Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Printers & Multifunction Reviews / PIXMA MX Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PIXMA MX Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PIXMA MX922

PIXMA MX922

The MX922 also has a new high-capacity 250-sheet plain paper cassette so you can focus on your work and not running out of paper! This can bring office efficiency to all-new levels and help reduce costs at the same time.
Average Customer Rating:
2.523 out of 5
2.5
 out of 
5
(199 Reviews) 199
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (199 reviews)
5 stars
34
4 stars
32
3 stars
17
2 stars
37
1 star
79
68 out of 199(34%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PIXMA MX922
Review 1 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: yougetwhatupay4

Taking it back same day

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 10, 2014
Just spent an hour or so setting up the printer only to have the internet connection drop each time you print and it never could scan. Print quality was poor and actually slower than advertised. Cutting my losses and returning to Best Buy ASAP.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: Nelson
Location: New York, NY
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Difficult

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 10, 2014
Pros: High Quality Output
Cons: Difficult to use, Slow Print Speed, Difficult Setup
I bought this product because it promised a lot of great things, however, I have expended over 4 hours in the set up and I cannot even scan my first page yet. the set up is extremely hard. It makes you take it right back to the store or to the trash can. Please do not purchase
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: NMH
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office

Not worth it

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 4, 2014
Cons: Difficult to use, Slow Print Speed, unreliable
This printer is SLOW, has been malfunctioning and printing red for all greyscale items and constantly drops the wireless signal even though my computer does not. And it does not even come with a cord to connect to your computer so you are up a creek when it drops the signal. Terrible technology.
6 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: allison
Location: lahaina, hi
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great printer, but...

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:August 2, 2014
Pros: Easy Setup, easy to use
Cons: all ink cartridges must be full to print
Awesome printer, but one should NOT have to replace ALL inks if one just WANTS to print black and white and thus give error codes. Printer should just say MUST REPLACE ALL INKS BEFORE PRINTER WILL FUNCTION because we want you to buy inks even when you don't need them right this minute, Print functions are excellent, no problem otherwise, love the double sided feature, as it saves paper!
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: LG
Location: Arizona
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Product replacement: No

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 1, 2014
Cons: Difficult to use, Slow Print Speed, Large Footprint, Difficult Setup, Low Quality Output, Flimsy Construction
This printer is the most complicated all-in-one I have ever used. Brother all-in-one printer runs circles around this for both operability and product performance. I will never buy another Canon. Actually, I only got this because when my Brother ended up with a problem before end of warranty, they were out of same Brother and they gave me the Canon. I hate it. Don't think I will ever buy another Canon. I love my Canon EOS camera, but the printers, no.
3 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: dartin
Location: florida
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

worst purchase ever wireless part never works

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 31, 2014
Cons: Difficult to use, Difficult Setup, unreliable
I don't have a disk drive in my computer could not download soft ware. Every time I go to use wirelessly cant find network. funny my computer always does. been very dissatisfied with performance for that reason. I also wanted to scan documents but just went ahead and got the neat. way easier to use. and does more volume.
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: Mark G
Location: Chicago
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Limited functionality

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:July 29, 2014
Pros: Easy Setup, High Quality Output, fast print speed
Cons: Difficult to use, Large Footprint, limited flexibility for business use
Minus:
Replaced my broken Pixma 882 with the newer 992. Lots of features on the 882 are missing from the 992 like a rear loader for envelopes and forms. Printing on card stock is a challenge - the manual was no help until I discovered that setting the software options to "Photo Paper" helped. This is NOT a business oriented printer.
Plus:
Works well for plain paper, photos, copying and fax. Good image quality and relatively fast.
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: ERASERAJ
Location: Canonsburg, PA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great Machine

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 26, 2014
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, durable, Small Footprint, High Quality Output, fast print speed, easy to use, price
I bought this printer to replace my canon PIXMA 4000 and 1800 machines. the quality of this machine is superior over the older Canon printers I replaced. the machine prints fast and scans documents wonderfully. This is only my first week with this machine and I have scanned about 400 documents and printed about 200 reports. If this machine performs this well over the long hall I will be very pleased. If you are looking for a solid machine that does not cost you an arm and leg this is the ticket.
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: Disappointed
Location: Maryland
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Product replacement: Yes

Just Terrible

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 25, 2014
Cons: Difficult to use, Slow Print Speed, Difficult Setup
I bought this last Thanksgiving in anticipation of my eight year old printer going on the blink. I started setting it up in January and couldn't get the printer to access wireless. I've been using a cable connection although the reason I bought it was for wireless capacity. I've just spent the ENTIRE morning trying to fix the wireless aspect. No luck and too late to return. Shouldn't be this difficult. Wouldn't recommend to anyone who actually wants a printer that works.
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: tom
Location: Tucson, AZ
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Solid multipurpose printer

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 22, 2014
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, High Quality Output, fast print speed, easy to use, airprint compatible
Cons: slow startup, small printer cartridges
Overall quite satisfied with product. Airprint compatible very important
Review 11 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: cher2600
Location: Texas
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Just the facts...

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:July 21, 2014
Pros: High Quality Output, easy to use, does everything well
Cons: Large Footprint, unreliable, manual controls difficult to use
I bought the Pixma 922 to replace a 2-year-old Pixma that could not be diagnosed/repaired cost-effectively. For the first few weeks, with light use, the 922 worked beautifully, other than its heavy addiction to new ink. Three months in, a sheet of paper jammed. After gently removing it, I still had an error message (6000). Unsuccessfully tried the DIY fixes; Canon determined that the printer, under warranty, needed to be replaced. Canon is sending a refurbished printer (have the rep read the definition of "refurbished" - it isn't what you'd think) and a box to return the defunct printer in. This is the second Pixma that had to be discarded because a minor failure was too costly to fix and total replacement was the answer. If you're okay with this - technically, great customer service, given unrepairable products - you'll probably like this printer just fine.
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: bigbadwolf
Location: AZ
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Good Printer, but network problems

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:July 19, 2014
Pros: Easy Setup, Small Footprint, High Quality Output, fast print speed, easy to use
Cons: Difficult Setup, network problems
So far I haven't been able to use the printer too much because it would not stay connected to the network. It would connect to wireless or even hard wired, but would not obtain an IP address. Found a forum entry saying to turn off IPv6 and DRX. As soon as those were off, it obtained an IP and is working. Sounds like it might need a firmware update to disable these by default. I've seen several people who gave up and returned their printers because of this problem and I was about 30 minutes from doing the same.
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: Crusader
Location: Flover Country
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Solid printer

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 18, 2014
Pros: reliable, High Quality Output, easy to use
Cons: ink cost
I've had the 922 for 2 years. It's not perfect, it thrashes around a bit (noisily), particularly right after power up and sometimes takes a while for the first page to print (I think this is a function of printing last page to first so they collate when they arrive i the tray). But the output is excellent, both text and photo, and it rarely misses a beat. Fax is simple (it took a while to teach it to not answer the phone). Scanning excellent.
It eats ink, particularly the startup cartridges. They all do, the dirty little secret about the breed. but for trouble free, consistent output, this is the best all-in-one I've ever had.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: grizcoach
Location: Salinas, CA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Happy w/ MX922

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 16, 2014
Pros: Easy Setup, fast print speed, easy to use, great technical support
After reading many negative reviews I was considering not buying the MX922. However I was able to get a really good deal so I decided to try it out. Am I glad I did!
The instructions were very clear and set up took minutes. There were no problems whatsoever. I tried printing a document and it took seconds for the printer to start printing.
Today I tried to scan a document and ran into a problem. I got an error message about the drivers. I went to the Canon web site and downloaded the newest driver. I tried and still it wasn't recognizing the printer.
I called Canon Support and got hooked up with John. He knew within seconds what the problem was: it was looking for the scanner via USB....I changed that to network and it worked fine. John continued to help me go thru some preferences that would help me in the future.
So in summary it is easy to set up, fast, and does a good job. Canon Support is fantastic and did a great job.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: Becky
Location: Oklahoma City
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Disappointing

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 8, 2014
Cons: Slow Print Speed, Low Quality Output, unreliable
I loved this printer at the beginning and bought one for my home and office. Now I DONT! The drivers have to be reloaded periodically and it sometimes takes minutes to start printing. The scanner drivers go out. It needs a lot of work before the produce another one in this series
7 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: Bob in Cobb
Location: Atlanta area
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Where is the printer.

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 8, 2014
Pros: High Quality Output
Cons: Slow Print Speed, Large Footprint
I'm a long time home user of Canon printers. I loved them. This one gets lost. I install the software and drivers and it works fine for a day, then my computer can no longer "find" the printer and I must delete everything, load the s/w and start again.
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: pete
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Not a dual tray printer

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:July 6, 2014
Pros: Easy Setup
Cons: Slow Print Speed, Flimsy Construction, no dual tray (full size)
Would expect that the top of the line _OFFICE_ printer has two full trays. Not so. The 2nd one is for small form factor only. Wish the old MX870 did not break down.....
Print itself is speedy, after waiting a long time 'job' preparation.
Have used canon printers for ages, ordered them for family and friends, but not anymore I think.
Please make an _Office_ printer with full features and fast, no problem to pay a bit more for quality.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: elaine
Location: NC
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Scanning
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

More time setting up than using

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 3, 2014
Cons: Difficult to use, Slow Print Speed, Large Footprint, Difficult Setup
I have spent more time setting this up to print from my computer than using it. I get it set up and it prints fine. It also scans fine. But in the 3 months that I have owned it I have had to set it up 2 times. I am on time number three and cannot gett it to work at all! :( It is slow to print and scan. It is also very large!
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: Boss
Location: Columbus OHIO
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Run from this printer

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 3, 2014
Cons: Slow Print Speed, unreliable, Flimsy Construction
30d old and won't feed paper. tried everything. ridiculous. Had major project due and could not get paper to feed. Very slow start up for print so who cares if prints quickly if from time sent to printer take 5+ sec to get started THEN printing is quick....
Review 20 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: Sian
Location: Virginia
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Totally pathetic printer - do not buy

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 1, 2014
Pros: High Quality Output
Cons: Difficult to use, Slow Print Speed, Large Footprint, Difficult Setup, unreliable, it doesn't actually work!
It takes forever to start printing, when it actually prints. Lots of bloatware software to install and even after downloading it at least once a week, it won't print at least once a week. I'm pretty savvy on tech stuff and this is the worst printer I've ever owned. I only gave it one star because there wasn't a "no star" option.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site