Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Printers & Multifunction Reviews / PIXMA MX Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PIXMA MX Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PIXMA MX922

PIXMA MX922

The MX922 also has a new high-capacity 250-sheet plain paper cassette so you can focus on your work and not running out of paper! This can bring office efficiency to all-new levels and help reduce costs at the same time.
Average Customer Rating:
2.55 out of 5
2.6
 out of 
5
(189 Reviews) 189
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (189 reviews)
5 stars
33
4 stars
31
3 stars
16
2 stars
36
1 star
73
65 out of 189(34%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PIXMA MX922
Review 1 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: cher2600
Location: Texas
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Just the facts...

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:July 21, 2014
Pros: High Quality Output, easy to use, does everything well
Cons: Large Footprint, unreliable, manual controls difficult to use
I bought the Pixma 922 to replace a 2-year-old Pixma that could not be diagnosed/repaired cost-effectively. For the first few weeks, with light use, the 922 worked beautifully, other than its heavy addiction to new ink. Three months in, a sheet of paper jammed. After gently removing it, I still had an error message (6000). Unsuccessfully tried the DIY fixes; Canon determined that the printer, under warranty, needed to be replaced. Canon is sending a refurbished printer (have the rep read the definition of "refurbished" - it isn't what you'd think) and a box to return the defunct printer in. This is the second Pixma that had to be discarded because a minor failure was too costly to fix and total replacement was the answer. If you're okay with this - technically, great customer service, given unrepairable products - you'll probably like this printer just fine.
Review 2 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: Crusader
Location: Flover Country
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Solid printer

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 18, 2014
Pros: reliable, High Quality Output, easy to use
Cons: ink cost
I've had the 922 for 2 years. It's not perfect, it thrashes around a bit (noisily), particularly right after power up and sometimes takes a while for the first page to print (I think this is a function of printing last page to first so they collate when they arrive i the tray). But the output is excellent, both text and photo, and it rarely misses a beat. Fax is simple (it took a while to teach it to not answer the phone). Scanning excellent.
It eats ink, particularly the startup cartridges. They all do, the dirty little secret about the breed. but for trouble free, consistent output, this is the best all-in-one I've ever had.
Review 3 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: Boss
Location: Columbus OHIO
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Run from this printer

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 3, 2014
Cons: Slow Print Speed, unreliable, Flimsy Construction
30d old and won't feed paper. tried everything. ridiculous. Had major project due and could not get paper to feed. Very slow start up for print so who cares if prints quickly if from time sent to printer take 5+ sec to get started THEN printing is quick....
Review 4 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: Sian
Location: Virginia
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Totally pathetic printer - do not buy

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 1, 2014
Pros: High Quality Output
Cons: Difficult to use, Slow Print Speed, Large Footprint, Difficult Setup, unreliable, it doesn't actually work!
It takes forever to start printing, when it actually prints. Lots of bloatware software to install and even after downloading it at least once a week, it won't print at least once a week. I'm pretty savvy on tech stuff and this is the worst printer I've ever owned. I only gave it one star because there wasn't a "no star" option.
Review 5 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: DYPHOTO
Location: Charlotte, NC
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great Printer!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 28, 2014
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, High Quality Output, easy to use
I purchased this Pixma MX922 because I have trusted the Canon name since 1978. I still have and use my trusty old AE-1 and it still works great, right along side my newer Canon 7D. Right out of the box this printer impressed me. A very small footprint compaired to the competition that I considered. Unpacked the unit, put it in its place, installed the print units and in less then 20 min it was up and running. I love the Wi-Fi and it was super easy to set up. The menu is easy to access and understand and I really like the dual paper units. I can load my photo paper in the top unit and plain paper in the bottom and leave them there! No more constant chainging paper! Thats a big plus for me. This morning was my first test run on photo printing and they are absolutly amazing. Great clarity and the color is outstanding! I have only had this unit for a few weeks but so far, Im very impressed. Canon continues to build great, quality, top performing products.
Review 6 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: brentwoodfam
Location: Sacramento, ca
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

worthless

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 23, 2014
Cons: Difficult to use, Difficult Setup, unreliable, Flimsy Construction
UG, where to begin...the product itself is cheap plastic; set up difficult; and forget about reliable wireless printing, which is the primary reason I purchased. I have been trying for the last 45 minutes to print a document. The prompts on the printer and directions are not user friendly. I wish I would have done more research before buying. Yes, I do have buyers remorse.
Review 7 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: Shew
Location: Masonville, NY
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Trusted product and name

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 4, 2014
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, High Quality Output, easy to use, print on cd-dvd
Cons: Slow Print Speed, noisy
Purchased this printer to replace another brand which refused to work with the operating system I am using. To this point the printer seems to be doing the job it is sold to do. Although it is a bit noisy and slow to print I am in no hurry and the noise is not really bothersome. The printer is nice looking and fits where it was intended, Like all inkjet printers ink consumption is a consideration and this seems to be no worse or better than any other inkjet I have owned. I am pleased that I am able to print labels on my CD-DVD's as I do not like messy felt pen titles on them. Pricewise the printer falls into line with most multi-function printers available today.
Review 8 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: azbsell
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

My Home Office Pixma 922 is awsome!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 4, 2014
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, durable, Small Footprint, High Quality Output, fast print speed, easy to use, easy to modify networks, easy to switch from wirless to wired on wireless d
My Pixma 922 has been the best All-in-One multifunction device I have ever used in my home office. I have had no issues making it work seamlessly on both my wired and wireless network. It has been easy to switch my wireless devices that have been originally setup on the wireless network with the printer to switching them to the wired network so other computers that were not on the wireless network could connect and use the features of the product.
Review 9 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: kd
Location: Boise, ID
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 1, 2014
Cons: Difficult to use, Difficult Setup
I have had the Cannon MX 922 for four months. During that time, I had only used it to copy and print. I needed to scan a document to someone. I had missplaced the owners manual so I went to the website for Cannon to try and find an owners manual. It was so difficult to download that I gave up. There was not an option to purchase a manual either. I tried to scan the document from the copier and it was so confusing on how to use it I was not able to scan. I gave up and will take the document to another copier that is easier to use. I am disappointed that the machine is not more user friendly. I had purchased it for my business, and now will consider purchasing another machine that is more user friendly.
Review 10 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: garygdb

I find it a headache to try and fax.

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 30, 2014
All I can say is it has caused me frustration trying to fax important documents.Hopefully I can get my money back
Review 11 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: Oyrrah
Location: Baltimore, MD
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Good Printer but thirsty

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 30, 2014
Pros: High Quality Output
Cons: Slow Print Speed, ues too much ink too fast
*Very Good Photo Quality printing
*I had no setup issues
*I have successfully printed form cell phones, iPad, laptop, surface RT, with no issues
*only problem is the ink usage - this is one thirsty printer
Review 12 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: Chino
Location: Rockville MD
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Consistently jams in duplex

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 20, 2014
Cons: Difficult to use, unreliable
Very unhappy with the duplex printing. Worked great for about 6 months and then began jamming in duplex mode. During the second pass, there is a screeching sound and the paper jams or comes out completely crinkly and wavy. I tried everything in the maintenance software but nothing works. Also, it takes forever to print the first page although the machine is making all sorts of sounds, doing who knows what.
Software is very confusing to use.
Review 13 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: Want2Print
Location: Sacramento, CA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Failure To Communicate

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 19, 2014
Cons: Difficult to use, Difficult Setup, unreliable
Previous reviews of wireless communication problems are valid with this printer. I previously purchased 2 Canon MX882's, which is very similar and had no wireless setup problems. However, 1 died of a power supply board failure after 4 years. I bought the MX992 to replace it. Bad mistake! This would only connect momentarily. I am a retired electronics failure analysis engineer, with over 20 years experience in the high speed color print industry, so I am no dummy as some suggested of others that reported wireless connectivity problems. I returned it within 3 days for a full refund, bought a different brand printer and had a flawless setup. Do not buy this printer! However, I was very happy with my older MX882's.
Review 14 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: Legend
Location: New Jersey
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Love this printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 19, 2014
Pros: reliable, High Quality Output, easy to use
Cons: Large Footprint
Excellent printer. With apps from my phone I can print from anywhere.
Review 15 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: B

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 6, 2014
Do not buy this for a business or small business, you have to take out the paper each time to print an envelope. According to the reviews on the internet, tests reflect this printer uses more ink than any other
resulting in much higher yearly ink costs
Review 16 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: jim

Worst Purchase Ever

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 18, 2014
Cons: Difficult to use, Slow Print Speed, Large Footprint, Difficult Setup, Low Quality Output, unreliable, Flimsy Construction
This printer is awful. It did not even work. Do you see how many people have bought defective versions of this printer? DO NOT BUY. You have been warned.
Review 17 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: Janie
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year

Returned Printer To Store

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 17, 2013
Pros: easy to use
Cons: Slow Print Speed, Large Footprint, Low Quality Output, Flimsy Construction, no sd mmc ports
We used the MX922 All In One for less than a month and returned it to the store where we had purchased it. The time elapsed from computer to the start of printing was extremely slow. This printer had a photo cartridge, but the quality and sharpness of photos were not satisfactory. The overall printing of documents were not as plain or sharp as our previous printer of another brand. There was no SD port and was unable to view and print my photos from the printer screen.
Review 18 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: MikeH

Sorry but this Canon is not a Canon

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 16, 2014
Cons: Difficult to use, Difficult Setup
Wireless feature suddenly stopped working and we have been unable to get it back. So the only way to print/scan is to use the cable (or our old printer). The one feature highlighted as the selling point does not work. Spending way too much time trying to get this to work...
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: Chiefbuck
Location: Delaware
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

lesson learned

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:December 11, 2013
Pros: Easy Setup, High Quality Output, easy to use
Cons: lack of sd input, excessive ink use
Because I needed to replace a printer and other electronic equipment that was damaged by a lightening strike I selected the MX922. I now find that it does not have some of the features that my previous printer did.
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: Peter
Location: Redmond, WA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

User manuals are difficult to download and use

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:October 15, 2013
Cons: Large Footprint, Difficult Setup, unreliable
I suppose the printer isn't too bad. But when I went to look at the manual -- wow, I've never seen anything this bad! First, even htough the manuals are just PDF files, they insist on wrapping it in an "installer" (installer? to show a couple of manuals?). But then the installer runs so quickly that only by grabbing a screen shot and then opening the screen shot in Paint could I tell where it had placed the manuals. And then, I still had to do a whole-disk search to find them!
If this is any indication of their approach to standards and quality -- look out! the signs aren't good!
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site