Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Printers & Multifunction Reviews / PIXMA MX Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PIXMA MX Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PIXMA MX922

PIXMA MX922

The MX922 also has a new high-capacity 250-sheet plain paper cassette so you can focus on your work and not running out of paper! This can bring office efficiency to all-new levels and help reduce costs at the same time.
Average Customer Rating:
2.496 out of 5
2.5
 out of 
5
(240 Reviews) 240
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (240 reviews)
5 stars
41
4 stars
37
3 stars
20
2 stars
44
1 star
98
69 out of 204(34%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PIXMA MX922
Review 1 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: Disappointing
Location: Michigan
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Disappointing Machine

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 15, 2014
I have had this printer for a couple of months now. The scanner is of lower quality than the stand alone one I previously used and has fewer options for modifying the file before saving it.
The printer is more problematic. I have been trying to print some cards. The printer worked fine for the letter size cards, but when I tried some half letter size cards it got confused.
I put the paper in the lower cassette and told the software that is where to look. The printer insisted that the upper tray was empty (which it was) and wouldn't print. I put the cardstock into the upper cassette (it wouldn't fit properly as it was too big which I knew) and the printer told me it couldn't print on the paper.
My old Canon i900D would print the cards.
My point it that this printer may be acceptable for basic letter printing but is unacceptable for any special printing.
Review 2 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: justaguy
Location: CA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast

Very happy

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 14, 2014
I've had my MX922 for four years and have never had a problem. Very happy with all features.
Review 3 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: azcruzaah
Location: Arizona
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Bummer

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:December 13, 2014
The big problem with printers is you are buying a "pig in a poke" You can't really test drive them and you think you can work out any glitches once you own them. We bought this printer because it was a brand name and had a large ink cartridge. We only need a printer for printing, copying and scanning. Why does it have to be so complicated? Didn't know that you cannot refill the cartridges but the printer is designed to force you to buy new cartridges at preset intervals. This printer is as slow a molasses. Sometimes it seems to recycle itself for minutes. I would NOT recommend this printer.
Review 4 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: user
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Great all in one printer except life

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 1, 2014
It's great all in one printer. The quality and speed are superior but the printer only last just over a year. It seems the scanner broke but the error code rendered the printer into giant paper weight.
Review 5 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: tom
Location: Tucson, AZ
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Solid multipurpose printer

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 22, 2014
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, High Quality Output, fast print speed, easy to use, airprint compatible
Cons: slow startup, small printer cartridges
Overall quite satisfied with product. Airprint compatible very important
Review 6 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: Boss
Location: Columbus OHIO
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Run from this printer

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 3, 2014
Cons: Slow Print Speed, unreliable, Flimsy Construction
30d old and won't feed paper. tried everything. ridiculous. Had major project due and could not get paper to feed. Very slow start up for print so who cares if prints quickly if from time sent to printer take 5+ sec to get started THEN printing is quick....
Review 7 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: Sian
Location: Virginia
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Totally pathetic printer - do not buy

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 1, 2014
Pros: High Quality Output
Cons: Difficult to use, Slow Print Speed, Large Footprint, Difficult Setup, unreliable, it doesn't actually work!
It takes forever to start printing, when it actually prints. Lots of bloatware software to install and even after downloading it at least once a week, it won't print at least once a week. I'm pretty savvy on tech stuff and this is the worst printer I've ever owned. I only gave it one star because there wasn't a "no star" option.
Review 8 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: kd
Location: Boise, ID
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 1, 2014
Cons: Difficult to use, Difficult Setup
I have had the Cannon MX 922 for four months. During that time, I had only used it to copy and print. I needed to scan a document to someone. I had missplaced the owners manual so I went to the website for Cannon to try and find an owners manual. It was so difficult to download that I gave up. There was not an option to purchase a manual either. I tried to scan the document from the copier and it was so confusing on how to use it I was not able to scan. I gave up and will take the document to another copier that is easier to use. I am disappointed that the machine is not more user friendly. I had purchased it for my business, and now will consider purchasing another machine that is more user friendly.
Review 9 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: garygdb

I find it a headache to try and fax.

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 30, 2014
All I can say is it has caused me frustration trying to fax important documents.Hopefully I can get my money back
Review 10 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: Oyrrah
Location: Baltimore, MD
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Good Printer but thirsty

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 30, 2014
Pros: High Quality Output
Cons: Slow Print Speed, ues too much ink too fast
*Very Good Photo Quality printing
*I had no setup issues
*I have successfully printed form cell phones, iPad, laptop, surface RT, with no issues
*only problem is the ink usage - this is one thirsty printer
Review 11 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: Want2Print
Location: Sacramento, CA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Failure To Communicate

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 19, 2014
Cons: Difficult to use, Difficult Setup, unreliable
Previous reviews of wireless communication problems are valid with this printer. I previously purchased 2 Canon MX882's, which is very similar and had no wireless setup problems. However, 1 died of a power supply board failure after 4 years. I bought the MX992 to replace it. Bad mistake! This would only connect momentarily. I am a retired electronics failure analysis engineer, with over 20 years experience in the high speed color print industry, so I am no dummy as some suggested of others that reported wireless connectivity problems. I returned it within 3 days for a full refund, bought a different brand printer and had a flawless setup. Do not buy this printer! However, I was very happy with my older MX882's.
Review 12 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: Legend
Location: New Jersey
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Printing Photos
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Love this printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 19, 2014
Pros: reliable, High Quality Output, easy to use
Cons: Large Footprint
Excellent printer. With apps from my phone I can print from anywhere.
Review 13 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: B

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 6, 2014
Do not buy this for a business or small business, you have to take out the paper each time to print an envelope. According to the reviews on the internet, tests reflect this printer uses more ink than any other
resulting in much higher yearly ink costs
Review 14 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: jim

Worst Purchase Ever

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 18, 2014
Cons: Difficult to use, Slow Print Speed, Large Footprint, Difficult Setup, Low Quality Output, unreliable, Flimsy Construction
This printer is awful. It did not even work. Do you see how many people have bought defective versions of this printer? DO NOT BUY. You have been warned.
Review 15 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: Janie
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year

Returned Printer To Store

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 17, 2013
Pros: easy to use
Cons: Slow Print Speed, Large Footprint, Low Quality Output, Flimsy Construction, no sd mmc ports
We used the MX922 All In One for less than a month and returned it to the store where we had purchased it. The time elapsed from computer to the start of printing was extremely slow. This printer had a photo cartridge, but the quality and sharpness of photos were not satisfactory. The overall printing of documents were not as plain or sharp as our previous printer of another brand. There was no SD port and was unable to view and print my photos from the printer screen.
Review 16 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: brentwoodfam
Location: Sacramento, ca
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

worthless

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 23, 2014
Cons: Difficult to use, Difficult Setup, unreliable, Flimsy Construction
UG, where to begin...the product itself is cheap plastic; set up difficult; and forget about reliable wireless printing, which is the primary reason I purchased. I have been trying for the last 45 minutes to print a document. The prompts on the printer and directions are not user friendly. I wish I would have done more research before buying. Yes, I do have buyers remorse.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: MikeH

Sorry but this Canon is not a Canon

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 16, 2014
Cons: Difficult to use, Difficult Setup
Wireless feature suddenly stopped working and we have been unable to get it back. So the only way to print/scan is to use the cable (or our old printer). The one feature highlighted as the selling point does not work. Spending way too much time trying to get this to work...
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: Chiefbuck
Location: Delaware
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

lesson learned

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:December 11, 2013
Pros: Easy Setup, High Quality Output, easy to use
Cons: lack of sd input, excessive ink use
Because I needed to replace a printer and other electronic equipment that was damaged by a lightening strike I selected the MX922. I now find that it does not have some of the features that my previous printer did.
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: Peter
Location: Redmond, WA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

User manuals are difficult to download and use

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:October 15, 2013
Cons: Large Footprint, Difficult Setup, unreliable
I suppose the printer isn't too bad. But when I went to look at the manual -- wow, I've never seen anything this bad! First, even htough the manuals are just PDF files, they insist on wrapping it in an "installer" (installer? to show a couple of manuals?). But then the installer runs so quickly that only by grabbing a screen shot and then opening the screen shot in Paint could I tell where it had placed the manuals. And then, I still had to do a whole-disk search to find them!
If this is any indication of their approach to standards and quality -- look out! the signs aren't good!
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PIXMA MX922
Nickname: jimmis
Location: Wilmington, NC
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Disappointed

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:July 5, 2013
Cons: Slow Print Speed, Difficult Setup, Flimsy Construction
The machine did not come with a printed manual. Scanning is NOT as good as my previous 822. The noisiest copier I ever heard, sounds industrial. When this one breaks, which should be soon since it is already 4 days old it will be replaced with a better quality machine, not a Canon.
0 of 4 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 12 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site