Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Printers & Multifunction Reviews / PIXMA MG Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PIXMA MG Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PIXMA MG5420

PIXMA MG5420

Like all PIXMA printers, the MG5420 produces amazing detail in both business documents and photographs with 9600 x 2400 maximum color dpi 2 and a 5-Color Ink System.
Average Customer Rating:
2.602 out of 5
2.6
 out of 
5
(88 Reviews) 88
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (88 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
11
3 stars
12
2 stars
8
1 star
38
32 out of 88(36%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PIXMA MG5420
Review 1 for PIXMA MG5420
Nickname: CatKnip
Location: Atlanta, GA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Does what it claims

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 7, 2014
Cons: does not allow regular paper in the second tray.l
I've been using Canon printers for 20 years and won't buy anything else. It is designed for home use and light office rather than heavy office use, so keep that in mind. I use mine a lot to print knitting patterns I'm going to be doing to save wear and tear on the magazine or book it's in.
My only caveat is that I would love for the second tray to also use standard paper. I recycle my prints for both sides so it would be really handy to be able to place those in the second tray and specify that one for use in printing out patterns and keep clean paper in the other tray. Not a deal breaker though.
I'd needed a printer that also scanned as I have limited space. This fits the bill.
I also prefer one that has separate tanks for each color since you usually run out of red and/or blue and still have half a tank of yellow. This printer fills that requirement as well. Two black tanks and one for each color as well.
19 of 20 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PIXMA MG5420
Nickname: Jimbo
Location: Big Los Angles
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

GERRRRRRRRATE

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 28, 2014
Pros: what can i say? try it
Cons: can't think of any
The PIXMA printer MG5420 produces amazing detail in both documents and photographs with 9600 x 2400 color and a 5-Color Ink System with a sixth cartridge that makes your color prints on glossy paper look like they came from the printers . Replacing the ink is quick and easy. The MG5420 reproduces the colors of your original documents flawlessly. And thanks to AirPrint3, Cloud Print4 and PIXMA Cloud Link5, the MG5420 lets you print wirelessly from your compatible smartphone or tablet. You can also create beautiful scans and copies. You can print JPEG, PDF files, web pages and other stuff wirelessly from compatible iPad, iPhone, iPod, and Android devices without a computer, thanks to some free apps. You can also print from your computer. Try it you'll like it.
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PIXMA MG5420
Nickname: Sparky
Location: Ankeny, IA
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Worth every penny

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 14, 2014
Pros: reliable, Sharp Tones & Colors, fast print speed
Cons: High Ink Consumption
Totally Awesome wireless capabilities. Now my Mom don't have to take her laptop across the room and hook it up via USB.
Review 4 for PIXMA MG5420
Nickname: ravenfairy
Location: mesa,arizona
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

best xmas present ever!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 10, 2014
Pros: reliable, Compact Design, Easy Setup, durable, Lightweight/Portable, fast print speed, easy to use
i love it so much!! so easy to use and the setup instructions very easy to follow. i cant wait to get more photo paper and print away.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PIXMA MG5420
Nickname: ronc
Location: virginia beach, VA
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Best all around printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 7, 2014
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, durable, Sharp Tones & Colors, fast print speed, easy to use
Cons: none so far
instructions to install this printer were very easy to understand and implement. love the photo quality and just the overall ease of use. downloaded the android app for this printer and it works great!!! thanks...
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PIXMA MG5420
Nickname: Bill B
Location: California
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 3, 2014
Pros: reliable, Compact Design, Easy Setup, durable, Low Ink Consumption, Lightweight/Portable, Sharp Tones & Colors, fast print speed, easy to use
I have read almost all the reviews and The people reporting slow, I ask, is 20 seconds for a 4x6, ( I get excellent prints onphoto paper, in about 27 seconds)to slow? Difficult setup? Did you use the install disk or just blunder around? Quality, at hi resoultion (9600dpi) I will put this printer againts ANY printer, AND Win! Draft mode use grey scale, noisey, turn on quiet mode. People, you have to read the manual. Really! As for wireless, the setup is automatic for the printer. Sending from android devices need a driver to send to printer, Canon supplies on the CD. I have two of these printers, we do layouts for magazine ads. Always work and the quality gets us paid (5 figures) . If you folks don't know what to do, most of us prefer you ask for the answer before you slam a product. At least be fair! Did you know the printer will even print a booklet, with all the pages in correct order, by itself? Bet not! You need to read the book that you didn't read.
29 of 29 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PIXMA MG5420
Nickname: CARTSpeed22
Location: Seacoast, NH
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Works Great - Easy Setup

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 29, 2013
Pros: reliable, Compact Design, Easy Setup, durable, easy to use
Setup was easy, follow the directions. I am running Win 7 x64 ver. "You don't even need the setup CD to setup the drivers or wireless, Windows does all the work for you.
Step 1, at the printer, connect to the Router.
Step 2, Go to Computer and connect to printer in Add Printer section, select new printer and bam! Windows loads all the drivers and sets up everything for you.
Simple.
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PIXMA MG5420
Nickname: fast gmc
Location: Bowling Green KY
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great Printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 8, 2013
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, durable, Sharp Tones & Colors, easy to use
Cons: Slow Print Speed, Heavy/Bulky
Photos are excellent from this printer. Not real fast but the quality makes up for it. I got a very good deal on this printer and love it.
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PIXMA MG5420
Nickname: Hutch
Location: Vancouver, WA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Excellent All-In-One printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 30, 2013
Pros: Compact Design, Easy Setup, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use, quiet operation
The machine is 2 days old, but I have tried every function that is available to use in that time. Everything has worked seamlessly from the easy installation on our home network with the wireless set up. I expected to have at least one problem, but it set up properly the first time. The following day, the wireless hooked up automatically when the machine was turned on. Both the picture sharpness and colors were amazing. For an inexpensive printer, this one does a fantastic job. Documents are crystal clear print. Printing from a laptop was easy, just change the current printer in the Control Panel since both computers are on the same network.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PIXMA MG5420
Nickname: Cannonade
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Well satisfied

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 27, 2013
Pros: Easy Setup, Sharp Tones & Colors, easy to use
I can't imagine why this product has such low reviews. I chose it because it was economical and able to print direct to CDs and DVDs. I think it does a fabulous job of printing (scanning also). My only complaint is that it takes a VERY long time to be ready to print if started with power off. However, that hardly ever happens. It comes on fairly quickly from the sleep state.
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PIXMA MG5420
Nickname: Fred
Location: Tampa, FL

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 25, 2013
Pros: excellent product
Cons: none
Bought new and quite easy to install and setup. Easily print from iphone, and pc.....A breeze to use.. If the're any issues its because consumers aren't savvy enough!!!!!!
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PIXMA MG5420
Nickname: mIKE
Location: WI
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

insalation a snap

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 8, 2013
Pros: Compact Design, Easy Setup, easy to use
Installation was a snap. Added other home computers on my home network without a hitch!
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PIXMA MG5420
Nickname: Big boy
Location: Naubinway, Mi
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Works great!!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 7, 2013
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, durable, Sharp Tones & Colors, easy to use
I love this printer works awesome with my wi FI. No problems at all I would buy again in a heatbeat..
Review 14 for PIXMA MG5420
Nickname: Joer78
Location: New Jersey
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Love this printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 12, 2013
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, Lightweight/Portable, Sharp Tones & Colors, easy to use
I really don't know what so many people are complaining about. Setting up was no problem, connecting to my wifi was easy and the print results are great. Many people are complaining about speed and noise. I have neither complaint. Printing photos is so quiet, I didn't even know it was printing until the paper came out of the printer. Speed? Well a sheet of 4 3X5 photos printer in less than one minute from the time I clicked print.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PIXMA MG5420
Nickname: PhotoMom
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Best Printer Purchase

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 25, 2013
Pros: reliable, Compact Design, Easy Setup, durable, Low Ink Consumption, Sharp Tones & Colors, fast print speed, easy to use, comes with full set of ink
More than satisfied with this printer!
It prints, scan, and copies beautifully. I went through 4 printers before stopping at this one as Canon got it right. It is nice to know that Canon still believes it making a good quality product. Photos are amazing and look better than the ones I use to send off for not to mention I have them instantly. Also, airprint is the best thing ever as now I can print straight from my iphone. I cannot tell you how nice it is not to have to email pictures off of my phone to then have to download to my lap top just to print.
I wish I would of found this printer a long time ago!
By the way, Canon printers come with a FULL set of ink!
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PIXMA MG5420
Nickname: TwilightWolf
Location: Chicago
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 27, 2013
Pros: Compact Design, Easy Setup, durable, Low Ink Consumption, Lightweight/Portable, Sharp Tones & Colors, fast print speed, easy to use
I have purchased this printer at my local Target because I had to replace my old Canon due to its slowness and age. This one goes very quick, and I have printed photos on plain white, printer paper and they turned out gorgeous. Also, this printer is really light, as my old one was a struggle to lift and carry. I cannot say anything about the noise, because I don't think it is loud at all. Or that could be my permanent, nerve-damaged hearing loss. I had it for two weeks, and I am very happy with it.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PIXMA MG5420
Nickname: cgl
Location: Fort Mill, SC
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great print quality & easy to use

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 26, 2013
Pros: reliable, Compact Design, Easy Setup, durable, Low Ink Consumption, Lightweight/Portable, Sharp Tones & Colors, easy to use
This is my second Canon printer. I bought another brand in between owning my two Canon's and got so frustrated with the other brand, so I went back to a Canon. It's always easy to use and easy to change the ink cartridges, plus it does great photos and prints!
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PIXMA MG5420
Nickname: Topper
Location: New Haven, CT
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Top of the line

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 28, 2013
Pros: reliable, Compact Design, Easy Setup, durable, Low Ink Consumption, Sharp Tones & Colors, fast print speed, easy to use, user controllable
Cons: none so far!
In less than a year, I went through two major brand printers. Both were examples of less than sterling quality! One would not print anything less than 8x10 photos, and the other would jam frequently and have the queue just stop. In researching this printer, I took into account the start-up time and the page set-up. This printer gives me the control I want before printing. Yes, this machine is on the noisy side, but it works flawlessly. Noise can be dealt with, breakdowns cannot. In the 6 weeks I have owned the MG5420, I have printed over 150 pictures and countless documents, letter and legal. Not one glitch. The pictures are crystal clear and the documents are dynamic. This is the best printer I have owned in 10 years. My other printers were like cinder blocks compared to this. Best printer for the money.
16 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PIXMA MG5420
Nickname: Anonymous
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

GREAT PRINTER

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 13, 2013
Pros: reliable, Compact Design, Easy Setup, Low Ink Consumption, Lightweight/Portable, Sharp Tones & Colors, fast print speed, easy to use
I purchased this printer and I am so glad I did. It has all the features I wanted and has a great quality for printing pictures, easy to set up and connect to WIFI.
25 of 30 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PIXMA MG5420
Nickname: renrut
Location: Chicago suburb
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Quality Output

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 7, 2014
Pros: Easy Setup, Sharp Tones & Colors
Cons: High Ink Consumption
My old MP600, which I loved, finally bit the dust. I purchased this machine and liked its ability to print CDs. I read as much as I could about this multifunction printer prior to purchasing. I really don't need wireless at home so I use a USB connection. The text and photos are outstanding. I found it easy to set up. Found the CD tray that is attached on the bottom of the upper tray. Had a brief problem in finding out exactly where to insert the CD tray, but a quick check on the Canon site resolved that problem. I usually know beforehand if I will be using the printer,so I turn it on right away while I'm getting the photos, CD, or letter that I will print or scan. Yes, it does use a lot of ink, but I don't print anything and everything. If it's a draft, I set the printer preference to "fast," which uses less ink. And no matter where one purchases the ink, it's expensive. Have had this machine about 3 weeks and find the quality of the output as good or better than my old MP600.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site