Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Printers & Multifunction Reviews / PIXMA iP Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PIXMA iP Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PIXMA iP7220

PIXMA iP7220

The PIXMA iP7220 Premium Wireless 1 Inkjet Photo Printer delivers a true photo lab quality experience at home.
Average Customer Rating:
1.849 out of 5
1.8
 out of 
5
(33 Reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (33 reviews)
5 stars
1
4 stars
3
3 stars
3
2 stars
9
1 star
17
6 out of 33(18%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PIXMA iP7220
Review 1 for PIXMA iP7220
Nickname: nydog
Location: NN, NY
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

THE BEST OUT OF 4 OTHER BRAND PREVIOUS

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 19, 2014
Pros: very sharp clear pictures
Cons: no cons
Good buy, good price, prints quality, litle noise but this is ok. all printers I owned priviously 4 of them, other brands was noisy, some litle more some less. But the price is excelent , what counts for me is the prints quaity. Also I use photo EDIT CANON software, and allways Canon Photo paper PRO PLATINUM and yes the CANON ink catriges PIXMA 251XL. XL because I save about $40% on prints lasting.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PIXMA iP7220
Nickname: alaskaraoke

Better then expected

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 23, 2014
After reading the reviews the printer was better then I expected. Since I was setting it up on a low hutch shelf the front feed and front output is a plus since I'm limited on space. The quality of the photos match's my old IP6700D and there we're no jambs running several 4x6 at a time. Disc printing is exceptional. With Surething 6 or Canon software print alignment on discs was automatic and perfect. Text print was great and fast. The printer did run a lot setting up at first but now it gets right to the job much faster. Overall I'm satisfied but if i wanted to make a custom print like a panoramic I would have to use my old IP6700D.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PIXMA iP7220
Nickname: tall
Location: New York, NY
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Great Purchase

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 21, 2014
Pros: easy to use, reliable, quality prints, wireless printing is great
Cons: photo paper sometimes misfeeds
I've used this printer for about six months and other than the printer misfeeding photo paper twice, it's worked great. It's been a fantastic printer and it's odd that so many people have had problems. Wireless printing is a breeze and it prints great photos.
I do use my pro canon printer for serious photo prints so I only use this printer for non critical work.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PIXMA iP7220
Nickname: Mojo
Location: Atlanta, GA
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Good Printer for Price and Casual Use

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 29, 2014
Pros: good printer for price, good quality photo printing, Easy Setup, decent b/w speed
Cons: slow color printing, occassionally goes through lengthy setup fits, some will not like the slightly larger footprint
It all depends on what one expects an inexpensive printer to do. This printer was probably not designed to be an office workhorse, but a personal home unit. The quality of the photos I have printed so far outweighs the slower speed and occasional setup routines this printer is want to go through. I would say my usage is "casual". Final output quality is what counts to me, and I am quite satisfied, especially considering the price.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PIXMA iP7220
Nickname: Butch
Location: Chattanooga, Tn
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Fair

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:March 12, 2014
Pros: print quality is good.
Cons: noisy, no rear paper feed.
I have been using Canon for years and I like there products but, I think they dropped the ball on this one. It sounds like it is coming apart when you use it. Print quality is good. I liked my ip5000 better but, I could no longer get a print head for it. I don't like not having the rear paper feed.
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PIXMA iP7220
Nickname: myyorkies1994
Location: Worcester, MA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Poor Substitution for iP4820

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:June 2, 2013
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, High Quality Output, fast print speed
Cons: Difficult to use, Large Footprint, Flimsy Construction, no rear paper tray, much larger than 4820, small capacity letter paper tray, slow to start printing
The 7220 is a poor replacement for the 4820. The unit itself takes up a good deal more space; it spends a great deal of time 'spinning its wheels inside' when it is idle. It takes a long time to print the first page, because it is spinning its wheels. Set up was easy, so long as you follow the step-by-step set up guide. The very limited capacity of the letter-sized paper tray is a huge drawback. Not having the rear paper tray is a real problem and makes using this product ‘difficult’. Having to remove a tray to load print matter is a waste of time. I knew this before I purchased it, but did not realize how much I utilize the rear tray. The secondary tray limits the sizes of paper that you can use – no custom option. PLEASE ADD THE REAR TRAY BACK. When printing from my email on the web the PRINT screen comes up, but my choices are to SAVE or CLOSE. Why isn't PRINT shown? I’ve reviewed all of the printer settings and cannot see why this is happening. I really love the wireless feature and not having multiple cords coming off my laptop. I have mixed feelings about the 7220, but I'm stuck with it now. When the number of CONS outweighs the PROS does Canon not pay attention? My loyalty as a Canon customer may completely diminish by the time this unit reaches the end of its life.
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PIXMA iP7220
Nickname: Flo
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Product replacement: Yes

Not for Documents

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 2, 2013
Cons: noisy
In theory this has two paper drawers. However, the upper one is for photo paper only. It won't take even 6 X 9 paper. And if you want to print an envelope, you first must remove the paper in the lower drawer.
Lousy design.
If I knew how to tell the home office, I would.
I miss my old IP4000 which could handle two sets of letter-sized paper or anything in between and had easy access for printing envelopes.
14 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PIXMA iP7220
Nickname: ECK
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years

An inconvenient and frustrating printer

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 8, 2014
Pros: High Quality Output
Cons: Large Footprint, excessive ink usage
When my iP4300 (which I liked very much) gave up the ghost I bought an iP7220. I was very disappointed. The paper supply is limited to a bottom-loading paper tray instead of being located on top. This is inconvenient in that it is impossible to gauge how much paper is left in the printer just by looking, and it means that anything in front of the printer has to be moved before the tray can be removed and reloaded. The print speed and quality is OK once the printer actually begins printing, but prior to that there is a lengthy period where the printer clacks and clatters around, presumably performing some internal housekeeping duties. Canon scanners and printers work and integrate well with Apple computers, but the iP7220 printer is an aggravation.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PIXMA iP7220
Nickname: DAWN

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:March 3, 2014
this was a terrible purchase! once it gets going its fairly quick but man alive getting to get going..wow! takes a long time and i hear alot of movement of the cartridges and nothing being produced...does not too too well for picture quality either
Review 10 for PIXMA iP7220
Nickname: bombonka
Location: Portland, OR
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Buyers remorse

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 8, 2014
Cons: constant connectivity problems
Like many others writing a review of this product, I have been using Canon for years. The best model I had was the ip4200 which worked very well. However, the Pixma iP7220 doesn't work 50% of the time, mostly due to "communication errors" or "the printer is not connected" which it is!!!! We got this so we could use it wireless and share the printer between my husband and I. Perhaps, there is something wrong with the wireless connection. I am very disappointed. Also, the rear feed allowed for more pages it seems. Will have to find a another printer.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PIXMA iP7220
Nickname: Glenn
Location: Detroit, MI
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

What happened to Rear Feed?

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 12, 2013
Cons: no rear tray feed!
What happened to feeding from the Rear Tray? I print thousands of photos per month with custom cut paper. Since this model is replacing the 5320, I no longer have the option to print from the rear tray with a quality Canon photo printer. Going to look for a new provider!
10 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PIXMA iP7220
Nickname: PEP
Location: Charlotte, NC
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Missing Power Adapter

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 30, 2013
Cons: no power cord included in box as listed of content, having to order & likely pay for their neligence.
Can't say anything about the printer quality because it came missing the power adapter. Wonder how long it'll take and how much this item will cost me to get what was supposed to be included.
5 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PIXMA iP7220
Nickname: HW
Location: Burlington, WI
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Best choiced for inkjet photo printer only

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:May 21, 2013
Pros: Easy Setup, High Quality Output, easy to use
Cons: Slow Print Speed, Flimsy Construction, High Ink Consumption
I've used the Pixma iP7220 for 3 months. Needed a replacement for my old workhorse iP600D printer. Didn't need or want an all in one unit. Use mostly for photo and letters. Few choices out there for photo printers only. The 7220 is no 6000D in features nor performance but it has produced acceptable photo quality prints. Miss the top loading paper feature. Everything has to originate from one of two cassettes. It is slow to print the first photo, but gets a lot faster with the second and following prints. You will conserve ink if you print in batches rather than individually. It seems to use a lot of ink getting ready to print the first page or photo. I'm switching to the XL ink packaging in hopes of getting a little more ink for the money
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PIXMA iP7220
Nickname: BV
Location: Los Angeles,
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Don't respect too much,

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:May 5, 2013
Cons: Low Quality Output, wifi is bad not connected.
The PIXMA iP7220 Premium Wireless 1 Inkjet Photo Printer delivers not a true photo lab quality experience at home, and it is not a Wireless connected.
0 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PIXMA iP7220
Nickname: Karloff
Location: Maine
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Rear Tray Gone?

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 19, 2013
Pros: High Quality Output, fast print speed
Cons: Difficult to use, Difficult Setup, unreliable, no top loader
VERY disappointed the 4900 Series is replaced by this. The top loading feed has been replaced by a second (useless) smaller 2nd Cartridge bottom tray. Envelopes are an absolute nightmare to print with this printer. You have to remove the larger of the two bottom trays, reset the paper size and reload. Why Canon has done away with the versatility of the top loading feeder is beyond me. I have used the Canon line of printers for over 10 years in my business. Time to move on to another manufacturer who has stayed loyal to top loading. Farewell Canon, it's been a wonderful journey.
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PIXMA iP7220
Nickname: KMG2441
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Avid Canon User and Very Disappointed

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 6, 2013
Pros: reliable, durable
Cons: Large Footprint, Difficult Setup
I am always excited when Canon comes out with a new printer, but the 7220 is a disappointment.
The printed colors are off compared to the ip4920. They print with a much more blue tone. I've tried making adjustments in the printer software, but am having trouble warming up the photos.
The 7220 also does not provide a rear paper feed. Instead it has two trays, one for regular paper and one for photo paper. This really limits what you can do with the printer and I found myself constantly having to reload paper.
The smallest paper size that can be used is 3.5 inches wide vs the 4920 that would allow a width of 2.17 inches. This limits the ability to print wallet prints and other custom photos with the 7220.
The photo paper drawer broke on me during its second use.
Its disappointing that the 7220 replaces the 4920 and takes away two pieces of necessary functionality, the rear paper tray and the ability to print anything smaller than 3.5 inches wide.
The one pro is the larger ink tanks.
13 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PIXMA iP7220
Nickname: Dave
Location: Vancouver, WA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Bring back rear feed!

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 23, 2014
Cons: no rear feed
We have used Canon printers for over 11 years. Love their print quality and speed for photos. Unfortunately the medium we print on will not accommodate the bottom feed. PLEASE BRING BACK THE REAR FEED!!!
3 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PIXMA iP7220
Nickname: bookelly
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Run Away

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 15, 2014
Cons: Difficult to use, Slow Print Speed, Large Footprint, Difficult Setup, Low Quality Output, unreliable, Flimsy Construction, you get to print 10 pages before it needs ink
Cheapest piece of garbage you will ever buy. Run away from this printer, it is terrible in every way. Even if the store pays YOU to take it home...throw it away before it gets into your house.
I HATE this printer.
2 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PIXMA iP7220
Nickname: unwork
Location: Oregon
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Poor quality, slow, expensive ink

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 19, 2013
Pros: Small Footprint
Cons: Slow Print Speed, Flimsy Construction
Terrible experience with this printer. Canon might make quality products for industrial printing, but their consumer-oriented printers are cheaply built, slow and expensive to maintain. The IP7220 proves this point. Don't be fooled by the sleek looks of this printer, its performance is terrible.
11 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PIXMA iP7220
Nickname: Jill
Location: Boston, MA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Rear Feed Needed!

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 15, 2013
Cons: no rear feed
This new model is extremely disappointing. My business relies completely on the rear feed feature, and this option was removed from this model! We exclusively use Cannon printers AND INK. However now, with this inconvenient removal of the rear feed, we will be forced to look elsewhere for printer and ink providers. Please reinstate this crucial feature for our company!
29 of 39 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site