Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Printers & Multifunction Reviews / PIXMA MX Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PIXMA MX Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PIXMA MX922

PIXMA MX922

The MX922 also has a new high-capacity 250-sheet plain paper cassette so you can focus on your work and not running out of paper! This can bring office efficiency to all-new levels and help reduce costs at the same time.
Average Customer Rating:
2.476 out of 5
2.5
 out of 
5
(231 Reviews) 231
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (231 reviews)
5 stars
37
4 stars
37
3 stars
20
2 stars
42
1 star
95
69 out of 204(34%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PIXMA MX922
Review 1 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: TinMass
Location: Agawam MA
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

MX922 - Slowest printer I've owned

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 18, 2014
A real disappointment ! I"ve had a Canon MX850 for years.(worked great till the ADF mechanism started to fail. )
This MX922 is so SLOW....................... This is not a small office printer/scanner.
Don't think your going to do quick print before you speed off to a meeting. The 922 will make you
wait for near 5 minute while prepares to print. It also drops from wireless network. Spend more money for your printer.
Review 2 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: corgilover 2
Location: Sacramento, Ca
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

A Nightmare

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 15, 2014
I have a MX 850 that still works and I love it. This "step up" is beyond dismal. It isn't printing correctly. Everything is blue. I have uninstalled and re-installed twice, but no better. It is loud, slow and literally swills ink. I am going to throw this printer in the trash and consider it a lesson well-learned. I will either go back to my old printer or buy another brand. I no longer trust Canon to build a quality product.
Review 3 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: user
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Great all in one printer except life

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 1, 2014
It's great all in one printer. The quality and speed are superior but the printer only last just over a year. It seems the scanner broke but the error code rendered the printer into giant paper weight.
Review 4 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: lcat
Location: Greater Detroit, MI
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

So Disappointed

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 13, 2014
Cons: Difficult to use, Slow Print Speed
I've used and loved Canon printers for over 15 years, but this one is a big disappointment. Biggest problem is you have to physically wake it up to print. No useful if I'm in another room. Doesn't interface with Microsoft Word on my Mac so I had to find a get around which lets me save a preset, but doesn't let me name it so I have to remember codes to use (no good for visitors using my computer). Lastly, the entire scan system is odd. Every other Canon I've had permitted easy control as to what I wanted and where I wanted it saved as well as how. No so here. Just plain no user friendly and now I'm likely stuck for years to come, because I cannot justify going out and buying something else.
Review 5 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: tom
Location: Tucson, AZ
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Solid multipurpose printer

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 22, 2014
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, High Quality Output, fast print speed, easy to use, airprint compatible
Cons: slow startup, small printer cartridges
Overall quite satisfied with product. Airprint compatible very important
Review 6 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: Boss
Location: Columbus OHIO
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Run from this printer

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 3, 2014
Cons: Slow Print Speed, unreliable, Flimsy Construction
30d old and won't feed paper. tried everything. ridiculous. Had major project due and could not get paper to feed. Very slow start up for print so who cares if prints quickly if from time sent to printer take 5+ sec to get started THEN printing is quick....
Review 7 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: Sian
Location: Virginia
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Totally pathetic printer - do not buy

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 1, 2014
Pros: High Quality Output
Cons: Difficult to use, Slow Print Speed, Large Footprint, Difficult Setup, unreliable, it doesn't actually work!
It takes forever to start printing, when it actually prints. Lots of bloatware software to install and even after downloading it at least once a week, it won't print at least once a week. I'm pretty savvy on tech stuff and this is the worst printer I've ever owned. I only gave it one star because there wasn't a "no star" option.
Review 8 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: kd
Location: Boise, ID
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 1, 2014
Cons: Difficult to use, Difficult Setup
I have had the Cannon MX 922 for four months. During that time, I had only used it to copy and print. I needed to scan a document to someone. I had missplaced the owners manual so I went to the website for Cannon to try and find an owners manual. It was so difficult to download that I gave up. There was not an option to purchase a manual either. I tried to scan the document from the copier and it was so confusing on how to use it I was not able to scan. I gave up and will take the document to another copier that is easier to use. I am disappointed that the machine is not more user friendly. I had purchased it for my business, and now will consider purchasing another machine that is more user friendly.
Review 9 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: garygdb

I find it a headache to try and fax.

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 30, 2014
All I can say is it has caused me frustration trying to fax important documents.Hopefully I can get my money back
Review 10 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: Oyrrah
Location: Baltimore, MD
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Good Printer but thirsty

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 30, 2014
Pros: High Quality Output
Cons: Slow Print Speed, ues too much ink too fast
*Very Good Photo Quality printing
*I had no setup issues
*I have successfully printed form cell phones, iPad, laptop, surface RT, with no issues
*only problem is the ink usage - this is one thirsty printer
Review 11 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: Chino
Location: Rockville MD
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Consistently jams in duplex

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 20, 2014
Cons: Difficult to use, unreliable
Very unhappy with the duplex printing. Worked great for about 6 months and then began jamming in duplex mode. During the second pass, there is a screeching sound and the paper jams or comes out completely crinkly and wavy. I tried everything in the maintenance software but nothing works. Also, it takes forever to print the first page although the machine is making all sorts of sounds, doing who knows what.
Software is very confusing to use.
Review 12 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: Want2Print
Location: Sacramento, CA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Failure To Communicate

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 19, 2014
Cons: Difficult to use, Difficult Setup, unreliable
Previous reviews of wireless communication problems are valid with this printer. I previously purchased 2 Canon MX882's, which is very similar and had no wireless setup problems. However, 1 died of a power supply board failure after 4 years. I bought the MX992 to replace it. Bad mistake! This would only connect momentarily. I am a retired electronics failure analysis engineer, with over 20 years experience in the high speed color print industry, so I am no dummy as some suggested of others that reported wireless connectivity problems. I returned it within 3 days for a full refund, bought a different brand printer and had a flawless setup. Do not buy this printer! However, I was very happy with my older MX882's.
Review 13 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: Legend
Location: New Jersey
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Love this printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 19, 2014
Pros: reliable, High Quality Output, easy to use
Cons: Large Footprint
Excellent printer. With apps from my phone I can print from anywhere.
Review 14 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: B

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 6, 2014
Do not buy this for a business or small business, you have to take out the paper each time to print an envelope. According to the reviews on the internet, tests reflect this printer uses more ink than any other
resulting in much higher yearly ink costs
Review 15 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: jim

Worst Purchase Ever

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 18, 2014
Cons: Difficult to use, Slow Print Speed, Large Footprint, Difficult Setup, Low Quality Output, unreliable, Flimsy Construction
This printer is awful. It did not even work. Do you see how many people have bought defective versions of this printer? DO NOT BUY. You have been warned.
Review 16 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: Janie
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year

Returned Printer To Store

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 17, 2013
Pros: easy to use
Cons: Slow Print Speed, Large Footprint, Low Quality Output, Flimsy Construction, no sd mmc ports
We used the MX922 All In One for less than a month and returned it to the store where we had purchased it. The time elapsed from computer to the start of printing was extremely slow. This printer had a photo cartridge, but the quality and sharpness of photos were not satisfactory. The overall printing of documents were not as plain or sharp as our previous printer of another brand. There was no SD port and was unable to view and print my photos from the printer screen.
Review 17 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: Frustrated User
Location: Escondido, CA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

A Dog to Setup

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 12, 2014
I wish I had never purchased this Canon MX922 all in one printer. It is a dog to set up; this dog won't hunt. I've spent 5 frustrating days with Canon techies to finally, I hope, get this dog set up. I tried downloading the detailed manual from the Canon website and the link just will not work; it won't run, it won't save, it won't save and run. Hooking up the Fax function to Cox Internet Phone has also been a nightmare. I got so angry that I threatened the loss of my marriage because I was so frustrated that I unintentionally directed some of my anger towards my wife. I won't even review the printing of envelopes which has been already covered by others. It's terrible and complex. I most certainly do not recommend this product to anyone.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: cnfdcwby
Location: Georgia
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Great Printer But . . . . .

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:November 2, 2014
I'm very happy with the quality of this printer, but as a network printer it leaves a lot to be desired.
It constantly goes offline and cannot be restored except by powering down the router, computer and printer.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: brentwoodfam
Location: Sacramento, ca
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

worthless

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 23, 2014
Cons: Difficult to use, Difficult Setup, unreliable, Flimsy Construction
UG, where to begin...the product itself is cheap plastic; set up difficult; and forget about reliable wireless printing, which is the primary reason I purchased. I have been trying for the last 45 minutes to print a document. The prompts on the printer and directions are not user friendly. I wish I would have done more research before buying. Yes, I do have buyers remorse.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: MikeH

Sorry but this Canon is not a Canon

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 16, 2014
Cons: Difficult to use, Difficult Setup
Wireless feature suddenly stopped working and we have been unable to get it back. So the only way to print/scan is to use the cable (or our old printer). The one feature highlighted as the selling point does not work. Spending way too much time trying to get this to work...
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 12 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site