Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / PowerShot Cameras Reviews / PowerShot A Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PowerShot A Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PowerShot A1400

PowerShot A1400

The PowerShot A1400 is a compact, easy-to-use camera that retains the familiar feel of a classic point-and-shoot. Its large grip is easy to grasp and comfortable to hold, while the Optical Viewfinder is ideal for capturing photos in bright sunlight.
Average Customer Rating:
4.067 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(30 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (30 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
10
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
2
24 out of 30(80%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PowerShot A1400
Review 1 for PowerShot A1400
Nickname: Zak
Location: Arizona
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Canon should make cameras like this again

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 13, 2014
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Heavy/Bulky
It's unfortunate that Canon (and every other company) has stopped making a camera with a viewfinder. So many people want a digital camera with viewfinder - it's impossible to see in sunlight without it. This camera does an excellent job. Being able to use AA batteries was also a big plus.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PowerShot A1400
Nickname: Joann
Location: Virginia
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

my special gift

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 9, 2014
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Mydaughter Stephanie wanted to give me anicer gift of acamera I could use better and use for special occasiions when theGranddaughter andGreat come for visits a good picture taking cameralike the1400 powershot canon it says and does it all....love this gift so much!
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PowerShot A1400
Nickname: Nick
Location: Chicago
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

for children only ...

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 25, 2014
Pros: Simple controls/menu, easy to use, optical viefinder, powered by aa batteries
Cons: Poor image quality, Poor Low-Light Performance, Flimsy Construction, very small camera body, very small optical viewfinder
I've purchased this camera as an upgrade for my old (and still unbeaten) Canon Power Shot A560 (7.1 Mega Pixels). I've taken over 5000 pictures (family and work) with the good old A560. Now that I've tested few other new cameras it this same class, I appreciate A560 more than ever before.
I've decided to upgrade it with Power Shot A1400 hopping to get more detail in my pictures.
I also wanted point-and-shoot camera that has optical viewfinder, uses AA batteries and fits in my shirt pocket.
A1400 looked like the best choice in this class.
I have performed side by side shootout between my good old A560 and the new A1400.
My fist impression was that A1400 is very very very small and light.
I am an adult man with average sized hands and I just couldn't figure out how to hold this tiny camera (this is why I've titled my review "for children only"). This canera is too small and to light. I strongly believe that it's size, weight and horrible ergonomics greatly effect the quality of pictures one takes with this camera.
A560 is bigger but it still fits in a my shirt pocket and in my hand.
The quality of A1400 materials and workmanship is very low. After purchasing the first model of A1400 and turning it on, I've found out that the lens does not extend. Sales person had to push it in few directions to make it extend. I still had it exchanged for another camera.
I shot about 50 identical pictures, in identical conditions, side by side by A1400 and A560 and I was shocked to discover that A560's pictures were clearly better, had more detail and less noise.
I've returned the A1400 to the store the following day.
At the end of this review I'd like to ask Cannon to offer to consumers basic point-and-shoot camera, with decent optical viewfinder, powered by AA batteries that fits in a shirt pocket and still has the size and weight to allow a grown up man to hold it steady and shoot good pictures.
14 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PowerShot A1400
Nickname: dusty
Location: Wyoming
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Nice camera

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 28, 2014
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
I bought this camera a couple of days ago to replace my older point and shoot camera. For me it was hard to read the box to see what was inside. The store clerk opened the box. Having no usb cable or card was not a problem, because the quality was put into the camera and not the accessories. The first picture I took was of a gridded piece of paper to check for lens distortion and there was none worth mentioning. I then took indoor and outdoor pictures and am very pleased with the quality. I needed a point and shoot camera as a companion for my DSLR and this one fits the bill perfectly. I really like the viewfinder.
Some of the comments have been in relation to battery life, I've taken about 40 pictures with the batteries that came with the camera and no problems. I'll be getting the NiMH batteries when it's time to replace these. I do wish the startup manual went into a little more detail, but having the downloaded pdf was just what I need, because I'd lose a paper copy or not have it with me when I needed it.
The only drawback I've seen with the camera is when I use a full zoom, the viewfinder doesn't line up with the photo I'm taking. The LCD screen lines up, but the viewfinder photo's are low and to the right, which is why I gave the camera 4 stars and not 5.
I'm looking forward to taking many great pictures with this camera for a long time.
8 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PowerShot A1400
Nickname: Mstephens
Location: South Carolina
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Good, with the right light

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:March 29, 2014
Pros: great in bright natural lighting, easy to use, sharp images in bright light, affordable
Cons: horrible quality in low light, setting can be a bit tricky, flash is horrible in low light, battery lasts only a little while
This camera is really good in bright sunlight. The shutter speed is good, and it's very clear and sharp. If you are planning to take pictures inside or in low light, do not buy. It will be grainy and a low shutter speed. The setting are easy to use, but can be tricky to get just right.
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PowerShot A1400
Nickname: Dimples
Location: Yuma, AZ
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Just bought it and love it

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 21, 2014
Pros: lightweight uses regular aa batteries
Cons: no instruction manual, only comes in black.
After doing much research on websites, I went to a store yesterday and bought this camera. I wanted one that uses REGULAR AA batteries - not rechargeable - have only used it for several indoor and outdoor pictures so far, and got very good results. I really like the way it feels in my hand. I had a Canon A570 for 6 years and it died 5 days ago. This new one is much lighter and smaller. I wish it came in more colors than black; and my biggest complaint is that I was led to believe that it came with an instruction manual, which it does not. I'd like to try some of the features mentioned in the information on line, but don't know how to access them.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PowerShot A1400
Nickname: KB
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur

Problem with battery notification

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 1, 2014
This camera takes great photos, but it only takes about 50 photos before the low battery light comes on. After about 100 photos it no longer works due to low battery. However when I test the batteries, they are still good. Only Alkaline batteries work; others last for about 5 photos. I read one other review that reported this problem, but haven't seen a solution. I guess I need to send it in to see what's wrong.
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PowerShot A1400
Nickname: nebraska wind

.... unfortunate view

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 13, 2014
Cons: Short battery life, short life span
The Canon A1400 purchased through a national chain store, July 2013, has already self destructed by Thanksgiving. The camera purchased as a gift for a senior citizen was selected over another brand. The simple "no extras" features were a primary focus.
By Thanks giving holiday with less than 20 jpegs on the SD Card the optics had gone "South". The chain store 15-day return policy had expired. I regret my decision to shop "price".
8 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PowerShot A1400
Nickname: Bobbi
Location: NJ
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Grap this Gem While It's Still Sold

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 3, 2014
Pros: Simple controls/menu, easy to use, optical view finders are difficult to find today
Cons: Missing features/settings
I searched for months for a point and shoot camera with an optical viewfinder before stumbling on this plain Jane black model. If you plan to shoot photos at the shore, these are fast becoming dinosaurs. It's a good buy for its size and price. It is easy to hold, simple to operate and you can frame your picture in the bright sunshine. It doesn't have many bells and whistles, but it's easy to understand how it operates. Great for those who don't need a lot of features.
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PowerShot A1400
Nickname: Fresno Bob
Location: Fresno, CA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Travel
Product replacement: Yes

No Cable in Box

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 29, 2013
Pros: Nice features/settings, Lightweight/Portable
Cons: no mini-usb cable in box, no user manual in box
Remember to buy a mini-USB cable and an SD card with this camera. Neither item is included in the box.
I chose this camera because it had a viewfinder, a zoom lens, AA batteries, and lightweight. The 5X zoom was a limitation but the AA batteries made an acceptable compromise.
The first hundred holiday pictures were generally pretty good. The shutter is a bit slow so catching action shots is difficult. We used only the automatic features. Except for the family group picture which required our genius nephew to figure out the self timer.
It is not necessary to download the Canon software but you must buy the mini-USB cable or a memory card reader to download the pictures. This was very annoying.
And it was annoying that there was no instruction manual included. You must go online and download that which was also a pain.
10 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PowerShot A1400
Nickname: bagera3005
Location: toledo ohio
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Portraits
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

good for fast shots

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 6, 2013
Pros: durable, easy to use
Cons: needs a usb cable in box, no iso controler
I got it to replace my aging point an shot that's five years old got it to use with my EOS T3i it vary easy to learn to use fast to get in to menu list easy to read id like an iso control is something that be easy add to design an has need of a usb cable in box for people that may not have a EOS on hand with one or willing to pick up a USB 2 an shorter flash change be nice LCD is much like the EOS good camera for its price it make good starter for younger people
8 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PowerShot A1400
Nickname: joetech
Location: NY
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Great pictures

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 6, 2013
Pros: good battery life, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, easy to use
Purchased this camera to use at my grandson's wedding.
Took the same pictures as the pro photographer was taking,
144 photos. Displayed them on line, and they were wonderful. We printed 8x10 and 5x7's, the photographer has yet to submit his photos. By the way I used a tripod.
Also took 10 videos all great.
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PowerShot A1400
Nickname: Uncle Bill
Location: Mongolia
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 5, 2013
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use, optical view finder, use aa batteries, 28mm wide angle
Cons: Complicated controls/menu
This camera has an optical view finder so you can take pictures in snow and in bright light. Auto mode works well. I like to set my own setting so I use the program mode. It uses AA batteries which you can get anywhere in the world if you travel. It has many great features accessed through the menu system which take so time to learn, I would recommend down loading the manual. The advance camera buff will enjoy the many options it has. The lag time is a little slow. If you let it focus and keep the shutter button half way down it shots faster for sports. It is comparable to the A1300 that I replaced after 8,000 shots so I expect it will last.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PowerShot A1400
Nickname: MGL
Location: Austin, Texas

Disappointed

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:November 23, 2013
Pros: clear pictures
Cons: no computer download cable, no users manual included, have to download manual from canon website
I just got it today and does take good, clear pictures, but it is necessary to have the users' manual to figure out some of the functions and it is not included. You have to download which is tedious and takes a lot of space on your computer. Also, you can't download the pictures to your computer, unless you go buy a separate cable. I've owned several cameras and right now I am going back to my old one and see if I can return this one.
10 of 22 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PowerShot A1400
Nickname: Elmer Oaks
Location: Morton Grove Il.
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Where is the Micro B Usb Cable

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:November 20, 2013
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu
Cons: missing usb cable mini b
I have an entire zip lock bag full of usb cables, however no mini b as need for the A1400 sure shot.
My test photos were on a very favorable conditions, so I am happy so far with the performance.
I have experience downloading manuals, however if you are not acquainted with this, it can be a tedious task.
6 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PowerShot A1400
Nickname: Lenny
Location: DuBois, PA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Impressive Little devil!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 9, 2013
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
I photographed a soda can on the table in front of me. I could read the ingredients on the can in the image better than I could read the can itself. This is an impressive little devil right out of the box! One can be hard pressed to find a better pocket camera for the money spent.
8 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PowerShot A1400
Nickname: Nadine

Web site support DREADFUL

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:September 30, 2013
Pros: Lightweight/Portable, easy to use
Cons: no usb cable, poor web site, poor instruction manual
MAIN PROBLEM: The camera was not sold with a USB cable. I purposefully went to a camera store so I would get everything I needed -- but no luck. So if you're buying this camera, don't say "I want to buy everything I'll need to use the camera," since that request is not adequate. On the second trip, the sales associate did say that most cameras included the USB cable but I already knew that was the case with most products and that's why I didn't specify "USB cable." SUPPORT: Canon's web site for the product has very very poor functionality. The instruction manual is very poorly designed -- Canon must not have changed it mindset from providing hardcopy instruction manuals to customers using a computer to obtain it. In addition, parts of the manual are incomplete. CAMERA: frequently has a slow response.
9 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PowerShot A1400
Nickname: MadMartigan
Location: Chicago, IL
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Product replacement: No

Grab and Go

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 2, 2013
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Short battery life
I was looking for a small lightweight point and shoot camera I could carry with me where ever I go and the A1400 definitely fits this role. The controls are easy to use with one hand and the pictures are great. The optical viewfinder is a feature I think is great! I especially like the fact it doesn't use specialty batteries the two AA batteries do last a while and can be easily replaced but they don't last as long as rechargeable but I was concerned that lack of use of any camera I bought with rechargeable might end up with not being charged when I needed it or that the rechargeables might develop the charge/discharge problems that can happen with them. It takes great pictures if fact I use the camera for a photo-page on my Blog. It works great on close-up as well as distance shots (a little photo-shopping is required on extreme photos). Over-all I couldn't be happier with this camera it's living up to everything I'd expect from a Canon camera...
18 of 18 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PowerShot A1400
Nickname: No Name
Location: Iowa
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Needed

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 23, 2013
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use
I have a long list of CANON cameras, I had been using my PowerShot SX130is for a work camera which had been to Australia twice but decided the 130 is just too nice a camera for work.
After evaluating what I really need for work is not a lot of zoom, small compact, double A capability, good for close up shots and good resolution in pictures. I then went through the CANON camera list and the A1400 fit the need precisely.
One thing I noticed is the on screen focus fluctuates when zooming in, the on screen view seems to have a hard time settling down, given a little time it does settle though; but this does not appear to affect the picture quality.
I like the Grid-lines that is available in my other high-end caneras I have but, have not found them on this A1400, maybe they are there but haven't taken much time to hunt for them yet (too buisy I guess).
I use the ENERGIZER 9X lithium batteries and get several hundred pictures per set.
Generally, when I find a CANON camera that I like a lot I will buy a second for a spare just in case my first gets broken for some unforeseen circumstance; I dislike loosing good things. I'm thinking I may be looking to purchase a second A1400 and possibly one for a co-worker as well.
I have yet to break into any of my standby cameras.
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PowerShot A1400
Nickname: old shooter
Location: Illinois
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Good Value

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 19, 2013
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use
Cons: Short battery life, large manual not easy to print out
I bought the A1400 to replace an A540. The A1400 is smaller and lighter. The mode change dials are replaced with a navigation scheme that must be learned. The P mode offers many features for shooting many varied scenes. I liked the ability to zoom to 20X then shoot at ISO400 to eliminate image shake and blur. Took a great shot of Lincoln at Mt Rushmore.
Many of the features are for pro's only (toy train effect?).
The P mode can be set such that you can only use the flash in the most extreme low-light situations. I had problems with batteries dying after 50 shots, even when new, I have since set ECCO mode on. The focus framing is a good way to get clear shots. I downloaded the manual in PDF, its large because it is also for the A2600. I suggest reading thru the manual and trying out all the features. It can be a lot to memorize when you're in the field shooting and making quick decisions. Overall this is a great camera for the general shooter.
8 of 10 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site