Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Printers & Multifunction Reviews / PIXMA MX Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PIXMA MX Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PIXMA MX922

PIXMA MX922

The MX922 also has a new high-capacity 250-sheet plain paper cassette so you can focus on your work and not running out of paper! This can bring office efficiency to all-new levels and help reduce costs at the same time.
Average Customer Rating:
2.537 out of 5
2.5
 out of 
5
(259 Reviews) 259
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (259 reviews)
5 stars
46
4 stars
42
3 stars
20
2 stars
48
1 star
103
69 out of 204(34%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PIXMA MX922
Review 1 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: DANSFLA
Location: Panama City FL
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

JUNK

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 22, 2015
This not worth a dollar difficult to install and use the quality is not any better than any other printer I have ever owned buy something else I AM
0 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: brian
Location: Illinois
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Does a lot well....

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:January 19, 2015
I like many of the features of this copier scanner but the printing aspects have given me headaches. This is my first Canon printer and I really looked forward to using it. I have had the printer going on its second year. It worked well. But you have to align and clean the heads often.
What I found is that it consumes a lot of ink and I am always struggling with loading the cartridges, I get 1680 and 1411 error codes.
The scanning and copy features work well but since this is a printer, I have to give the MX922 a low rating.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: JoeG111
Location: So. Illinois
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great Unit, easy to operate.

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 19, 2015
I originally ordered a smaller printer but decided to change my order. so I called the Company and upgraded to this model. I read some magazine articles, and found a number of reviews that steered me to this one. I am really glad I upgraded. This unit is very user friendly, and does everything I need it to do. I love the feature that prints on both sides by it's self, and has all the up to date features, that I need to get familiar with. It does have a large footprint. You may read about it hogging ink, but I have used it for about a year, and I don't see any excessive use. It could be that people don't take into consideration that the it comes with sample tanks, and that sample tanks have almost no ink in them. They run out quick, this gives a false impression of ink usage. This printer is a 5 Star unit from top to bottom.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: MAUD
Location: Orlando, FL
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

pretty bad

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:January 19, 2015
I don't like this new printer at all. It was suggested to me by Canon support when my previous one broke down. This one can't scan from the feeder half the time, and you cannot send a scanned document directly to an email. What i find the most annoying is that you have to remove the entire stack of paper to be able to print an envelope (which slot is located in the paper tray cassette). It is not good for office use, let's put it that way. Now i have big fat lines when i print or scan documents.
Review 5 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: Nan
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Great Printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 17, 2015
This printer works great! I love it! No complaints!!
Review 6 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: nortk
Location: Rockford, IL
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Nice Printer

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 16, 2015
I have had this printer for about a month now and I am a low volume user. I have had some extremely bad luck with printers over the last year. I was looking for an All-in-one printer that had copy/scan/fax capabilities, but most of all needed one that printed acceptable pictures. So far, this printer has met those expectations. I especially like the pictures which are close to what you get commercially. After reading other reviews, I would like to say that set up was very easy and WiFi connectivity was quick and so far trouble free. My router sets right next to the printer, however. I have had three printers from other Mfgr. and the MX922 blows them all away! I am still on the trial ink cartridges so I can't address ink use or expense. My printer starts up in a reasonable time and prints fast. Two-sided printing is easy. The paper trays are the most frustrating part. They don't hold the paper secure leading to mis-feeds and "tray empty" messages. Printing envelopes is awkward. If you do many Mailings, this is not the printer for you.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: mariannef
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Terrible

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 11, 2015
This is by far one of the worst printer combos I have ever used. I have printed only five times since I have owned the machine, and now I am unable to print at all. I have no indication on the reason for the failed print job. Also feeder is not secure and constantly gives me a 2800 error. I have to hold the feeder down to remove the error, or put something heavy on top. Canon makes great cameras, but horrible printers. Stay away from this one.
And downloading the manual from this site is a cluster. Just give us a PDF, don't make us install an exe.
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: AskGenie
Location: Phoenix
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Excruciatling Slow

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 8, 2015
This printer has more than it's fare share of features. From a feature standpoint, It lacks little (except a usb port).
That being said, if the features it has worked it would be a great value. The speed of most functions is painfully slow. As I write this review, I've sat here for 8 minutes now waiting for the printer to start up. When I print a document (with a USB connection mind you) takes about 4 minutes and and scanning well, that feature is an enigma since the printer doesn't have a Flash Drive port and I've not been able to get it to scan to my PC.
Now it's been about 10 min. While I wait, i'll interject a pet peeve. When you select photo as the print quality, it makes you print from the photo tray and not the paper tray. The photo tray doesn't accommodate 8.5x11 paper. It does not give you the option to print 8.5 x 11 photos.
It's been about 12min now and no luck. Did my 6 month old printer die??
I'm a canon fan and this is the first printer that i am unhappy with. I will probably replace it with another canon but this model my friends, is definitely a lemon.
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: Tracey

Disappointed

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 4, 2015
I have had my printer for several months and it works off and on. It will work for a few days and continues to lose the wifi connection. Spent an hour on it tonight and still not printing. Very disappointed in my purchase. I bought this printer due to the Canon name and expected a better quality printer. I am not alone in this issue as I have found many buyers of this printer are experiencing the same issues as myself.
6 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: Mark
Location: Mountain View, CA
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great print quality, iffy wireless connectivity

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 4, 2015
Having used this printer now for about 6 months, after replacing a dead MX700 series, I'd recommend it and purchase it again (although with some caveats).
I would rate 5 stars if the wireless connectivity were more reliable (perhaps a future firmware fix could help?).
PROS:
The print quality - especially photos - is outstanding. I can now print 8x10s at home that are to me more or less indistinguishable from professional quality. Color, resolution, contrast, they're all superb. Having two paper trays, including the top tray being dedicated to 5x7 or 4x6 photo paper, is a tremendous convenience.
I really like the design such that all papers go in the front and come back out the front - no odd feeding from the back, etc. - as with previous Canon inkjet designs.
I've printed dozens of odd shaped envelopes on this printer, too, and the feed system all worked perfectly.
In hundreds of print jobs so far, I've not had a single jam.
Speed and ink consumption also seem to be quite good.
Excellent packaging. It is high quality, easy to unpack, and gave me confidence that the manufacturer cared about delivering a good product. I've had numerous other printers where I just about broke the thing trying to get it out of the shipping box. No such worries with this product.
Excellent value for money IMO
CONS:
i found setup rather time consuming and tedious, although it was well documented and easy enough to go through.
The wireless connectivity is frustratingly iffy, both printing through Google Cloud Print and just over the local wifi network. The issue is that the printer just doesn't "stay connected". Every time I want to print to it wirelessly, I have to go to the printer and tell it to check from Web Print jobs. After that, it picks up any queued jobs or, if I hit print within a few minutes, it will receive the job and print out the output. This is extremely annoying but is something i can live with given the other strengths and price of the printer.
UNKNOWNS:
I've not tested the scanner yet so can't really comment on this particular model.
I haven't tried out any of the included software or the options to download and print thing directly from the web (like calendars or stationery), although I commend Canon for including them.
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: sis
Location: PA
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Terrible printer

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 3, 2015
This printer should be taken off the market. It won't print envelopes without taking paper from tray then guessing the envelope is inserted correctly. That is mild compared to trying to keep it connected to wifi. Right now I am unable to print because I can't get connected to WIFI. I've tried everything. I wish I had never purchased this printer, may just junk it and eat the cost.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: Phyl
Location: Manteca CA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Like Canon Printers

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 3, 2015
There are features missing from the 922 that I liked in my previous printer like being able to keep envelopes loaded in the back feed. It was much easier to print envelopes. Other than that feature it is very similar to my old printer. I always prefer Canon!
Review 13 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: Pastorc323
Location: Petersburg, VA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

A Great Choice

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 2, 2015
I believe this printer does a great job. It was easy to setup and after a month of use I have not had any problems. I don't print a lot but for what I do, it produces an excellent work. It does take sometime to start to print if I have not used it for a while but I don't have a problem with that. I feel I got a great deal with choosing this Canon printer over others I looked at.
Review 14 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: JB
Location: VA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great all around printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 31, 2014
Super copies
Super printing
Super photo prints
Super scans
Review 15 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: Dog Lover
Location: New York
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Won't print

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:December 24, 2014
When the printer prints it does a good job but 90 percent of the print jobs sent to it will not print because it says there no paper in it. I am very frustrated since all Canon printers I have had in the past have been very reliable.
10 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: trisailor33
Location: San Diego
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Functions well - If you can get it connected

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:December 21, 2014
Wireless connectivity is a nightmare. The setup may go well. Then after a day or a month the printer disappears from the network. I just spent a total of 4 to 6 hours following all steps and tricks suggested to reconnect the printer to my simple home network. It is finally connected. God only knows when I'll have to go through all of that again.
Once connected, the device performs very well.
12 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: MichaelB
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

...but it's worth it.

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 21, 2014
There are things I dislike about this printer/copier/faxer, scanner but it's worth it. I love the quality of the documents and pictures that it produces.
It can be noisy by can easily be programed with a
Quiet Setting.
It seems to ruminate about things, at times mechanically checking things out and, I guess, aligning things from within being asked to.
It's big and heavy compared to other brands I have and have had printers by.
The wireless connections and scanning functions take some time to work through, and patience to put up with but they can be programmed and eventually work fine.
There is no manual provided, and there are complex series of adjustments that can be made, but again you have to be persistent, or go on the internet site (where you are now) and try out the tutorials and explanations.
...but it's worth it.
The point of a printer is to put out good quality pictures and documents, and this machine does just that, more like excellent pictures and copies. It would be 5 star if only based upon that .
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: Cape Codder
Location: Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Scanning
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

meets all my needs and convenient

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 20, 2014
I use this for my when I need to do work at home and for my personal needs. Does everything well and is straightforward. Connects to a home network easily and provides easy access to options, like which computer to send a scanned document. Scanning has replaced a lot of paper for me and this works well in that regard.
Review 19 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: winterhawk
Location: Harrison, AR
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Glad I did my research

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 19, 2014
Best printer I have ever had, really pleased with the performance. For the money, a great buy.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: Disappointing
Location: Michigan
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Disappointing Machine

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 15, 2014
I have had this printer for a couple of months now. The scanner is of lower quality than the stand alone one I previously used and has fewer options for modifying the file before saving it.
The printer is more problematic. I have been trying to print some cards. The printer worked fine for the letter size cards, but when I tried some half letter size cards it got confused.
I put the paper in the lower cassette and told the software that is where to look. The printer insisted that the upper tray was empty (which it was) and wouldn't print. I put the cardstock into the upper cassette (it wouldn't fit properly as it was too big which I knew) and the printer told me it couldn't print on the paper.
My old Canon i900D would print the cards.
My point it that this printer may be acceptable for basic letter printing but is unacceptable for any special printing.
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 13 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site