Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Printers & Multifunction Reviews / PIXMA MX Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PIXMA MX Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PIXMA MX922

PIXMA MX922

The MX922 also has a new high-capacity 250-sheet plain paper cassette so you can focus on your work and not running out of paper! This can bring office efficiency to all-new levels and help reduce costs at the same time.
Average Customer Rating:
2.502 out of 5
2.5
 out of 
5
(241 Reviews) 241
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (241 reviews)
5 stars
41
4 stars
38
3 stars
20
2 stars
44
1 star
98
69 out of 204(34%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PIXMA MX922
Review 1 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: winterhawk
Location: Harrison, AR
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Glad I did my research

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 19, 2014
Best printer I have ever had, really pleased with the performance. For the money, a great buy.
Review 2 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: Disappointing
Location: Michigan
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Disappointing Machine

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 15, 2014
I have had this printer for a couple of months now. The scanner is of lower quality than the stand alone one I previously used and has fewer options for modifying the file before saving it.
The printer is more problematic. I have been trying to print some cards. The printer worked fine for the letter size cards, but when I tried some half letter size cards it got confused.
I put the paper in the lower cassette and told the software that is where to look. The printer insisted that the upper tray was empty (which it was) and wouldn't print. I put the cardstock into the upper cassette (it wouldn't fit properly as it was too big which I knew) and the printer told me it couldn't print on the paper.
My old Canon i900D would print the cards.
My point it that this printer may be acceptable for basic letter printing but is unacceptable for any special printing.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: justaguy
Location: CA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast

Very happy

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 14, 2014
I've had my MX922 for four years and have never had a problem. Very happy with all features.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: azcruzaah
Location: Arizona
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Bummer

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:December 13, 2014
The big problem with printers is you are buying a "pig in a poke" You can't really test drive them and you think you can work out any glitches once you own them. We bought this printer because it was a brand name and had a large ink cartridge. We only need a printer for printing, copying and scanning. Why does it have to be so complicated? Didn't know that you cannot refill the cartridges but the printer is designed to force you to buy new cartridges at preset intervals. This printer is as slow a molasses. Sometimes it seems to recycle itself for minutes. I would NOT recommend this printer.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: Canon fan usually
Location: Boston, MA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

I don't care for this printer...

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:December 11, 2014
I bought this printer from Amazon to replace an older Canon that would no longer print. I loved that printer. I don't love this printer. First, it doesn't have a manual feed. I should have checked for this before I bought it but I assumed all inkjets have this feature (I know). I used the manual feed A LOT on the old Canon and feel as if I can't live without it on a printer. Second, it constantly went offline, even when connected via USB. I had to unplug it because just turning it off didn't "reset" it. And finally, if I wanted to print anything from my iPad or iPhone's camera roll, the printer assumed it was a photo and wanted to print using the upper cassette and there is NO WAY to tell the printer to use the lower cassette and you can't put 8.5x11 paper in the upper cassette! On the positive side, it made good scans and when it printed, it was fine. I found ink usage to be good, not unlike my old Canon. I never used the fax function so I can't speak to that.
12 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: fakedad
Location: Lexington, KY
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Good features, but rarely works

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 9, 2014
Before owning the PIXMA MX922, I had the PIXMA MX882. Sure, the 882 didn't have a few of the features that I was used to with my earlier printers (like CD/DVD printing) weren't there, but the 882 was reliable, and I managed to use it several years without having any trouble.
When the print heads broke on the MX882, I decided to get a new printer. I saw the MX922, which seemed like a reasonable next step.
When I got home and set it up, I was impressed. It worked quickly, and it was just as easy to set up as the earlier models. I was impressed with all the new features.
However, a week later my family members began experiencing trouble. I had to reset the printer a few times, but it eventually works.
It's been 3 weeks now since I got the printer, and the problems have gotten much worse. It rarely works with Wi-fi at all. This is a real problem, since there is no way for anyone in the house to reasonably connect directly to it. If the Wi-Fi weren't so glitchy, it probably could have been a great printer.
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: bobbyinpa
Location: Chocolatetown, USA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great photos and more

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 8, 2014
Purchased to help with all my home office printing needs but also wanted to be able to print photos without the hassle of changing trays or manual feeds. The MX922 has filled this need well. The photo prints are much better than my drug store photos and we can print and share on a whim. The ADF with auto duplex is awesome and feeds correctly without jams. The main paper tray is easy to refill and replace into the printer. LCD display is clean and easy to use. I am very satisfied with this purchase. For those of you who fax, this works very well. If you have an answering machine, just remember to connect it to the printer and connect the main line to the printer directly. The FAQ's are very helpful if you run into a bump along the way and Canon answered any email I sent within 8-20 hours.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: aviator
Location: florida
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Best printer ever!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 5, 2014
fast printing, easy to use, and pictures come out great. only small downside is that the ink can run out fast if your printing large photos.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: Dr. C
Location: Seattle, WA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: more than 20 years

Works well...buy one.

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 29, 2014
This printer is fast and reliable. I can't speak to it's FAX ability, as we don't FAX from home, but it works great for wireless printing and scanning. The only times I've had issues were when my wireless router was acting up. A quick power cycle fixed that, confirming it was no fault of the printer.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: SecondPixma
Location: Atlanta, GA
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Not very good

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 25, 2014
I've had this printer for about 4 months - I had a MX892 but wanted to benefits of airprint and the bigger paper tray. This printer has been a major letdown. I use it from a home office, and about ever other print job stops after 1/2 a page. I have to clear the queue, reboot the printer ,and then (sometimes) it will work.
The features of this printer are great, too bad it doesn't print.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: TinMass
Location: Agawam MA
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

MX922 - Slowest printer I've owned

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 18, 2014
A real disappointment ! I"ve had a Canon MX850 for years.(worked great till the ADF mechanism started to fail. )
This MX922 is so SLOW....................... This is not a small office printer/scanner.
Don't think your going to do quick print before you speed off to a meeting. The 922 will make you
wait for near 5 minute while prepares to print. It also drops from wireless network. Spend more money for your printer.
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: corgilover 2
Location: Sacramento, Ca
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

A Nightmare

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 15, 2014
I have a MX 850 that still works and I love it. This "step up" is beyond dismal. It isn't printing correctly. Everything is blue. I have uninstalled and re-installed twice, but no better. It is loud, slow and literally swills ink. I am going to throw this printer in the trash and consider it a lesson well-learned. I will either go back to my old printer or buy another brand. I no longer trust Canon to build a quality product.
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: U2Farmer
Location: rural Nebraska
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Dependable Network Printer

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 15, 2014
This is my second network printer. Installation has become a lot easier. I am on Apple iMAC computers and Apple Time Capsule router and had no installation problems. I have no problems with the computer working wirelessly. Teens love that it works with AirPrint to print from cell phones and iPad, etc. I also have it hooked up to the telephone line with an answering machine and have no problems as I have had with previous Network printers. Ink cartridges are easy to change and I like the supply level monitoring.
The only thing that really bugs me is that I can't figure out how to align labels to print within the boundaries of the blank labels. Frustrating. I'm also not a fan of the Canon Picture Garden software and don't use it.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: Frustrated User
Location: Escondido, CA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

A Dog to Setup

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 12, 2014
I wish I had never purchased this Canon MX922 all in one printer. It is a dog to set up; this dog won't hunt. I've spent 5 frustrating days with Canon techies to finally, I hope, get this dog set up. I tried downloading the detailed manual from the Canon website and the link just will not work; it won't run, it won't save, it won't save and run. Hooking up the Fax function to Cox Internet Phone has also been a nightmare. I got so angry that I threatened the loss of my marriage because I was so frustrated that I unintentionally directed some of my anger towards my wife. I won't even review the printing of envelopes which has been already covered by others. It's terrible and complex. I most certainly do not recommend this product to anyone.
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: T
Location: MA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Good Printer

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 11, 2014
I needed a replacement printer and after much searching decided to purchase the MX922. The set up went well until the software installation. When the install was about to complete I got the following error:
new port could not be created.:0000
Because I do support work I was able to determine that my Norton antivirus/firewall software was blocking the port creation. Disabling it for the install solved that problem.
This is the only reason from a four instead of 5 star rating.
I haven't used it a lot, but am very satisfied with the print quality. I also like the fact that I can set off a print job from anywhere in the house.
So far so good...
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: pat
Location: Atlanta
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

always ofline

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 3, 2014
great printer, but it is always off line. I must unplug and replug it in to print.
I have it connected wirelessly, so it is a lot of trouble.
Turning it off and on does nothing, I must unplug/replug it to fix
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: Fotocr8zy
Location: Utah
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Worst printer I've had

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 3, 2014
This is the 2nd MX922 I've had, after returning the 1st one for errors, I know get "There is no paper in the cassette" errors and can't print anything. I have to be at an appointment to get signatures in less then an hour and...again...it won't print. This printer is not reliable, drinks ink like coolaid and the wireless won't stay connected ( and it is right next to the wireless box).
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: cnfdcwby
Location: Georgia
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Great Printer But . . . . .

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:November 2, 2014
I'm very happy with the quality of this printer, but as a network printer it leaves a lot to be desired.
It constantly goes offline and cannot be restored except by powering down the router, computer and printer.
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: user
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Great all in one printer except life

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 1, 2014
It's great all in one printer. The quality and speed are superior but the printer only last just over a year. It seems the scanner broke but the error code rendered the printer into giant paper weight.
Review 20 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: Pman
Location: Louisville, KY
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Worst Printer Ever Owned

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 27, 2014
I've never, ever had such a worhless printer. Today, I fed it all the ink it wanted after using the piddly amount of ink supplied with the printer. All I wanted to do was print one simple page. Now it tells me I have a paper jam, which I do not. All it does is do whatever startup process it does to waste more ink! Furthermore, in the 6 months I've had this printer, every time I try to print, it causes me to lose my home network connection. My last printer was a Canon and I never had an ounce of trouble with it. I would not recommend the MX 922 to anyone!
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 13 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site