, budget friendly, reliable
Cons: wifi setup needs to be done via the computer
I went out and bought this printer right after another Canon printer I found on the side of the road died. It wasn't until I had the product home when I looked up the reviews, I was about to go back and exchange it for another printer in the same price range. I am glad I didn't! I found out when I got it home had AirPrint and a Duplexer. I tried it out and after the first few prints I was in love. I am going out and buying another for my father.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PIXMA MG3220
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: Lancaster, SC
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Do not buy Cannon MG3200

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 23, 2013
Pros: Easy Setup
Cons: Slow Print Speed, High Ink Consumption, unreliable, have to reset daily
Printer ink has to be replaced to offen because of high ink consumption and the printer has to be reset each day because it want stay on the network for use. We have other printers on our network which works 98% better than the Cannon MG3200. I would advise you to look at other printers before you buy this printer.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PIXMA MG3220
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: San Antonio, TX
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Doesn't work

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 28, 2013
Pros: Compact Design, Easy Setup, easy to use
I just bought this printer yesterday and I have tried every thing under the sun and I just cannot get this printer to work. It will print only the test pages, but when I try to print from the Internet or from a document, it says it cannot communicate with the printer, yet it is set as the default, etc.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PIXMA MG3220
Nickname: Anne
Location: Gilroy, California
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:January 26, 2013
Pros: Compact Design, Lightweight/Portable
Cons: Slow Print Speed, Difficult Setup, High Ink Consumption, noisy
Wow...in reading the reviews I find that I am having ALL the same issuers as the reviews before me. Would not recommend this printer... :-(
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PIXMA MG3220
Nickname: calvorn
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years

Too much extra stuff

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:March 22, 2014
I don't need all the extra stuff you install with the drivers. At least you could do is ask permission before installing all that extra stuff.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site