Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / PowerShot Cameras Reviews / PowerShot A Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PowerShot A Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PowerShot A1400

PowerShot A1400

The PowerShot A1400 is a compact, easy-to-use camera that retains the familiar feel of a classic point-and-shoot. Its large grip is easy to grasp and comfortable to hold, while the Optical Viewfinder is ideal for capturing photos in bright sunlight.
Average Customer Rating:
4.067 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(30 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (30 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
10
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
2
24 out of 30(80%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PowerShot A1400
Review 1 for PowerShot A1400
Nickname: photogirl
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Canon A1400 HD

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 21, 2013
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use, great viewfinder
This is the best small digital camera I have ever owned. The photo quality is so great, So very clear and in focus.
It is the only camera I have found this small (pocket size) with a viewfinder on it. When you look at the screen in the outdoors in the sun, you cannot see what you are taking. This viewfinder takes care of that, you can see everything in the bright sun ! I absolutely love it !
The clarity of the photos from it are phenomenal !
I hope that Canon will always make the small digital ones with the viewfinder.
19 of 19 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PowerShot A1400
Nickname: MadMartigan
Location: Chicago, IL
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Product replacement: No

Grab and Go

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 2, 2013
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Short battery life
I was looking for a small lightweight point and shoot camera I could carry with me where ever I go and the A1400 definitely fits this role. The controls are easy to use with one hand and the pictures are great. The optical viewfinder is a feature I think is great! I especially like the fact it doesn't use specialty batteries the two AA batteries do last a while and can be easily replaced but they don't last as long as rechargeable but I was concerned that lack of use of any camera I bought with rechargeable might end up with not being charged when I needed it or that the rechargeables might develop the charge/discharge problems that can happen with them. It takes great pictures if fact I use the camera for a photo-page on my Blog. It works great on close-up as well as distance shots (a little photo-shopping is required on extreme photos). Over-all I couldn't be happier with this camera it's living up to everything I'd expect from a Canon camera...
18 of 18 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PowerShot A1400
Nickname: Mstephens
Location: South Carolina
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Good, with the right light

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:March 29, 2014
Pros: great in bright natural lighting, easy to use, sharp images in bright light, affordable
Cons: horrible quality in low light, setting can be a bit tricky, flash is horrible in low light, battery lasts only a little while
This camera is really good in bright sunlight. The shutter speed is good, and it's very clear and sharp. If you are planning to take pictures inside or in low light, do not buy. It will be grainy and a low shutter speed. The setting are easy to use, but can be tricky to get just right.
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PowerShot A1400
Nickname: Bobbi
Location: NJ
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Grap this Gem While It's Still Sold

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 3, 2014
Pros: Simple controls/menu, easy to use, optical view finders are difficult to find today
Cons: Missing features/settings
I searched for months for a point and shoot camera with an optical viewfinder before stumbling on this plain Jane black model. If you plan to shoot photos at the shore, these are fast becoming dinosaurs. It's a good buy for its size and price. It is easy to hold, simple to operate and you can frame your picture in the bright sunshine. It doesn't have many bells and whistles, but it's easy to understand how it operates. Great for those who don't need a lot of features.
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PowerShot A1400
Nickname: Nick
Location: Sonoma County
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 9, 2013
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
This is the greatest little camera! Fits in your pocket, takes great shots in all light. Speaking of light: with the view finder you can see in all light--no more guessing with a dark screen in bright light. This is a five-star camera.
Thanks, Canon, for the winner!
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PowerShot A1400
Nickname: joetech
Location: NY
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Great pictures

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 6, 2013
Pros: good battery life, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, easy to use
Purchased this camera to use at my grandson's wedding.
Took the same pictures as the pro photographer was taking,
144 photos. Displayed them on line, and they were wonderful. We printed 8x10 and 5x7's, the photographer has yet to submit his photos. By the way I used a tripod.
Also took 10 videos all great.
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PowerShot A1400
Nickname: TomS
Location: Middletown, RI
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Love the view finder

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 2, 2013
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use, has view finder, takes two aa batteries
Cons: could use an easier way to turn off the monitor or
This is the best point and shot camera. I love it! I like the fact that it has a view finder and I do not have to use the monitor. I also like the fact that it uses two AA batteries instead of the expensive square type. I turn off the monitor when using the camera and the batteries last forever. It could use an easier way to turn off the monitor to conserve battery life, maybe leaving the monitor off.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PowerShot A1400
Nickname: Uncle Bill
Location: Mongolia
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 5, 2013
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use, optical view finder, use aa batteries, 28mm wide angle
Cons: Complicated controls/menu
This camera has an optical view finder so you can take pictures in snow and in bright light. Auto mode works well. I like to set my own setting so I use the program mode. It uses AA batteries which you can get anywhere in the world if you travel. It has many great features accessed through the menu system which take so time to learn, I would recommend down loading the manual. The advance camera buff will enjoy the many options it has. The lag time is a little slow. If you let it focus and keep the shutter button half way down it shots faster for sports. It is comparable to the A1300 that I replaced after 8,000 shots so I expect it will last.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PowerShot A1400
Nickname: Charles
Location: Florida
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Good Travel + every day Camera

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 27, 2013
Pros: good battery life, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use, viewfinder, hand grip, large buttons, aa bateries i use rechargeables
Cons: Missing features/settings, Poor Low-Light Performance, no optical image stabilization, no instruction book, limited settings + features
Good Travel and every day Camera.
Has a Viewfinder and Hand grip.
No Optical Image Stabilization
Most photos are good.
Low light and long Zoom photos sometimes are blurry.
AA batteries are convenient, I use rechargeables.
If Canon adds Optical Image Stabilization, then I give it a higher rating.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PowerShot A1400
Nickname: Zak
Location: Arizona
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Canon should make cameras like this again

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 13, 2014
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Heavy/Bulky
It's unfortunate that Canon (and every other company) has stopped making a camera with a viewfinder. So many people want a digital camera with viewfinder - it's impossible to see in sunlight without it. This camera does an excellent job. Being able to use AA batteries was also a big plus.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PowerShot A1400
Nickname: Dimples
Location: Yuma, AZ
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Just bought it and love it

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 21, 2014
Pros: lightweight uses regular aa batteries
Cons: no instruction manual, only comes in black.
After doing much research on websites, I went to a store yesterday and bought this camera. I wanted one that uses REGULAR AA batteries - not rechargeable - have only used it for several indoor and outdoor pictures so far, and got very good results. I really like the way it feels in my hand. I had a Canon A570 for 6 years and it died 5 days ago. This new one is much lighter and smaller. I wish it came in more colors than black; and my biggest complaint is that I was led to believe that it came with an instruction manual, which it does not. I'd like to try some of the features mentioned in the information on line, but don't know how to access them.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PowerShot A1400
Nickname: Mr. B.
Location: North Port, FL
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Love My Canon

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 22, 2013
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use, fits into pants pocket
Love this camera for the ease of use & affordability. Was looking for a camera to take on our upcoming trip to Alaska. Wanted something that was reliable & could easily fit in my pocket. The viewfinder made my choice easy because I can now take pictures in bright light.
44 of 45 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PowerShot A1400
Nickname: pic-nic
Location: East Coast
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

perfect for my needs

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 18, 2013
Pros: Nice features/settings, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use, uses aa batteries, easy to hold
Cons: too much chrome, no zoom during video
As an avid amateur with several cameras and decades of experience - who can easily shoot 1000’s of pictures per outing - I’ve wanted something small to take hiking, skiing and boating, simply protected in a ziplock-style baggie, without all the precautions and extra weight and bulk of my typical cameras, but still good enough for my basic needs. I assumed I’d never find a decent, affordable, pocket-sized camera meeting my minimum criteria: a 5x optical zoom, a viewfinder and running on AA batteries (I’ve been using a large stock of rechargeables and haven’t bought an alkaline battery for years).
A relative showed me his Powershot a1200, a precursor to the a1400, and I was impressed. The a1400 has slightly improved specs - most importantly, optical zoom is now 5x vs. 4x - and, in my opinion, much, much better button placement for “finger memory” and ease of use. The body’s shell is now plastic – lighter, yes, but possibly more fragile – fine for me as I’m always careful. The camera’s menus and setting options are a no-brainer to me but were confusing to a novice. For any camera today, unless you already know what all the terms and abbreviations mean, it would be wise to glance at the manual (see note about user guide below). The a1400 has a surprising number of useful built-in capabilities which a casual user might never discover without reading the guide.
This is my first camera where I cannot have total control – i.e., fully my choice on all settings – but the a1400 does such a good job I don’t mind. One note: when taking video, the a1400 does not zoom while shooting - only an annoyance as I have digital camcorders for my serious video needs. My biggest gripe is the decorative chrome ring on the camera’s face – completely unnecessary in my opinion. When shooting wildlife, anything shiny increases the likelihood camera movement will be noticed, possibly scaring off the subject. For what it’s worth, the a1400 was well received by credible tech and camera reviewers – I checked.
I’m extremely happy with the a1400 and have been recommending it to friends and relatives looking for a nicely capable, good-value, portable point and shoot. It does a great job for my specific needs and has become part of my “take-with-me-everywhere” kit. One other note: the bulge in the body where the AA’s are stored, which some people and reviewers complain about, is perfect, almost essential, for my grip. I worry about dropping small shiny (i.e., slippery) cameras, but never one with the a1400’s profile. Since my cameras are almost always in my hand, this is extremely important.
In reference to other comments, the box clearly states “no memory card and no cable included” – no problem as I already had plenty of each. I’ve successfully used SD cards sized at 2, 4, 8 and 16 GB. As of this writing, I’ve yet to test a 32GB card, but the specs indicate it should work fine. My advice: get at least two SD cards and also a small USB SD card reader. The card reader will be faster and save battery-life because the SD card is removed from camera and placed into reader to transfer pictures to laptop, etc. If you have at least 2 SD cards, one can be transferring pictures in the reader while the other is in the a1400 so you can keep shooting.
Also printed on the box, but absolutely impossible to read, is “no user guide inside”. You must download a PDF. Fine for me as I always download the PDF to ensure a zero-weight copy when traveling – but quite likely a surprise for some. The user guide PDF is, like all Canon documentation I’ve read, mostly well-written, very extensive, and will answer all questions for those willing to take the time to read it. Canon’s costs are reduced when they leave out the user guide, making the a1400 more affordable and a bit more “green” – OK by me.
67 of 69 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PowerShot A1400
Nickname: Charles
Location: Florida
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Good Travel and every day Camera

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 29, 2013
Pros: good battery life, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use, viewfinder, hand grip, large buttons, double a batteries
Cons: Missing features/settings, Poor Low-Light Performance, no optical image stabilization, no printed instruction book, limited settings and features
Good Travel and every day Camera.
Has a Viewfinder and Hand grip.
No Optical Image Stabilization.
Most photos are good.
Low light and long Zoom photos sometimes are blurry.
AA batteries are convenient, I use rechargeables.
Large buttons and easy to use, but limited settings.
If Canon adds Optical Image Stabilization, then I would give it a higher rating.
*Per Canon's Customer Service this is a revision of my previous review.
57 of 59 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PowerShot A1400
Nickname: Grandma
Location: Oklahoma
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Adequate

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:July 14, 2013
Pros: Nice features/settings, Lightweight/Portable
Cons: Dim LCD, Poor Low-Light Performance, no memory card, no printed instruction book
The camera is a nice size(can ride in your purse without taking up too much room). The monitor shuts off too quickly. Getting children to look at the camera takes longer than the camera is willing to wait. No instruction book or computer cable are a real drawback. It would be nice to have that printed in large letters on the box. My computer can't download the manual (so I will just have to figure out what all the camera will do) and its a 60 mile round trip back to the store to buy a memory card and cable. All the money saved was spent in gas.
23 of 25 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PowerShot A1400
Nickname: Nick
Location: Chicago
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

for children only ...

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 25, 2014
Pros: Simple controls/menu, easy to use, optical viefinder, powered by aa batteries
Cons: Poor image quality, Poor Low-Light Performance, Flimsy Construction, very small camera body, very small optical viewfinder
I've purchased this camera as an upgrade for my old (and still unbeaten) Canon Power Shot A560 (7.1 Mega Pixels). I've taken over 5000 pictures (family and work) with the good old A560. Now that I've tested few other new cameras it this same class, I appreciate A560 more than ever before.
I've decided to upgrade it with Power Shot A1400 hopping to get more detail in my pictures.
I also wanted point-and-shoot camera that has optical viewfinder, uses AA batteries and fits in my shirt pocket.
A1400 looked like the best choice in this class.
I have performed side by side shootout between my good old A560 and the new A1400.
My fist impression was that A1400 is very very very small and light.
I am an adult man with average sized hands and I just couldn't figure out how to hold this tiny camera (this is why I've titled my review "for children only"). This canera is too small and to light. I strongly believe that it's size, weight and horrible ergonomics greatly effect the quality of pictures one takes with this camera.
A560 is bigger but it still fits in a my shirt pocket and in my hand.
The quality of A1400 materials and workmanship is very low. After purchasing the first model of A1400 and turning it on, I've found out that the lens does not extend. Sales person had to push it in few directions to make it extend. I still had it exchanged for another camera.
I shot about 50 identical pictures, in identical conditions, side by side by A1400 and A560 and I was shocked to discover that A560's pictures were clearly better, had more detail and less noise.
I've returned the A1400 to the store the following day.
At the end of this review I'd like to ask Cannon to offer to consumers basic point-and-shoot camera, with decent optical viewfinder, powered by AA batteries that fits in a shirt pocket and still has the size and weight to allow a grown up man to hold it steady and shoot good pictures.
12 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PowerShot A1400
Nickname: Fresno Bob
Location: Fresno, CA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Travel
Product replacement: Yes

No Cable in Box

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 29, 2013
Pros: Nice features/settings, Lightweight/Portable
Cons: no mini-usb cable in box, no user manual in box
Remember to buy a mini-USB cable and an SD card with this camera. Neither item is included in the box.
I chose this camera because it had a viewfinder, a zoom lens, AA batteries, and lightweight. The 5X zoom was a limitation but the AA batteries made an acceptable compromise.
The first hundred holiday pictures were generally pretty good. The shutter is a bit slow so catching action shots is difficult. We used only the automatic features. Except for the family group picture which required our genius nephew to figure out the self timer.
It is not necessary to download the Canon software but you must buy the mini-USB cable or a memory card reader to download the pictures. This was very annoying.
And it was annoying that there was no instruction manual included. You must go online and download that which was also a pain.
10 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PowerShot A1400
Nickname: No Name
Location: Iowa
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Needed

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 23, 2013
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use
I have a long list of CANON cameras, I had been using my PowerShot SX130is for a work camera which had been to Australia twice but decided the 130 is just too nice a camera for work.
After evaluating what I really need for work is not a lot of zoom, small compact, double A capability, good for close up shots and good resolution in pictures. I then went through the CANON camera list and the A1400 fit the need precisely.
One thing I noticed is the on screen focus fluctuates when zooming in, the on screen view seems to have a hard time settling down, given a little time it does settle though; but this does not appear to affect the picture quality.
I like the Grid-lines that is available in my other high-end caneras I have but, have not found them on this A1400, maybe they are there but haven't taken much time to hunt for them yet (too buisy I guess).
I use the ENERGIZER 9X lithium batteries and get several hundred pictures per set.
Generally, when I find a CANON camera that I like a lot I will buy a second for a spare just in case my first gets broken for some unforeseen circumstance; I dislike loosing good things. I'm thinking I may be looking to purchase a second A1400 and possibly one for a co-worker as well.
I have yet to break into any of my standby cameras.
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PowerShot A1400
Nickname: dusty
Location: Wyoming
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Nice camera

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 28, 2014
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
I bought this camera a couple of days ago to replace my older point and shoot camera. For me it was hard to read the box to see what was inside. The store clerk opened the box. Having no usb cable or card was not a problem, because the quality was put into the camera and not the accessories. The first picture I took was of a gridded piece of paper to check for lens distortion and there was none worth mentioning. I then took indoor and outdoor pictures and am very pleased with the quality. I needed a point and shoot camera as a companion for my DSLR and this one fits the bill perfectly. I really like the viewfinder.
Some of the comments have been in relation to battery life, I've taken about 40 pictures with the batteries that came with the camera and no problems. I'll be getting the NiMH batteries when it's time to replace these. I do wish the startup manual went into a little more detail, but having the downloaded pdf was just what I need, because I'd lose a paper copy or not have it with me when I needed it.
The only drawback I've seen with the camera is when I use a full zoom, the viewfinder doesn't line up with the photo I'm taking. The LCD screen lines up, but the viewfinder photo's are low and to the right, which is why I gave the camera 4 stars and not 5.
I'm looking forward to taking many great pictures with this camera for a long time.
8 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PowerShot A1400
Nickname: nebraska wind

.... unfortunate view

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 13, 2014
Cons: Short battery life, short life span
The Canon A1400 purchased through a national chain store, July 2013, has already self destructed by Thanksgiving. The camera purchased as a gift for a senior citizen was selected over another brand. The simple "no extras" features were a primary focus.
By Thanks giving holiday with less than 20 jpegs on the SD Card the optics had gone "South". The chain store 15-day return policy had expired. I regret my decision to shop "price".
8 of 10 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site