Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Printers & Multifunction Reviews / PIXMA MG Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PIXMA MG Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PIXMA MG5420

PIXMA MG5420

Like all PIXMA printers, the MG5420 produces amazing detail in both business documents and photographs with 9600 x 2400 maximum color dpi 2 and a 5-Color Ink System.
Average Customer Rating:
2.737 out of 5
2.7
 out of 
5
(76 Reviews) 76
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (76 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
9
3 stars
11
2 stars
7
1 star
30
29 out of 76(38%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PIXMA MG5420
Review 1 for PIXMA MG5420
Nickname: Jonathan
Location: VA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Mediocre at Best

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:April 14, 2014
Pros: Compact Design, Easy Setup, easy to use
Cons: Dull Tones & Colors, High Ink Consumption, unreliable
I had a Canon Pixma printer previously that I loved. It stopped working suddenly after 5+ yrs of use. It printed excellent photos. I thought it would be great to have a wireless printer. It is great when it works. Unfortunately, as with a lot of wireless tech, the connection occasionally fails, but most of the time I have had no problem connecting. Have Mac and PC's connected. Scanning is pretty easy and pretty good quality. The printing is bad though. Photos aren't near the quality of my previous Pixma. I have to clean the print head super frequently, so the thing eats ink. Literally sometimes, I will have to clean the print head every other print or it will make big white streaks on the paper. Quality is just not on par with my last Canon printer. Good features, poorly executed.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PIXMA MG5420
Nickname: splem
Location: Tennessee
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

VERY POOR SCAN AND PRINT QUALITY

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:April 6, 2014
Cons: Slow Print Speed, Heavy/Bulky, Dull Tones & Colors, High Ink Consumption, scans fuzzy images
This printer is very slow to start printing. Scanned images are fuzzy and the colors are not the same brightness as the scanned image. Printed image comes out dull and the colors are not the same as the original image being printed. Don't waste your money on this printer!!!
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PIXMA MG5420
Nickname: Gary
Location: South Bend, IN
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Painfully slow startup

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:March 24, 2014
Quality of print is good but this printer takes forever to wake up and start printing. Making a copy of a document from a sleeping printer takes at least 5 minutes.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PIXMA MG5420
Nickname: CatKnip
Location: Atlanta, GA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Does what it claims

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 7, 2014
Cons: does not allow regular paper in the second tray.l
I've been using Canon printers for 20 years and won't buy anything else. It is designed for home use and light office rather than heavy office use, so keep that in mind. I use mine a lot to print knitting patterns I'm going to be doing to save wear and tear on the magazine or book it's in.
My only caveat is that I would love for the second tray to also use standard paper. I recycle my prints for both sides so it would be really handy to be able to place those in the second tray and specify that one for use in printing out patterns and keep clean paper in the other tray. Not a deal breaker though.
I'd needed a printer that also scanned as I have limited space. This fits the bill.
I also prefer one that has separate tanks for each color since you usually run out of red and/or blue and still have half a tank of yellow. This printer fills that requirement as well. Two black tanks and one for each color as well.
15 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PIXMA MG5420
Nickname: Chuck
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Bought for Two Features - Only One Works

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 3, 2014
I bought this for wireless printing and direct inkjet printing onto printable DVDs. My system is a 3.06 GHz Intel iMac with 10.6.8; an iPad, iPad Mini, and iPhone 5.
Set-up for wireless printing took about 3 minutes for the printer to do its own set-up, and then I pushed the WPS button on my modem/router, at which point all devices were connected. Wireless printing from all 3 devices is great, Picture quality on Canon Photo Paper Plus Glossy II (3 sheets included) is outstanding.
The second reason I bought this was for direct inkjet printing onto printable DVDs. This is totally unsatisfactory! First, one must use Canon software (My Image Garden) to print. This program is designed for would-be artists, and is set up to require images (scanned in pictures, and other such stuff). I do not want any pictures on the DVDs. My purpose is to label DVDs for archival storage, with text identifying what is on the DVD. The best this Image Garden will provide is three boxes on the lower half of a DVD giving a grand total of 175 characters of Times New Roman, 12 pitch data. I am a lawyer, this was going to be used to identify dozens of case titles from litigated cases I have handled. 750 MB of space on a DVD would give me space for about 100 .pdf formatted of the typical cases I want to store. This limitation to 175 characters makes this "feature" useless to me. There is no way I can possibly identify 5% of what is on the DVD. I can't even say good morning to a Judge in court and identify myself in 175 characters!
At this point I am researching the options with Canon to see if I can enter more data, as well as researching other printer companies' printers to see if I can find one that will work for me.
No I would not buy this again. No I would have not carried it into my house if it had been a gift from Canon.
3 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PIXMA MG5420
Nickname: Jimbo
Location: Big Los Angles
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

GERRRRRRRRATE

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 28, 2014
Pros: what can i say? try it
Cons: can't think of any
The PIXMA printer MG5420 produces amazing detail in both documents and photographs with 9600 x 2400 color and a 5-Color Ink System with a sixth cartridge that makes your color prints on glossy paper look like they came from the printers . Replacing the ink is quick and easy. The MG5420 reproduces the colors of your original documents flawlessly. And thanks to AirPrint3, Cloud Print4 and PIXMA Cloud Link5, the MG5420 lets you print wirelessly from your compatible smartphone or tablet. You can also create beautiful scans and copies. You can print JPEG, PDF files, web pages and other stuff wirelessly from compatible iPad, iPhone, iPod, and Android devices without a computer, thanks to some free apps. You can also print from your computer. Try it you'll like it.
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PIXMA MG5420
Nickname: gs21a
Location: Carlsbad, NM
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Canon printer MF5420

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:February 26, 2014
Pros: good quality, good price
Cons: no rear paper tray, scans file size is too large, too slow to start printing
Ordered this when my older Canon printer died last year after 5 years of faithful service. Never occurred to me that the newer Canon printers would not have a rear paper tray. Sorely disappointed that the second paper tray is in the front and only accepts small photo paper. I don't know why everyone assumes that the only use for these printers is photo printing. Some of us still use a desktop printer for office / clerical needs. I had to set this one aside and source an older model that still had the rear tray. Even then, the one I found is supposed to be for photo paper in the back. Recommend Canon rethink their decision to remove the rear paper tray on these printers.
Otherwise, the quality was good. Print start is slow as it always aligns the print heads before printing. And, the Canon Imaging software is over the top and not user friendly.
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PIXMA MG5420
Nickname: PrintMan
Location: Birmingham, AL
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Good printer needs better instructions

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 9, 2014
Pros: very fast printing
Cons: instructions do not tell the whole story
Canon printers got good reviews for Mac users, so I bought one. I got the MG 5420. It is wireless capable. However, there are a few things the instructions didn't really cover so I would like to mention them for the sake of anyone else using an Apple computer and an Airport Extreme router. I bought this printer for the print directly to printable CD or DVD option but the instructions fail to mention that this will not work unless the printer is connected via USB cable. You cannot print this way wirelessly. Also, I had to update software from Canon. I think the drivers that were included were faulty. Also, less than 24 hours after setting up the wi-fi, I had to reset it because it claimed the printer was "offline". Go into the Mac system prefs and under printers, delete the printer and add the printer again and then it prints just fine. So, overall, I would say that this is still a very good printer. The ink supply is good. I've gotten a lot of printing off the inks included with the printer. Printing standard legal size pages is super fast. They shoot out of the machine, which is a huge improvement over the old snail-pace printer I used to have. It prints beautiful photos too. There are still other features I have not yet used but am looking forward to it. In summary, I really like this printer. It has it's quirks but overall, I have not encountered any problems that cannot be addressed. For the price, it's a steal.
5 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PIXMA MG5420
Nickname: Chick
Location: Hayden, AL
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Won't Stop Printing

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:February 6, 2014
Pros: most beautiful true to life photos
Cons: won't stop printing.
This printer prints the most beautiful photos of any printer I have ever owned. I use a Canon Rebel camera. My problem is once it prints a photo or document, it just keeps on printing until you turn it off. It looses it's memory. It gives me the message that the printer is not responding, sometimes it isn't and sometimes it is responding when it says it isn't and it prints and prints and prints. I have tried every option to fix it but so far it's still printing when it's on.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PIXMA MG5420
Nickname: KADY
Location: Philadelphia, PA, USA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

EXCRUCIATING INK COST!

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:January 28, 2014
Pros: all the great qualities pale with ink cost!
Cons: ink cost way too high!, again = it burns through ink and costs are high
If it were not for the excessive ink costs this would be a GREAT little all-in-one printer. My last 5 printers were all great Canon Printers that all used separate ink cartridges but this one will send you into bankruptcy. I've replaced all the cartridges faster than I ever did with any other printer.
Other than that, wireless setup was easy and great. Quality is nice. I usually don't go for all in ones but this one works well with Photoshop. My only complaint is that I may need a mortgage to pay for the ink.
12 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PIXMA MG5420
Nickname: NORDAN
Location: Miami, FL
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Does not work with Ubuntu

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 21, 2014
Pros: Compact Design
Cons: Difficult Setup, not support for ubuntu
I bought this printer when I was using Windows XP. Now, XP will be over and I started to use Ubuntu. There is no support for Ubuntu so I have a new printer that can not be used. I can not believe Canon (I own cameras, scanner and other devices) does not support this OS.
2 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PIXMA MG5420
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: Conway, Arkansas
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 20, 2014
Pros: Lightweight/Portable, fast print speed
Cons: Difficult to use, Difficult Setup
I have had this multifunction printer/scanner, etc. for over a month and have not been able to get the scanner to function yet. I have spent a lot of time researching and have not been able to find out what the problem is. The manual is not helpful and I haven't found any help on line yet.
I bought this one to replace another Canon which I had several years and liked.
I wish I could give this one back.
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PIXMA MG5420
Nickname: james
Location: california
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

too much head cleaning

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 15, 2014
Cons: Difficult to use, Slow Print Speed, Large Footprint, Heavy/Bulky, Difficult Setup, High Ink Consumption, unreliable, Flimsy Construction
I wish I can disable head cleaning after every print project, it takes too much time to start printing
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PIXMA MG5420
Nickname: Sparky
Location: Ankeny, IA
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Worth every penny

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 14, 2014
Pros: reliable, Sharp Tones & Colors, fast print speed
Cons: High Ink Consumption
Totally Awesome wireless capabilities. Now my Mom don't have to take her laptop across the room and hook it up via USB.
Review 15 for PIXMA MG5420
Nickname: upset customer
Location: Pennsylvania
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Save Your Money!!!

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 11, 2014
Cons: Difficult to use, Slow Print Speed, Difficult Setup, unreliable
I've had nothing but problems with this printer since i purchased it less than 6 months ago. when you want to print something I've waited as much as 10 minutes just for the printer to get ready to print. i've currently been over twenty minutes and now it's giving me an error message. do yourself a favor and save you money and buy a different product.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PIXMA MG5420
Nickname: none
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

worst ever

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 11, 2014
Cons: Difficult to use, Slow Print Speed, Large Footprint, Difficult Setup, Dull Tones & Colors, High Ink Consumption, unreliable, Flimsy Construction
this is the worst printer I have ever owned can not even print primary colors spend the money and get a real printer
Review 17 for PIXMA MG5420
Nickname: ravenfairy
Location: mesa,arizona
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

best xmas present ever!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 10, 2014
Pros: reliable, Compact Design, Easy Setup, durable, Lightweight/Portable, fast print speed, easy to use
i love it so much!! so easy to use and the setup instructions very easy to follow. i cant wait to get more photo paper and print away.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PIXMA MG5420
Nickname: Frustrated

Troublesome machine, good results

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:January 9, 2014
Cons: Slow Print Speed, Large Footprint, unreliable, High Ink Consumption
The pixma 5420 does produce beautiful photos. It is very, very slow making photocopies or printing print jobs. Alas, it comes with no instructions whatsoever, so EVERY last stupid error message must be researched ad infinitum on the internet, where the manual is also not easily available and simple things are never explained. These folks have produced a cheap machine that does a great job in at least some regards, but the instructions people either don't exist or should be fired. This thing is WAY too finicky and non intuitive so it needs a lot of explaining.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PIXMA MG5420
Nickname: cdmac
Location: Texas
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Excellent Canon quality, but...

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:January 9, 2014
Pros: Easy Setup, Sharp Tones & Colors, easy to use
Cons: High Ink Consumption
Right out of the box the scanner started making this awful clicking noise. After restarting it worked fine. It has repeated the same clicking, like the gears would not mesh on the scanner, numerous times since. Must turn off / on in order to make a scan.
The inks cartridges are black so it is impossible to tell how much ink is left after the printer indicates one is empty. Usually there is plenty left. Canon wants you to buy more ink.
The print quality is great as with every canon printer I have owned. This printer is exception to having an excellent printer made by canon and first I have used with a built in scanner, which I like having on board.
Review 20 for PIXMA MG5420
Nickname: ronc
Location: virginia beach, VA
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Best all around printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 7, 2014
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, durable, Sharp Tones & Colors, fast print speed, easy to use
Cons: none so far
instructions to install this printer were very easy to understand and implement. love the photo quality and just the overall ease of use. downloaded the android app for this printer and it works great!!! thanks...
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site