Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Printers & Multifunction Reviews / PIXMA MX Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PIXMA MX Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PIXMA MX922

PIXMA MX922

The MX922 also has a new high-capacity 250-sheet plain paper cassette so you can focus on your work and not running out of paper! This can bring office efficiency to all-new levels and help reduce costs at the same time.
Average Customer Rating:
2.592 out of 5
2.6
 out of 
5
(326 Reviews) 326
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (326 reviews)
5 stars
63
4 stars
52
3 stars
27
2 stars
57
1 star
127
69 out of 204(34%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PIXMA MX922
Review 1 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: Ginger's Mom
Location: Georgia
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 27, 2015
At first I wondered if I was reading reviews for the wrong printer.
Out of the box, this has been excellent. I have the advantage of using Canon printers for years, so the software is no biggie. I had a perfectly good functioning Canon 5220 but had the chance to get this, my "dream printer" on a great sale, because it Air and Cloud prints which my not so old one didn't. Have found Canon printers usually last 4-6 years with good care.
I was having a hard time justifying the expense, but once I set it up, I didn't use the other one again for four months. (Have since passed it on to a friend and it's doing just fine.)
Reading tips around cyberspace, I've learned to just leave the printer turned on all the time and it does not have to reboot ad infinitum every time you want to print something. The other thing is to wait until the printer literally stops and tells you it won't print another word until you put in a cartridge. Do not replace when it shows only a quarter cartridge left and says its getting low on toner. You can probably use it several weeks to a month after that and no damage.
Beautiful photos, the new scanning software program is very intuitive, great duplex printing, love the doc feeder, and of course printing from mobile devices is just so fun.
My only complaint is that the software for copying documents in duplex format takes a little more attention than I like but it does do just fine.
Review 2 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: ACE
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Wastes My Time

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:May 25, 2015
I spend too much time trying to this printer to work. I get error messages and have to re-install the print drivers just to get the printer to work. Very frustrating.
Would not buy this or any other Canon printer based on this experience
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: cudaus1
Location: Bonita Springs, FL
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Never again

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 22, 2015
This is my second MX series in the last three years. The first one was replaced once by canon and the second died about a year later. So if you count the replaced unit, this is my third one. Why I was so stupid to buy yet another one, I don't know.
My current machine just started fading and skipping lines of print. I'll call canon customer service today to try to correct the problem, but I will never buy a canon product again. Oh, and by the way, just about every negative review you have seen here is totally correct.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: Frustrated

Poor Performance

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 19, 2015
I was excited at first, but the printer is slow and eats up ink. Now it will not print and it is only 4 months old.
It takes a long time to trouble shoot and in my opinion the amount of time it takes to print outweighs any cost savings.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: Anonymous

good printer with quirk

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:May 18, 2015
Having owned the Canon Pixma mx922 for several months, I can say that it has functioned very well as a printer. I advise printing in grayscale when possible because the color cartridges run out fast. The biggest drawback is the frequent and often ridiculously long delay of "processing" time in performing a print job.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: Frustrated
Location: indiana
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

worst printer

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 16, 2015
bought this printer to be able to air print from my IPad...had tried to get my iPad to recognize this printer as AirPrint, unsuccessful since last year. Finally hired a computer guy to come to my house yesterday, he spent 2 hours trying.....gave up and told me this is a problem Canon needs to address with a update.........only way I can print is through an app or cloud.......hate this printer, would never recommend it
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: Jack M
Location: New York, NY
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Terrible

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 16, 2015
I bought this to replace an MG6120 that worked really well but ultimately died on us. This printer is terrbile compared to that, which is pretty bad considering this is the enterprise version of the line. It takes forever. It constantly says "please wait a moment." It just spins forever without doing anything. If I leave it alone for more than three minutes, it disconnects from the wireless. You have to go press a button on it to get it to wake up - thus negating the benefit of wirelessly printing from downstairs when the printer is upstairs. Overall, I'm considering going back to the MG line after my experience with this printer.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: Raf
Location: DC
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Difficult setup

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 16, 2015
Can somebody explain me how to hook up this device to a wireless network when using a Mac? I followed all instructions and still does not work. I will probably return it soon.
Very difficult to set up. If you are like me, pc - illiterate don't buy this printer. I can't even rate it since it doesn't work.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: IT guy
Location: Boston, Massacusetts
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Come on people it works fine.

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 14, 2015
I bought this printer before reading all the reviews. I have to say it not getting a fair review. I installed the printer on my wireless network at home so that all my computers could access the printer. The setup while not easy wasn't too bad, it certainly was manageable without any extensive knowledge of computers.
As for access I have had one on two issues which isn't awful since I have so many devices using it on a regular basis.
Quality is excellent I use this printer for documents and photos and the output is well above the minimum acceptable quality.
I replace another brand printer with this and I would do it again.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: Lisa
Location: Chicago
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

DONT BUY

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 14, 2015
I bought this printer thinking I was getting a more updated faster machine. Well it is quite large, ink cartridges run out faster than I have ever experienced, and I don't print in color all the time either. It is so slow starting up and printing or copying. You can literally stand there for 5-7 minutes while it says please wait momentarily.... should say go have a cup of coffee and come back later. I plan on replacing this after not having it a year. Bad purchase and waste of money.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: beth
Location: Lakevillle MN
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

worst ever

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 13, 2015
I thought I was going nuts until I read other reviews. it has made my life miserablel! My poor kids are in tears trying to get papers printed for school. DO NOT BUY THIS
Review 12 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: j
Location: long island
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

canon printers are unfriendly

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 11, 2015
I can't believe how difficult it is to use these printers - and help on the website makes the process even more difficult
I will definitely NOT ever buy a canon printer again
Review 13 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: j9
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Very Disappointed

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 10, 2015
This machine is very slow. It is constantly resetting itself. It is not the easiest design and there is constant trouble shooting.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: turbopadre
Location: Seattle
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Nothing but Frustration

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 1, 2015
We've had this machine for about 6 months. We use it with our iMac. It often doesn't print documents, at least not until we restart both the computer and printer. Who needs the aggravation? I cannot run my business with something that is temperamental and seems to cooperate when it wants. It has been continuos frustration. It does scan well. But, I would say to stay away from it and get something that is reliable. This machine is UNRELIABLE!
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: CTRealtor

Repeat Customer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 1, 2015
Purchased for my office and then purchased one for my home. Seamless AirPrint with iPad air
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: stan
Location: windsor,ca.
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

mx922 is garabage

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 29, 2015
won't connect to my netgear router....everything else does....
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: Rob A
Location: San Diego, CA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

What, No MP Navigator???

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 26, 2015
I have had 4 Canon printers and have really liked them; so i go out and buy the new the MX922 with all the features in a multi-use printer that i want. But what happened to the MP Navigator, the tool that really made the magic when it came to scanning and managing the documents? How can you possibly think that taking the functionality away is justified?
Canon, i'm sorry, i'm going to have to move on to a competitor
Regrets.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: popal
Location: Monroe, Michigan
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

Great

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 24, 2015
I purchased this printer for its ability to print labels directly onto DVDs/CDs. It does a great job. It is a little loud and it's footprint is rather on the large size but since I have plenty of room, it's not really an issue. My wife does video editing and is extremely happy with how the print looks on the labels. Much better than the other labeling we were using. I haven't had it long enough to determine how well the ink holds up but am encouraged that should I replace one cartridge that the others aren't drawn down 10% like some other printers. happy*happy*happy*
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: Akrita
Location: PA
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Just perfect.

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 20, 2015
Great product, nice looking design, hi quality print and scan.
Price beyond expectation (hunt on line)
It is big and little loud but it does what suppose to do.
For setup it was easy as plug it in, drivers was automatically detected and was up and running. Now detailed setup like setting up store image location and some other functions needed little more effort .
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: A L
Location: Goodyear, AZ
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Saving Scanned Documents

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:April 18, 2015
This is my second Canon Multifunctional Printer. I was very happy with the first until it died so I bought another one. I need to do a fair amount of scanning. I can scan without a problem, but I am having a devil of a time figuring out how to SAVE the scanned document. This should be simple, but it looks like most of the literature has to do with photos, not scanning. Help!
3 of 6 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 17 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site