Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / PowerShot Cameras Reviews / PowerShot SD/ELPH Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PowerShot SD/ELPH Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PowerShot ELPH 115 IS

PowerShot ELPH 115 IS

This is an ELPH you'll want in your pocket every day: easy to use and sleekly stylish, the PowerShot ELPH 115 IS is equipped to turn any moment into a high-quality image.
Average Customer Rating:
3.385 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
2
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
1
7 out of 13(54%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PowerShot ELPH 115 IS
Review 1 for PowerShot ELPH 115 IS
Nickname: Lonestar
Location: Chicago, IL
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Nice little camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 23, 2014
Pros: Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use, nice battery/card slot design
Cons: flash ok not great, hd movies have limited length (<4gb)
Bought two of these for my kids. Plenty of features and options. The pictures come out pretty good for a tiny little camera, as do the videos. With the optical zoom, this blows away cellphone cameras, and it's small enough to fit in your pocket. I gave the kids 16GB high-speed SDXC memory cards (Patriot and SanDisk). No problems with camera or cards. The kids love the cameras, and are taking good care of them. Sure beats the toy V-tech cameras these replaced. Tip: close the battery/card door when charging - you wouldn't want it to break off (good advice for kids!).
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PowerShot ELPH 115 IS
Nickname: tomtom
Location: OK.
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Dane memory cards bad.

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 12, 2013
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: dane memory card won't work.
The Dane memory cards are bad. Test at store before leaving. Tell store you like the camera but ask to exchange the card to a SanDisk 8 GB card. Show them the Dane does not work. It is a great little camera. If they don't change out the card, ask for a refund and walk away.
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PowerShot ELPH 115 IS
Nickname: grampstevo
Location: sacramento ca
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

great little camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 3, 2013
Pros: Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
everything about this little camera has been great from the quality of the pics to the easiness of it to use my father is electronic illiterit and he has used it a few times with no problem great value for the price highly recomended
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PowerShot ELPH 115 IS
Nickname: solobackcountry
Location: Gilbert, AZ
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Great Bargain!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 10, 2013
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use, good image quality
Cons: Short battery life
I am very impressed with the ELPH 115 IS camera. I've been a Canon fan for about ten years and have owned numerous point & shoot models ranging from the entry level A series to the advanced S and G series models. The only models that I've never tried were the ELPH pocket models. I consider myself an advanced armature photographer and my background is mostly outdoor landscape. My first trip with this camera was a weekend campout at the lake. I used the camera in conditions ranging from low light early morning/late evening to bright mid-day and was very pleased with the results overall. The camera actually far exceeded my expectations on some shots. I liked the camera enough that I immediately purchased another one for backup. It's just a great inexpensive pocket camera. Three specification details really stand out for me with this model... The old school CCD sensor, the moderate wide angle 28mm lens, and the moderate 8x zoom. I personally prefer the older CCD sensor over the new and more commonly used CMOS. CCD sensors handle contrasting light differently. I'm still on the fence with the CMOS. Regarding the 28mm lens... 28mm is a very user friendly wide angle that is less prone to heavily bending/warping vertical features on the outside of your frame. The 24mm lenses showing up on many newer Canon point & shoot models can really bite you if your not watching what your doing. Default advanced set-up tips... I use this model on 8.0 MP (perfect resolution for small sensor P&S cameras), super-fine compression, P mode (advanced auto mode), center weighted light metering, vivid color, auto white balance, ISO 100, and -1/3 exposure compensation (better base starting point then 0 for avoiding washed out over exposure).
64 of 68 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PowerShot ELPH 115 IS
Nickname: Barb
Location: Roswell, GA
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Where are the wires? Instructions are bad.

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:May 1, 2014
Cons: Missing features/settings, Complicated controls/menu
While the camera is great to use. There were no wires in the box to connect the computer to download the pictures. Also, the instructions are hard to follow. The menu is difficult for me to follow. So I have pictures to look at, no way to download, and no wad to print. This sucks. I am done with Canon, unless they help me soon. Supposed to be wireless, but I can't figure it out.
13 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PowerShot ELPH 115 IS
Nickname: sue
Location: PA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends

Love this camera....and video too!!

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 20, 2013
Pros: excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
this is one of the best camera's I've bought in a long time...Love the ease color and the price was right!
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PowerShot ELPH 115 IS
Nickname: ARB
Location: Michigan
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

frustration

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 18, 2014
Pros: Lightweight/Portable
Cons: Missing features/settings, Complicated controls/menu
I open the box. No software or usb. No warning on box. Online manual does not print the pages I ask for but random other pages. My last camera was much easier to start using This one is hard and time consuming
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PowerShot ELPH 115 IS
Nickname: Rangersguy94
Location: New York
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Eh soso. KInda disappointed

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:March 1, 2014
Pros: sharper pictures and clearer movies zoomed in
Cons: no grip design on front right for better handling
While overall it is fine I have a hard time handling it comfortably while shooting movies since the placement of the microphone is in a horrible spot (on the bottom right of the lens instead of being on the top left of the lens where the instruction manual shows it should be), Thus I almost always end up swiping my finger across the microphone during recordings which leads to the sound being cut out. Either that or it is the camera itself that is faulty during recordings and the sound cuts out by itself. I still need to do a few more tests on it to see if it is me or the camera itself. Along with this there is no grip design on front for easier handling like my old Canon Powershot A710 has.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PowerShot ELPH 115 IS
Nickname: obie
Location: New Jersey
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:November 3, 2013
Pros: Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance
Purchased the camera at Sam's club. Going on a cruise and started taking pictures. Took a few pictures and viewed them on the camera, they looked ok. Turned the camera off. When turning the camera back on to take pictures a message came up on the screne memory card error. I had to purchase a new memory card and it worked fine.
5 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PowerShot ELPH 115 IS
Nickname: aCanonCustomer
Location: Iowa
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

poor low-light performance

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 17, 2013
Pros: Nice features/settings, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Poor image quality, Poor Low-Light Performance
This camera only takes usable pictures outside on bright days. Any situation with low to medium light produces extremely grainy, noisy images with spots in them regardless of how you set the camera. Also, you must manually set the ISO below 400 in all situations or the image will be too noisy.
This camera has a lot of good features but the image quality is not acceptable.
Don't just take my word for it. Read some professional reviews.
14 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PowerShot ELPH 115 IS
Nickname: Ron
Location: Houston, TX
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Business
Product replacement: Yes

Memory card error

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 6, 2013
I bought the ELPH 115is camera from Sam's Warehouse and thought I was ready to take some photos like I did when I bought the 300 model. The 300 came with a 1 GB memory card. This camera had an 8GB card in the camera. After taking several pictures the memory card error appeared on the LCD screen. I had driven 30 miles to take 8 pictures. When I returned no pictures were recorded.. I'm extremely disappointed, because I have to waste another day driving back out to the site.
12 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PowerShot ELPH 115 IS
Nickname: MisterK
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

disappointed

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:June 27, 2013
Cons: Missing features/settings, Flimsy Construction, a childs camera not for adult use.
I've had an ELPH Powershot SD200 for years and loved it but when the replacement batteries got so expensive I decided to try the 115 IS... mine is not blue. I cannot find a manual for this version (only the 130) and the manual I located shows function set options that and not accessible to my camera. The basic manual that came with it refers to beeps that mine doesn't make and cannot make. There is no way to access the candlelight, pets & kids or other commonly used features. I am disappointed!!
12 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PowerShot ELPH 115 IS
Nickname: 58Starguy
Location: Green Bay, WI
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Product replacement: No

Bundled Problems From The Start

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 6, 2013
Cons: Missing features/settings
I purchased mine in a bundle package that included a memory card. Soon after taking some photos the reviews came up as thumbnails with the title "unidentified image" then the image went blank then changed to a big yellow question mark. After researching the problem and downloading the manual, I followed the instructions to format the memory card only to find that this function is not available on this camera. So I went back to the vendor and exchanged the memory card from a new bundle but the same problems occurred. I suspect either the camera is bad or the memory cards that come with the bundle are faulty. Frustrating!
12 of 13 people found this review helpful.
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site