Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Refurbished Products Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop Refurbished Products or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PowerShot SX160 IS

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

PowerShot SX160 IS

You'll want to carry this compact, versatile camera everywhere, because it gives every shooting opportunity the potential to become a beautiful image. The spectacular 16x Optical Zoom with 28mm Wide-Angle Lens and Optical Image Stabilizer captures clear, vivid images whether your subject is up close or far away.
Average Customer Rating:
3.8 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(35 Reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (35 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
10
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 star
2
27 out of 34(79%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PowerShot SX160 IS
Review 1 for PowerShot SX160 IS
Nickname: PowerShot User
Location: Ohio
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Poor Picture Quality

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:October 2, 2014
I bought this camera hoping that it would be a good replacement. After using the Powershot SX160 for about 10 months, I'm thinking about switching back to my old camera.
Main Reason For Buying:
I bought this camera because of the price and because of the 16x zoom. Also because the manufacturer of my old camera (previously bought in the past) no longer makes digital cameras and I wanted a recognized name brand camera.
Features:
There are a boatload of features on this camera, many of which I'll probably never use. Manual controls and on-screen options are helpful. There are plenty of info screens that tell about the settings and the pictures you took. I like the battery backup feature (button cell battery) that holds the date & time when the main batteries are out. The 16x zoom lens operates very quickly.
Battery Life:
Battery life is very good, about twice a long compared to my old camera.
Picture Quality:
This is where I give the thumbs down. I'm not that impressed with the picture quality of this camera.
The color is usually faded under most conditions. Turning on the vivid color option helps a little.
Pictures often have a soft feel to them and are not as sharp as they should be, almost as if the original picture was resized beyond 100%
The flash does not go off in a well lit room, which causes the pictures to look faded. There appears to be two flash commands for the auto flash; off and full. Full flash results in poor light filtering. There is a flash power adjustment, but that requires you to go to manual mode and through several options just to adjust it yourself. The flash power on my old camera adjusted itself automatically. The flash also takes several seconds to recharge and will prevent you from taking a picture until it is fully charged.
The lens itself produces a heavy amount of chromatic abrasions. (Red/green outlines around contrasting objects). Sometimes it's so severe, it reminds me of the color video cameras that many local news stations had back in the 70's, which were prone to chromatic abrasions. Zooming in helps minimize the effect.
The image stabilizer works great. I haven't had a picture blur on me yet, not even at full zoom.
Macro is also great too. Super close shots!
Video Quality:
Video quality if fair, but don't expect a HD image. Recordings produce an up-converted VHS quality like video and are only 25 frames per second. They also eat up a lot of space because they are saved in the Quicktime Movie format instead of MPEG4.
Conclusion:
Overall, this would have been a good camera if not for it's flaws. I sometimes think of it as a camera phone with a giant zoom lens on it since the picture quality is comparable to early/budget cell phones. I don't plan on buying another camera anytime soon, so I'll probably go back to using my old camera.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PowerShot SX160 IS
Nickname: robnor65
Location: Ohio
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

only camera needed whether a pro or not.

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 12, 2014
Simple to use. Sharp/clear images. Acceptable MP and Zoom.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PowerShot SX160 IS
Nickname: Cardinal
Location: Springfield, OR
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Good camera with a couple exceptions

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:February 6, 2014
Pros: good zoom, good macro feature, small size, image stabilization
Cons: Short battery life, lcd screen reflection
I bought this to replace an older digital camera after dropping it on cement. It takes good pictures, but out in the daylight, it is hard to see with the LCD screen. Also, the batteries don't last very long. Actually, I tested the batteries after the camera shut down and told me to "replace batteries." They tested still very strong. I do like the 16X optical zoom and the good macro feature and the ability to manage my own picture taking experience.
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PowerShot SX160 IS
Nickname: Try1970
Location: West Plains, MO
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great Product

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 19, 2014
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
I like the price. Very easy to use. I could not down load the CD that came with it. I have 8.1 ?
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PowerShot SX160 IS
Nickname: Cody
Location: Keyser, WV
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great camera, Low price

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 5, 2014
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
I got this camera for christmas, I picked it out after looking at a few different ones and I am glad i made that choice. I am very happy with the quality of the camera and the pictures it takes. It is very easy to use and has so many great features. I had a powershot A530 when i was younger and it made me a canon fan from the start and the sx160-IS just ensured that will not change anytime soon. As for the battery life, I use ultimate lithium batteries and they last forever, of course if you use cheap batteries you will get short battery life, that's just common sense. I could not be any happier with this product. The zoom and Image stabilization are great, however with full zoom it is kinda touchy if you move the slightest little bit but that's what tri-pods are for.
10 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PowerShot SX160 IS
Nickname: CameraofCanon
Location: Brooskville, FL
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

A must have camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 26, 2013
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use, great sensor
Cons: Short battery life
I love this camera, I got it yesterday and it shoots not only amazing photos but has a really good aperture. This is my first Canon camera and I really enjoy this. I also amazed by how small and compact it is. My motto for this camera is: "Small camera, Big Power". Thank you very much Canon!!!
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PowerShot SX160 IS
Nickname: Adam

Not all that great

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:December 25, 2013
Pros: excellent image quality, easy to use
Cons: Short battery life, Heavy/Bulky
I did not realize company's still used AA batteries in there cameras. With my old camera I could plug it in like a cell phone and simply recharge it. There is also no battery life bar to let you know if the battery is dead. the features are ok on this camera but I am going to return it for a refund.
5 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PowerShot SX160 IS
Nickname: davy
Location: Pennsylvania
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

An upgrade from my A520

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 5, 2013
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: pdf manual instead of printed
I won't duplicate the positive reviews of previous users but I agree with them all...this is a great digicam. I bought this model (the black one) when I saw the SX170 DID NOT use AA size batteries. I like the convenience of AA batteries. I thought my A520 would be a lifetime use purchase when a certain digital goddess (KK) once said 4MP was as much as most anyone would ever need. Well, that certainly proved to be shortsighted. I chose the SX160 which uses a CCD type image sensor the same as the A520. I always thought it captured quality shots. I was not ready to switch to a CMOS using camera; a nit pic for sure.
As far as low battery life goes: you've got to read the PDF instruction manual which states that you'll get far more shots using NIMH rechargeable batteries. I've had excellent usage from 2700 mah batteries. I would also recommend a class 10 flash memory card...the size is up to you depending on whether you use this Digital Still Camera as a camcorder or just for still shots. A class 10 memory card will allow faster follow-up shots and download your video or snapshots super quick. I found that out when I swapped out my old class 4 card from my A520. There really is a lot of speed difference.
I was also impressed by, compared to my A520, how quick this camera turned on and was ready to shoot...like 2 seconds! I also liked the electric switch to view your shots versus the mechanical switch on the A520. It's not even necessary to power up the camera...just push the button on the camera back and start reviewing your pics.
One thing that I miss from my old Canon is the remote triggering feature; I've adjusted by using the self-timer. And to a lessor extent, the optical viewfinder. Although the 3" LCD screen is a pleasant surprise. But it's still a point-n-shoot size that will fit into a cargo pants pocket and not weigh down like a anvil. I've only used it for 1 month but I do not regret buying it. I look forward to many thousands more snapshots with this Canon product. They seem to make a camera for every type user. This SX160IS is just right for me.
38 of 38 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PowerShot SX160 IS
Nickname: lifelongcanonfans
Location: Washington
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years

This is our third sx160

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 29, 2013
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use, we had a lens error problem with our first sx160, canon replaced our lens error sx160
My wife and I went from "wasacanonfan" to lifelongcanonfans" because of the excellent customer service Canon has given to us. This is our third sx160 camera. We also have Canon a3100, a4000 and sx40 cameras. Our sx160 cameras are the "in between" cameras in terms of size and zoom potential that we carry when we want more zoom than the a3100 or a4000 can give us but want to carry something smaller than our sx40. When we look at the picture quality from these cameras we cannot tell them apart either when we view them on our computer or when we print them and frame them. For a relatively small hand held zoom camera the sx160 is hard to beat. The number of shots we can take varies with the quality of the batteries we use and have had zero problems with the battery system. If we could only have one camera, I suspect we would choose one of our sx160 cameras because they give us the best size (relatively small) and zoom (adequate for most of the shots we take of people, scenery and wildlife) capability. The smaller "a" series cameras have their place as does our larger "sx" camera.
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PowerShot SX160 IS
Nickname: Nell
Location: Iowa
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:November 27, 2013
Pros: excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Short battery life
Was very satisfied with the quality of pictures, but not impressed with it taking AA batteries instead of a rechargeable battery. I purchased this camera while my regular camera was in for repair and I take a lot of pictures in a day and went though a lot of batteries. I would recommend this camera to those who don't use it on a regular basis. Other than my dissatisfaction with it being battery operated it did take good pictures.
8 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PowerShot SX160 IS
Nickname: prsimoneau
Location: Claremont, NH
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Love this camera!

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 15, 2013
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Missing features/settings, very hard to upload pics to computer from
I love most features of this camera! It takes amazing pictures and is really easy to use once you take the time to figure it out. The only issue I have is that I can not upload my pics to my computer. I uploaded all the software it said I needed but still won't upload. I have tried on several computers and am told on all of them they can not find the camera when it is plug into them.
Very frustrating.
7 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PowerShot SX160 IS
Nickname: steve
Location: Lynbrook, NY
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Product replacement: No

Much better than expected

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 13, 2013
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
I spent 25 years as a professional wedding/portrait photographer so was not expecting much from any digital camera, much less a so called point & shoot. However, I was, and am, happily surprised with my SX160 IS. Image quality, even in auto mode, is so much better than expected. Action photos, even in somewhat low light, are crisp and clear and the wide to zoom capability is exceptional. I'm just starting to 'play' with the advanced features and am having a field day. Complaints about battery consumption are way overstated - heavy sessions will go through a set of two - but not an issue worth mentioning. Even the built-in flash is good enough for most non-critical work but don't expect to get more than about 10 feet of effective distance. My onlly negative comments are that 1) complete owners/operators manual should be included and 2) sales info should state that memory card is not included and is necessary for camera to function. Sounds simple, but for those not familiar with digital cameras maybe not so obvious. After all, I didn't need to buy a card for my phone before I took pictures.
40 of 41 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PowerShot SX160 IS
Nickname: Webeloved
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 13, 2013
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: image browser software giving me issues.
Love the camera... struggling with Silverlight... stopped here to reinstall Image browser.
This is the best camera I've ever owned and am excited to keep up with it's abilities.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PowerShot SX160 IS
Nickname: Anonymous

Battery Drainer

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:September 30, 2013
Pros: Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Short battery life
Overall a good camera but the battery life is terrible. Constantly having to replace them. I like the pictures it takes but if you want to take more than just a few pictures make sure to bring lots of extra batteries.
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PowerShot SX160 IS
Nickname: DRN
Location: Burton, Ohio
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

20 year Canon user

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 20, 2013
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Missing features/settings
I have used Canon Cameras for the past 20 years and I have enjoyed the quality and workmanship of their products. I have just purchased the SX 160 IS and it is as usual a very good quality product. The only problem is with the software. The SX 160 software is only compatible with Windows XP and newer operating systems. What about us older citizens who still have Windows 98, 2000, and Millenium? We need image browsers too. Would it cost that much more to write code for these older operating systems. You are a quality manufacturer and should realize that there are a lot of potential customers over 50 that have need of your services and quality products.
4 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PowerShot SX160 IS
Nickname: Kitty
Location: Baltimore, MD
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Decent for a digital

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 30, 2013
Pros: Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: bad focus
This camera is okay for a digital. It has the potential to take good photos, and it does have some nice features. Plus it is very easy to use. I have had problems with the autofocus on it, sometimes it acts up. This is a great camera for someone who is new to photography. I would get it if it is your first camera, or you are new to photography, and eventually get an upgrade after you get really good with this one. Overall it is a great camera for its price.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PowerShot SX160 IS
Nickname: BrumbleBee
Location: Annapilos, MD
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

This camera is Great for Close-ups & Etc

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 22, 2013
Pros: Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Short battery life
This is a great quality camera, one reason for that the clear crisp pictures it take is a good quality. The only downer to it is, some of the pictures that I have taken have a big pixels shown. Since I do photography has a hobbie it's a good starter for someone who wants to have a DSLR camera, Because it has the grip and feel to one and and a optical Zoom. It makes your pictures very professional looking. And lastly it does take Battery's and since my parents didnt know that , since my parent got it for themselfs, we didnt knew it took AA+ battery's and the battery life goes bone dry within eiter a hour or half an hour. Overall it is a good investment , and anyone will enjoy this camera.
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PowerShot SX160 IS
Nickname: Bucky
Location: St.Cloud, MN
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

worst canon i`ve had out of seven

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 19, 2013
Pros: Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, small enough to take with anywhere
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance, Difficult to use, Short battery life, can`t say poor image quality just not good, needs flash indoors most of the time
The only canon camera i`ve had that they shouldn`t have made. Don`t get me wrong, loved my other 6 canons/ film and digtal. Auto settings are not very good, which does not matter since 90% of the time i use manual setting.
4 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PowerShot SX160 IS
Nickname: Simpleton

Overall A Great Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 15, 2013
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use, reasonably priced
Personally I find the Cannon Power Shot SX160 IS to be a great camera. I have tried out all its features, even though in the beginning it took a little time for me to learn, since at 68 years old I'm still an amateur picture taker.
The 3" LCD screen is large enough to see what a person wants take a snapshot of, plus I found it easy to us the menu and tool options in this camera.
A person can control the LCD brightness by going into the menu function.
I can't believe how clear pictures come out even from using the Zoom lens feature.
I like manually using the flash function, because having too many auto functions on a camera uses up too much batter juice.
Camera comes with 2 Alkaline batteries I find lasted me up to around 30 pictures. I bought an Energizer NiMH Battery Charger, which came with 4 rechargeable batteries.
I called Cannon Customer Service for a manual book to look over while I'm away from home.
This camera equals some other name brands I have already tried out, but a few of those other brands had one or more features that couldn't cut the mustard this one does.
I find that it's not always the higher the price the better the quality of something. I look at the middle range to find just as good or even slightly better, with all the features I want and not to out do anyone else.
I found out from a few individuals not to over charge my rechargeable batteries. The batteries I have bought are 1300 mAh which charges up in 6hrs time. So if I go up to the highest number of hours, which is 9 from a 2300 mAh batter, no doubt I'll be able to take a higher number of pictures.
16 of 18 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PowerShot SX160 IS
Nickname: Carolina Tar Heel
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Excellent except for the display

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:July 3, 2013
Pros: excellent image quality
Cons: Dim LCD, Poor Low-Light Performance
I've owned the SX 110, 150 and now the SX 160. It's an excellent camera with lots of features, but there are some serious flaws on this model that Canon should address.
The most glaring drawback is the inferior 3" display which has only 230,000 pixels- it appears muddy and dim. All of the competing cameras in this price range- including Canon's own models- have a brilliant and crystal clear 460,000 pixel 3" display. (Your pictures, however, will be much clearer than they display on this camera's dim display.)
The SX 160 has two attachment points for a neck strap, which you'll need, but sadly, they only ship the camera with a one point "wrist strap."
Wait for Canon to upgrade the 3" display to 460,000 pixels and supply a two point neck strap before ordering this excellent camera. These upgrades should be coming soon if Canon is listening to customer feedback.
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site